It’s Dead, Jim



Last week I sent my computer geek son the hard drive from my old computer and asked him to see if he could recover any data from it. He was optimistic.

Yesterday, my computer geek son writes me:

It’s fubar. I can’t get it to spin up which means the motor or electronics are bad. Specialty labs can recover some times but the cost can run from $200 to $2,000. Sorry.


Okay, that’s the bad news. The good news is there was nothing truly irreplaceable on there. The most difficult/expensive to replace will be some of my music files. I had several gigs of music, including a lot of pirate stuff I had downloaded for free from Limewire back in the day. Replacing those will cost money now.

I had lots of pictures of my kids and grandkids stored on old “Captain Spaulding” (the name of my old computer). I’ll have to use Mom’s FB account and download them again. I also had every funny/gross picture I ever posted here or on Twitter. That was thousands of pictures accumulated over nearly a decade.

Most or all of those pics are still available, all I need to do is find them and save them again. The hard part is that all the pics I had (family and funny) were renamed and catalogued to that I could easily find them. Some of them had been cropped and/or converted.

That was a lot of work and now I’m basically starting over from scratch.


On the other hand, I really, really love this new computer. It still has that new computer smell. I feel giddy like a middle-aged guy who gets a sports car to ease his mid-life crisis. I want to cruise around town and show it off. Maybe pick up some chicks.

Once again I want to thank you guys for making it possible. You are the best.

Well, there's your problem.

Well, there’s your problem.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

119 Responses to It’s Dead, Jim

  1. dm says:

    I can’t tell you how many times I have surfed around various sites, disgusted by all the insanity and come here to read TCH and realize, wait a minute, there IS someone else out there who thinks exactly (well, almost) what I do…that, especially now that I am home (disabled) is priceless. Glad I could be a part of the “magic”, but the thanks really goes to the folks (Votermom, I think) who put in the time and effort to get it done.

  2. Dora says:

    He’s the same sign as Lily. Just 90 years older. 🙂

  3. taw46 says:

    No, YOU are the best. Thank you for giving us a sane place to come visit!

    • If you think this place is sane I got some bad news for you.

      • taw46 says:

        Well, compared to some of that crap you bring over from other blogs, seems pretty sane to me. 😉

        • Lulu says:

          Our symptoms are not readily observable. For instance we don’t walk sideways and jibber with drool. I don’t anyway. Not yet.

          • DeniseVB says:

            I’m preparing myself mentally for a Hillary win and practicing walking sideways while talking and drooling at the same time. If Obama can win two terms, there’s nothing stopping her either😦

          • lyn says:

            Trump called women fat, and he’s unfit to be president. Hillary let her husband abuse women, and she’s fit to be president.

          • elliesmom says:

            I posted an invitation to my FB friends to use my timeline to pitch a positive reason for voting for their candidate of choice. No arguments. No risk of being deleted from my friends list. That was 24 hours ago, and I have 2 lukewarm pro-Hillary comments. I admit I had ulterior motives for posting this. I get bombarded daily with links to sites that tear Trump to shreds from the majority of my FB friends. A lot of my FB friends are rabid anti-Trumpers and write daily screeds, but asked to promote Hillary on her own merits, they are strangely silent. I’m not surprised my pro-Trump friends haven’t responded. While I wouldn’t unfriend any of my friends no matter who they support, a lot of my FB friends are friends to each other, and the Trump supporters would be banished other places for speaking up on my timeline. My point is this election is going to be entirely won by who gets their supporters to show up more than in the usual election. It’s always about that, but Trump’s path to victory lies more in the lack of enthusiasm for Hillary as much as in the excitement about him this time. A good snowstorm that blankets the east coast could kill the election for Clinton, especially if the media keeps spinning the narrative she’s miles ahead of Trump. No one is excited about her.

