Friday Open Thread


Mom got her settlement, which means she had to turn in her rental, which means that until she gets a new car I am driving her around. She didn’t get enough to buy a brand new car, and she doesn’t want to make payments, so we’re looking for a good deal on a used car. Hopefully she can find something nice that will leave her a little cash left over.

Yesterday I took Mom to get her nails done. The lady who does them is the person who gave me Tigger, Tucker, and Taggert. She has a female kitten she is seeking a new home for. I am tempted, but I’m afraid of how Molly and Taggert would react. They aren’t real friendly with other cats.

I have been reading a lot of books lately. What’s happening in your world?

Yesterday was Lily’s birthday. She is now TWO YEARS OLD!


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

178 Responses to Friday Open Thread

  1. I don’t get to see Lily and her brothers as much since they moved to Bakersfield.

    • The move to Bakersfield was good for my son (more money, better job) and will probably be better for my grandkids (bigger town, more opportunities).

      Not so much for me. I wish they were all still here.

      • foxyladi14 says:

        I felt that way, When my Grand Daughter moved to Hollywood.
        The Holidays are going to be lonesome without them. ❤

        • lateblum says:

          I am so sorry. Maybe you can visit them in Hollywood? Or maybe they can come home for those holidays.
          I can’t imagine the Holidays without my little ones.💔

    • lateblum says:

      Lily is adorable!

    • Somebody says:

      Welcome to the terrible two’s Lilly!!

      My two year old grandbaby was just now on my lap when I opened this thread, she saw Lilly and said “Play!” then she said “Gigi, play with friend”. Hahaha, she wanted to reach through the computer and have a play date.

      In my world, I’m trying to fight off a cold. I started feeling yucky yesterday afternoon. I’ve incorporated every herbal voo doo I know, hopefully I’ll be able to keep it from becoming anything bad.

      In trying to keep the two little ones busy this morning because quite frankly I just want to curl up in bed and NOT be taking care of little ones…..Anyway we spent 30-45 minutes picking out different kinds of leaves. Then we came inside and carefully dried them so we could do leaf tracings…….shoot me now. They’re not quite old enough, we finally managed to get some decent tracings with sidewalk chalk. In addition to that we’ve done no mess finger painting and color wonder coloring pages…… I just have to figure out how to keep the occupied for two more hours then lunch….nap….best part of the day!

      • cynic says:

        It is exhausting. I remember those days with my twins. We’d gather pots and pans, and march around playing ‘instruments’. I would think to myself, “Well, that was good for 10 minutes. Now what?” Playing Candy Land was a disaster. Neither one would like to lose, and it would always end in tears. There were days when my hubby would come home and find me in tears.

        Please say a little prayer for me guys. In Dec., I will watch both babies, but it works out that I’ll only have both of them for one day.

        On the upside of grandkids, no TV, so staying semi-sane during this election season.

        Hope you’re able to keep the cold symptoms to a minimum!

        • Somebody says:

          You can do it Cynic… day? You can do that on your head. Oh you’ll be worn out, but you can survive one day.

          I know what you mean about no TV. If my TV is on, it’s on kid’s programming. By the time they leave in the evening I just want silence!! I’ve taken to turning on the TV in the evenings, but keeping it on mute. I sit and read, looking up now and again, if something interests me I’ll rewind and take it off mute, LOL!

          Even though I don’t watch TV, I still manage to keep up with a lot of what is going on. People will talk about or post links to interesting stuff so I catch a lot of things that way. At times when they are happily playing I can usually go on the internet on my phone…….or riskier use my actual computer……sort of drive by’s to see what is happening out there.

        • lateblum says:

          You can do it, cynic. Between your experience with twins and your own stamina, smarts, and sense of humor, you’ll be fine. And the weekends will look even better. 😉💕

      • elliesmom says:

        When I had Crash for a long stretch, I signed her up for pre-school at ABCMouse online. It’s pretty good. Educational games, story reading, sing-alongs. Sitting her down with it gave me 20 to 30 minutes here and there to catch a break or get a quick chore done. The first month is free. I was going crazy because I felt guilty plunking her down in front of the TV, but she really picked up a lot from the online school. She’s currently asking for a trip to the Grand Canyon because of a geography lesson she took. She also loved the math games.

        • Somebody says:

          We have a subscription to ABCmouse. It was a wonderful tool to augment pre-school for my oldest granddaughter. I had 5 months to get her ready for kindergarten and ABCMOUSE was part of that. In fact she still goes on there now. Unfortunately the younger two aren’t quite old enough for it yet. It is a really well done site though.

