Saturday Open Thread


Here’s a fresh thread about nothing.


cyuptxpuaaad8n0


About Myiq2xu™

“Let’s be honest, the people who are currently outraged are the same people who have always been outraged.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

105 Responses to Saturday Open Thread

    • jeffhas says:

      “His administration saved the American economy from collapse, expanded health insurance to tens of millions who previously could not afford it, negotiated an unprecedented nuclear deal with Iran, helped craft a groundbreaking international climate accord, reined in Wall Street, launched a fundamental overhaul of our education system, and formulated a new vision of racial progress”

      So, let’s get this straight, his 8 years of accomplishments are:

      – Saved the economy
      – Obamacare
      – Iran deal
      – Climate Accord
      – reined in Wall Street
      – Overhauled Education
      – Racial Progress

      7 accomplishments in 8 years.

      … Except, how is Wall Street reined in?
      … What Education Overhaul? This is the first I’ve ever even heard of this as even on their radar.
      Those are flat out lies… So let’s dismiss those.

      -The economy is so slooooow and stagnant. So that one is mixed

      – Obamacare is good for some (free!) and bad for others (so expensive you cannot afford it). So this is mixed at best. But this will be repealed and replaced, so this accomplishment is GONE

      – Iran deal will likely be ripped up. GONE

      – Clinate Accord. This will likely be revoked by President Trump. GONE

      – Racial Progress? Is this progress? Fine, he’s the first Black President, you cannot take that from him… Even if we are all so divided that 1/2 the country are racists. It’s progress, I mean look how many more racists they found.

      What legacy is left?

      Well, the left better put this out there fast and furiously… But there will end up being nothing left. Eventually maybe, they will see Obama the way we saw Obama from the start:

      Obama is a failure.

      • Islanggitl says:

        Yep he totally sucks and any remaining so called legacy should swiirl down the lill Barry swamp.

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Bill Whittle was a NeverTrumper, then he started coming around last winter, not as a full throttled supporter, but as a OMG, Trump is better than the left. I approve his message 🙂 He was spot on with this one too….

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I think he came to the same conclusion as many of us – The Clinton Machine was a no go and most of the wimps in the establishment could not/would not take it on.

  2. Mt.Laurel says:

    Anyone else see anything on this:
    Green Party Drops Statewide Pennsylvania Recount
    http://www.eveningsun.com/story/news/2016/12/03/green-party-drops-pa-recount-effort/94909446/

  3. DeniseVB says:

    Peggy Fleming, one of my favorite figure skating champs. From 1968….

    • taw46 says:

      And Dick Button, my favorite, I learned how to watch figure skating by listening to him. And when he and Peggy became a team – perfection. I hated when ABC lost all the FS coverage. Commentary was never the same.

    • kanaughty says:

      I love katarina witt, oksana baiul, gordeeva/grinkov, torvill and dean, yamaguchi, and quan. I was obsessed with torville and dean’s bolero. Had it on beta and would watch it over and over again. Dean brought drama into ice dance when it had been very stale before him because it was so by the book. He looked at it more like an emotional ballet or even musical instead of just dance moves.

      • taw46 says:

        Same here, I loved all of those skaters and many more. Just pure artistry. Now, they focus more on the jumps, which ruined it for me. Sasha Cohen was exquisite, but too often she would fall and lose points. Ah, miss all that great skating. But then we had Meryl Davis and Charlie White, they are excellent.

  4. CiscoKid says:

    Probably old news, but just in case.
    Ford willing to work with Trump if policies right: CEO
    “We will be very clear in the things we’d like to see,” Mark Fields said in an exclusive interview Friday at Bloomberg offices in Southfield, Michigan.

    Among them, according to Fields: currency-manipulation rules to promote free and fair trade, tax reform and safety guidelines for autonomous vehicles.

    Fields said that Ford plans to lobby the new president to soften U.S. and state fuel-economy rules. They hurt profits by forcing automakers to build more electric cars and hybrids than are warranted by customer demand, he said.

    “In 2008, there were 12 electrified vehicles offered in the U.S. market and it represented 2.3 percent of the industry,” Fields said in the interview. “Fast forward to 2016, there’s 55 models, and year to date it’s 2.8 percent.”
    Lifted from Bloomberg Market
    Imagine, having to build cars that very, very few are being bought, ‘cuz the gubmint says you have.
    Trump knows how to run a profitable business, political hacks and bureaucrats don’t.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    The HISTORIC Torvil and Dean…..goosey bumps….

