Sunday Open Thread – Tis the Season

merrychristmaschipjoanna

Started a post just so I could use this photo 🙂 Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

127 Responses to Sunday Open Thread – Tis the Season

    • DeniseVB says:

      There was a funny hashtag trending yesterday about Amy Schumer’s Barbie accessories. I think it got taken down because “fat shaming” or something when it mostly had to do with Amy being a foul mouthed, unfunny comedian. Isn’t Barbie’s target audience 3-12 year old girls? A lot of parents are going to be confused and show up with their preciouses 😉

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Apparently the vehicle carrying Castro’s remains broke down during the procession and had to be pushed.

    • Lulu says:

      Sarah figured out she isn’t getting an appointment.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Ugh, the youngcons website drives me nuts with pop ups from hell. I couldn’t read it but from references to her essay I’m surprised, as a former Gov, she doesn’t understand tax incentives to bring companies to your state. Eric Bolling explained the “deal” and how it will bring millions more into the state coffers with 1k employed people spending all that salary in the state.

      I know Terry McAulliffe travels all over the world trying to drag overseas companies to Virginia. Nobody says sh*t when he makes deals they can’t refuse.

      • 1539days says:

        Donald Trump, just like Terry McAuliffe.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Wouldn’t surprise me if McA is the Dem 2020 candidate. Makes more sense than the other goofballs that have been mentions (Michelle, Eliz Warren, et al)

          • kanaughty says:

            Mich and liz are vapid like kasich. At least in my opinion, mcaulife is likable personality-wise.

        • Anthony says:

          Hardly. McAuliffe doesn’t get to set national/international policy, President Trump will.

          Corporations make decisions based on a certain amount of risk vs reward. What President Elect Trump pointed out to them was some of the new risks and rewards they would have to consider during his administration. In short, he let them know his perspective and they themselves decided to change their decision based on the coming policies. That’s hardly akin to what you’re suggesting.

          • 1539days says:

            Same thing McAuliffe does. He explains the “rewards” that companies will get if they move to Va. Trump didn’t set policy, he threatened and bribed ONE company. If he wants to lower corporate tax rates, that’s policy. When he tells everyone Carrier is bad for moving jobs to China, that’s bullying.

          • Anthony says:

            Nice try, no sale.

            McAuliffe is simply part of the Clinton mafia who reminds people how easily their storefront can be trashed if they don’t pay protection money. Trump will be setting policy – in this case, removing the Obama/Clinton regulations on businesses that force them to relocate, and also the incentives for INVESTING their own money in the state and creating more jobs. Far cry from the mafioso strong-arm.

            Also, Carrier was planning on moving to Mexico. But I’m not nitpicking. Something tells me that you will continue hating DJT all the way to the bank when you become more prosperous under his economic and tax reforms. That’s your privilege, but your characterization is completely off the rails. I’m perfectly willing to agree to disagree with you.

          • 1539days says:

            I bet you were a Sarah Palin fan until 2 hours ago, too.

          • Anthony says:

            Not really. Loved her when McCain trotted her out and she eclipsed the Greek Columns moment for Obama, but as time went on, she seemed a little too nuts for me. Try again 🙂

          • lateblum says:

            Rahm does the same in Chicago. No one minds if it means there will be businesses that either remain in or come to Chicago.
            The mayor of our little town tries to do the same to bring business here. But more have closed their doors lately. Is it Obamacare, the economy, the tax breaks expiring, the increase of vandalism and physical threats and attacks on shoppers, increased parking meter rates? Perhaps a combination of all of them and probably other things that I can’t think of.
            So now, the city offers incentives to builders to construct new residential buildings that only very financially successful people can afford. That brings traffic problems both during construction as well as after the buildings are completed. It also keep the taxes low in those places for a while. When the tax breaks run their courses, tenants move away and create yet another issue.
            But I digress. I guess Trump may have “bullied” Carrier. I don’t think the people whose jobs were saved give a hoot. It seemed the agreement – as I read it – was a good one. I need to wait and see just like everyone else.