          • Lulu says:

            media keeps spinning the narrative she’s miles ahead of Trump. No one is excited about her.
            That is what is so weird this year. The Dem is the non-exciting establishment candidate and the Republican is the insurgent, change, and in your face candidate. The media and polling saying she is miles ahead, got it sewn up, etc which is “supposed” to make Trump voters give up and stay home and not vote BUT at the same time excite her own voters to get out, vote and join the inevitable landslide. I think it is doing the opposite. Her non-enthused “yeah ok whatever” Dem constituencies are MORE likely not to show on election day if she is supposed to win easy peasy and the Trump insurgent voters will be likely to show as an “up yours” protest vote. Hilary’s team is not the best on the country’s mood due to their bubble. It is odd way to approach the whole thing.

          • lateblum says:

            I overheard 2 men talking about the election yesterday in the café. They were tearing down Trump and the people who support him, but saying nothing positive about HRC. I finally had to interject (they were interfering with my reading and I was getting annoyed).
            I asked them what made Trump supporters so “disgusting” to them. They said Trump supporters were stupid, uneducated, racist. I said that I knew many Trump supporters and that was not how I’d describe any Trump voter whom I personally knew. I also asked them why they thought so many millions of voters were flocking to Trump and they were able to admit that past and current elected gov/t people had NOT kept promises, had legislated badly, had interfered with lives of the “little” people and had lied or ignored (or both) the voters. I then asked why they were so opposed to people who were finally so disgusted with the politicians that they were willing to turn over the government to a man who couldn’t be bought and who, despite so much controversy, was responding to the needs of the people. I compared it to a revolt by “the people”. And asked what they thought HRC would do that would meet the needs of the voters.
            They had nothing good to say about HRC except that she had “experience” and “could do the job”. I asked what job they were talking about. I asked if they thought she was trustworthy or honest or a person of integrity. They both said “No”. But that they were going to vote for her anyway. I shook my head and said that was where the trouble lay. People who were willing to support liars and shysters, and politicians who would disregard what voters want instead of representing and working for the people of the country.
            One of the men got up and left. He didn’t return until I picked up my book and gathered my things to leave. (That was an hour later.) I got to read and the other man was willing to think about what I said.
            whether he actually does is another story, but I don’t intend on seeing him again to ask.

  4. Dora says:

    Removed the word Israel!


    White House corrects location of Jerusalem on day of Peres’ funeral

    The White House had to correct the location on its release of President Barack Obama’s remarks Friday in Jerusalem.

    Read more here:

  5. lyn says:

    The White House is putting forward a proposal to add a new racial category for people from the Middle East and North Africa under what would be the biggest realignment of federal racial definitions in decades.

    If approved, the new designation could appear on census forms in 2020 and could have far-reaching implications for racial identity, anti-discrimination laws and health research.

    Under current law, people from the Middle East are considered white, the legacy of century-old court rulings in which Syrian Americans argued that they should not be considered Asian — because that designation would deny them citizenship under the 1882 Chinese Exclusion Act. But scholars and community leaders say more and more people with their roots in the Middle East find themselves caught between white, black and Asian classifications that don’t fully reflect their identities.

    • lyn says:

      It was a nothing piece of writing.

    • taw46 says:

      We’re rich, we have had a great life. But I am a victim because something “might” happen to me and my brothers.

      • DeniseVB says:

        That was Michelle Obama’s mantra on the campaign trail in 2008. “Buh-rack can get shot pumping gas !” Let this nightmare be over !

        • blowme0bama says:

          Good, God. I’m going to assume that she really said that. If she didn’t, it says a lot that it is entirely believable she would.

          • lateblum says:

            She said it and so did he. During the 2008 elections.

          • blowme0bama says:

            Jesus. It’s been an 8 year nightmare, hasn’t it folks? Every day, a new disaster or insult. I hope Trump doesn’t let HRC, Obama, Holder, Lerner, Johnson, Comey off the hook and prosecutes every one of these sons of bitches.

        • lyn says:

          No, a black guy shot a white deputy 15 times when the deputy was pumping gas.

