Mom Is Home

Giving Mom her medication

Giving Mom her medication

Mom got home about 5 pm last night. She was in a lot of pain. She showed me the incision – about 6 inches long – on her abdomen. My sister was worn out and decided she wanted to go home and see her husband.

They had stopped at Rite Aid to get her prescription for Vicodin filled. The clerk told them that it would not be ready until after 8 pm. That is three fucking hours to fill a simple prescription.

After getting Mom settled and feeding her some dinner (Campbell’s Chicken Noodle soup) I went down to Rite Aid a little after 7 pm. Not only was the prescription still not filled, but the clerks were snotty and rude.

“They were told when this was dropped off that it wouldn’t be ready until after 8.”

They certainly didn’t look busy. I was the only car in the drive-thru and I could see the front counter thru the window and there were no customers. I explained the situation, telling them that my 82 year-old mother was crying in pain and had just got home from having surgery. (Mom wasn’t crying when I left but she had been when she first got home.)

The other clerk (there were two) told me they were really behind because they only had one pharmacist and repeated that it would not be ready until after 8 pm. I was tempted to tell them I would wait and then sit there blocking the drive-thru window until they gave me her medicine, but I settled for rolling my eyes and driving away.

When I came back at 8:15 the prescription was ready. It was a different clerk and she was polite.

From now on we will be using the Walgreens across the street from Rite Aid. They not only have a drive-thru but they are open 24 hours. Fuck Rite Aid.

I stayed with Mom until she went to bed. She assured me she would survive the night without me, and said she would call me if she needed anything.

Patti (my favorite niece) has the morning shift.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

I'm a basket case.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

120 Responses to Mom Is Home

  1. I could have made a few calls and scored some Vicoden from a dealer in less than three hours.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Fucking Rite Aid. There’s a special place in hell for people who are nasty to those suffering and in need.

    • cynic says:

      Glad your mom is home! Too bad hospitals can’t send people home with enough medicine to get them thru the night. Silly me for thinking that they could do something like that.

    • lateblum says:

      I’m so happy your mom is home. I hope her pain is short-lived and she will be enjoying the company of her family again soon.
      I was lucky. When I left the rehab site following my back surgery in June, they sent me home with the meds that I would have taken for the next week, because those meds had already been prescribed and filled.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I remember BEFORE they released my dh after his hip replacement, they sent me to the hospital pharmacy to pick up his prescriptions. Surely UC-Davis has a pharmacy?

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          The hospital pharmacy was the last stop I had for both my inpatient surgeries and I had Kaiser at the time and they run their own pharmacies (Kaiser does have their own hospital system in the Mid Atlantic). That would seem to indicate even closed HMO knew it was best to make sure those meds went home at the time of discharge and not just a script.

          Perhaps it was because its a controlled substance? But they should have explained – may take longer because we have to make in inquiry into the database to make sure Mama Klown was not on exceeded limit list. I know when I had paper script only meds (Mama Mt. Laurel’s doc just sent regular scripts electronically so they were easy peasy), the pharmacy explained the first time for a controlled substance takes a bit longer as they had to add her to the database. But they were polite and it was an hour wait.

    • lyn says:

      Home is the best place for your mom to recover. ❤

    • Anthony says:

      Glad she’s home; sorry about the trouble you had to go through to get her meds

    • Constance says:

      My guess is they didn’t have a pharmacist who was licensed to dispense medications until 8pm.

  2. blowme0bama says:

    I don’t know if one of those jackwagon outfits is better than another, but I had that same problem with a Rite-Aid one time. Actually had to go back the third time before it was finally ready. It is ridiculous when, ostensibly, all they have to do is find the big bottle, pick a small bottle, count the # of pills then put them in the small bottle, and get on their computer and identify the Dr., Prescription, amount, and to whom it was prescribed. Shouldn’t take any longer than it took me to type this comment.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Glad mom’s home, once the vic kicks in, she’ll definitely be in her happy place🙂 Hope she had a pleasant night. Will a visiting nurse stop by to check on her to make sure she’s healing well?