          The younger two enjoy animated kids songs on youtube. It doesn’t hold their interest for long, but it does long enough to fix lunch or load the dishwasher, etc. That’s more their speed and can also be educational with songs that teach shapes, colors, numbers, alphabet and phonic sounds.

          • lateblum says:

            ABCmouse sounds wonderful. When I had Calamity full days, I was specifically told, “No television”. And believe me, Calamity would immediately let them know if we watched even one song on YouTube when they came home. If I start caring for her again full days in January (they put her in full daycare for now to help my recovery from surgery), I’ll look into ABCmouse. But I’ll let them know in advance.
            I do miss that little monkey. I still get to see her a couple times each week when I go over there to stay a couple of hours with my 5yo before I take her to school. I hope they will change the schedule so that get them both during the winter and spring.

          • “No television” costs extra.

            A lot extra.

            Let me use my own judgement and I work a lot cheaper.

          • cynic says:

            My SIL requests no TV (not that I watch it anyway), but he said the computer is bad as well. He said it has to do with their eyes. Anyone else hear that? I guess I could look it up myself, but once I start doing my ‘research’ I seem to lose hours.

            At what age is it safe for them to look at the monitor?

    • cynic says:

      Happy birthday Lily? Can’t believe that she’s two already! How far is Bakersfield from you? or should I ask, how long does it take to get there?

    • swanspirit says:

      Lily is absolutely adorable. I know how you feel, I felt that way when my daughter moved to Frederick MD., which is about four hours away from me, and some really treacherous roads in winter. I was an early adopter of web cams!!!

  2. Sometimes it’s nice to talk about stuff besides politics.

  3. votermom says:


    And I book I liked. The author is a physics prof and it shows

  4. Sometimes I wish that people in far away countries would use nuclear weapons to remind the rest of the world why nuclear weapons are bad.

    • I’m so old I can remember when there were people arguing that a nuclear war could be winnable.

    • votermom says:

      On the plus side, if Pakistan use it nukes, it will be out of nukes. Which won’t then be in danger of falling into jihadi hands.

      • Lulu says:

        Those are Saudi Arabia’s nukes. Pakistan just gets to store them for a fee and sometimes pretend they are theirs. Saudi Arabia needs their nukes for Iran. And India (and China) are maybe the only nations on earth who could take a nuclear strike and then invade with the surviving billion people and obliterate the launcher of nukes with nothing but their teeth and toenails. Dumb, dumb Pakistan.

  5. foxyladi14 says:

    I wish they would go back, to using Horses and Bows and Arrows. 😦

    • I would settle for rules of warfare that made the people who fought it put their own lives at risk. If your ass is on the line you won’t be as eager to start the killing.

      • lateblum says:

        I agree wholeheartedly. If presidents and Congress critters had to lead the charge – in person – we would have far fewer threats and more negotiations and compromises. People would learn to live with one another. What a relief that would be.

      • blowme0bama says:

        Heh… That’s what my late WW2 Dad used to say.

      • DeniseVB says:

        My thoughts too about the refugees. For every congressman or senator that votes for funding their relocation in the US, priority should go to their districts for settlement. Win-win for the districts …. they get a slice of the funding money AND the refugees. They’ll start listening to their constituents then🙂

    • DeniseVB says:

      I could live with a President Gary over a President Hillary. I read that more as a hit on (hometown kids)Obama’s legacy and Hillary’s general suckery. It didn’t lose Trump supporters, that’s for sure ! Neither did USA Today’s horrible non-endorsement. I’ll let Sharyl explain that hit piece…..I’m trying not to send traffic to the paper, but if you must, vote Strongly Disagree (with this editorial) at the USA link in her post.

    • lateblum says:

      There are several observations that many Tribune readers may not have considered about HRC. Here is but one:

      “Clinton’s vision of ever-expanding government is in such denial of our national debt crisis as to be fanciful. Rather than run as a practical-minded Democrat as in 2008, this year she lurched left, pandering to match the Free Stuff agenda of then-rival Bernie Sanders. She has positioned herself so far to the left on spending that her presidency would extend the political schism that has divided America for some 24 years.”

      I am still gobsmacked by this endorsement.

      • DeniseVB says:

        The best part of reading online news items are the comments. I see less and less support for Hillary and most bashing the media in general. The Hillbots seem to only respond with their eye rolling “Here come those racist Trumpkins 3…2…1”. Sad for them since they can never defend Hillary, only slam Trump supporters.

