Stormy Saturday Open Thread

1412b92a660b1d29


There is too much global warming out there today. Snow in the southeast, rain in the west, cold everywhere.

I’m gonna hole up and watch some football. A Raider rookie is either gonna get creamed or become a legend.

What’s on your schedule for today?

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Weed will get you thru times of no money better than money will get you thru times of no weed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

134 Responses to Stormy Saturday Open Thread

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Are you feeling the effects of the “atmospheric river” ?

    http://www.noaa.gov/stories/what-are-atmospheric-rivers

    • The flooding hasn’t started yet.

    • lateblum says:

      I finally heard that term this morning on the news. Maybe I just haven’t been listening. Meanwhile, whatever else you do, Do NOT watch MSNBC. I had them on and to a person, they could do nothing but criticize and condemn DJT and praise BHO – practically raise him to sainthood. I wonder when — if ever — they will finally accept the triumph of common citizens over the elites. They look more and more like delusional idiots and losers. Oh, wait………

  2. swanspirit says:

    It is almost 10Am here, in my Pine forest by the Ocean, and we have six inches of snow already, and it is supposed to keep snowing until 5 Pm. I went shopping earlier this week, so we have everything we need, including celery, which my son was kind enough to make an extra trip for last evening, so I can make soup.. The squirrels are fed, the bird feeders are full, and the local kids are outside providing screams of delight.
    I think I might make some hot chocolate in my hedgehog mug, later, and hope the power stays on.

    • For people who are used to snow, 6 inches is no big deal. If 6 inches of snow hit Merced the whole city would shut down for at least a week. We’d be calling it “The Great Blizzard of 2017”

      • 1539days says:

        Even an inch of snow would probably react badly with the bald tires on a lot of cars out there.

      • Jadzia says:

        Where I grew up, it usually started snowing by the end of October. Almost every trick-or-treating family picture from back then has my siblings and I wearing heavy coats, hats, and mittens with our costumes. So I tend to identify more with the “Meanwhile, back in Wisconsin….” guy.

        As you know, my mother grew up near where you live. When I was in second grade, my snow boots started to leak and we couldn’t really afford new ones, so she took the friendly advice of a neighbor to put bread bags on my feet. Unfortunately the neighbor didn’t specify that the bread bags go INSIDE THE BOOTS. Not on the outside.

        I can still hear the mockery of the other schoolchildren as I slipped and slid around the playground that morning.

        • swanspirit says:

          I am not unfamiliar with the bread bags inside your boots solution. My mom used it to keep our feet dry, because the snow would get inside the boots , leaky or not. My mom was from Hazleton Pennsylvania, so she thought the winters in Baltimore were mild, by comparison.

          • Jadzia says:

            Apparently I came home SPITTING MAD, all four feet or so of me. I’m gonna have to work very hard to embarrass my kids as much as I got embarrassed that day.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      The Power!! That is always the biggest concern. ❤

  3. elliesmom says:

    I have the drivehill salted, the birds fed, my snow boots near the door. and Ellie walked. I have a slow cooker that made pulled pork overnight. Our book club read this month is “Circling the Sun” by Paula McLain, and it’s downloaded to my Kindle. I’m knitting a wrap, and I’m at the point where it covers my lap so it’s cozy to work on. Somewhere on the schedule I’ll probably slip in a nap. Ellie is already snoring. The snow is supposed to start around noon. It’s not the kind of storm that brings power outages, but I always have water jugs filled and flashlights handy. Still no definitive numbers for the amount of snow we’re likely to get – 5-8″ seems the most likely.

    • I got a new recipe for lemon potatoes.

      • elliesmom says:

        That sounds good. I probably don’t use my slow cooker as much as I should, but it’s huge. Now that I cook just for two most of the time, I probably should find room for a smaller one. I have a small Dutch oven I put in the oven on crockpot level heat when I’m making smaller quantities, but Ellie’s dad has a conniption if I go out or to sleep and leave the oven on.

    • Anthony says:

      You had me at pulled pork… I just bought a pressure cooker and made it from a 5 lb shoulder roast in only one hour. Amazing (except I was looking over my shoulder for DHS goons after paying for it lol)

      • elliesmom says:

        The last time I used a pressure cooker I had to paint my ceiling.