    My facebook feed is thick with Michelle Obama “shaken to the core” speech worship this morning from my lib family and friends. Thank God for Ann Coulter.

  4. votermom says:

    Sorry you’re mom had to go through that. I hope she heals fast.
    I have heard vitamin c might help speed along healing. Also sunshine.
    And hubby says pineapples.

    • lateblum says:

      I think visits from friends and family and being outside – either walking or sitting – helped me more than anything after my surgery this summer.

      • votermom says:

        Are you fully recovered from the surgery part of it now?

        • lateblum says:

          Thank you for asking. The pain resulting from the narrowing of the spinal column and the crushing of the spinal cord, is gone!! The sciatica is gone as well. Thank goddess.
          There are days when I’m sure I am fully recovered. Then there are days when I’m not so certain. I don’t go back to the surgeon for another month. The incision looks fully healed. (Per my PCP)
          The actual area of my spine where the coflex device was inserted is where I have my greatest concern. I suppose if I’d had a spinal fusion, I might have just as many concerns.
          I’m still cautious about lifting, but am being judicious. The PT, which has been so helpful, comes to an end next week. 😞
          I will have an exercise routine to practice. And I plan to return to the senior center to use the gym and perhaps get some PT or personal trainer advice there.
          Fingers crossed. 💕

          • cynic says:

            Glad to hear that the pain is gone!!! Been thinking about you.

          • elliesmom says:

            I’m about 12 years post surgery. There are times when I get cocky about lifting things or moving furniture by myself, and my body sends me a reminder. But some stretching exercises my physical therapist taught me put it back to rights in a few minutes. Once my incision healed, my therapist sent me to the pool. Swimming helped me get my strength back w/o stressing my back. I even used a flotation belt and “ran” in the pool.

          • votermom says:

            That’s wonderful! I’ll keep praying that you continue to get better.

          • swanspirit says:

            Wonderful news! So glad your pain is gone, and being cautious is never a bad thing. HUGS!!! Very gentle ones!

          • lyn says:

            That’s great! ❤

          • DeniseVB says:

            Wonderful update ! It’s only been a few months, I think you’re doing incredible. Your new normal may not include slinging 40 pound sacks of rice over your shoulder, but you’ll adjust😉

          • blowme0bama says:

            Glad to hear that. Congrats.

        • lateblum says:

          Wow. Thank you EVERYONE for your thoughtful comments, thoughts and wishes. I ❤️ You all….💕💕💕

  5. Venus says:

    Best wished to mom on a speedy recovery.

    A decent poll (using 2012 turnout, which I don’t think will be the case this year, but nevertheless, is “fair” to use rather than the D+14, etc NBC has been using):

  6. helenk3 says:

    hope mom feels better soon. being home should help a lot

  7. helenk3 says:

    guess when the msm sold their souls to the dems, they gave up that “freedom of the Press” thingy
    clinton camp threatening media to change wikileaks stories

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Yes, the buzz around here is that they are going to push more and more faux stories on Trump so they can use that path to then explain away the WikiLeaks as not being kosher. They had hoped the Russia meme would take hold but it is not so yep – those are not the 33,000 emails that were on the bathroom server. Those 33,000 were really just about yoga and grandkids. They have never seen those emails that keep leaking before. Someone is making up thousands upon thousands of emails on their own bathroom server to make Queen Hillary and King Barry look bad. The hack of the twitter/facebook accounts – well that was just an early Halloween prank.

      • kanaughty says:

        I have to say this russia is doing it (w trump involved somehow) meme is not selling becuause it sounds as disengenuine as a youtube video started benghazi.

  8. cynic says:

    Saw this on CNBC (We don’t get FOX Business channel.) a couple of days ago. They interviewed some Coal Miners in PA. The interviewer points out that they were all Dems, but are voting for Trump. Listen what the man says about Hillary. They cut off the interview after he said she’s a liar. Boy, I’d love to know what else he said!