        • lateblum says:

          They’ll never return to Chicago, thank goodness. Now Buh-rack can get shot simply driving his car on the Dan Ryan Expressway. There have been over 40 shootings with most resulting in someone’s death this year. The police contend these shootings involve gang members. The people who are unlucky enough to be driving at the same time as the shooters are taking huge risks and are at risk for being shot or somehow involved in accidents resulting from the shootings. No one is ever in custody for these crimes. It is insane.
          And Buh-rack won’t drive a school bus, either. Yesterday, a school bus driver was shot in the face while driving students home from their work-study programs. No one is in custody.
          Nothing and no place is safe here.
          Last weekend, a man was in millennium park with his sister and another woman. He chose to argue with a religious fanatic. Someone in the crowd walked over and shot him in the head. After undergoing emergency surgery at Northwestern Mem. Hosp. he was placed on life support. He died. The man who shot him had no relationship to anyone involved in the dispute. The man who shot him was also illegally carrying a weapon. He had prior arrests and convictions and was out on the street to kill again. So,when you hear that Chicago has such strict gun laws, you have to ask who these laws target… the thugs that are still killing, or the law abiding people who are getting killed.
          Chicagoans have been saying things are “out of control” for years. Now that city officials are in an election cycle, they are saying it as well. They will stop addressing the craziness just as soon as the elections are over.

          • DeniseVB says:

            I saw that the Chicago Sun-Times endorsed Hillary. Fools. Nothing will change, the Chiraq mafia will still thrive and many in the FB comments were pissed. Which is a good sign.

          • cynic says:

            Hubby has no desire going into the city anymore. Were the shootings on the 290 yesterday gang related or random? Scary.

            YTD shootings 3274. Rahm is doing such a wonderful job.

          • lateblum says:

            the implications were that the shootings on 290 were connected. But they don’t really know. If they do know, why are there no arrests?
            I’m with your husband I now don’t drive the Dan Ryan at all. I have decided if I have to drive the Ryan to get somewhere, I’m not going.

        • 49erDweet says:

          Yeah, if your pumping gas while holding a gun on somebody, or pointedly ignoring the orders of a cop and suddenly reaching for something, almost anybody can get shot. Black, white or brown, if a cop says to do something – or NOT do something – it’s safest to comply. IMO too many activists preach ‘resistance’, ergo resisting results in cop reactions. It’s really easy to figure out.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Two of my almost grown gs are black. This IS an issue. Neither is a punk, but their freedom of movement does lessen as they mature. The eldest is bff with the local CoP’s white son. Since they were about 3 yo. They both realize that now they can’t hang together if they’re moving around much after sundown. The author is expressing a reality. Brought about bc of the larger ratio of hoodlums within the black community, possibly, but that still doesn’t sit well if you’re a black non-hood.

      • elliesmom says:

        I think the issue with the story is more about where she lives. Nantucket is not exactly a hotbed of racial violence or unrest. Compared with the rest of the state, Nantucket does have a high crime rate, but it’s because of the high rate of property crimes. Lots of expensive stuff to steal. The population is a mix of wealthy people, people who cater to wealthy people, and people who fish for a living. People are not getting shot on the street by the police. Her fears about her brothers being in danger at a noisy beach party are misplaced. Unfortunately, when a privileged young woman complains that someone complimenting her on a hair style is racist, it diminishes the real issues black people face.

  6. 1539days says:

    I only had a few near misses with hard drives before I started doing backups. The worst was a 3TB drive I had that ran about 18 months before it started getting squirrely. I started backing it up on a regular basis and it eventually crapped out.

    A good thing to do is get an external drive and set up a weekly schedule to back up when you’re asleep (if you sleep at a regular time). If you’re awake when it backs up, it will just go a little slower.

    • blowme0bama says:

      I used to set my gaming machines up with RAID-0. Two HDs, the data spread between each. Twice the opportunity for failure. So glad SSDs are pretty cheap now.

      • 1539days says:

        I know people who use RAID-1 for backup. It’s good because it is instant and totally protects against a single hard drive failure. I prefer incremental backups because if data gets corrupted, I can retrieve it from the backup, The other advantage is that I have a dedicated external drive that I disconnect 6 days out of the week. That way, if I get a cryptolocker, I can rebuild the whole thing.

