We Interrupt This Broadcast

Yesterday I learned via Facebook that my college roommate’s (MCR) home was damaged by fire. She and her husband and their two kids (ages 15 and 11) were at home and asleep. MCR and her hubby were awakened by smoke at 2:30 in the morning and were able to get themselves and their children and pets out of the home safely. I’m so grateful they are safe. This is what their home looks like now.

bande-home

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not going to use their real names in this post, but I will tell you a little bit about them. MCR is one of 10 or 12 (I forget) kids born to a Catholic family in rural Kentucky. We met at Berea College many years ago and, if you’ve had a college roommate that you bonded with for life, I don’t have to explain the special role this person plays in my life. She’s a dedicated wife and mother who works part time to help support her family. She is one of the most giving and funniest people I know.

Her hubby is a vet who served a tour in Iraq and another in Afghanistan. He did 2 full terms in the Army and continues his service to this nation in the Army Reserves. He works constantly to support his family. He would give the shirt off his back to help another human being. He is an incredible person and also a graduate of Berea College. These two have raised two great kids. They are now facing Christmas without the benefit of a home and without presents, which were lost in the fire.

A family member of theirs has started a Go Fund Me account. I wanted to ask the folks here at Crawdad Hole, if you were planning on giving to charity this season, to please consider this family as an option. I know these folks, and they live humbly. They don’t have much in savings, as they pour everything they earn into their family and home. If you are able to give, please go to this page to do so. And please know that I, along with this family, am absolutely grateful for your donation. Let’s show them the spirit of Christmas, Crawdad Hole style!

Thank you. My apologies for the interruption. I now return you to regularly scheduled Open Thread.

About Lola-in-a-Basket

Bitch, please.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

164 Responses to We Interrupt This Broadcast

  1. votermom says:

    Omg. Terrible anytime but just before Christmas!

  2. votermom says:

  3. DeniseVB says:

    So sad for your friends’ loss Lola, thank goodness they all survived.

    I feel bad to post a catty link, but it’s the Kennedy Honors and with all due respect for the topic of this post, I won”t snark that Michelle appeared to wear the White House garden to the event. (sorry, not sorry 😉 )

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4000290/Obama-attends-final-Kennedy-Center-Honors-gala-president.html?ito=social-facebook

    • Please feel free to be your normal, snarky, politically savvy selves in this thread! I just wanted to communicate the needs of this family to the most generous group of people I know. I appreciate the ability to do so.

    • elliesmom says:

      I think her dress looks more like the drapes at Mar-A Lago. Unless the soil in Michelle’s garden has been fertilized with radioactive waste. Has she put on some weight lately, or is the dress just that unflattering?

      • DeniseVB says:

        Come to think of it, didn’t the Clinton WH dump some sort of toxic stuff in that area of the lawn and they had to remove all that soil for the Michelle garden? Maybe they didn’t get it all 😀

      • mcnorman says:

        You know she’s going to take as much “free” food as possible right now. Once they vacate the premises, they are on their own.

      • helenk3 says:

        just think in less than 60 days we will not have to see the ugly dresses that this woman wears. the fashion designer who will not design for Mrs Trump (thank God) will be gone. and so will her model.

    • taw46 says:

      One of the comments on the dress said the only thing missing was blinking lights.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I wonder if Melania would wear that? LOL to the boycotting designers.

        • Anthony says:

          Funny, I was wondering if that hideous rag was designed by the same, snotty Prog designer who pre-emptively announced her refusal (absent an actual request) to dress FLOTUS Trump

          • lateblum says:

            It does look that bad, doesn’t it? Tom Ford is one of those “designers” who refuses to “dress” Melania Trump. I think she’s dressed herself perfectly well without his “help” thank you very much. I also think the woman who designs for Lane Bryant is the one you refer to. Can’t think of her name right now, but it does look like one of her designs.
            Note the signature bow at the front of the dress. I think that’s there to let Moo know which is the front and which is the back of the frock.

          • 49erDweet says:

            She needs a permanent Facebook category listed as “WWST?”.