  6. helenk3 says:

    A Very Happy Birthday to Lady Lily.
    does she like older men? I have a 5 year old great grandson whom she might like

    • Lily doesn’t like boys, except her dad and brothers. She doesn’t even like being held by her grandpas.

      She likes her female cousins though.

      • Lulu says:

        Have you tried cutting Snickers bars into tiny pieces and giving them to her. That is what won my daughter over to my dad. He ate most of it. And he let her play with the remote control. LOL. Thankfully he didn’t let her go out on the porch and smoke with him.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I shouldn’t be giving advice since I’ll never be grandma of the year, but I was close to my grandpa because he gave me stuff. Especially a car for my 16th birthday😀

  7. foxyladi14 says:

    Your Mom is lucky,to have such a wonderful Son.
    My Son is like that too, And Since I don’t drive any more, he has to take me every where.❤

    • DeniseVB says:

      The NeverTrumpers are becoming more obnoxious than the Hillbots, at least on my feeds. Some have broken away with “I’m not a Trump supporter, but I’m voting for him because Hillary is ca-ca-poo-poo”. Yeah, I’ll take that😀

      • Lulu says:

        That is why I voted for Mitt and McCain. They think this is something new just like the millennials think they invented sex and irony. Uh, no. This stuff has been around a long, long time. You’re just too stupid to know it.

        • DeniseVB says:

          It does seem like the same crowd holding Mitt and McCain to this mythical conservative purity test now thinking they’re still relevant.

          • Lulu says:

            The way I’m looking at it is IT’S MY TURN. TRUMP is the only party nominee who is my FIRST choice since Bill Clinton. The rest were blech I have to vote for least worst. I mean John “the Dummy” Kerry. Please. The elite, blacks, richie-rich, academics, ninnies, etc got their choice Obama and the defense industry, neo-cons, oil companies and banks got Shrub. Now it is MY TURN. If they don’t like it go fuck themselves and not vote. No one gives a shit but their wives (and that is doubtful) and the people that pay them. People are sick of both parties and their hacks. Trump is really neither Repub nor Dem but something different.

        • Constance says:

          Absolutely correct!

  8. foxyladi14 says:

    I try not to be a bother, Since he has to take of work. 😀

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Lily certainly has that Princess Charlotte cuteness vibe going for her, Happy Birthday baby girl !

    For more over dosing on cuteness, my contribution is the young royals visit to Canada. Here’s a great link with a slideshow and videos! Enjoy.

  10. Allahpundit is destroying what is left of many years of hard-won credibility by the HotAir site.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Allah was an obnoxious shit in 2008, he hated Sarah, always writing negative articles about her. He was then accused of clickbait journalism since his blathering idiot articles always got 1k + comments disagreeing with him.

    • The GOP “leadership” isn’t doing squat about it.

      • lateblum says:

        No one in Congress is doing squat about. I called the 2 IL senators’ offices and was told, “I think Senator Durbin/Kirk is opposed to this and will vote against it”. But if they don’t bring it to the floor —> nothing. My calls were worthless despite my urging to take it to the floor. Then, Durbin, in his usual pandering and party loyalist way, complained about the “obstructionist, do-nothing GOP”. Grrrrrrrr😡😡😡😡

      • Constance says:

        Congress likely doesn’t understand the issue (I don’t really, I just have a gut feeling). But I would think most of Congress would be owned by Microsoft, Amazon, Apple, etc who would be directing the congressional action on the issue. I always think of Microsoft, Amazon and Apple as American companies but maybe they are really multinational corporations who don’t give a flying f**k about America or our supposed freedom.

    • John Denney says:

      This meshes with my understanding of the internet (I’m a software engineer; one of the products for which I am responsible allows a browser to access our database product, so I’m familiar with this stuff.)

      • mcnorman says:

        Yeah!! Someone who can answer our questions. I’m always skeptical of any changes where the big companies are saying they want control over a “minor” detail. It’s always nice to have an objective view from someone in the field.

      • mcnorman says:

        Just curious, if this was such a nothingburger, why did it take four states to sue to stop it?

        • John Denney says:

          Good question for which I have no answer. I’m guessing ignorance of how the technology works, and concern that we are indeed giving up control such that we lose the free exchange of ideas via the internet.
          Or I could be totally wrong, and there are indeed sound reasons for the suits.

  11. helenk3 says:

    2nd internet coming soon.
    since as my grand daughter tells me electronically challenged, could someone with more knowledge of the internet give an opinion on this

  12. elliesmom says:

    Happy Birthday, Lily!