          • Anthony says:

            Don’t believe “bullying” applied here. He just let them know the carrots and sticks his policy would contain. Carrier and their parent company considered those and made their choice. Again, the difference between a President Elect and a mayor or governor is that a PE gets to set a new policy, the others use the new policies as discretionary techniques to accomplish their end locally. Either they are on the up and up, or use them as clubs.

          • lateblum says:

            After re-reading my comment, I guess it did sound as if I were saying he bullied. I didn’t mean to imply that. That is why I used quotation marks s around the word. I agree that he and Carrier made a deal. And as I said, it sounded like a good deal to me. And clearly to the workers who get to keep their jobs.

          • Anthony says:

            No problem. I wasn’t sure what you meant. The most interesting part of the Carrier conversation was that for their investing in Indiana, they also pledged to create 10,000 more jobs in order to be eligible for the incentives.

          • lateblum says:

            Wasn’t that glorious?

          • Lulu says:

            Something the idiot Dems and media is not acknowledging is that Carrier and Ford will get enormous marketing coverage for being AMERICAN. It will sell a huge amount of product and create corporate good will. That is difficult to get these days. It creates brand loyalty and recognition especially if it connected with quality. And both companies now have a direct line into the White House also to complain about any damned thing a bureaucrat does. Both companies said it is much to do with regulation overreach.

    • swanspirit says:

      Come on Sarah, don’t turn into sour grapes Sarah!

      • DeniseVB says:

        I don’t understand it either, other than what GOPe influence Trump is listening too thinks she’s still too much of a lightening rod for the spewy lefty hate. Besides I saw where Brit Hume corrected her saying it wasn’t crony capitalism, it’s corporate welfare. Shouldn’t she have known that.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    • Lulu says:

      He must be at the Old and Ancient. They do not dress like Arnold Palmer there because it is 45F with a 25 knot wind off the North Sea in the summer. Everyone knocks the shit out of the balls to move them 15 feet. It ain’t Florida.

  3. taw46 says:

  4. swanspirit says:

    Love the pic of the Gaines family. So down to earth. Some of their latest Fixer Uppers have been very high end. I hope they continue do some smaller homes too. Joanna does amazing things with small spaces and tight budgets.

    • DeniseVB says:

      What price range is high end in Waco ? I might be able to live like a Queen there 😉

      • swanspirit says:

        They did quite a few homes under $100,000, or thereabout,in their early shows; but lately they have been doing homes oin the $300,00 to $450,000 range. Maybe their popularity is bringing in the bigger projects.
        Some of the bull flying around that thier show is faked must have gotten back to them (and yes some of the parts are sometimes staged ) but in one of the blurbs in the new season Chip says to Joanna ” Casting did a great job choosing you, making it look like we knew each other”
        Hilarious.

        • elliesmom says:

          Some of the “staged” parts of their show were outed when people started investigating how they could get Chip and Joanna to remodel a house for them. The contract says you already have to own the house and have some minimum amount of money available for the remodel. So the whole part of the show where you get taken to see three houses and pick one is fake. You can’t get picked unless you’ve already secured the home, and if you don’t get chosen, you still have a fixer-upper. 🙂

        • DeniseVB says:

          Yeah, the feminists like to jump on Chip for behaving like a….horrors….guy. They are both deliciously snarky. You can tell they like each other 🙂 I’m not a Marriage Counselor Professional, but humor and snark seemed to work in my 47+ year marriage favor. May the Gaines’ enjoy the ups and downs of that kind of endurance 😀

          • Lulu says:

            He is aggressively and boyishly masculine. For some reason that “scares” a lot of feminists. That he is still showing off for his wife for her attention is adorable.