          • Anthony says:

            Its fucking hideous. Even Jake from State Farm wouldn’t wear it…

            Re: the front/back bow – same on her undies?

          • 49erDweet says:

            “What Was She Thinking?”

          • mcnorman says:

            @Anthony
            You are so right about Jake from State Farm not wearing that hideous rag. What will she do once she no longer has “paid” dressers? Will the fuglyfest cease?

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        It looks like the expensive moiré wrapping paper we used to have on huge rolls at the department store for special occasions (when they still gave out gave out holiday boxes and ribbon and had a wrapping services). It always made up nicely because of the weight of the paper and the linen content but the only time it was used for clothing was the Santa’s helpers that were dressed as packages.

    • “Look Melania! I have cleavage too!”

    • Dora says:

      I read through the comments too quickly. I’m afraid I posted the same article below. I’m not sorry at all because it was fun reading through it again. 🙂

  4. elliesmom says:

    We were flooded out of a house this time of year a long time ago. It was a rental so we could just move and leave most of the destruction behind, but it was still a real hardship. I hope they have some place loving to go for the holidays. We’ll see what we can do to help.

  5. DandyTIger says:

    Very sad about your friends. So lucky to have made it out of there. Prayers and thoughts, and will help how I can too. You are a great friend indeed.

  6. DeniseVB says:

    O.M.G. I haven’t seen proggy heads explode this much since Nov 9. God they are stupid.

    VM – do a book horde on Carson’s One Nation ! Not only is this man more qualified to be President than Obama was, he’s such a great inspiration to inner city kids because he was one 😉

  7. votermom says:

  8. DeniseVB says:

    This is from an NBC late night “comedy writer”. No wonder they’re never funny anymore.

    • votermom says:

      • DeniseVB says:

        Perfect response. I hope the inner city slumlords (*cough* ValJar *cough*) are quaking in their boots.

        • Anthony says:

          First thing I thought of. ValJar inherited the HUD seat in Chicago from her grandfather. She later teamed up with Tony Rezko and a few other slumlords to scam HUD out of millions in funds earmarked to assist tenants in buildings that didn’t meet conditions of habitability. Ultimately, those buildings were razed, and slumlords got tax refunds to go along with their earmarks for reconstruction. To keep her hands looking clean, she enlisted the help of one Barry Soetoro, )the then boyfriend of Michelle Robinson, who worked as her assistant) to secure the earmarked monies and distribute the funds to the slumlords.

          (sorry/not sorry for TMI on this topic 🙂 )

          • DeniseVB says:

            Thanks for the info, I knew the Chicago machine was not squeaky clean. That will change under Dr.Carson because all the proggy vapors over his pick tells me so 😉

          • lateblum says:

            Good memory bank, Anthony. And as a reward for all his good deeds (r/t securing and distributing monies) Rezko “helped” the broncobamas get the mansion where they no longer reside in the chic Kenwood-Hyde Park area.
            Not bad for a family that lived on credit lines from their banks and credit cards and refinanced condo.

  9. votermom says:

    So this morning it’s all about “fake news fake news” on the tv.

    It’s amazing how the media can blame FAKE NEWS for a prius-driving actor walking into Comet Ping Pong with a gun and no one is shot, at the same time push all the literally fake narratives about white cops randomly shooting innocent honor student black students with their hands up in the streets, and not take any responsibility for ensuing violence.

    Free speech is not just for media journos.

  10. elliesmom says:

    I stopped into the local liquor store to get some “hostess gift” wine. The guy who owns the store is a lot of fun, and when I chose a bottle called “Two Dog” from a local winery for my dog trainer niece, he wrapped it up for me and added a car magnet that says, “My dog is smarter than your honor student”. I asked him for some help with choosing a bottle as a peace offering for a Hillary supporting friend. He said he wasn’t sure about the right wine to choose, but he had the perfect car magnet. This one goes on the front bumper instead of the back, and it says, “Run, Hillary, run!” Not quite what I was looking for. 🙂

    • DeniseVB says:

      LoL. I discovered a lovely Sauvignon Blanc under the Cupcake label….at the drug store! Not bad. I highly rec it for a recovering Hillary supporter 😉

  11. taw46 says:

    • blowme0bama says:

      I’ve YET to hear anyone identify what is “radical right” about this party.