  13. Dora says:

    Lily isn’t showing her age at all. She’s still a little doll.🙂

    Happy Birthday Lily.

  14. Shez ZK says:

    Lily is so adorable. In some of her pics she has a certain smile and look that reminds me of a clip of a young Marilyn Monroe as she looks back at the camera with a shy smile. Something about their eyes and mouths/smile are very similar to me. I’ve probably mentioned it before, or wondered if anyone else has noticed they kind of look alike. Lily is a lil beauty! I’m missing my grandkids too.

  15. Dora says:

  16. Anthony says:

    Family affair?

    NYC bomber Ahmad Rahami’s family detained in Dubai, sent to Afghanistan against their will. I wonder why?

    • Lulu says:

      Al Qaeda family ties? The media and White House screaming not ISIS! No? They are Al Qaeda. The family photos of “the boys” squatting and cooking goat in the street on a spit shows they are even wearing the funny Al Qaeda hats. Maybe they blew up shit in Afghanistan while they were on vacay attending terror school and then skedaddled back to fried chicken paradise in NJ.

      • Anthony says:

        Yah, the MSM and WH screaming “Not Terrorism!” but at this juncture, haven’t even been able to recover anything from the train because the ceiling of the station collapsed on it.

        Official statement is “Cause Unknown at this time”, which kinda wrecks that definitive statement they’re spreading around. If you don’t know wtf it is, then you don’t know wtf it ISN’T either. I’m disgusted with the lot of them….

  17. SHV says:

    He’s back!!
    “Dindim the penguin returns to the man who saved his life”

  18. Anthony says:

    Never – NEVER! – get a little stoned to “take the edge off” before having your pupils dilated…

  19. lateblum says:

    I have been in such a sad state since hearing/reading about the young mother who was killed in yesterday’s train disaster in NJ. I read the husband was out of town and that she had just dropped her 18 month-old baby at daycare. All I can think about is that baby and who picked her up from daycare and that the baby will never see Mommy again. It just breaks my heart.
    I wanted to say that before I unplug to run errands for today. BBL

  20. Lulu says:

    If your state tilts over to Trump in polling, the NYT will declare you as “non-bellwether”. Is that the same as deplorables or non-humans? I guess that means Florida, Pennsylvania, and Colorado may be headed to being non-entities too. A bellwether is a bellwether until they poll “wrong” or evil. Definition of bellwether:
    noun: bellwether; plural noun: bellwethers
    the leading sheep of a flock, with a bell on its neck.
    an indicator or predictor of something.

    I guess the sheep aren’t following the bell anymore and the NYT is pissed.

  21. lyn says:

    Happy Birthday, sweet Lily! You are simply adorable!

  22. blowme0bama says:

    JESUS! He really DOES have to be the corpse at every funeral:

    • lurker says:

      Is it normal for non Jews to wear the cap?

      • Kathy says:

        Yes or a hat or something on your head if Jewish prayers involved. It is to remind you that God is above you.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        My experience is that it is very common for funerals if you are a non-Jewish family member/close friend and an offer to wear one is extended by the family of deceased. I always wear hats in cooler weather (berets are a good choice for Jewish funerals) and scarves in warm weather so I have never needed a cap.

        It is likely an invitation to wear one was extended to all those attending Perez’s service.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Obama is the very definition of narcissism, and Trump is falsely accused of it. Trump is a strong, smart Alpha male. Big difference, Trump gets things done, Obama doesn’t get things done and blames other people.

        • lyn says:

          It’s projection, baby! Geraldine Ferraro was right. Let’s say Obama and Trump are equals. Why does Trump get all this crap and Obama didn’t? Skin color.

    • swanspirit says:

      The flagrant narcissist that is B. O., is unimaginable. It is actually frightening, And I am grateful we have had a congress to stop him these past few years. Even though they are almost worthless in other ways, at least they were in place for that. When he lets slip the grandiosity of himself that exists in his mind, the magnitude is astonishing.
      The statement that” Shimon Peres could see himself in my story” is the product of a diseased mind.
      His post presidency would be interesting, from a clinical standpoint, but I would be happy never to see his face or hear about him ever again

  23. lyn says:

    Oh, no! Trump is being accused of slut-shaming! He went there. Thank you for making sluts an issue, Hillary!

    • Shez ZK says:

      He also mused today wondering out loud if Hillary had received immunity, like all of her staff. I’m hoping that is made into a much bigger issue.

    • John Denney says:

      Didn’t Michele fat shame all our kids with her “Move” program and “healthy lunches”?

