Overnight Friday (Maybe Saturday too?) Open Thread Continues

Watching Matthew. Sent a note to my local forecasters, THIS is all I’m concerned aboutđŸ˜€

My local media needs a chill pill. I’ll panic when Jim Cantore shows up at the beach.

I’ll add more updates in the comments. So, how’s it going for my lower southeast buddies?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to Overnight Friday (Maybe Saturday too?) Open Thread Continues

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Still my favorite weather guyđŸ˜€

    • blowme0bama says:

      One of my favorite forecast memories was when Dennis was supposed to hit Mobile and the youngish black weathercaster was doing his best to sound calm while saying “Sunday afternoon we can expect winds around 115 rising to 138 mph”. You could hear his throat tightening up.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Of the ones I survived, I’d pick Floyd in ’99. Woke up in NYC to see he was sitting on my “house” in Va Beach (it survived) then a few hours later…it slammed into Manhattan and didn’t miss the play. Rent !

    • kanaughty says:

      That is hilarious! The only thing that’d make that funnier is if they had him in a 1980 suit and the volcano was in washington stateđŸ˜‰

  2. 49erDweet says:

    Two conclusions:.
    There’s never ever been a severe storm on the East Coast before.


    Viewers watching him are d-u-m-b.

    • DeniseVB says:

      It’s why we live 13 miles from the oceanfront, a little higher ground, no flood insurance required. My friends near the oceanfront, and even downtown Norfolk, have 10k deductibles for the cheapest monthly premiums. We’re not stupidđŸ˜‰ Live at sea level, die at sea level.

      • 49erDweet says:

        I know. I’ve been through three horrible East Coast storms. Like living near the “peaceful” ocean.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        I chose to live on the high ground (relative) in Virginia Beach as well. My boss had hired a real estate agent to help me with my relocation from Pennsylvania and she was impressed that I did not demand a place near the beach front. I told her I preferred to go to the ocean rather than having the ocean come to me. Having grown up near areas where rivers/creeks/streams on a regular basis, I knew to stay clear of flood zones.

        • elliesmom says:

          The only way I could get Elliesdad to buy a place this close to water was to buy a house up on a hill. The driveway sucks, but we’d have to have a flood of biblical proportions for the water level to reach our house.

          • Kathy says:

            The worst hurricane I remember was Camille that hit Biloxi..we were in Ft. Walton Beach and dodged it.

          • The worst hurricane I remember was . . . uh . . . oh, that’s right – I live in California. We have earthquakes, floods, fires, droughts, and mudslides, but no hurricanes.

          • blowme0bama says:

            Remember Camille. I was, I guess 7 at the time. Most terrifying night of my life. I lived about 110 miles inland back then and winds at a small airport nearby measured winds at 120 mph. Took off a portion of our roof – straight line winds. Next day, huge trees down everywhere, sea gulls flying around out in the fields.

            Rode out Georges in 98 – the eye came ashore right where I was living at the time, about 1 mile inland. Sustained winds at 110 – Cat 2. I remember sometime between 3 and 4 in the morning lying in my kitchen and the gusts were terrifying. I could barely see through my small kitchen window and looked a portion of the roof on my separate garage with a big hole in it. Got up at one point and hid in a closet. An anemometer at a nearby airbase (Keesler) measured 175 mph gusts, but NHC discounted that saying the device was of a type known to malfunction. I guess that’s the case, but it wouldn’t surprise me if the gusts were that strong. If there were winds like that, sustained, for 30 minutes even, I doubt there’d be a structure standing. Just terrifying.

            Got out of town for Katrina and evacced to my childhood home mentioned above. Damned power was on down here before it was up there. Pioneer life sucks.