  7. gumsnapper says:

    I use Carbonite, a service that automatically backs up your stuff on the cloud. And it’s cheap enough.

  8. DeniseVB says:

    Probably why I’ve stayed with AOL for 20 years, they save everything I want to save for me.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Me too any thing important, I keep in my mail, Or FB. 😀

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      That is one of the reasons I have kept AOL. I use it as a quick backup for current files so I do not have to stop and get a drive connected. I do daily/weekly backups to flash drives and a major backup once a month to the eternal hard drive. I had to train the guys at the office to email most of their work to themselves so it is backed up because once we switched to all notebooks I could not pry those little machines out of their hands. When ever they have a computer glitch- even if it is some as simple as getting them out of a rotated screen – I take that opportunity to do a back up, I stopped giving them flash drives because they just fall into the void with all those missing socks and never return.

  9. lyn says:

    I’m backing up right now. When I went back from W10 to W7, it corrupted all the backup tasks. I found these two resources today, and it worked.

    • lateblum says:

      How long after the W10 upgrade did you return to W7? I didn’t know you could do that until it was “too late” per W10.

      • lyn says:

        There was a 30-day window, but the first time was within 24 hours and the second time was a few days. My computer kept freezing and having low memory after the second installation.

        • 1539days says:

          I ended up “reserving” the W10 license on my laptop before the July 31 deadline. Even though it is Windows 7, it would not accept the upgrade to 10. So I put a blank HD in and ran the windows 10 installer and put in the licence key. So, either I can start from scratch someday or I can use my free windows 10 upgrade on a different computer if the hardware goes on the laptop.

    • lyn says:

      Also, my hubby is out of town, and it was easier and faster to fix without him “helping” me.

  10. Dora says:

    I’m not on Facebook, but you don’t have to be to realize the strain this election is putting on friendships and family relationships.

    • lateblum says:

      I joined and then left FB in 2008 only about 6-7 weeks in between. I could not tolerate reading the adulation bestowed on bronco bama by people who were simply filled with white guilt over their white privilege. They had no idea that there were people who had real experience and would do a better job (like HRC at that time) than that poseur. I chose to stop the madness at my end. I only regret it when I see photos of my grand babies that someone sends me from my son’s and dil’s FB posts.

  11. lateblum says:

    Thank you to whoever talked about “Designated Survivor” last night.
    I found it on comcast’s “on demand” late last night and watched the first 2 episodes. I thought it was pretty good and although I don’t care for Kieffer Sutherland, I thought he was pretty good as a sort of Harry Truman POTUS replacement. I thought the woman playing the role of his wife was too pretty to be attracted to a nebish-y guy like him. But that was my main objection to her. I also thought, as someone else suggested, that in the second epi the story was heading “off the rails” a couple of times. But the writers managed to save the show in the end.
    So thanks again. I don’t watch much tv so I didn’t even know the show existed.

    • 1539days says:

      I was lukewarm about watching episode 2, but I’ll give it a shot.

      • lateblum says:

        I will watch it until it bores me. I liked “Homeland” and “Orphan Black” both more, but again, I’m easy to please when it’s after midnight and I can’t sleep.

      • lateblum says:

        BTW did you watch “The People vs O.J.” ?
        I tried to watch using On Demand, but couldn’t do it. People here and my sister have said it was exceptionally well done. I hope to be able to see it sometime. But, in the end, I’ll prolly forget as I wasn’t interested in it to begin with.

        Leaving to run Saturday errands…..

        • 1539days says:

          I loved The People vs. OJ. I avoided OJ like the plague on TV back in 1995, so I wasn’t as tired of it. They took some liberties with the story, but I found it interesting entertainment.

          I would also watch the ESPN documentary about OJ. 2-3 out of the 5 parts were about the murder, but the other parts had some interesting historical perspective, plus the story about how OJ took his freedom and squandered it to the point where he’s in prison now.

          • lateblum says:

            Your comment is exactly what my sister said about both of the versions. I may have better luck watching the ESPN version as the other isn’t available for on demand viewing.

