Keeping Hope Alive

screen-shot-2016-11-10-at-5-20-46-pm


This just keeps getting better and better:

The one scenario that could still get Hillary into the White House

For die-hard Democrats holding out hope that they won’t have to live through a Trump presidency, there is a last, incredibly long shot for them latch on to — a surprise twist in the Electoral College.

Though Hillary Clinton won the popular vote by 200,000, Trump has won the minimum of 270 electoral votes necessary to be elected president. As of late Wednesday, he had 290 to Clinton’s 228.

According to the Constitution, chosen electors of the Electoral College are the real people who will vote for president, when they meet on Dec. 19 in their respective state capitals.

However, there is technically nothing stopping any of the electors from voting their conscience and refusing to support the candidate to whom they were bound, or from abstaining from voting altogether.

There’s even a name for it: becoming a “faithless elector.”


This is your overnight open thread.


cusvq70weaaypk1


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Denn die Todten reiten Schnell.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Keeping Hope Alive

  1. lyn says:

    If these faithless electors do that, then I’m happy to be on the side with guns.

  2. I ❤ AofSHQ:

    It's bad enough that progressives put this kind of irrational fear into their children, worse how they then wave their kid's wholly unnecessary trauma around like some sort of badge of honor.

    "See? My kid is SCARED! Are you HAPPY, Trump voters?"

    Eat shit and go fuck yourself simultaneously. Your child freaking out over a completely valid election result has nothing to do with me, with "hate", or with America being an awful place. No, it has everything to do with your own emotionally instability and terrible parenting.

    This behavior you're describing is abnormally neurotic and wholly inflicted by YOU as a result of your spiritual emptiness, your need for a bit of drama to spice up this soft, meaningless life you're living, and your complete inability to control your shrieking hysterics in the face of even the most minor of setbacks.

    Here's a question: When did it become okay in this country for so-called adults to exhibit roughly zero self control in public or in front of their children at home? Have any of these primal scream addicted ninnies considered that embracing and amplifying every last emotional impulse is not a healthy thing for them or for our civil society?

    Well, of course they haven't. Because it's never about anything but ME ME ME ME ME AND RIGHT NOW AND ME AND NOW AND NOW AND MY FEELINGS AND ME AND MY TRUTH AND ME RIGHT NOW AND YOU CAN'T TELL ME HOW TO FEEL.

    As my wife commented to me today about many of her political tantrum throwing friends on Facebook, "My God. Control your shit!"

    When I was 8 years old MLK and RFK were assassinated within 2 months of each other.

  3. elliesmom says:

    I had a conversation with my daughter today. She was upset with the results of the election because “hate won”. After a calm conversation I asked her to look around herself. Were any of her Trump supporting friends rubbing her nose in the results or being nasty to her? What was she seeing her Hillary friends do? She came to the conclusion herself that “hate lost”.

  4. Okay, time to go to Mom’s and watch Jeopardy.

  5. votermom says:

    In case y’all were worried that he might mellow on the media now that he’s won:

  6. lateblum says:

    Unplugging for the night.
    See y’all in the morning.

  7. votermom says:

    News just told me that Hillary went on a hike today! In the woods! And met a random hiker mom with cute baby.

    Highly suspicious.
    Body burying session?

  8. lyn says:

  9. Venus says:

    BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    http://www.slate.com/articles/news_and_politics/politics/2016/11/the_democratic_party_establishment_is_finished_after_trump.html

    The Democrats will now control next to nothing above the municipal level. Donald Trump will be president. We are going to be unpacking this night for the rest of our lives, and lives beyond that. We can’t comprehend even 1 percent of what’s just happened. But one aspect of it, minor in the overall sweep, that I’m pretty sure we can comprehend well enough right now: The Democratic Party establishment has beclowned itself and is finished.

    I think of the lawmakers, the consultants, the operatives, and—yes—the center-left media, and how everything said over the past few years leading up to this night was bullshit.

    The midterm losses? That was just a bad cycle, structurally speaking; presidential demographics would make up for it. The party establishment made a grievous mistake rallying around Hillary Clinton. It wasn’t just a lack of recent political seasoning. She was a bad candidate, with no message beyond heckling the opposite sideline. She was a total misfit for both the politics of 2016 and the energy of the Democratic Party as currently constituted. She could not escape her baggage, and she must own that failure herself.

