107 vs. 67 – Battle of the Underdogs


The Chicago Cubs and the Cleveland Indians. Two of the oldest franchises in professional sports. But between the two of them they have only won four World Series titles. The last one was in 1948.

Somewhere in the next two weeks one of those teams will end their losing streak and take a championship trophy back to their fans. The other team will break their fans’ hearts.

I don’t hate either team, but I will be rooting for the Indians for a couple of reasons. Cleveland has been my second-favorite team ever since the movie Major League came out. I used to work with a guy from Cleveland and we used to watch Browns and Indians games together. I haven’t seen Roger in over 25 years since he moved to Florida, but I know he’s getting drunk and watching the game tonight.

But the main reason I will be rooting for Cleveland is simple – baseball just wouldn’t be the same if the Cubs ever win the Series.

This is an open thread.


tumblr_ofk4foyihk1svfp2ro1_1280


About Myiq2xu™

“Let’s be honest, the people who are currently outraged are the same people who have always been outraged.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

88 Responses to 107 vs. 67 – Battle of the Underdogs

  1. Am I really seeing this shit or am I HAF?

  2. SHV says:

    Speaking of underdogs….I was going to Home Depot and listening to a local radio station. Local news, voter registration has ended and 500,000 more registered voters than 2012!!! I find that number hard to believe but if true, in my Red State, most of those are on the Trump Train. Also didn’t see any Trump election signs….hopefully a quiet revolution will become very public Nov. 8

    • lateblum says:

      Extended open voting started today in Illinois. The news reported the registration has topped any previous year and there were lines to vote today. My dd#1 called from her polling place to ask me who to vote for down ticket. I said anyone who is not an incumbent or a democrat except for Leslie Munger who is the current comptroller.She’s an R and has refused to pay state legislators until there is a budget and until other bills have been paid first. I hope Munger causes M Madigan, chief Democrat crook, to starve. This might have been dd#1 first time voting for an R ever.

      • cynic says:

        via the AP, “The number of registered active voters in Illinois ahead of next month’s election is at its highest since 1970, even edging past the number from 2008 when Barack Obama, then a U.S. senator from the state, ran for president, officials with the state Board of Elections said Tuesday.”

        Trump won IL in the primary, but Cruz took in quite a few votes. On the other hand, Hillary didn’t beat Bernie by too much.

        It’ll be interesting to see how the state goes. It’s solid blue, Chicago always kills us.

        • lateblum says:

          It’s true. Chicago, because of the numbers, (and of course the numbers of dead who still feel duty-bound to cast their votes), does have the power to turn everything around. We simply need to do more campaigning at the cemeteries.

    • lateblum says:

      Love this movie.

      • kanaughty says:

        I love working girl. Was thinking about this movie when someone said in a comment to an earlier post that fec has now allowed foreign ownership of radio. That was the whole point of her idea in that movie, a radio buyout, instead of tv, because fec forbid foreign ownership of radio so that company could not be under bid for the buy or have a foreign company hostile take over.

  3. helenk3 says:

    I am thinking about voting for this guy

    • mothy67 says:

      Actually quite amazing how spectacularly the DNC and media have failed at shaping the narrative. Asking about accepting results has everyone wondering why ask that. Has everyone thinking about fraud. Well played Mr. Trump.

    • Lulu says:

      It is amazing how much FAIL there is associated with Obama-ism. Last night Professor Norpath who predicts elections without political polling (and uses data like this) says the change factor and the pendulum swing of the electorate is so strong he rates a 87% chance of the out White House party winning. It really isn’t even about Trump that much but getting rid of the Obama-ites. Trump’s killshot “clear the swamp” is about stopping this kind of shit as it has already failed majorly and is now just a pathetic distraction. He also said young people and minorities turnout is going to be low because of the Obama era bullshit promises with zero results.

  4. lateblum says:

    My favorite baseball movies are “Major League”, “Bull Durham”, “The Natural”, “Moneyball” and “Field of Dreams” (which is a fantasy movie about baseball). But then, I suppose they all are. My brother loves “Sandlot” and so do I.
    BTW: at the end of “Moneyball” when Billy turns down Boston’s offer, the person who accepts the position offered to Billy, was, Theo Epstein. Epstein is the current GM of the Chicago Cubs.
    Also, “Major League” ballpark scenes were filmed in the old ball park in Milwaukee.

  5. lateblum says:

    I’m unplugging for the World Series….. ‘night all. *waves*

  6. My World Series prediction: The hottest team is gonna win.

    • swanspirit says:

      Megyn Kelly vs Newt Gingrich no contest.

      • swanspirit says:

        How this nested here, no clue, but worth watching.

      • lyn says:

        What a bitch!

        • swanspirit says:

          You can tell, she hates Trump.

          • Lulu says:

            There is a difference between hating someone and loosing all self control and slandering him. She is a very odd duck. Supposedly she is an attorney and should know this is not done. Women who get jobs on their backs should not slander or judge others. If Fox thinks she is worth a major lawsuit is debatable as her ratings are already tanking. OR a boycott of all Fox products. I guess she didn’t read the article about people flipping off news channels, canceling newspapers and reading the inter-tubes for news. We’re supposed to pay for this with our cable bill? I get closer daily to cutting the cable.

          • cynic says:

            If it wasn’t for my hubby, I would have cut the cable years ago.

    • cynic says:

      Had the family over on Sunday for lunch/pumpkin carving. I had a noisemaker sitting on the end table that I had just purchased at the estate sale on Fri. (Grandbaby was at the sale, and she liked it, so told my daughter that I would buy it for her for Halloween, since clowns are now scary.)