      • Somebody says:

        Yes John she has and there was quite the battle to put a fat tax into Obamacare, as it is there is a provision that employers can charge up to a 30% premium to their fat employees…….not exact on the percentage, it rises each year I think peaking at 30%.

        The point is that this administration’s signature policy has a fat shaming provision in it and the current 1st lady has been fat shaming our children.

        • lateblum says:

          Didn’t she also shame Sasha, too? Or was that bronco who fat shamed her several years ago?

          • DeniseVB says:

            As I recall she did say something about Sasha’s BFP as a young child which gave way to the poor kid being referred to as Sausage on some conservative sites. I think that’s when MO was kicking off her NoKidsFatBehinds “prog-ram”. God, it’s been a long 8 years, the legacy is not looking good for this pair.

          • John Denney says:


  24. Dora says:

  25. Shez ZK says:

    There were saying on Twitter that Hillary cancelled events because it was rumored that she had another *episode*. (I think she crashed big time from the drug cocktails too). But if that was her from today on Fox just now, she’s back to choking, coughing, can’t hardly talk, and looking like shit.

    • Somebody says:

      I was just going to say I saw a snippet of her coughing and having trouble talking again.

      I will add it looked like she had quite the crowd lining up in Coral Gables. Actually the first time I’ve seen a decent line to get into one of her events. Coral Gables is in Miami-Dade county, deep blue.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Adjusting tin foil hat……it’s a miracle she lasted through the debate…looking lovely and on top of her game. Hits the campaign trail and falls apart. So I’m beginning to think it’s media manipulation to let them talk about her health, also, Bill’s Bimbos (gah, Donald, don’t go there, it’s a set up! Let your surrogates roll in the gutter with her). Therefore, the media isn’t talking about her scandals. She goes up in the polls with the health and scorned wife stories. Hillary’s obviously using Obama’s playbook, he was never vetted either.

  26. DandyTIger says:

  27. 49erDweet says:

    OT Is anyone else watching the new series Designated Survivor? So far looks interesting. Hope it stays on the rails, but ya never know.

  28. votermom says:

    I’ve had this uncomfortable “something stuck in my throat feeing” for a couple of weeks. Made an appointment to see the doctor next week abaout it. With any luck it will clear up by itself one hour before the appointment.

    • lateblum says:

      Fingers crossed for you and your throat….. While you’re there, if there’s nothing wrong, get a flu shot. I have a bit of an infection right now, but as soon as it’s gone, I’m getting mine.
      I didn’t used to, but now that I’m around children at their home and at the school, I’m not taking chances.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I get that type of feeling at this time of the year with allergies and sinus acting up. For me it is the nasty beast called phlegm (is that not a lovely word). Get it every year with the major season changes – and every time I go though a few days of “what the heck”. Eventually using an expectorant/thinner such as mucinex and increasing fluid intake helps eliminate the feeling Here’s hoping it is something simple.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Could be fall allergies, post nasal drip ? Mine are just starting now in Southern Va. Up your fluids to flush out the phelgm. Red wine or vodka with fresh fruit juices are soothing remedies too.🙂

  29. Mt.Laurel says:

    Happy Birthday Lily!
    The pictures of she and all the other grandkids have added a much needed respite from the craziness.

  30. mcnorman says:

    Happy Birthday to Lily. May her day be filled with joy!

  31. Dora says:


  32. votermom says:

    Hillary back on the coughpain, I mean campaign.
    Powering through!

  33. Dora says:

  34. DandyTIger says:

  35. 49erDweet says:

    Make sure mom’s next car has big, shiny rims and yuge tires. Nothing sez safety and security like big rims and tires. All the kids say so.

    • I was trying to talk her into a Hummer but she’s sticking to a 4dr sedan.

      • lateblum says:

        I was nearly killed by an idiot driving a Hummer. He couldn’t see that there was a car next to him in the right-hand lane (me). When the red light changed to green, he decided to turn right (from the center lane). He literally did not – could not – see me and proceeded to make that turn. Fortunately I have pretty good karma (carma) and somehow anticipated his idiocy. You must listen to your mother. 😉

      • Lulu says:

        Get her to test drive a small SUV. I have to have one so I can see over everyone else or be on the same level. Women sit short in the drivers seat and can’t see stuff down the road especially in traffic. I also sit on a cushion in the drivers seat to make me taller while sitting. I have very long legs but sit short in the saddle. I am a much safer driver sitting “up” rather than feeling like I am sitting in a hole in a compact or smaller sedan and only seeing other drivers door panels. My daughter, tall but sits short, just bought a RAV and loves it.

Comments are closed.