    • lateblum says:

      Oh, yes! They were undoubtedly the most creative dancers ever. I have watched this routine – and others, over and over. I taped them and some other skaters as well. But now that I cannot play those tapes, I thank goodness for YouTube.

      • taw46 says:

        Me, too! I taped so many skaters over the years. When I retired and moved, I could not bring everything, so I finally got rid of the tapes. Lucky we have youtube, but still so many routines that they will never have online. Ones I had taped and would love to see again. 😢

        • lateblum says:

          I taped this one years ago. Kurt Browning was one of several Canadian skaters who I loved. I’d stay home just to watch him skate. Elvis, too

          • DeniseVB says:

            There was such a great era of skaters in the 90’s, not sure how I fell out of love with the sport, just not must see tv for me anymore 😦 Maybe it was the scoring changes to make sure “favorites” will always win. Of course with “quadruple” jumps being the norm now, none of the US skaters can stay upright, those who do, aren’t as fun to watch since they’re always setting up the next jump.

          • lateblum says:

            Nailed it, Denise. The 80’s and 90’s were the decades of the skaters that brought me to my feet and to tears. I spent much time last night just going from one youtube video to another. Yes. There have been really good skaters since 200. But the art just isn’t there, for me. I think the jumps are the reason I prefer watching the men rather than the women. Because you can see the women being more focused on the set-up. Now I find the Ice Dancing is what I my prefer to watch. It is much closer to art than the others. Couples, too is more watchable for me. Sad, isn’t it? The coverage of the sport is much greater now than it was in the past. I can see skating every week instead of a few times a year. I wish it had been thus when those wonderful skaters of the past were still competing.

    • kanaughty says:

      THE BEST EVER! And nothing compares to them because the judges started tightening up the rules because of them. Making it as boring as before torville and dean came along.

  6. DeniseVB says:

    Ok, one more, probably the best minute in sports history, imho.

  7. lateblum says:

    Unplugging here to watch the BigTen championship game….. Wisconsin v. Penn State.

  8. helenk3 says:

    http://gotnews.com/breaking-senatemajldr-mitch-mcconnell-surrender-fcc-dems-trade-get-nevertrump-staffer-ferc/

    mitch mcconnell surrender FCC to dems trade to get nevertrump staffer ferc

    I can not stand that man. he reminds me of a pervert every time I see him

  9. AFVet says:

    Pictures from the Oakland building that burned.
    It was a fire trap.
    http://www.oaklandghostship.com/

    • CiscoKid says:

      All that dry exposed wood, not counting wood furniture.
      All that clutter combined with smoke and flames mixed with panic made for a lethal combination.
      Live there? I wouldn’t even consider visiting.
      Poor souls.

    • kanaughty says:

      That’s a hell of a lot of wood in such a tight claustrophobic place. Never catch me there.

      • Lulu says:

        That was “crazy” clutter. Hoarder, loony, jumbled and can’t concentrate because brain does not work right. The eye has no where to settle in the sight line so it makes makesl people nervous, anxious and uncomfortable and feel unsafe. I’m not talking a little busy disorder or clutter of daily life but full out hoarder brain dysfunction and illness mess. And of course the main “artiste” is sad on his Facebook that he lost all of his crap instead of people because he is nuts.

  10. I love how all these people are suddenly experts on China policy.

    • lyn says:

      Of course! They think they are smarter than Trump.

    • Anthony says:

      Better remind the experts that although China is pissed off about that phone call, they also lodged their complaint against Taiwan for initiating the call, not Donald Trump.

      “Earlier Saturday, Chinese Foreign Minister Wang Yi labeled the phone call “a shenanigan by the Taiwan side” when he was asked about it on the sidelines of a foreign policy seminar.

      In listening to the (now impotent) MSM, you’d think that it was the other way around. This is going to be a l-o-o-o-o-n-g 4 or 8 years, but I’m ready for it

  11. Dora says:

    Just look at these pictures! This is real New York talent. Athletic, brave and a little bit nuts.

    ====

    Daredevil Teen Turns Himself In After Climbing Skyscrapers Throughout The City

    Justin Casquejo, the teenage daredevil who just can’t stop climbing skyscrapers for fun, turned himself into police on Friday after posting pictures of himself dangling from structures across the city.

    http://gothamist.com/2016/12/03/justin_casquejo_urbex_turns_self_in.php

  12. Dora says:

    He just went as himself. But then, how could he possibly Trump Trump?

  13. votermom says:

  14. Anthony says:

    Love the pic of Katherine Helmond from “Brazil” getting her facelift lmao. That was one of my favorite scenes from the film!

