Monday Open Thread

Monday Sad Pug

Open thread!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

118 Responses to Monday Open Thread

  1. votermom says:

    Last thread was getting long

  2. votermom says:

    On bookhorde today, a free book and a sale book

  3. driguana says:

    Yep…give me football and MMA…and basketball and baseball and bowling and golf and, well, even curling! Guess she forgot all about Obama’s comment on Special Olympics and this one…
    http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2017-01-05/chicago-cops-claim-4-trump-taunting-blacks-attacked-white-teen-over-his-special-need

  4. Dora says:

    He makes it look so easy. 🙂

  5. Dora says:

  6. swanspirit says:

    I don’t need Meryl Streep shaking her fucking finger at me, at yet another overhyped glitzy award ceremony where the rich and indulgent feel the need to lecture their lessers on what to think. She can kiss my overworked and underpaid ass.
    The only time I enjoy these people is when they are pretending to be someone else, and given the quality of what passes for entertainment in movies and on TV these days, the product is pretty thin. I guess Ms Streep missed the irony of p!aying a famous woman with no talent.
    Granted, she has some talent, but Trump is right, she isn’t all they make her out to be. And her dress sucked, BTW.. And the whining gall of her, to complain about being reviled, standing there in a gown the price of which I could retire on, receiving yet another award, to complain about anything. And then insult football and the MMA.
    What I can thank her for , is revealing what an acrimonious, disgusting snob she really is, to the world.

    • I didn’t make it thru the opening monolog before I turned it off.

      • 49erDweet says:

        More and more I’ve come to appreciate our decision to only watch recorded shows. Saves so much time and regret.

      • swanspirit says:

        I didn’t watch it at all. I unplugged yesterday and re-read one of my favorite books ” Cold Mountain” . The movie wasn’t one quarter of the book, BTW. On page 42 of Cold Mountain, the author uses the word bigly, to describe someone Ada passes on the road.
        Maybe Trump has a better vocabulary than many of his detractors.
        All I saw was a clip of Fallon and Street, and that was more than enough to make me happy I missed it. I think these stupid self aggrandizing award shows are past their usefulness., and some of these entertainers are as well.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Well said Swan! 😀

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Never watch awards shows. When people ask me why I say I it is akin to watching May Kay hand out those pinks cars. It really only invoices those in the business.

      Maybe I watch too many old movies where even those stock and trade character actors from what would considered the B-list and maybe even C-list would wipe the floor with most of the so called A-listers of today.

      My guess is her speech was given in the condensing tone she often uses in movies. I admit that Meryl grates on my nerves much of the time. You can see her acting before she is even on screen. For me, she is much better at dark comedy.

    • John Denney says:

      “The only time I enjoy these people is when they are pretending to be someone else, . . .”

      Gold!

    • lateblum says:

      Truly, I’m going to remember your comment for a very long time…”The only time I enjoy these people is when they are pretending to be someone else…”
      I know others have said it here at THC, but it really is a memorable line. And more than true. I wonder why they think that their own thoughts are really that important.

  7. CiscoKid says:

    Ever wonder what Russia was going to do with that 20% of American uranium courtesy of HRC?
    AP is running a story that Russia is going to give Iran about 130 tons of natural uranium.
    Here’s the reasoning.
    VIENNA (AP) — Iran is to receive a huge shipment of natural uranium from Russia to compensate it for exporting tons of reactor coolant, diplomats say, in a move approved by the outgoing U.S. administration and other governments seeking to keep Tehran committed to a landmark nuclear pact.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Here’s a nuclear pact for Iran: You stop this shit or we’re going to nuke you.

    • Lulu says:

      They gave to Russia to give to Iran. Of course some kick-backs and graft for all along the way and to keep Clinton/Obama fingerprints off the direct transaction. AP is only covering this to put Trump on the spot. If Hillary had won it would never have been made public.

  8. Here is another show I refuse to watch:

    • 49erDweet says:

      Yeah. Imagine the hurted feewlings if there were shows called “White-ish” or “White Like Us”. Ad Infinitum. Celebrate Divisiveness!!! New motto.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Hope the kitty is okay, but this made me LOL ….