      • swanspirit says:

        I am in the 15 case bullseye too, but at least 8 miles inland, from the ocean. Depending on the strength of this hurricane, and how far it stays out to sea, determines whether we will be ok. When they evacuate in this area, it is usually Ocean City that is evacuated.
        Still have to batten down the hatches, as far as anything that might get blown around outside, and it isn’t unusual for large tree branches to come down.
        If things look threatening. I might invest in a large bag of ice for the fridge, to keep it cool if power goes out. At least with a hurricane, there is warning.

      • kanaughty says:

        I lived in richmond for almost 2 years and loved it there. We were in a house surrounded by woods on 5 acres. Richmond address but the vet and grocery were in chesterfield proper. I’d live in the mid atlantic again definitely. Anyhoo, i also visited a friend in a newer neighborhood in williamsburg but they left the tall trees there when building the homes so it was a gorgeous and hard to find type neighborhood. I think they kept the trees because that neighborhood was just a minute from jamestown so they wanted to keep that whole area looking older/wilder like jamestown would have been and not like a plowed down plantation area.

  3. Dora says:

    A new role for Alec. đŸ™‚


    Saturday Night Live casts veteran guest host Alec Baldwin to play Donald Trump


  4. CiscoKid says:

    Hey Barry! Wake the f**k up.
    Very few now care WTK you have to say now.
    No one will care when you un-ass the WH.

  5. DandyTIger says:

    I’m in the 12 bottles zone. Sounds about right.

    • Somebody says:

      I’m not in the wine zone at all, at least not the one Denise posted…..but some of the models bring this storm right over my head, so that puts me in the wind zone.

      I swear to you all, this post is the first I’ve heard about Hurricane Matthew and I live in Florida! I told you guys I don’t watch TV, LOL!

      Denise thanks for the heads up, I’ll be tracking this and hope the storm behaves and rides the gulf stream right on by my ass…….no offense to all of you in the mid-Atlantic.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I’m sitting in the 15 case bulls-eye so may need to start stocking up tonight. After all, already need a dozen cases or so a week just to handle ObambaMoo and HillyBilly.

      • mcnorman says:


        I have an enormous amount of gin, rye and whiskey left over from the wedding. Too bad I couldn’t send you a case sooner.

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          I might have to beak out the medicinal emergency supplies and use the Metro Washington Cesspool Weather Indicator App BOMO edition:

          Low Impact Expected- Forced to move weekly bash with the faux journalists and professional lobbyists inside instead of using the pricey rented reception Marquees.

          Medium Impact Expected – Cancel Golf/Five Guys Run/Date Night because Marine One is Grounded due to high winds/fog/rain/flooding

          High Impact Expected- Take Air Force One for a spin over a city outside the hurricane’s target area and see how fast peons can run when buildings are buzzed.

          Storm of the Century: Leave for extended vacay in another country and make a statement on how it is all the fault of the deplorables

    • kanaughty says:

      I drank too much green tea today (caffienated) does that count? I’ve been having the shakes today from it. Too much, over did it. Switched to plain water.

  6. Dora says:

  7. AFVet says:

    Well for the military freaks here, this is great footage.
    And yes women are serving in many ways.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Wrong clip? Everything past 11 sec was ground crew then refueling missions.

    • CiscoKid says:

      The training and skills needed to accomplish in air refueling must be the most taxing.
      I’ve seen people at the gas pump who failed refueling their vehicles.
      Overflow, trying to put the diesel nozzle into the gas port. And the best for last, just driving away with the nozzle still in the gas port.
      On the ground at zero miles per hour.
      Air guys/gals.,,keep ’em flying! đŸ‡ºđŸ‡¸

  8. Cuz IP’s can’t be faked. (Just kidding, yes they can, it’s easy)

  9. What a load of crap.

    • I would like some of our TCH tech types to weigh in on this.

      • CiscoKid says:

        If memory serves me correct, we invented/developed it , it’s ours.
        Hand it over for FREE?
        Nofreaking way! Not even fo a gazillion $$$

      • AFVet says:

        Try this Myiq.