        • Anthony says:

          Brings to mind my famous “Carrots On The Ceiling Thanksgiving” of 1991. I bought it on a whim in Bed Bath and Beyond last week. Computerized, functions as pressure cooker, slow cooker, rice cooker, and has a stovetop setting where you can brown meats and sauté veggies before going to pressure mode. Best $99 I ever spent

      • lateblum says:

        I learned how to cook using a pressure cooker. I love using it! I can make a wonderful pot roast, veggies and all in less than an hour and a half. It comes in mighty handy when I have to cook and clean for company in a short time.

        • elliesmom says:

          I’m OK with a pressure cooker when I’m using it for canning. Then there’s no rush to open the lid. You can take your time. But I haven’t used it for spaghetti sauce again. 🙂

    • taw46 says:

      Em, I just read and enjoyed “Circling the Sun”.

      • elliesmom says:

        Attendance at book club has really been down the last couple of months. I don’t care as long as I liked the book, but when I read something disappointing, I lose some of the incentive to go if only 3 people are going to show up. Thanks for the push to start reading.

    • elliesmom says:

      The snow has started a couple of hours early. That’s usually good news. The faster it’s moving, the less snow it dumps on us.

    • votermom says:

      I hope you have a good weekend, with no snowpocalypse.

    • swanspirit says:

      The drivehill! I like that. I call the four way stop at the entrance/ exit to our main road the four way challenge, because so many people seem not to know what to do at a four way stop, and others seem to think that it doesn’t matter if you were there first, as long as they best you through it.

  4. DandyTIger says:

    Why are people so terrified of Milo Yiannopoulos’s book?

    The response to Milo Yiannopoulos getting a big-bucks book deal with Simon & Schuster has been nuts. Even by today’s standards. The cry has gone up that S&S — or SS, amirite? — is endangering the wellbeing of women and gays and blacks and other minorities that have felt the sting of Milo’s camp polemics. Please. It’s a book, not a bomb. It’s words, sentences, ideas, not fire and pogroms. Everyone needs to calm down.

    Milo is the Breitbart editor turned darling of the agitated, anti-PC right, given to manicured fuming against feminism, Islam, censorious students, ‘Black Lives Matter’ and other things that apparently threaten Western civilisation. When it was revealed that Simon & Schuster would be publishing his first book in March, and that it is called ‘Dangerous’, and that Milo has been remunerated very handsomely indeed for it, Twitter went epileptic; snowflakes melted; literary doyens called for a boycott.

    The New Yorker went full haughty, calling on its readers to protest ‘vociferously’ against S&S, ‘in emails, letters, tweets, phone calls — you name it’. The publishing house should be made to ‘answer for the harm it condones through [this] decision’, it said, as if S&S were making landmines rather than bits of paper with words on them. Leslie Jones, the Ghostbusters actress subjected to vile racist abuse by alt-right morons on Twitter, said S&S is helping the alt-right to ‘spread their hate’. S&S-published author Karen Hunter said she was rethinking her relationship with the publishing house.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    LOL !

  6. foxyladi14 says:

    Please stay safe, Dear friends. ❤

  7. votermom says:

    impressive author bio, a real smarty-pants

  8. mothy67 says:

    Votermom
    How is that sugar tax working out in Philly? A gallon of Iced Tea cost 1.77 pre tax and 3.74 with tax. Kids drinking energy drink by the butt load have to be pissed. Where is the money going? Article I read has it spread over 9 programs. They always make it about the kids. It’s got to really hurt the poor. That yuuge soda a McD’s must be 2.50 in tax. This expanded daycare is warped. I beg of you visit one. No kid benifits from that. So bad. Early education my ass.

    • mothy67 says:

      My loose tobacco went from 10 to 20 a bag because of tax? Where is the money going? Last year they did not have it. We have a 7% tax on booze supposedly for mass transit. My bar I owned had no bus service. I paid 2800/mo in bus tax. There are thousands of bars and restaurants doing much more business. Where is the money going. Fares went up and lines cut. And the lottery? They say it benefits seniors. Who? Where? My aunt is 77 raising her grandkid( its in our dna). She gets 1600 social security 350 retirement and a small share of her ex husband’s retirement. She gets CHIP for the kid but that’s it. Owns her home flat out, but property and school taxes keep going up. Utilities? She got 5 dollars more in SS this year. She qualified for nothing on property rebate. Who are these seniors benefiting from PA lottery? Part B and scrips are picked up by state if you are retired/disabled and earn less than 1 and a half times poverty level. Is that where it goes???

