Overnight Open Thread: America !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to Overnight Open Thread: America !

  1. helenk3 says:

    so the Russian did not want the woman who gave them 20% of our urianium and could be blackmailed from here to eternity to be president of the US. The woman that would give them all they wanted and ask if she could do more.
    so some Russian agent sat down and made up all those e-mails that showed her and her henchman as egotistical greedy fools. The msm as lap dogs begging for a crumb.
    All this for a guy that might just stand up to them and change a whole lot of things in this country and how we deal with the world.
    we should believe this because our intel groups who have lied to us before said so.

    what part did I miss?

    • 49erDweet says:

      No worries. You got it all. But THIS time our intel groups are giving us the straight scoop. Really. Ya gotta believe them. This time.
      Before – all that other stuff – they were just kidding around, but THIS time they are spot on. REALLY. Just believe them this once! Please. It’s your patriotic duty. Just this once!!!!!

  2. NBD says:

    Just saw “Hidden Figures”. God, what a horribly PC re-telling of the early space program! All the great contributions come from oppressed blacks, almost all the whites are irredeemable racists and sexists. This takes one of America’s great triumphs and turns it in to a story about how the evil white man couldn’t have made it in to space without some virtue-signaling black women who solved problems he couldn’t.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Yeah, saw that story line and gagged. Could’ve made it an interesting pic, but had to go for the guilt!

      • Hollywood history is notoriously inaccurate.

      • jenlyn says:

        Everytime I see a commercial for this movie I want to throw up. My deceased fiance’s father built the Space lab where they trained for the first mission. This man was brilliant and his son was too who also worked at NASA. They were both Democrats until they met me. They told me many stories about what happened when affirmative action hit NASA. This is the difference between reality and Theory. Instead of promoting or hiring equally qualified people no matter what color or gender what happened was very unqualified people were given positions and in NASA’s case most of these people were black. It was very interesting for me to listen to two very non-racist intelligent caring men discuss what happened and why at NASA because of affirmative action. It made me sad and it shocked me that we would risk people’s lives to make a point that didn’t even matter since the whole point of affirmative action was to promote equally qualified with an emphasis on the word equally. Both of these men who are now gone we’re fine fine people who didn’t have a racist bone in their body and they told me stories about these black employees not even understanding how to get proper bids being very un- energetic about their job and I’m trying to be politically correct with that description and generally risking people’s lives and wasting millions in fact hundreds of millions of dollars in the process. Most of their work had to be hidden thrown out covered up etcetera etcetera. I have to turn my TV off when these commercials come up because it is such an absolute lie. My deceased Fiance’s boss was a black man who had been caught stealing by misappropriating funds however you want to put it and instead of firing him they just moved him to a different position where he did not have access to money. He was very angry and very jealous of my sweet sweet man’s intellect he abused my fiance viciously for over 15 years including writing him up for doing nothing but his job well using the worst grammar and misspelled words you wouldn’t even think this man had a college degree. How do I know this my deceased fiance saved all of the reports and sent them all to this man’s Superior when he finally retired or I guess the right word is quit because he couldn’t take it anymore. It’s sad really it seems like humans can’t really get our act together. The whole point of affirmative action is to make sure that no one is denied an opportunity because of something as flippant is a DNA chain that determines your race gender sexual identity or whatever. It has absolutely nothing to do with promoting people and hitting quotas while ignoring the basic fact that the person is highly inappropriate for the position. Who would have thought and by the way every single thing I have just said is 100% true.

    • DeniseVB says:

      No wonder the lefty media is slobbering all over it …. evil white men! There’s your Oscar winner 😉

      • lateblum says:

        There’s also “Fences” or “Moonlight”. And when I see the list movies of/by/with POC, I wonder why there was such an outcry last year at the Oscars. They knew these movies were coming in 2016, but it just seemed too good an opportunity to drive home the narrative of the Dems. That POC – and pretty much the color black – were being left out. Merit never played a real role to the protestors; just color. You know and I know that if a Latin/Hispanic actor had been nominated, but not an AA, the protests would have been just as strong if not stronger.