          • lateblum says:

            @Lulu ~ That’s the word I used when I suggested to DD#1 to watch it. I said they were an “adorable” family. I love the way he does that, too. And I love her eye rolling but still loving way of responding to those “look at me” tricks and flirtations. My cynical dd#1 agrees with us and watches it, too. 😉

        • Lulu says:

          Houses on the river are very expensive even if they are dumps because river view which is beautiful. The houses in Waco are cheaper than Houston, Dallas and Austin except for certain neighborhoods near Baylor. The little towns around Waco are very reasonable and near to stuff in Waco. It is a very nice area. But I think most of Texas is beautiful.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I remember from their book about flipping small homes, then moving into them as they flipped the next one and so on. Her favorite house was so small she could plug in the vacuum and do the whole house without moving the plug 🙂

      • elliesmom says:

        We looked at a house that small when we were buying our retirement place. The house was cute, but incredibly small. Two acres of waterfront property and a huge wraparound deck. But I knew in the winter I’d be shooting six holes in the freezer, and there wouldn’t be enough boat drinks to cure the cabin fever.

      • lateblum says:

        I’m asking for the book for Christmas. I can’t wait to read it. My favorite house of their past was the Bell house. The one they had to move and then reconstructed on a different site. It was so small they built a stairway that worked on a pulley.
        I loved that comment about “great casting”, too. I finally got to see the season 4 premier show last night. That doggy spa is nicer than my bathroom. I wish they’d come up here to redo my bath.
        I think that in the future, they could skip the segment in which they “choose” the house and focus on the design and construction. After the hit piece in Buzzfeed they may have to.
        Thanks for the photo at the top. I love it!!!

  5. taw46 says:

  6. DeniseVB says:

    I’d like Tucker to have Katy Tur on his show and ask her this question.

    • lateblum says:

      I’d like to see that as well.
      Katy Tur is a one-sided “reporter”. I’m not fond of the side she chose to “report” from.

      • Lulu says:

        I want to ask if she got a legal name change from Katy Turd.

        • lateblum says:

          No, but her father got a legal sex assignment from father to parent? years ago. Some say that is the reason Katy is the way she is. I don’t know quite what they mean by that, though.

          • Lulu says:

            I read that and remember now. She became very angry and distraught that her father turned into her mother or something. Her brother and mother (the ex-wife) just wanted him to be happy but she didn’t. Her close family “hinted” that she is only concerned with herself. Sounds like she has always been “that way”.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    How you talk to the media 😉

    • Lulu says:

      Our local editor, who was just behind me in high school and friends with my brother, asked to talk to me about the election before Thanksgiving in the grocery store. I told him pick someone else’s brain you slob. He laughed because I still talk to him like he was a pimply 14 year old boy. He used to be a fair journalist but now he is just a lazy butt who should retire. This county voted I think 76% Trump so what is the story? He should talk to his own relatives who would cuss his ass out for playing stupid.

  8. DeniseVB says:

  9. Here’s one for Swannie:

    • taw46 says:

      I love that man, so calm with that swan.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I remember a story of a golfer beating an “aggressive” swan to her death on a Trump golf course (she was protecting her babies when he came to close to her nest, we have the same problem with nesting Canadian Geese in the spring on our local golf courses). We cheered when Trump banned him for life on any of his golf courses.

    • swanspirit says:

      That is so sweet! Here’s a swan hug just for you

      • lateblum says:

        that was very sweet. It gave me yucky chills when I realized the narrator was not human.

      • NewOrleans says:

        That’s Richard Wiese. He was one of the top male models in the world in the 80s and was a close friend – and college fraternity buddy – of John F. Kennedy Jr.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Millionaires spewing nonsense, et tu Gidget ?

  11. taw46 says:

    Jill on tv prior to her filing in Federal Court tomorrow.

    This was good. Except I think he should have pushed her more on Hillary’s involvement. Also on not counting NH. She said deadline had passed, but so had the one in PA.

  12. Look at all those signature yellow Soros signs…

  13. Dora says:

    Have a treat. 🙂

  14. mothy67 says:

    Breitbart is taking this Kelloggs boycott to the extreme. 325,000 people signed petition. I was in grocery. Always have cereal, but only eat once a week. Was so easy to just buy General Mills. Its all just sugar.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Keep fucking that chicken.

    • CiscoKid says:

      And I thought this was the stupidest thing I’ve read today, but Oliver tops it.