    • Ann says:

      Did you all get a new gas tax in PA too? I always remember PA as being MUCH cheaper than NY for a gallon of gas, but this time on our drive down south I was thankful I didn’t need to get gas in PA. $$

    • votermom says:

      There’s a lot of complaints on talk radio about it. I don’t go into Philly but I just smh

  9. DeniseVB says:

    I want her scarf !

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Catching up with the FtL shooter and boy did he slip through the cracks. His first visit to the FBI turning himself in for evil thoughts should have banned him from ever owning a gun “legally” and maybe put him on the no-fly list. Local police did a medical eval, hospitalized for awhile, then released. So many red flags were missed, now he’ll probably get the help he needs. R.I.P. to his victims and love to their families.

  11. AFVet says:

    And therein lies the conundrum.

  12. DeniseVB says:

    One of my favorite pit stops when visiting the city. A quick tour……

  13. AFVet says:

    Who’s afraid of the big bad wolf (Trump)?
    CTH is connecting the dots the current administration is trying desperately to hide.
    They know that their ass is grass under the Trump administration which is why they are fighting so hard against him.
    This is also why they are so opposed to Sessions’ as AG, IMO.
    Sessions and the Trump administration will not ignore requests from congress to provide information sought during a congressional investigation.
    The kabuki theater of the past could become the real thing.
    I just hope that Sessions turns out to be the bull-dog he is proclaimed to be.

    https://theconservativetreehouse.com/2017/01/06/leon-panetta-surfaces-sweating-bullets-and-with-a-frog-in-his-throat/#more-126753

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Carrie Fisher does it her way 🙂

  15. Apparently I had Wild Pig Sex last night but I don’t remember it. I woke up with only a fitted sheet on my bed, and it has a big tear in it. Everything else is on the floor, and at least two pillows are missing pillowcases. Surprisingly, I still have clothes on. No one else is here.

    The cats won’t come in the house.

  16. mothy67 says:

    Having nothing to do with anything. I bought a ver good electric cigarette machine. I wish I could quit but I can’t. I spend 100 a month. That covers me, my mom, my SIl and a neighbor. 4 x 7 x 4 x12= over 5 grand a year. I went to an N/A meeting with a friend. Guys were selling cigs to addicts for 5 a pack. You betcha if I was up for gang warfare we’d be fighting f or turf. Sadly I am not a thug.
    Once again liberal oblivian policies going boom. You know you can buy sa carton of Newport on the street for 50. Legal carton is like 200. Libs created a whole new crime. People have died in turf wars over cigarettes.

  17. AFVet says:

    Obama was the first black president.
    His legacy is indeed impressive, his accomplishments many, especially when your see them listed in this manner.

    http://directorblue.blogspot.com/2011/06/president-barack-obamas-complete-list.html

  18. AFVet says:

    Jill Stein’s efforts really paid off,….for her.
    What’s that saying, “there’s a sucker born every minute”.
    How’s that workin’ out for ya now donors?

    http://www.allenbwest.com/michaelcantrell/hey-suckers-heres-exactly-contributions-jill-steins-recount-got

  19. mothy67 says:

    One day I was so broke in early nineties — my friend Heather Murdoch( she wrote Everything is Possible in Yemen Fox contributor) was working the bar at Legz Diamond a strip club.
    I walked from 49th to 95th it was Valentine’s Day. I had one dollar. I bought Little Debbie Swiss Rolls. 4 am some guy tried to rob me. I was tired. I beat the shit out of him with my snack cakes. I won. Next day I was sitting on my floor eating the most abused Little Debbie ever thinking I am done. Phone rings I got a job if I could start now. It’s gone now but it was 85th and Broadway. They sold 3.95 lunches. I worked my shift so hungry. They asked can you tend bar my first day. I did made 600. Day before I had 1 penny.
    I used to think NYC was a magic place. I took a bus by myself from Philly. I had never been there. I was in awe. I just walked. First time in New York I hear someone scream from across the street my name. What are the odds. Of course I was a gay man in love with his female roommate. I couldn’t just leave. So I commuted three days aw week from Philly to New York to attend Hunter. I was working two full time jobs, but I was still broke. I boughta personal pan pizzas and ate it alone. Cut it in halfso I could do.lunch and dinner of course Jean Michelle Basquiats ex was there . She was a high school drop out that told me she was going to be a doctor. She did. On her way she introduced me to heroin. I quit after two weeks. She became an md. Schnabel film is a joke. Pure fiction.
    I lived on Great Jones in a basement. So much fun. Tisch at NYU was three blocks away. My roommate was in grad school there. I met everyone.

    Sadly I cannot see a young kid with nothing going there.