      We got into a discussion on Sun. about all the scary clown stories from all over the world, and came to the conclusion that there will be no more kids toys made with clowns on them, and laughed and said that we have something that will be a real collectible.

      https://www.etsy.com/listing/246805966/vintage-1950s-kirchhof-tin-clown?ref=market

    • Lulu says:

      He keeps getting hurt too. That is often a warning sign of a falling down drunk.

      • I don’t have a drinking problem. I drink. I get drunk. I fall down. I get back up. I drink some more.

        No problem!

        • Lulu says:

          Ok. Whatever you say. Don’t hurt your head. That is your best part. Wear a bike helmet when you drink. Maybe some shin guards too. My late brother in law would be so drunk and driving that he would stop in the middle of the road, open the car door, fall out in the street and lay there passed out. He was a psychiatrist and did the evaluations of incoming jail prisoners for the county where he lived. He was a really good guy but an awful drunk and got hurt a lot. Then he died at age 60.

  7. Dora says:

    I saw this movie as a child. It was ‘dish night’ and Mom used to bring me with with her. Dorothy was one of the most beautiful women I’ve seen. I loved her. Not him so much.

  8. Venus says:

    Ru-roh — On Twitter, hacker KimDotCom is hinting he has Hillary’s deleted emails:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Well, Happy Birthday anyhow Hillary! 😀

    • Lulu says:

      Yeah. I wondered how Bleachbit was supposed to get rid of hacked emails on unknown hacker’s servers being stored in other countries. LOL. How stupid is that? The Bleachbit was just supposed to hide shit (hahaha) from the FBI who wasn’t looking for the shit anyway thanks to the various crooks promoted to head the FBI and its various public integrity (hahaha) investigations. It appears (to me anyway) that Hillary’s crap was hacked, stored, and available for use as soon as she and her stupid tech illiterate goons sent it. The media has acted like it was ONE ginormous hack at ONE time after she wiped her bathroom down with a cloth. NO! It was continuous over many years and Hillary INC PRESUMED no one is smarter than they are (but nearly everyone is!) and didn’t figure it out as soon as the Google doofus told her how to do it, what goobers to hire, and Freedom of Information Act is for little people who are not tech wizzes like her staff and supporters. Masters of the Universe! Not. Globalism-open border-tech-internet has backfired on them bad.

    • DandyTIger says:

      He’s right. Bleachbit doesn’t really fully get ride of the data. You would need the disk and some seriously expensive equipment, but it’s doable.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      True Story 😦 If Hillary wins, I think we should take the clue from Iceland and start the Pirate Party ! That is, if I ever want to listen to another politician or news show again.

  10. cynic says:

    Sorry about this long post, but this is scary stuff. This guy posted about the Scott Adams post about the Bully Party. He then tells the story of what happened to him and his children. Sorry about the length of this, but it’s really bothering me how parents are using their children.

    A comment by Eric, over at Althouse’s blog:

    You see, I live in liberal Seattle. And here in Seattle, two of my boys are involved in gymnastics. Many of the parents are on my Facebook page. One of the parents in particular called me out a few months ago, at a kids birthday party, in the middle of a crowd of other parents and said, “Hey! You haven’t added me as a friend yet and accepted my Facebook friend request.”

    Being called out like that I didn’t want to say anything negative, so I just assured her, yes, I’ll add you as soon as possible. And I did.

    About a month ago she started posted Pro Hillary stuff on her Facebook. In the comments, I responded. Pretty soon, she was posting Pro Hillary stuff and saying, “No comments, just food for thought.” So I told her, “Hey look, it’s your Facebook, no problem. But if you’re not going to allow people to comment, I’m going to remove you from my Facebook. No insult intended, I just prefer to be able to comment.” she kept posting Hillary stuff and saying No Comment, so I removed her from my Facebook. No harm, no foul, right?

    Immediately after that, her son started harassing both of my boys during Gymnastics class. This is 4 hours a night, 5 nights a week. One night my son came home in tears because the boy he thought was his friend was telling him he was a racist and a sexist and I was too (his dad) because we supported Trump.

    Now it’s escalated and he’s got 3 boys ganging up on him, calling him names that he doesn’t even understand, and surrounding him at his locker. And the really sad thing is, my son is twice their size and much stronger than these punk boys. I told him he was wise for not hitting them, but he needed to understand, they didn’t know what they were saying.

    • DeniseVB says:

      This show tune (from South Pacific) was around in the 50’s and it’s very true. I wasn’t allowed to have Jewish, Black or Oriental friends ….. never did understand why.

      • I never had enough friends that I could afford to be choosy.

      • CiscoKid says:

        OMG!
        Jewish and a name like Mandy Patinkin its just gotta be the same fella that stars in
        “Dead Like Me”, a program that plays in reruns on Tuesday nights with back to back episodes.
        Color me big fan.

        • cynic says:

          We use to watch, and loved that show. I knew him from watching reruns of “Criminal Minds”. He’s one talented guy!

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          Yep it is the same Mandy Patinkin. He has a beautiful voice and is a truly talented actor. Not just a mannequin who simple says what is on the page.

          Also know from The Prince Bride as Inigo Montoya whose character spouts some the films most quoted lines:

          ‘Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.’

          “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means. ”

          “I have been in the revenge business so long, now that’s over, I do not know what to do with the rest of my life”

        • mothy67 says:

          Yentl(So ashamed I know that)

Comments are closed.