    • swanspirit says:

      I meant to watch that! Thanks for the reminder🕘📺

  12. DeniseVB says:

    It’s finally happened, Hillary’s released her flying monkeys😛

  13. swanspirit says:

    My gratitude for this place , and everyone here is infinite!!! Saved my sanity more than a few times, and this is my first stop when I get online.
    For backup, I use a WD Passport. It is so easy to use, and I can take my saved stuff where ever I go.
    CNET will never steer you wrong on electronics and this one is listed on their best of 2016 page.

  14. lorac says:

    Hey former PUMAs, if anyone is interested, I have a friend (Vince) here in San Diego who is a nutritionist. He has been working on a you-tube cooking channel. He has 10-12 videos up already, but given that he works a full-time job and a part time job and has a young family, even if you subscribe you’re not going to get inundated with email alerts. If you want to give the site a peek, the main page is

    Here’s his youtube for hummus, TIA! (I tweeted it to Ivanka, she probably needs a quick delicious hummus recipe lol)

    • lateblum says:


    • lateblum says:

      I really wanted to say “It’s nice to see you here, lorac. I’ve thought of you many times since I kind of left UW.
      It is you, isn’t it?

      • lorac says:

        lol Yes it’s me. I miss a lot of UW people, but…. our political beliefs have gone separate ways. They even seem to love Obama now. Blows me away….

        • lateblum says:

          I know! When I go over there to read, I am astonished at the obamalove that I see. It makes me want to hurl. So then I leave and am grateful that I can come here where it is more grounded and reality based. At least when it comes to bronco bama. 😉

      • lorac says:

        But did you have another name?

  15. Dora says:

  16. DeniseVB says:

    LOL —> #BasementDwellers now trending at the top of Twitter !

    • lyn says:

      Are Hillary supporters Witchy Wannabes and Flying Monkeys?

    • CiscoKid says:

      Every time Hillary say’s or is discovered to have said something incredibly stupid, it comes back to bite her in the ass.
      Keep ‘yapping Hillary.

  17. helenk3 says:

    must see video

  18. Dora says:

    • lateblum says:

      There are some truly excellent comments at the end of this article.
      Here is one:

      “Come writers and critics who prophesy with your pen
      And keep your eyes wide the chance won’t come again
      And don’t speak too soon for the wheel’s still in spin
      And there’s no tellin’ who that it’s namin’
      For the loser now will be later to win
      For the times they are a’ changin’!” – Bob Dylan

      From Steve Baker · Hibbing, Minnesota

  19. NewOrleans says:

    What kind of music files, Klown?

    That might be some of the easiest items to replace – if you know the right places to look.

    • Mostly classic rock, but some other stuff too.

      • NewOrleans says:

        For a web/forum option, has been invaluable.

        For non-forum, nothing beats Usenet. Still, after 20 years, it’s the best. If you’re not familiar with it, it’s like a giant bulletin board where everything gets posted – music, movies, tv shows, apps, porn, etc. Currently, almost everything posted in the last 8 years is still available to grab. The only downside is you’d need a premium usenet provider to be able to grab from them (and the best ones are about $13/month).

        To show you the enormous usenet selection, go to – Type the band you’re looking for in the search engine, click ‘show all’ in the ‘Maximum age of post’ box and then click the ‘search’ button. Prepare to spend a ridiculous amount of time going from page after page after page after page looking at the results. And their search only goes back about 1700 days. goes back the full 2900 days.

        I’d be happy to grab everything you could ever possible want. Getting it to you, though, might be a challenge. I know you’re like freaking Howard Hughes when it comes to your privacy. We could figure something out pretty easily. You’ve been my saving grace since the dKos days, so being able to help you replace what you’ve lost would be something I would personally enjoy being able to do.

        Let me know.

  20. dailypuma says:

    Eventually, technology may allow for the drive to be photographed as is and the date recovered, no spinning necessary. Might be worth holding onto the “dead” hard drive if you have the room.

Comments are closed.