    After the clip, they go back to the announcer in the studio (Joe?), and he says, well you have Trump and the tape. Gotta protect Hillary the liar. The clip doesn’t include Joe’s comments.

  9. swanspirit says:

    Glad your mom is home and doing so well, that really is great news. What I don’t understand is how she was discharged without enough pain meds to last until the next day, to make sure and cover any time between discharge and getting a prescription filled. And there is NEVER any excuse for being rude.
    That being said, I have never had to wait longer than a half hour at Wal-Mart or Walgreens for a prescription to be filled. But I am glad you are past that too.
    I am sure your Mom came home with lots of post op instructions, but I am wondering if she will have a visit from a nurse
    Sending lots of healing and freedom from pain. One last little thought, pain meds frequently cause constipation, and a little stool softener once daily helps totally prevent that.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Whoa, hold onto your hats NW TCHers.

    • lateblum says:

      Is all this nasty and disastrous weather related to HAARP?
      I’m just asking for a friend.

      • cynic says:

        I started hearing about HAARP years (7-8?) ago, and did research on it back then. I told my son and hubby about it and they thought I was crazy until I printed up info from Wikipedia about it. Never heard HAARP mentioned in the news.

        Imagine if they control the weather. Did you know that the weather was absolutely horrible on the day of the BREXIT vote? An elderly friend/knitter was born/raised in the UK and I asked her how she felt with the results of the vote. She was darn right giddy about it. She said how important it was, and all her friends braved the horrible weather to go vote.

        Elderly voters tend to be more conservative. What could they do to keep them from voting?????

        • lateblum says:

          It will be interesting to note the weather. On Nov 8 everywhere. The last GE, the city had hooded all parking meters within 2 blocks of my polling place. That means these spaces became “No Parking” spaces. The neighborhood spaces are “permit pnly” spaces. I called the city and complained. They said they had “no knowledge” of parking meters being hooded but were “certain” there was a “good reason” for it.
          BTW: those spaces had not been hooded during the day. This occurred at the end of the day when people were coming home from work and too tired to find parking and then walk back to that polling place. I parked in the commuter lot that has a fee to use and walked back to vote. There were tow trucks seen around my polling place. Bastards.

        • elliesmom says:

          When I campaigned for Hillary in 2008, we ran a shuttle service from the senior housing, assisted living complexes, and the senior center to the polling places. I swapped cars for the day with my daughter because she had a minivan.

          • lateblum says:

            At least here, the senior and assisted living centers have their own polling places on site. There are people -mostly democrats here – who will drive elderly and disabled to their polling places. Where I first lived after I was married, it was the Repulican precinct workers who drove prospective R voters to GOTV. My neighbor and I wer both 9 months pregnant, but since she was R and I was not, he offered to take her and not me. (She refused to go if he wouldn’t take me as well.) We drove together to vote that year. 😉

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Stay safe. ❤

  11. votermom says:

    Is Mom a BBT fan?

  12. foxyladi14 says:

    Sending Prayers and healing thoughts To Klown Mom, And anyone else that needs them.
    Thanks Swan about stool softener.
    I suffered terribly after my great fall and surgery. ❤

  13. Dora says:

    Very discouraging. 😦


    Voter Fraud Is Real. Here’s The Proof

    Data suggests millions of voter registrations are fraudulent or invalid. That’s enough to tip an election, easily.

  14. DeniseVB says:

    For those of us who have been duped by fake news sites, here’s a good list. I’m not a fan of Snopes but since they didn’t include Fox News, it’s probably legit.😉

  15. lateblum says:

    I need to unplug for the rest of the day. I’m taking care of Calamity starting in an hour so will not have the ability to read and/or comment. Have a great Friday, everyone.

    Welcome home, Mom of Klown!

    • Somebody says:

      Come on it’s a college campus. ALL colleges are liberal havens, even the University of Alabama is liberal. Allowing the progressives to take over education at all levels is the biggest failure of conservatives.