  10. helenk3 says:

    why you do not ask an Irishman what he thinks

  11. Fake. The handwriting doesn’t match.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I leave cash tips on the table and strike through the tip line too. I always tell my server that in case the busboy tries to steal it 🙂

      • mothy67 says:

        Me too. I believe 100% less payouts to bar/bus/runners has to be claimed if on a card. A great server can make a night out. I love going to diners and getting a woman who should be retired and leaving a great tip.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        I too let the server know there is a tip. I usually pay in cash so the tip goes on the table at casual restaurants where you pay at the cashier or into the little folder with the bill.

    • elliesmom says:

      There has been a rash of this kind of thing showing up on social media. One on my FB timeline was about a black family who ordered a pizza at Dominoes and claim a server wrote something racist on the box. Dominoes isn’t reacting very strongly because it happened in a town where a black family would be a novelty, and no one, servers or customers alike, remembers seeing them there. They supposedly went home before they saw it and brought the box back. I’m not denying there are people out there who would do this stuff, but I’m not as gullible as I used to be.

  12. helenk3 says:

    Kate’s Law coming up for another vote in congress. Maybe this time they will have enough sense to pass it

  13. helenk3 says:

    http://www.arabnews.com/node/1036431/middle-east

    4 Iranian ships play chicken with an American destroyer. Have shots fired on them

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Poor dear. What was she thinking? One critic called it a boob sling.

  15. “I’m sorry I called your state a shithole. I should have called it a fecal collection point.”

    • mothy67 says:

      I thought the voter rights violation happened during the primaries in 08.
      As per this article it was the GE.

      “Under Holder the Justice Department dismissed its voting rights case against the New Black Panther Party. The Justice Department originally filed its lawsuit against the New Black Panther Party following an incident that took place outside of a Philadelphia polling station on November 4, 2008. According to multiple witnesses, members of the New Black Panthers blocked access to polling stations, harassed voters and hurled racial epithets”

  16. AFVet says:

    Teachers unions take notice, your product sucks.

  17. helenk3 says:

    americans making do with what they got

  18. DeniseVB says:

  19. AFVet says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      It’s been a rough day for Meryl on the twit and FB today. And, I’m loving it. She’s officially become the Sacheen Littlefeather of the 21st Century (h/t and RIP Marlon Brando)

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        Sacheen did a much better job of presenting and I believe was very respectful in tone while calling Hollywood out. Perhaps Meryl should have asked her advice.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Love Malcolm, but he double downed on NeverTrumpism before the election, so he’s back? Meh. I know he, Don Surber and Scott Adams all have a love hate relationship now. It’s what I love about the “right side”, we’re forgiving and not haters. 😉

  20. Wow.

    The Supreme Court on Monday seemed deeply skeptical of a Colorado law that makes it hard for criminal defendants whose convictions are overturned to get refunds of the fines and restitution they had been ordered to pay.

    The justices were helped by the forthright presentation of the state’s solicitor general, Frederick R. Yarger, who did not shy away from the more extreme implications of his argument. Money taken from defendants after valid convictions belongs to the state, he said.

    A Colorado law requires people cleared by the courts to file separate civil suits and prove their innocence with clear and convincing evidence in order to obtain reimbursement. But Mr. Yarger said the state was under no obligation to do even that much. He said the state was not only free to impose onerous procedures, but could also enact a law making exonerated defendants forfeit the money entirely.

    Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr. asked if the state could impose a $10,000 fine on everyone convicted of a crime and refuse to return the money if the convictions were later overturned.

    Mr. Yarger said yes. Just as there is no need to pay people for the time they spend in prison after their convictions are reversed, he said, there is no need to reimburse them for fines and fees. “The assumption is that the deprivation of both the liberty and the property at the time of conviction is lawful, and that the property passes into public funds,” he said.

    Incarceration is different from money, Chief Justice Roberts said. “You can’t give them back whatever time they’ve spent in jail,” he said. “You just can’t do it, but you can give them the money back.”

    Justice Stephen G. Breyer tried another example, asking about a corporation convicted of a crime and fined $15 million. “And then the state says, ‘By the way, why appeal?’” he said. “‘If you win, we’re not going to give you the money back.’”

    “Now, there’s something wrong with that,” Justice Breyer added.

    Mr. Yarger did not retreat. “This is a question of whether the state has decided to provide this kind of compensation,” he said.