    • lateblum says:

      yup… KISS = Keep It Simple Stupid

      • swanspirit says:

        The only problem for me is, when I get angry, I have a couple of reactions. I either cuss worse than a mofo sailor, or somehow my vocabulary comes out and words I forgot I knew spontaneously emerge from deep within the subterranean recesses of my cerebellum, and somehow make their way to the atmosphere, and turn it purple.
        😎

    • lateblum says:

      Except when CNN used this photo, they cropped his hand and colored it so his keffiyeh scarf was not apparent.

  3. helenk3 says:

    my son is working here building this

      • Lulu says:

        Well, it is 16 degrees here. My exterior pot plants are dead. NOAA missed the forecasted low overnight by about 15 to 20 degrees so that is that. I will be fucking glad when the federal government has real climatologists working on forecasting instead of a bunch of shit global warming propaganda crap and ass covering before the adults take over on January 20th. Idiots and fools. I’m sure the farmers are going to be furious. What else can our “federales” screw up that we as taxpayers are paying for?

        • I didn’t picture you as the type to have pot plants.

          • Lulu says:

            Well they are all slime now. LOL. My grow is bust on the back porch. The sago palms are shivering but still alive. My ginormous split leaf philodendron, named God as it is over 40 years old, is slime but the root ball should be ok. Re-potting it will take a wench on a truck. Ferns, etc are brown or grey. This is a very hard freeze for this area. Like I said NOAA screwed up. Bad. Commercial green houses, poultry farms, and ranches with calves are not going to be happy campers. I just want some professionals instead of SJW’er running things. Like weather forecasting. This of course ties into the stupid movie addressed above and pushing agendas instead of competence or the truth. Like Big Dog said it is fairy tales and it is ruining us all.

        • lyn says:

          What is your area’s record low?

          • Lulu says:

            6 degrees in December 1989. I know because I was in the hospital having a baby and everyone was dressed like Elmer Fudd when they came in to visit. Except my mother who wore a mink coat that I had not seen for twenty years and was so ugly. It was hilarious. Almost all of the shrubs in town were frozen like azaleas, camellias, pittosporum and boxwood were dead. Plant nurseries and tree farms had huge damage. It was very expensive to replace everything.

          • lyn says:

            Wow. Love your story.

    • DeniseVB says:

      It’s never a good sign for Cantore to show up in your city, just hope he remembers where he is and not stand next to the roads. We can’t drive in this sh*t, cars sliding off the streets everywhere!

      • elliesmom says:

        Successfully driving in snow conditions requires a lot of things. First is a car equipped to handle it. Snow tires make a huge difference. Then equipment that keeps the roads as clear as possible and sanded and salted. One of the reasons it gets easier to do as the season goes on is a layer of salt and sand builds up on the roads if you live somewhere it snows a lot. Then drivers who have experience driving on the kind of roads and snow conditions for that area make a big difference. If you’re used to driving on long, straight, flat roads in the snow, when you move to a place with winding roads that go up and down hills, you have a whole new set of skills to learn. There are reasons an inch of snow can bring a city not used to it to a complete halt. I was in Savannah when snow hit. I admit it was a bit entertaining.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Yes, our area doesn’t have the badass equipment northern cities need. Just a handful of real plows for the interstates and rigging the city trucks with shovels for the secondary roads. I have no plans to leave the house til the warmup on Tues, just hope we keep power and WIFI. Priorities 😉

          • Mt.Laurel says:

            Do they still toss sand everywhere in some vain hope that making the entire VB area one bit kitty box will solve all the road problems?

            I also remember the city “snow plows”. Our condo’s landscaping company that also does our snow removal has fancier equipment to clear driveways.

        • lateblum says:

          You’re right about having cars equipped to handle the weather conditions. In early December I was in an accident and my car needed (what appeared to be) lots of repair. I rescheduled my damage assessment and car swap (to a rental car) 4 times because my car has all-wheel drive and the weather forecasts for the days/weeks following the accident predicted snow and ice and cold. I didn’t want to be driving a car that I did not know and that was not equipped for our winter weather. Fortunately, the insurance company did not object when I gave my reasons to delay the repair work. I finally took the car in after Christmas and behold! the car was repaired in only 3 days. But, knowing just how little time it would take, I still would not have done it any other way. I have too many family responsibilities to take chances with the safety of my gbabies and my youngest daughter.

  4. elliesmom says:

    Translation
    Obama – Donald, are you here already?
    Trump- My first “business” of my presidency is complete.