  15. mothy67 says:

    My brother is a boilermaker. Takes years to become one. When he works the money is yuuuge, but its feast or famine. In the name of diversity they are waiving some of the requirements to hire non whites. Read illegals. There exists a very big safety issue with that. Me bro said it triples his work because they have no idea what they are doing. He makes about 220/hr when there is work. They do really intensive work. Will go on a job and live in a hotel near by as its the nature. Years he apprenticed at 10/hr. These guys are walking in with full pay and zero skills. They actually told him its in the name of diversity. He says they put everyone at risk. Not entirely sure what it is he does, but he has loads of state certificates. Electricity, plumbing, etc. These guys have nothing. He is so disgusted. He is vociferous about the danger. One guy had to be flown to a burn unit because he shut off a steam pipe and then thought he could open the valve in the same minute. He only burned himself but it could have been far worse. My bro said it was an older heating unit but there are still about 10 stages to avoid that. He said it is nearly impossible. Swears it had to be deliberate.
    Think about it though hotels, schools, arenas have on staff engineers but when work has to be done they turn to unions. Elitists might think little of the men that heat and cool an 800 room hotel but that is some serious shit and takes some real skill. In the name of diversity do you want someone unskilled. My bro has been doing it a long time. He went to art school and was in the running for Mr. Pennsylvania. He had a baby so he put on his big boy pants and took care of his child.

    I’d really like to take a trip to this world elitists envision. It is not real. I grew up in a steel town. I owned a bar as an open homo in a depressed steel town. This poor people walking around fag bashing is a myth. I had cops at my bar many times because I was over the capacity. I took a bar that was where a poet stepped in before committing suicide. End of the line place. Turned it into a cash cow. Everywhere there were dives or chains. I just made my place very very clean and super safe for women. I treated my customers well. Respect. Men go where the women are. I put in a digital jukebox. Everyone fought me. No one in this broke assed town is going to spend twice as much to play a song. I was clearing 1,600 a week from the juke. Astounds me when I hear elitists disparage white working class. They make it all up. Have no concept.
    My bar had been a heroin den. I redid it. I had priests coming in. I put up a curse jar with all proceeds going to local elementary school brats at Christmas. I had four of those yuuge pretzel jars filled with cash. I think it was just shy of 10,000. .
    All I did was respect my clientele. My being gay was not an issue. The woman we bought the bar from was running a shit hole. A Clean Well Lit Place is one of my favorite Hemingway shorts. Thousands of people in this hood. Every bar was either for college kids, a crack house, or Applebees. Regular folks just want to hang out and be normal. Previwos owner after liquor license went through decided to announce to entire community that I was gay and bringing decadence. I went to library got names of cheerleading captains and quartebacks. Hired them to tend bar. It was summer I had lines. We had to shut down because my brother got a job in NC. License was in his name. I made a visit to Looney bin when I was 25. Drank a gallon of vodka and tried to stage an accident. I was young. Note you cannot drown yourself in a 5 foot pool. Body does not accept. I cannot own a firearm or get a liquor licence.
    I was making 6k a week but I grew bored. Once I made it my dream I was done. Creating it was a challenge. Once it was successful I was bored. Then my sister in law caught me with a woman. Jesus freakus she was devastated. I’m gay not dead. Sex with a women shattered them.
    Sorry I am not defined by anyone but me. I am permitted by me to question my own desires. I am not limited to anyone else defining me. I do not judge others. I do not presume others can fathom me. I have so many scars. I forget sometimes that is a part of me. I should be retarded. Blue baby. My IQ was 139 and I got good face. Pretty sure I destroyed my grey matter with dissolute life. I always got James Dean and Monty Clift. The Liz once kissed me you look so much like Monty. I am self destructive but I am also a survivor. Sometimes I shave and I see my trach scar. I kind of forget. In some ways its like being haunted. I hate Forrest Gump. Running. Always running to stand still
    Will be 50 in January. I am stiil a kid. Accept I always will be. I amthe oldest person alive with pig valves. 8 years is max. Mine are 47. I walked into a parked ambulance high on the Whitman’s sampler of drugs in front of Bellview. I had to spend three weeks in a crisis center the rehab then 9 months in a half way house in Ronkonkoma. I took my ten speed from Walmart and collected cansto eat. I had 401 and insurance so I couldn’t get welfare. I lived in a house with hard core criminals for 9 months. First time I picked up cans I was ashamed. Then I thought you are absurd these people driving by are not thinking aboutvyou. Was very freeing. I was making about a hundred a day. I found where the private school kids partied. So many discarded bottles. One day I was taking a shit load and this guy saw me. He wanted to talk offered me his trash. He had a son he could not reach. Kid didn’t seem to be able to read. I guess he thought I was the average street person but something made him talk to me. I have a degree in Lit, but I took a few education classes. I could never be a teacher but I have a gift in teaching adults to read. I never meant to do it. Simply took place. I see it as The Sunday New York Times crossword — once you get the theme everything falls into place. I loved Eugene T Maleska. I had his kid reading in two months. I just had to see what he was seeeing. Not sure why I flow so well with illiterates. Its kind of easy for me. I was dropping off clothes at a place called Harbor Light in Pittsburgh. Its a 90 day rehab run by Salvation Army. They were not going to let this guy in because he could not read. They use RET or REBT. Rational Emotive Behavioral Therapy. It involves workbooks. Lots. Dealing with shame. Very silly when you are dealing with people that grow up where drug dealers are the success. Anyhow I heard Dwayne knew he was bright. His identical twin had od’d. I said I’ll teach him to read. I did. Went everyday for months. Hours upon hours. He was 53. Learned to read. I did a few more then 2008 came along and I was raysist because I hated obama. I did not get paid. I went to Dwayne’s one year chip. He got up and read some NA stuff. The cheers were insane. I am called all the time my nigga. Random black people hug me. Never about me being benevolent. It was a puzzle. I knew he was bright. I had to see how he was seeing words
    Another thing that pisses me off. This man had had his identical twin die. He was broken in spirit. Along comes a cracker that teaches you to read. Some obnoxious gay white dude that believes in you. That does not turn away. I did workbooks with him about bed wetting. Of course during that time he had confused feelings. He hit on my with a chubby. Does not did not make him gay. He just was not equiped for someone to actually care about his development. No one ever cared about him. Took me two months to teach him to read. So easy and no one fucks with this nigga. I am like a folk hero. I’ll be downtown waiting for a bus and Jitneys demand I take a free ride. Somehow its funny to turn Carly Simon’s You’re So Vain into You’re Tim Cain.