  20. lyn says:

    Received a call from the RNC this morning, and the nice man asked me to renew my membership that I never knew I had. I told him I was buying stuff from Trump’s Web site. He pressed me more, and I laughed and said I was a member of the Party of Trump. “Bye, bye.”

  21. Dora says:

    Remember this?

    • DeniseVB says:

      Yes, and a young military staffer got fired for setting up the “photo op”, like it was his idea, right? That was one of the many, many stupid things Obama has done over 8 years.

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Meanwhile, on the West Coast …..

  23. elliesmom says:

    How do you know you live out in the boonies? Neighborhood teens are going door-to-door with their ATVs making sure everyone is OK. I’m sure part of it is the fun they’re having driving on the roads, but still it’s very sweet for them to be checking in on the gray-haired folks.

  24. helenk3 says:

    just had this thought

    the dems have made it very plain that they do not plan to work with repubs to help the country. that makes them useless in the overall job of making the country better. send them home without pay. this will bring down the national debt. Just think of all the expenses aside from their salaries and how much we could save. I used to think it was the Mafia that had no show jobs, but now the dems want to bring them to congress. that is an expense we do not need

    • lateblum says:

      Shoot, helen, the Dems have been doing Nothing except bankrupting Illinois for as long as I can recall. City and state jobs have been “no show jobs” for as long as I’ve been alive and I turn 72 on Monday. I’m certain that’s what bronco bama thought before he ran for the WH. I’m also sure that MO thought the same since her father was on the city payroll.
      Jebus, no wonder she complained so much about her hard life in the WH.

    • DeniseVB says:

      The Dems are behaving like toddlers, only toddlers are more coherent. A new sheriff will be in town on the 20th, and he won’t tolerate their tantrums. I think 2018 midterms are going to be another bloodbath for the clueless Dems.

      • AFVet says:

        I’d like to see a 60+ rep in the senate.
        I don’t know how many dem seats are up for grabs though.

    • Lulu says:

      That is sad. The state of Georgia repelled a Homeland Security attempted hack but the federal OPM couldn’t repel a Chinese hack. Maybe Georgia should run the federal computer systems since Obama’s fools can’t. As usual Bronco is backwards.

  25. votermom says:

    watching The Finest Hours on Netflix – snow, storm, good-looking people in 1950s clothing

  26. mothy67 says:

    I made a funny today about gay marriage. I said it happened in America when Air Supply hit number one. So gay. Every football player I know can sing along.

    No one under 90 hated these guys. I was into Led Zel but they were to nice to ignore. I bet I know every word to every song. I think we all thought they were a gay couple. Didn’t stop them. Turns out gayest band ever is straight.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Sorry, everyone I knew hated them. Except this 22 year old GF I had one time. She was about as interesting as Air Supply too, so that didn’t last long.

  27. helenk3 says:

    Starting January 7th and going through February 6th, 2017, all of the major planets will be moving direct (forward). Ancients saw this as a time of great fortune and a very opportune time.

    This is the dawning of the Age of Trumpquarius. . . .

  28. SHV says:

    More Winning!!

    ‘Baltimore Six – Federal Judge Allows Malicious Prosecution Case Against Marilyn Mosby To Proceed…’

    https://theconservativetreehouse.com/2017/01/07/baltimore-six-federal-judge-allows-malicious-prosecution-case-against-marilyn-mosby-to-proceed/#more-126773

  29. DeniseVB says:

    Just wow, the outpouring of love for the Chicago torture victim. The original goal was 5,000.

    https://www.gofundme.com/lets-show-the-chicago-victim-love

  30. blowme0bama says:

    Went north about 300 miles to our duck camp Thursday night for two hunts on Friday. The first one, Friday morning, was in the falling snow and sleet, temperature was about 28 and dropped to 26 with the wind out of the north at around 15. Aside from the ride on the ATVs, it was very comfortable in the blinds. We had an afternoon hunt for geese in a big agricultural field. Temp dropped to 23 and the wind was sustained 23+ with gusts to 35. Had to walk about 400 yards back to our ATVs. It was brutal. Got back to the camp house, ate some chili and just crashed. I never noticed how much energy the cold could sap from you. We’ve hunted in temps that cold commonly, but the long walk in that wind was something else.

    I’m speculating I didn’t notice when I lived a bit further north (and had *actual* winters), because I was so young. Haven’t really been exposed to any kind of activity in the combo of that kind of cold + wind since moving to the gulf coast about 21 years ago.

Comments are closed.