    Theoretically smart people in the Democratic Party should have known that. And yet they worked giddily to clear the field for her. Every power-hungry young Democrat fresh out of law school, every rising lawmaker, every old friend of the Clintons wanted a piece of the action. This was their ride up the power chain. The whole edifice was hollow, built atop the same unearned sense of inevitability that surrounded Clinton in 2008, and it collapsed, just as it collapsed in 2008, only a little later in the calendar. The voters of the party got taken for a ride by the people who controlled it, the ones who promised they had everything figured out and sneeringly dismissed anyone who suggested otherwise. They promised that Hillary Clinton had a lock on the Electoral College. These people didn’t know what they were talking about, and too many of us in the media thought they did.

    We should blame all those people around the Clintons more than the Clintons themselves, and the Clintons themselves deserve a ridiculous amount of blame. Hillary Clinton was just an ambitious person who wanted to be president. There are a lot of people like that. But she was enabled. The Democratic establishment is a club unwelcoming to outsiders, because outsiders don’t first look out for the club. The Clintons will be gone now. For the sake of the country, let them take the hangers-on with them. [snip]

    The ace ground game, the brilliant ad-makers, the top Hollywood talent, and the best analytics operation ever assembled? This was all a joke. The best analytics team in the world, apparently, couldn’t find in their numbers that it was worth making a single stop to Wisconsin following the convention in a campaign against a Republican whose base appeal was in the Rust Belt. Not that an extra visit would have changed the result.

    Think of how wrong the entire national media conversation was—and yes, I contributed my fair share—about how the Republicans were being torn apart as a party. I prewrote a piece Tuesday afternoon, to be published in the event of the expected Clinton win, pushing back against both myself and other members of the media, arguing that Democrats and Republicans were both in existential trouble and that, in the short-term context of a decaying political system, Republicans might even have the edge: Democrats could win the presidency most of the time but never a majority of state governments or the House; while Republicans could always win the majority of state governments and the House, and occasionally—probably in 2020, I thought—the White House. This was wrong. Republicans don’t have a slight edge over Democrats in a decaying political system. Republicans are ascendant. Trump has given them a mission. The country is now theirs.

    Whoever takes over what’s left of the Democratic Party is going to have to find a way to appeal to a broader cross section of the country. It may still be true that in the long term, Republicans can’t win with their demographics, but we found out Tuesday that the long term is still pretty far away. Democrats have to win more white voters. They have to do so in a way that doesn’t erode the anti-racist or anti-sexist planks of the modern party, which are non-negotiable. If only there were a model for this.

    The few Democratic leaders who remain are going to say that it was just a bad note struck here or there, or the lazy Bernie voters who didn’t show up, or Jim Comey, or unfair media coverage of Clinton’s emails, to blame for this loss. I am already seeing Democrats blaming the Electoral College, which until a few hours ago was hailed as the great protector of Democratic virtue for decades to come, and Republicans were silly for not understanding how to crack the blue “wall.” They will say, just wait for Republicans to overreach. Then we’ll be fine.

    Don’t listen to any of this. Everything is not OK. This is not OK.

    • swanspirit says:

      Jeebus, still doesn’t get it. Find a way to appeal? Win more white voters? How about real life solutions that go beyond ads and ideology? At some point the rubber meets the road, and they haven’t any tires. Hell, they don’t have wheels. Their vehicle is up on blocks and rusting. Not ready for the road.

      • Venus says:

        Personally I hope those morons don’t learn a damn thing.
        I don’t think I’ll be disappointed.

      • Constance says:

        Yeah I like the part about how they have to find a way to get more white votes but without being racist or sexist which isn’t OK. Here is a start dumb f**k, stop implying all people who are Republican or Independent and are white are racist, sexists. But of course that is a sacred tenant of the Progs. so they will cherish that belief. Progs are a bunch of hateful bigots they waste money and can’t work within the system, no one who voted Trump is going to vote for who the Democrats currently are. And I hate co-ed bathrooms, not because I’m a hater but because men seem to be happy if they hit any thing and I don’t like walking through piss puddles when I have to go. Progs are responsible for me having to use a filthy bathroom in public places. Every-time I have to use a filthy pissed out bathroom I think of Democrats.

        • mothy67 says:

          I kept wondering why during this erection did no one ask the why do you support Trump. Instead they just insulted. We have all read Rules for Radicals. Play book is spent. Deplorables became a battle cry. Milo, Diamond and Silk, mike Tyson , Peter Thiel all stood up hard for Trump. Gay billionaire at the Republican National Convention. I think the progs got greedy and thought they owned certain segments. I am a ghey. Protecting my kid matters the most. Odds are my charge will never share a bathroom with a chick with a dick. Doubt she would care. My local haunt has a transgender person. No one cares. I know she drinks vodka and cranberry. I have no idea what restroom she uses. Don’t care. The progs went too far too fast. The gay cake and BLM was over the top. So was OWS. A collective enough

          • Constance says:

            In Washington the restaurants and bars that have one seaters that used to be one for men, one for women have had to go to both unisex. So, sure there is only one person in there at a time, but in a women only bathroom there is hardly ever piss on the toilet seat and the floor. Once men start using the bathroom you find piss everywhere and it stinks. I hate it. But I’m not complaining about transgendered people or real men in the bathroom when I’m there bothering me. It’s the fact that apparently a high percentage of them are filthy pigs who don’t clean up after themselves.