      • taw46 says:

        Anyone who is not a Globalist. That’s how they define them all in Europe.

        • blowme0bama says:

          I figure its they simply oppose Islamic invasion and the doling out of regulations by the EU to favor protected political pals through entry barriers.

          • taw46 says:

            True. I am so tired of them accusing everyone who opposes this invasion as “far right”. They have really managed to equate that term with Nazis in the minds of many Europeans. They need to get over it, like we had to get over being called racists every time we opposed this administration.

  12. swanspirit says:

    When I was very young, grade school age, the next door neighbors house had a major fire three days before Christmas. We lived in a row house, so when I say next door, I mean we shared a wall with them, we were on the end of the row, and they were just next in the row. We had to evacuate our house, and we had some smoke damage and some beams had to be replaced in the basement, but our neighbors lost almost everything, and they were not just neighbors, they were good friends.
    I feel for your friends, that is so hard, but I am glad they have such a good friend in you, who is willing to help!

  13. taw46 says:

    So, Jill the Pill filed her suit in Federal Court this morning.

    • kanaughty says:

      I thought according to the san bernardino terrorist iphone case, that the iphone wasn’t at all easy to hack though? So confused by this dude’s logic.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        He just said it was easier. Not that it was easy – but they are parsing words so that people will hear the part about it being easy but not stop to think that it is not all the simple at all.

  14. elliesmom says:

    So today I’m living through the “No good deed ever goes unpunished” thing. My daughter is in her 40’s. When she was a teenager, her best friend called her from the local train station. She was running away from home and wanted my daughter to bring her money. It was freezing outside, the train station is open air, and it was too far to walk. My daughter was 14 so she came to me. I left her home and went to pick up the friend. When I got there, she told me her mom had pulled a knife on her. I carefully explained I would do my best to take her home with me, but first we needed to stop at the police station. The juvenile officer was a sweetheart, and while he was calming her down, he dispatched a couple of cops to her house. Mom did indeed have a knife and had locked herself in the bathroom to keep from hurting her son who was cowering under his bed. The police took Mom into custody and brought the boy to the police station, too. The boy’s dad came and picked him up immediately, but her dad lived quite a bit further away and was home alone with two small kids. With his blessing and the help of a lawyer friend, I got custody of the kid for a month.

    Mom was eventually hospitalized for about a year or so. After the month was up, the girl spent week days with us and weekends with her dad and stepmother so she could finish out the school year. I put a lot of miles on doing half the retrieval and delivery. When Mom was released from the hospital, she went back to live with Mom at her own request. She and my daughter are still friends although not all that close anymore. My husband and I see her once in awhile, but we all keep in touch on FB.

    The woman has gone batshit crazy over the election. Because I suggested a “wait and see” attitude over Trump, I’m now the reason her mom was locked away. Trump and his supporters are why girls like her are bullied. I’m the reason she was sexually abused when she was little because I supported Trump, although I didn’t meet her until high school. I also allowed her to watch “inappropriate movies”, which were damaging to someone who had been abused. “Misogynistic stuff” Trump would like. I swear there has never been anything rated higher than R in my house. Her mom was about this age when she went after the kids with a knife. If she had kids, I’d be tempted to call the police. I’ve blocked her, but I hope her stepmom who’s a very strong lady and who I’ve remained irl friends with sees this and steps in. But I’m backing off- way off.

  15. lateblum says:

    @Lola I’m so sorry to hear about your friend and her family’s loss. When I was in school, my family rented an apartment in Chicago. A building behind ours caught fire and everyone had to evacuate and subsequently move. This was also only days before Christmas. We gathered all the bedding and clothing we could spare despite being pretty low on the financial totem. Some of the people stayed in our kitchen and living room until they could find places to go. I know they appreciated the warmth and shelter despite the devastation.
    Thank you for sharing the story and the link. I’ll help as much as I can and will keep your friend and her family in my thoughts.