    • Kathy says:

      Gotta send that link to my girls..both graduated from UF in the nineties. Used to be a tough school.

    • Lulu says:

      When providing full spectrum mental health treatment (very expensive) for more and more of the student body becomes prohibitively expensive the schools will start sending them home to mom and dad. Most schools already do that to the suicidal, bi-polars, etc. Now it is just some extreme baby behavior (of course it is very similar to the professional staff’s own behavior) which of course can get much worse fast. I think these kids are competing for attention and one way is to be the most outlandishly whiny and needy. If you are a homely, awkward, pimply doofus you can get some mileage out of being fashionably crazy but not TOO crazy.

      • DeniseVB says:

        How about these kids aren’t ready for college? Not sure how they survived middle/high school? Oh wait, those are becoming training grounds for special snowflakes and need to be taken back by the Stealth PTA’s of yore. You know, the ones School Boards feared?

      • Anthony says:

        They’ve already gone too far. Now it’s turning into a whine-a-thon…

    • helenk3 says:

      Don’t you know snowflakes melt in Florida weather?. don’t you understand that old expression about not liking the heat?

  16. Lulu says:

    I was just reading an UK tabloid article on Hillary telling Ellen show that Trump “stalked” her in the last debate. She is cray-cray. Anyway a couple of the commenters refer to Hill as BigPants which is just about perfect as insults go. LOL.

    • Anthony says:

      Yoko will kick his ass

    • Somebody says:

      She walked in front of him on HIS side of the stage. He never walked over to her side. The stage was purposely set up very small for just these kinds of optics and for her to claim he invaded he space, but it failed because he was on to her. She can try and push that meme all she wants but the video tape shows a different story.

  17. DeniseVB says:

    Here’s another handy link to spam the medias and liberal friends with. I asked Ann Coulter to cut a video reading them😛

  18. Dora says:

    For mystery lovers.


    EXCLUSIVE: How Bill Clinton’s Penthouse Pet lover died in a mysterious house fire that her sister believes was started to cover up her affair with the then Arkansas governor

  19. swanspirit says:

    The wiki leaks are having an effect. You can tell because the Buffooners over at John Cole’s Buffoonery are hatin on Julian Assange and anything wiki leaks They are all kinds of butthurt and buffooned off.
    Am I supposed to be having this much fun in an election year? Best election ever!!

  20. CiscoKid says:

    Probably old news, but I just found it.
    How voting machines can be hacked, demonstrated.

  21. Dora says:

    AWFUL! Wikileaks Reveals Clinton Camp Was Posting FAKE “Sexist Trump Job Ads” On Craigslist


    What kind of people approve these slimy tactics?

    The Hillary Clinton Campaign was posting fake “Sexist Trump Job Ads” on Craigslist.

    The Hillary Campaign approved these malicious ads.

    Their heinous plot was revealed by Wikileaks.

  22. votermom says:

  23. Dora says:

    Hey, all you far left feminazis who support the Muslim invasion of the West…”Islam is the real rape culture”

    And by supporting the import of millions of Muslim invaders to America and the West, you vile male-bashing feminazis are enabling your own demise.

    As leading Gay Conservative Milo Yiannopoulos so aptly points out, “feminazis are just like Islamic jihadists”…they both want to shut down free speech.

  24. votermom says:

    perfect for Hillary

  25. Propertius says:

    I’m really glad you mom is home, safe and sound, but I’m very sorry she’s in so much pain and you had so much trouble getting her prescription filled.

    • Mom’s not hurting so much now. When she first came home she had taken a 2.5 hour car ride and had to get up and walk into the house. She has been resting and taking it easy since then.

      • Propertius says:

        I’m glad to hear that. I suspect a lot of us here have had to take care of ailing parents and know just how grueling (physically *and* emotionally) it can be. Don’t forget to take care of yourself, too.

        Best wishes to her for a speedy and complete recovery!

Comments are closed.