      “We’re not saying people can’t be Christians,” a Seattle woman said in a Facebook comment. “This is a free country, after all. But when Christians decide to actually have Christian beliefs about things—I’m sorry, that’s just too far.”
      Sharia, I’m sure she’s good with that.

  15. Dora says:

    HA! Dick Cheney To CNN Reporter: Trump Took Us To Point Where We Don’t Need You Guys Anymore (VIDEO)

    http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2016/12/ha-dick-cheney-cnn-reporter-trump-took-us-point-dont-need-guys-anymore-video/

  16. taw46 says:

    And it goes on and on. If victims report the invaders to the police or talk about it, they are called racists and xenophobes. Germany is lost.

    • CiscoKid says:

      France, poor poor Paris.
      I so enjoyed going to Paris during Christmas.
      The pictures posted here yesterday were heartbreaking.
      Filthy streets, just in some areas, but still.
      Over the years I’ve been to Paris and surrounding area at least half a dozen times, knowing that I’ll never be able to back is just so terrible.

  17. votermom says:

    Just got back from Nutcracker dress rehearsal. Goodness, dressing kids is exhausting!

    Here some shopping stuff that I’m too lazy to investigate

    • elliesmom says:

      Speaking of shopping, your friend who moved to MA was at my daughter’s studio in Lowell shopping today. She used the “code word”. My daughter liked her very much.

      • votermom says:

        Oh, she told me she was going to try to see your daughter today! I’m glad they hit it off. She’s a very friendly, bubbly, positive person – so opposite of hermit crab me. 😀

  18. Dora says:

    Big News.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Not surprised. Was getting to be pretty bad PR. They’ve already spent years routing and re-routing to get the current pipeline path. Now back to the drawing board. I guess they’ll just have to use Warren Bufffett’s trains and trucks to haul the oil. Funny how that works.

    • kanaughty says:

      I’ve seen vid of the water source and it’s basically a large pond. Why they couldn’t build around it and just had to build it under the pond (costing more money) boggles my mind. It doesn’t make money or common sense to me that the army corps just had to build this thing under this large pond instead of going around it. Very weird. Like they are purposely trying to make it more expensive and controversial.

    • lateblum says:

      Thanks, Helen. First, I really admire and respect Sharyl Attkisson, even though I have great difficulty spelling her name correctly. And so does auto-correct. Even though I had heard some of this about Wikipedia before, she added more insight and information and I plan to send this to my son, the teacher, who relies on Wikipedia. Maybe he will look more closely at what he finds therein. I have also heard negative information about Snopes. I was surprised Sharyl didn’t mention anything. I did appreciate her explanation of astroturf.

  19. votermom says:

    Miranda’s book review goes up on bookhorde tomorrow
    (thanks very much, Miranda!)

  20. Dora says:

    It’s No!!

    ==

    ROME (Reuters) – Prime Minister Matteo Renzi has lost a referendum on constitutional reform by a wide margin, exit polls and early projections showed on Sunday, throwing his future into doubt and opening the door to renewed political instability in Italy.

    https://ca.news.yahoo.com/italy-votes-referendum-pm-renzis-future-stake-010749046.html

  21. mothy67 says:

    I think the gay exodus from dims is very telling. Trigglypuff does not rep the women here any more than gay cake reps me.
    I was in a bar when Sprouts dad was pulled alive from a coal mine. Yep his daughter is a lesbian bartender in downtown Pittsburgh. Coal Miners daughter was a theme for years on Sundays. After they did Oprah all the guys came to see Sprout in the big city. Gay bar. West Virginia coal miners they did not care. Elitists act like working people are dumb and small. So far from the truth.
    I am a yuuuge hockey fan. There are only gay bars open in dowtown Pittsburgh after 9 or weekends. Everyone goes to gay bars to watch hockey. Nobody cares. It is a myth that poor people judge.

  22. CiscoKid says:

    Well, Renzi announced his resignation.
    Bye, bye.

    • Lulu says:

      Another idiot like Cameron. Promise to quit if a referendum fails because he disagrees with it. He doesn’t respect the citizens views on anything so he runs away rather than understand it or work with it. Petty little Euro/bankster stooge.

Comments are closed.