  16. taw46 says:

    I do not trust the Dems one bit. They are still updating vote counts in PA and I would not be surprised if they “find” another 20,000 votes for Hillary. If they can get the margin low enough between Trump and Hillary, it will be an automatic recount, regardless of outcome of Federal lawsuit.

  17. votermom says:

    He he he

    • taw46 says:

      He us just as qualified, probably more, as current HUD secretary Julian Castro. And at least his mother didn’t start a racist organization like La Raza Unida.

  18. Dora says:

    Looking for a good read? Dorothy Killgalin – “The Reporter Who Knew Too Much” comes out Tuesday. It looks very interesting.

    =====

    Journalist’s tell-all on mobster tied to JFK might have gotten her killed

    http://nypost.com/2016/12/04/dorothy-kilgallens-tell-all-on-a-mafia-don-might-have-got-her-killed/

    • votermom says:

      nice reader rec!

    • lateblum says:

      That’s the first thing I’ve read in NYPost that really piqued my interest. I think I’ll buy the book (by Shaw) that was referred to in the article.

    • kanaughty says:

      This reminds me of the durst case of him allegedly killing that lady in beverly hills. She was a mob daughter. Supposedly she was going to do a tell all on durst if he stopped giving her money or this is what’s thought to be his motive for killing her. Maybe give up evidence that he did kill his wife on the east coast? Anyway, true crime is so intriguing to me. I love all of it. Mostly i find myself questioning motivations, like what in the world could possibly drive someone over the edge in the way they ended up commiting their crime esp. when premeditation is involved.

  19. votermom says:

    LOL mocking CAIR

  20. Dora says:

    You never know who will be going into the elevator.

  21. TC says:

    I clicked to donate, but unfortunately it’s gofundme. They’re bigots and I cannot use that site. Could you set up another page on another site?

  22. DeniseVB says:

    LOL !

  23. Miranda says:

    Pat McCrory’s conceded. Sigh. I was afraid he’d lose. Lots of people were upset over HB2. He made some appointments I didn’t agree with (Aldona Wos was bizarre), but I liked him ok and appreciated that he cared about rescue animals and tried to enforce a puppy mill bill. Now, we have Cooper, so I’ll watch for my state taxes to go up.

    Meanwhile, I’m not blocking highways.

    • elliesmom says:

      Young women don’t know the difference between rape and seduction. They continue to work hard to take all of the fun out of sex.

      • DandyTIger says:

        And why millennial males are staying single.

      • helenk3 says:

        along with Amazon on my roku I have acorn tv. there are a lot of British tv shows and one I am watching now is called Wish Me Luck. about female agents that went into France during the German occupation. These are the kind of stories I was raised on. Cherry Ames Navy Nurse and other books like this. I wanted to grow up and join the Navy. these are the kind of woman I would call a feminist. The same with the women flyers that ferried the planes from the US to England and from the factories to the air bases.
        today these twits have no clue on being a feminist. attacking men is not it. doing things to gain the respect of both men and other women is being a feminist. be a doctor or the best nurse in any hospital. be a lawyer and know the law and use it properly. Stay at home and raise some great kids the have respect for themselves and want to be the best they can be. or have no kids and join organizations that help others.
        most of all RESPECT YOURSELF and EXPECT IT FROM OTHERS
        just my opinion

    • DeniseVB says:

      Here’s the modern version….with an elf 😉

    • John Denney says:

      This version is quite charming.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Scrubbing my mind of #pizzagate … Kidding! Lurve this version too!

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          John and I had the same thought – but I did not think of pizza gate!

          Now – if the left is worried enough about pizzagate to hire an prius loving actor to pretend to be a right winger upset about pizzagate does that mean that pizzagate is really real news not fake news but they need everyone to think its fake news? I mean this little performance was given push notifications on a Sunday when they usually reserve those for blizzards, metro fires and redskins scores. Thank you NBC crew for making sure you were on top of things – just happened to be in the area – uh – getting pizza?

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      This is the Michael Bublé version where they altered the lyrics slightly and used kids for the video.

  24. You guys are amazing! When I went to bed last night this Go Fund Me was at $400. They’re over $2,000 now and I know many of you helped. Please know that this family appreciates your kindness, as do I.