    If the video doesn’t post, it’s worth a click. Germans have a basic sense of humor. 😉

  5. lyn says:

    Late last night someone plowed through our heavy redwood fence where the carport is. (The carport is attached to our garage.) We heard the bang and felt the house shake. Both hubby and I said, “That doesn’t feel like an earthquake.” The driver of the flatbed truck left the scene without one license plate. Our neighbors across the street witnessed the accident. Apparently, the truck owner’s girlfriend was driving. We have the guy’s insurance information–courtesy of the sheriff’s deputy. We won’t know all the damage until morning. It was 9 degrees when all this happened.

    • Lulu says:

      Dear heavens. At least they didn’t hit the house. Good luck with repairs.

    • votermom says:

      Oh no!

      I am glad no one was hurt, at least.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Oh no ! Glad it wasn’t your house, idiot drivers 😦

    • Dora says:

      That must have been a frightening experience. I’m glad you are both safe, but I sure hope you can find the girl who was driving and sue her, as well as the owner of the truck for the cost of all the repairs. Good luck.

    • lateblum says:

      Oh no, lyn! What a bad way to start the year. Or what a lucky one – that no one was hurt and there were witnesses and a souvenir license plate . I hope the extent of the damage is not great, and that you’re compensated sooner rather than later.
      Stay warm…

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      So sorry. That had to be unsettling. Hope nothing was damaged other than the carport (that is enough). Does the girl friend even have a license to drive that vehicle. Many require a commercial license for flat bed trucks.

  6. Dora says:

    He just forgot where he was for a moment.

    ====

    Joe Biden whispers ‘God save the Queen’ as he certifies the US election results

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/01/07/joe-biden-whispers-god-save-queen-certifies-us-election-results/

  7. Dora says:

    Now we know why Barry had no comment about the Ft. Lauderdale attack. He was preparing for his party!

    ====

    Star-studded farewell: Stevie Wonder, Paul McCartney and Meryl Streep among celebs at Obama’s final White House bash
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4096826/Stevie-Wonder-Paul-McCartney-Nick-Jonas-celebs-arrive-President-Obama-s-final-White-House-Bash.html

    • DeniseVB says:

      That’s quite a list to feed the Obamas’ egos. They’d never be “friends” with these people in a normal life. I think Reagan’s been the only President that actually had A-list friends before he was a Gov or President.

      Yeah, too bad about that airport massacre to interfere with the party planning, I’m sure he was bothered the whole day with briefings and updates and telling the locals to handle it 😉

      • Lulu says:

        He was too busy to talk to the Trump supporting Florida governor too. Spiteful little freak. So Scott talked to Trump and Pence and said so. Loudly. President Trump is on the job!

        • DeniseVB says:

          I caught that presser 🙂 Trump also released a supportive statement almost immediately.

          • Lulu says:

            Scott was furious. He is a very low key boring guy and he was hoppin’ mad. Expect the state of Florida to blab first if Islamic terrorism was this guy’s objective. The hide-a-jihadi game is over.

  8. Dora says:

    • votermom says:

      I’m wondering about the FtL gunman’ s choice of target.

      Why bother going to another state with limited ammo to do your mass shooting, when you could probably have killed a lot more people nearer to home?

      It feels like he was specifically targeting airline travel.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Why not Miami’s airport ? If a high number of fatalities was his goal, that’s much busier during cruise and snowbird season and probably easier to get to than FtL. I could never get a direct flight from Norfolk, had to change in Jax or Orlando.

        • Lulu says:

          Cheaper ticket? Out airports are usually cheaper than in city airports or if the airport is old and crummy. Just saying. This guy does not seem flush with cash.

    • lateblum says:

      I recall a photo of bronco giving the same sign as he walked across a stage and passed the representatives of the gov’ts of SA, Iran, Syria. It might have been at an international conference or at the UN or something. Nothing was said about it at the time, but yrs later I remember reading it was a signal that he supported the Muslim Brothrhood (or something). If I find the photo, I’ll post it.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Truth! This made me LOL…..

    • Lulu says:

      Seems that way. Who gets flung out of the back of the Democrat wagon next? Or run over by a train? Or their pants fall down? How far the elite have fallen. And how fast.

  10. votermom says:

    The writer has an impressive bio

Comments are closed.