    • mothy67 says:

      It’s funny when I was a lonely lesbian back in the 70’s I held on to female singer/songwriters for dear life. Carole King, Linda, Dolly, Carly. Tapastry was so splendid. Tina Turner!!!!! River Deep Mountain High?? I was also a Zep head.
      One day I was tending bar and this woman came in. Monday on restaurant row in hell’s kitchen. No one ever came in at 5 o clock on a monday. I just had to rot. Usually got very drunk. In came two women. Helen Reddy and Olivia Newton John. So unprofessional I got sloshed with them. I think you are a communist if you do not like early Olivia. I honestly love you, please mister please.

  16. taw46 says:

    Jill Stein is not quitting. She plans to file suit in Federal Court tomorrow.

  17. taw46 says:

    Will this change any minds with the EU bureaucrats? Probably not. One of the comments said her family raised money for migrants at her funeral. Sad.

    • Lulu says:

      I’m surprised they found the “killer/rapist”. They usually don’t have time to conduct an investigation. They probably thought it was a skinhead and then some policeman leaked it to the papers that it was an unaccompanied tiny child Afghan with a $200 undercut with dye job hairdo. They got the bastard with DNA match from semen AND his hair. Like I said the only reason they looked was because daddy is a senior apparatchik and now it has backfired. The parents sent this girl into refugee centers to “volunteer” too. That is abuse and malicious neglect of a teenage girl. She was too brainwashed to be afraid to wander around alone in the middle of the night.

      • taw46 says:

        I’m with you on that. They don’t even look for the scum when it happens to a “regular” person. And these lefties, these globalists, their agenda is more important than their own children. Disgraceful.

  18. Dora says:

    Here comes the next round of lunacy. Kids want to sue the federal government for hurting their environment. Who is really behind this?

    ==

    “The suit is based on the argument that the federal government has known for decades that carbon pollution destabilizes the climate in a way that puts future generations in “significant” danger but has taken no action to curb it. The group alleges this failure to act has endangered their rights to life, liberty, property and vital public trust resources.”

    http://www.treehugger.com/environmental-policy/children-win-right-sue-us-government-over-climate-change.html

    • Lulu says:

      Soros and his nuisance lawsuits just like with Jill Stein. He has lost the globalism/global warming arguments so he is going into nuisance phase full on. If he can’t get what he wants he will make sure everyone is miserable. “the federal government has known for decades that carbon pollution destabilizes the climate” is a lie and they have to prove this in court. I hope the children are their own lawyers too. It would be great fun.

    • blowme0bama says:

      They only think they want that lawsuit.

Comments are closed.