    204 FB shares, too, so thanks for that too!

    • DeniseVB says:

      I haven’t liked Madonna since her Material Girl days, so I’m definitely not taking political advice from her 😉

      • helenk3 says:

        I remember her happy hooker days. when she would have a concert in Madison Square Garden and the teenage girls would dress like happy hookers to go see her.
        when she had her own kids she did not want them exposed to things like she did to other people’s kids. I have no respect for that woman

        • DeniseVB says:

          Once we separate politics from celebrities, it’s much easier to buy a movie or concert ticket. Otherwise, it’s not fun following either.

          If I were a promoter or producer, I’d put a STFU Politics clause in their contracts. My kid had a small business in Brooklyn for 8 years and didn’t give a flip her mechanics spent their nights at the OWS to meet chicks, but she didn’t allow them to bring it back to the shop. It’s common sense business on main street.

  25. Dora says:

    It looks like Michelle was trying to match her dress with the colors of the room, but she ended up resembling a walking Christmas Tree.

    Not to be catty, but Faye Dunaway hasn’t aged well. She used to be so pretty, but it’s been a long time since the days of Bonnie & Clyde.

    =====

    Another last hurrah! Obama and Michelle attend their final Kennedy Center Honors to pay tribute to Al Pacino, Mavis Staples, James Taylor, and the Eagles
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4000290/Obama-attends-final-Kennedy-Center-Honors-gala-president.html

    • SHV says:

      True?
      “The slager jury was hung on the Voluntary Manslaughter charge.
      The Jury was a unanimous ‘not guilty’ on the Murder Charge”

      Judge added Voluntary Manslaughter after defense finished it’s case….apparently didn’t sit well with at least one juror.

    • taw46 says:

      I read it was more than one juror, based on note jurors sent to Judge this morning. Do we know for sure?

    • taw46 says:

      If this is true, more than one, will he be retried?

      “The judge’s ruling came after hopes for a verdict among prosecutors and Scott’s family were all but dashed when the 12 jurors indicated in a note that most remained undecided. The handwritten page-long letter had signaled yet another shift in the murder trial and a mixed message compared with a note last week that said the panel was deadlocked as one juror had “issues” and refused to vote for a conviction.”

  26. AFVet says:

    OOH RAH.

  27. taw46 says:

    I don’t know if you have been following this, but the globalists have been trying to stop Brexit. It went to the Supreme Court today. There will be a 4 day hearing, but the decision won’t be announced until January.

  28. taw46 says:

    Wow, they are going after him for one tweet? And the MSM is all out to stop pizzagate stories-article has terms fake news, false, fabricated. Me think they doth protest too much.

    • Lulu says:

      Wait! Don’t tell me. This guy is good and everyone else is bad! Only his superior morals, political and economic acumen and intellect will save the nation. No one else has the chops to decide things for themselves and the EC must be turned over to the electoral “church ladies”.

  29. taw46 says:

  30. CiscoKid says:

    As complaints roll in on how much security is costing to protecting Trump Tower, here’s how much it cost taxpayers for the Obamas vacations, that’s vacations over the last 8 years.
    $85 million.
    http://www.theblaze.com/news/2016/12/05/heres-how-much-the-obama-family-has-spent-on-vacations-over-the-last-eight-years/

  31. Venus says:

    Speaking of Fake News — remember when CNN reported it was *illegal* to read Wikileaks? No correction ever issued.

    • Lulu says:

      This is the “dumb” Cuomo who went into broadcasting. The ‘smart” one is probably going to prison with his cronies as NY governor.

  32. Venus says:

    Lola — I’m very sorry to hear about your friends & am very glad they are all OK. things can be replaced.