        • swanspirit says:

          I fail to understand why this is receiving so little attention. The only possible explanation is that the corporate powers that be feel they will gain more control of information dissemination, as Google and Twitter and Facebook already attempt to do. One of the reasons supposedly for the hand off is that the USA abused it’s power with surveillance. What country doesn’t use surveillance?
          As Dandy pointed out, there are workarounds, but control of IP addresses is a powerful thing to own.

      • mcnorman says:

        Denny did on the post before this…check comments he left a link. I’m not sure that this is such a great deal if the major players like Google, Facebook, Dell, Microsoft are pushing this.

      • DandyTIger says:

        It’s a classic globalization move. Most of Silicon Valley, being progressive, likes the idea of the UN (or some unelected global power structure) running things. It probably relieves them of some of the guilt of being part of the US evil empire. Of course they’ll be completely shocked and appalled if something changes that hurts them directly. Having said that, the prog types that have been in charge are similar to the Twitter/FB types that have been screwing everything up lately. So I’m not sure things will change. And if things start going south, there are ways around it. Unless Hillary wins of course.

        • The Davoisie will be in charge.

          • Lulu says:

            That is the plan. But the current elites screw everything up. Everything. Nothing they plan works out like they foresee. They probably think they are going to control content, stop populists political movements directed against them, jack up prices, create monopolies, hide crooked shit like Hillary servers or Obama’s money transfers to Iran, etc. It always blows up in their face. Does anyone think Putin is just going to sit and take it?

            Obama gave it away for some shit reason. But it isn’t King Bronco’s to give away. I’m sure he sold it for some future payment or consideration for himself. There will be a clawback (howse about we disable your satellites and trans-Atlantic cables shitheads and stop your money moving), use will go down because it becomes propaganda crap like network and cable tv plus price gouging, or every country or region develops their own internet and cuts them out just like Schegan (free movement of people and goods turned into free movement of terror and mass welfare mooching) has fallen apart in the EU. The Davoisie want to grab everything via bureaucratic fiat and it then bites them. Build a fence on the US internet content, make them pay for it, have “trade” treaties to access, etc.Or build another US domestic only internet. I don’t think Bronco even understands “the internet”.

        • 1539days says:

          Silicon Valley doesn’t even care about China restricting access as long as they can still sell to them. Restricting the internet will only make it smaller and make it necessary to create an alternative. There’s already the unindexed internet, i.e. the dark web.

      • 1539days says:

        My internet knowledge is a little stale, but everything on “the internet” has an IP address. IP addresses can go from to or about 4 billion addresses. You get addresses from ISPs and most of those were handed out by the government long ago. Now, the Class A addresses (millions of addresses per group) craves up subnets.

        The address book is controlled by ICANN. When you type in a domain like “wordpress.com” DNS (domain name service) tells your computer to go to or something close to that. Right now, anyone can set up a DNS server, but there are about a dozen *authoritative* DNS servers. Those are kind of like the postmaster for internet addresses.

        The danger of letting the UN or whomever control DNS is that even if someone registered a domain with ICANN or Network Solutions like undergroundnews.com some international group could determine they post deplorable content and just remove their domain from DNS, making it virtually impossible to get to them.

  10. She’s lucky she didn’t get bit.

  11. Easy peasy dinner:

    Some chicken breast strips (fried, baked, or grilled)
    1 bag of garden salad
    Some green onions
    Some grated cheese
    Some ranch dressing (or whatever kind you prefer)

    Chop the chicken and the onions, mix it all together and top it with the dressing.

    Viola! A “dinner” salad.

  12. DandyTIger says:

  13. Kathy says:

    News reporting now that Hurricane Matthew is now a Cat. 5

  14. lyn says:

    Condom display in Italy

  15. The Giants have scored 7 times (so far) in the 6th inning against the Hated Dodgers without recording an out. They started the inning down 3-2. Now they are up 9-3.

Comments are closed.