  21. CiscoKid says:

    Let’s count the money.
    Toyota investing $10 billion.
    Fiat Chrysler $1 billion
    Ford $700 million to modernize plants in US.
    CEO Masayoshi Son has reiterated a commitment to create 50,000 jobs in US after meeting with Trump.
    And there’s more,but I’ve lost track.
    Under Trump, America is open for business.

    • dm says:

      I told hubby today that I hope every time there is an announcement like this, that Obama starts gagging on some nice, acidy bile and it puts a hole in his stomach so he can keep on regurgitating that nasty bile every day…I hate that SOB.

      • CiscoKid says:

        And it’s only been 2 months since the election.
        I know Trump said we’d be winning, but I didn’t think this much so soon, I mean the Donald isn’t even in office yet.
        I’m happy for American’s that will become employed, working, raising their families, simply MAGA.
        As for Obama, you KNOW it’s sticking in his craw that Trump is succeeding where Obama failed, by design I believe.

        • lateblum says:

          I think this is why bronco is working so hard to undermine and interfere with the orderly transfer of power as well as to undercut the confirmation of the Cabinet nominations.

    • votermom says:

      Alibaba CEO meeting with Trump to discuss creating a million jobs or something.

      • CiscoKid says:

        It’s Jack Ma who is willing to invest billions of $$$ in US .
        It’s over a period of time, but it still comes out as jobs for Americans.
        I don’t think you commit a billion $ or more on Sunday and expect it to be in place on Monday.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Political Defiance?
      Yes, because it is so brave to run off at the mouth in a room full of your exceptionally supportive circle of like minded associates.

  22. It will seem strange when the media finally starts holding POTUS accountable again.

    • votermom says:

      Meryl Streep’ speech (caught some of it this morning on tv nooz) reminded me of every stereotype of a woman in an argument who just has to have the last word. They lost bigly, but they still hav eto lecture. Annoying.

  23. mothy67 says:

    Katharine Hepburn was no fan of streep

    “Thought very highly of the acting talents of Jeremy Irons and John Lithgow. She particularly disliked Meryl Streep, claiming she could recognize Streep’s constant search for tactics during a performance. Hepburn also thought Glenn Close talented, but said openly Close’s feet were too big for audiences to take her seriously as an actress.”

    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000031/bio?ref_=nm_ov_bio_sm

  24. AFVet says:

    Trump team is not messing around on trade.

    • DeniseVB says:

      LOL, following the DCist and Washingtonian on FB, priceless. For the Deploraball, I’m wearing vm’s Je Suis Deplorable tshirt over a cashmere black turtleneck, over my favorite fancy pants that looks like a long skirt, but it’s comfy pants! Covered with a black thigh high*flowy* black bamboo jacket, which is actually a beach coverup, I bought on sale about 8 years ago at TJMaxx for $4. Working on accessories now. A tiara? A sparkly boob belt over the tee?

      I know, I’m overthinking this, but this is the fun part. Trust me, next week I’ll be in anxiety overload.

  25. helenk3 says:

    http://nypost.com/2017/01/09/giants-trash-airplane-following-embarrassing-playoff-blowout/

    NY Giants throw temper tantrum after loss to Packers.
    remember the good old days when kids were supposed to look up to sports figures? those days are gone

  26. votermom says:

    Idiot lefty writes about how important it is to call the perp “they”, then doesn’t allow the pronoun to be discussed in comments.
    We wouldn’t want to offend the alleged murderer.
    I bet “their” lawyer asks that the perp be housed in women’s prison too, never mind that both “their” victims are women.

  27. mothy67 says:

    Tucker’s first guest at new slot is Glenn Beck!?!?!?!?

    • cynic says:

      Does anyone here listen to Glenn anymore? Is he softening in his opinion of Trump? I honestly have to say that I really enjoyed watching him on FOX. I loved how he would have the magnetic blackboard, and show all the links to Soros. He really did open my eyes, and then something happened that made me turn him off. Guess this was maybe four years ago.

  28. CiscoKid says:

    I see now more clearly about Streep.
    US President Barack Obama presents the Medal of Freedom to actress Meryl Streep during a ceremony in the East Room of the White House on November 24, 2014 in Washington, DC. The Medal of Freedom is the country highest civilian honor. AFP PHOTO/Mandel NGAN (Photo credit should read MANDEL NGAN/AFP/Getty Images)
    Anybody surprised?

Comments are closed.