  10. helenk3 says:

    an on point video

  11. helenk3 says:

    her mother must be so proud NOT

    • lyn says:

      The Democrats are literally losing their shit.

    • helenk3 says:

      what is with these people. remember the owies shitting in the street? now this one. weren’t they toilet trained?
      what do you put on your resume when you go to soros for a job. Well sir I am an expert at shitting in the street and making a complete ass of my self. How much is the pay for that job? Is it one of the $11.00 an hour jobs?

  12. Jadzia says:

    This is too good NOT to share: http://uomatters.com/2016/11/anonymous-professor-criticizes-uos-safe-election-processing-spaces.html

    Oh, Oregon. My favorite part is that it’s being held at the “Falling Sky” Brewery. I think some staffer must have missed the day when all of his or her colleagues had their senses of humor and perspective surgically removed.

    • Jadzia says:

      Okay, reading comprehension fail at 545 am. The faculty only are meeting at the brewery (which fine, okay, I get wanting to go to the bar when your candidate loses); the “safe processing space” is in the student union.

    • kanaughty says:

      Irony!

  13. Jadzia says:

    Mothy: I saw your earlier post about your dad and wanted to extend my condolences. It’s an awful thing, to lose one’s father, and it’s clear how much he meant to you. Tout mon coeur est avec toi.

  14. Jadzia says:

    OMG it’s a national holiday and the girls are up and it’s not even 7am. It’s my fault for giving the youngest a dollhouse as a birthday present. She thought I was “the BEST MAMA IN THE WORLD” last night, though.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Doll houses always seem to illicit such a great response and fuel the imagination.
      Happy Birthday to your littlest angel (well when she is not waking you up at 7:00 am).

    • lateblum says:

      Hold onto that “BEST MAMA IN THE WORLD” and use it as your mantra when things go south. I know that helps me anytime I get “the look” from DD#1. (As I got when I said I could not vote for HRC this time.) DD#1 turns 44 on Sunday.
      Maybe I should get her a doll house. 😉
      Happy Birthday to your little girl. ❤️ 🎂 ❤️

  15. lyn says:

    Good interview …

  16. DandyTIger says:

  17. mothy67 says:

    Jadzia and others thank you. He’s still going they actually called me and said he was dead. I think some of it is allergies. I am coughing so much. Its leaves ,and mold. Happens every year. November is torture. The only thing that helps is jim beam. I need to relax. Booze works. My biggest fear is debt. He only made minimum payments. I will have to cover it. My mom can’t. I don’t want her to see it. I will have to get a job. I retired at 40. Had bank. Not after today. I just want it to be gone. All life insurance goes to shay. I know I sound callous. Can’t fix anything. Money is easy. I think dumb stuff like I need socks.

    • You and your dad have something in common. People keep trying to pronounce you dead but you both keep hanging in there.

      • mothy67 says:

        I was just laughing about one day I woke up at St Vincents. I was worried I was going to be late for work. Nurse said honey you have been in a coma for five days. I got hit by a cab. No memory. My legs were pitch black but I did not break one bone.

  18. mothy67 says:

    My older brother cannot get on board Trump train. He’s like George Will.so vanilla. He exhausts me with his blandness. I told him I started talking Trump in 2008. He said it never happened.guess what Amazon keeps all orders. I sent him Trump books in 2008. It is peculiar my adoration for Donald stems from his love forhis brother. He drank himself to death. Donald has written about him. Doesn’t judge. I found that incredible. He even mentioned him during acceptance. Poor Barron 230 am rocking back and forth. He must have been so tired.

    • kanaughty says:

      I’ve been following the donald since i started twitter and i remember when he teased us about running in 2012. But he didn’t. His fans were upset. That’s why when he teased us about running for 2016, we were like no way. We will wait until we see it. Then he did! Then he won!!!

  19. mothy67 says:

    I have been reading all these pundits. So clueless. I think Trump won because he was honest. Hillary tried to reinvent herself. Trump was always Trump. How does one grab a pussy? I can grasp grabbing a dick pussy not so much. Guys get elections. Yes I think I am funny.

Comments are closed.