  33. CiscoKid says:

    The cost of harboring illegal aliens in Chicago, New York and California will shock you.
    But the instrument to stop their lawbreaking is already in place.
    The government monies they receive can be cut off.
    http://www.wnd.com/2016/12/trump-handed-trigger-to-end-sanctuary-cities/

  34. mothy67 says:

    Scam alert.
    I got a robocall from a collection agency about 9.99 to blockbuster. I was going to pay, but I sent my attorney fandango gift cards for Christmas and she called to say thanks. I mentioned it and she told me its a new scam. My checking is linked to savings. Baby girl has an app and a debit card. I would never notice 9.99. Attorney said they charge it every month and people just don’t see it. She said the banks don’t even care. Is not even a blip for fraud. You complain they just give you credit. Its cheaper for them. I only use cash to tipand order pizza. I am not certain I remember how to write a check. Everything is autopay. I cannot tell you the last time I balanced checkbook. Money just goes from savings. I would have never seen 9.99. I read hillary campaign was doing same thing. Make 25 donation. Charge 25 next month. Banks don’t care about low end fraud. They just give you a refund. My lawyer said these companies just dissolve when they get caught.

  35. Dora says:

    ?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

  36. DeniseVB says:

    Shaun King is an idiot. I’ll let Milo explain why…..from the comments, some people refer to him as Talcum X 😀

    https://milo.yiannopoulos.net/2016/12/shaun-king-american-cities/

  37. Dora says:

    Decisions, decisions.

  38. votermom says:

    Facebook, Twitter and other web giants have made a
    deal with repressive governments to maintain a database of content those
    governments want suppressed across all social platforms. Censorship
    will become far more efficient.

    http://tinyurl.com/zlchg7c

  39. 1539days says:

    • Lulu says:

      I think it is really funny that the Silicon Valley globalists are the ones who facilitated the end of globalism with their inventions and innovations. Cause and effect is so cool.

  40. votermom says:

  41. Dora says:

    • taw46 says:

      Well, sounds like voter fraud. Detroit precincts feeding ballots through multiple times with no reset? Vote totals exceed number on voter rolls? Shocked I tell ya.

  42. votermom says:

    Funny Bloom County

  43. Dora says:

    True Story.

    =====

    Hilarious Letter

    “Hope you don’t mind I used it for a while,” the letter reads. “But – now I’m 21 so you can have it back!”

    http://patch.com/new-york/massapequa/lost-id-returned-long-island-woman-hilarious-letter?utm_source=alert-breakingnews&utm_medium=email&utm_term=community%20corner&utm_campaign=alert

  44. mothy67 says:

    College roommates were the bestest thing ever. Most schools have become real estate agents. Room and board is off the charts and they are mostly suites. My nephew went to California University of PA. He had his own room with a bathroom. A full kitchen. Cost was like 9,000 a semester. Phone in the hall. We ate together. Letterman was funny then and coffee was the bomb. Sat up all night talking. Plastic matresses on bunk beds.. I think it would be cool to open a campground near a school and fill them with tiny homes made from shipping containers. Weather is brutal in the midwest. When I went to Purdue I was able to pay my housing from my summer job as a busboy. The cost is insane today. Lex wants to go to Stanford. She has the grades but only chance is softball. Girls sports are yuuge in my town. No one even thinks about the poor boys. You cannot find a seat for a game. I started 529 at birth. I have 3 years of just tuition covered and seven years to go. I wish more relatives and friends would just make a deposit I had a friend send her Mui Mui shoes. Why would a ten year old need 5,000 pumps?I have friends that are buyers for bloomingdales and Kohls. She has a bedroom that functions as a closet. Never wears the stuff. She wears capris. She has taken dance for years. Calves and caboose do not match tiny waist.
    What did you all who raised daughters do about bra s. She has one sports bra that she wears all the time. Two drawers full of them. She wants just the one. I think it has to be some sort of security issue which is why I haven’t burned it. Oh and I want to.

  45. helenk3 says:

    http://www.foxnews.com/us/2016/12/05/philadelphias-mummers-undergo-sensitivity-training-before-parade.html

    now these sniveling snowflakes have gone too far. The comic clubs of the mummers have never been politically correct. they make fun of any and all. It has been that way since the 1800s since the parade started. these sniveling snowflakes would screw up a one car funeral. they make me sick

  46. votermom says:

    Denise, thanks for suggesting Dr Carson for a post

Comments are closed.