Waiting On A Dream

i-have-a-dream-speech-p


I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed – we hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.
I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave-owners will be able to sit down together at a table of brotherhood.
I have a dream that one day even the state of Mississippi, a desert state, sweltering with the heat of injustice and oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice.
I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.


About Myiq2xu™

“Let’s be honest, the people who are currently outraged are the same people who have always been outraged.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Waiting On A Dream

  1. Barack Obama is the antithesis of King’s dream.

  2. helenk3 says:

    from there to today

  3. elliesmom says:

    I wonder if we would be in a better place today if we had handled the civil rights era differently. If we had said no laws could be passed at any level requiring discrimination, but if we had not passed laws that forced integration and public accommodation except in things government provides. Now 60 years later would the marketplace have sorted it all out and would there be less resentment and outright animosity? I look at what’s going on in the process of achieving full equality for LGBTWXYZ community, and the attitude has pretty much achieved a live and let live level until people feel forced to accept things they aren’t prepared to accept yet. I don’t know. I was an idealistic kid in the 60’s.

    • 49erDweet says:

      There’s a lotta truth to that. Every time a powerful influence group tries to force universal “approval” of their cause on everyone, some of the public resists. Apparently ‘live and let live’ is not quite good enough for the group members. It’s like they sorta doubt themselves and will only be reassured if there’s absolutely no contrary opinions. Like that will every happen.

    • AFVet says:

      As far as the LGBTQ stuff, what you do in private I couldn’t care less about.
      When you take it public and put it in everyone’s face it becomes wrong.
      Likewise with the schools teaching kindergarteners about sexual differences and pushing the gay agenda.

      And don’t get me started on liberal professors.

    • Part of the problem is we created a bureaucracy to fix a problem, but the problem was fixed and the bureaucracy is still there. We also have a racial grievance industry that is constantly looking for things to be aggrieved about.

      There is no finish line.

      • AFVet says:

        A peaceful black community does not bode well for their future.
        Their existence would no longer be needed.
        That is why they are reluctant to attack the core problem of the inner city violence.
        It will be interesting to see how well Dr.Carson does w/HUD.

      • jenlyn says:

        The biggest problem is the application of the law. The law says you can’t discriminate based on genetic factors and that is a paraphrase. Diversity is utter b******* and has no place in the law. Diversity is a political creation designed to give certain people privilege as a way of gaining money or power and is very dangerous depending on Whose definition of diversity we’re using. For example during Hitler’s Reign diversity would mean I guess more white men who hated Jews and cripples versus today’s diversity which demands that we employ ignorant people of color despite the horrible effects on society as a whole. Diversity was never the goal of Martin Luther King and he would be embarrassed of the black society today. Same way the suffragettes would be terribly embarrassed of the pussy hat wearing faux feminist Marching for slut rights. I have a big question for all these civil rights activist specially the black ones what have you done in the last 50 years for the black people in America specifically point out where you have made a difference in a positive way. The heads would implode because the only thing people like Lewis and his ilk have done is allowed very few to make a lot of money while preaching entitlements and allowing rap and gangster culture to destroy Martin Luther King’s Legacy. Of course women are following this terrible example and becoming our Own Worst Enemy. Even though Michael Jackson was a creepy pedophile I feel for him because he was definitely a child abuse victim and I think of his song The Man in the Mirror whenever we talk about the problems in our culture –we all need to look in the mirror figure out what we’re doing that’s f****** it up and change it.

  4. AFVet says:

    LBJ started all of this with the civil rights act.
    He said that he would have those n*****s eating out of my hand, or something to that effect, going after the black vote.

    He was also the one that signed the Johnson Act, stating that churches would lose their tax exempt status if they involved themselves in politics.
    Trump has said that he would be willing to repeal it.

  5. mothy67 says:

    “In Dreams Begin Responsibilities”
    — Delmore Schwartz

  6. You swore you were #NeverTrump, so Trump is helping you keep your word.

  7. votermom says:

    we are watching Kids Baking Championship. Holy cannoli! These kids are amazing.

  8. kanaughty says:

    Twitter is ridiculous. Last night was criticizing aca with likes and retweets and got locked out and tonight i tried to do at barackobama bye felicia! and they said i was being a bot and got locked out. Yesterday i got to use a text message code to unlock and had to do new password, today they had to call my number to give me a code. Fucking censorship

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      A ton of money has been thrown at aca for new government departments, contractors and as pork bellies for politicians. As many of the jobs and programs were created solely by the pen and phone, they are very worried that those funds will be redirected back toward departments/agencies that actually do something and need worker bees.

      • mothy67 says:

        I can deal with CHIP being done. Many people cannot. Seriously I sat on a kids glasses. Been two years since her last pair. I can pay but with insurance it took two weeks to get an appointment. No paying for new frames as at 10 her script might change. So with CHIP we used a glue gun. I could not just go into lenscrafters and buy her glasses. I being her great uncle cannot get a prescription. Her mom has not phoned since Christmas Eve. I would pay. I cannot –for real I sat on them. Where is common sense? Not like I can get high smoking a 10 year olds glasses. I dropped some bank on her frames not cheap so they took my money to pay for absurdly expensive frames but they can’t let me renew. Two weeks we have to deal with a glue gun. So funny I broke her glasses because she was bored and refused to read grade school books. I made the mistake of reading all Harry Potter to her at 5. Then I did Watership Down, Jane Eyre, Paradise Lost, Animal Farm. Obvious kids books bore her. Her teachers, even the hillary crazies, think she can write. She is ten. Admit her stuff is funny. I think wow. I wanted to write and do think I kind of wrote my own life. I do not possess the gift or discipline to create. What if I was born to touch a child who will then create. Poor thing refused to have imaginary friends so I her great gay uncle made up my own. Samantha- Suzie and Suzie-Samantha. Conjoined twins that had to navigate life. I told so many sagas about the triumphant twins. Life was never easy for the duo. I tried to teach her life is beautiful but an eternal struggle. Some one else always has it worse. I was attempting to simply assauge what might be her pain. I need to give her a cushion.
        Her teacher cornered me and said the girl can write. I brushed it off at first, but I spent years studying lit and trying to be a writer. I read my stuff. I do not have the gift. Kid does. She actually writes. Very well. Oddly my favorite book is Of Human Bondage. It’s awful. Philip Carey is a pre-freudian joke. He is literally and metaphorically crippled. The book is dreadful. Just a fucked up guy conflicted. Is he something or nothing. He cannot be so he attaches himself to a woman that he loves but in her way despises him. Bette Davis is way better than Kim Novak in the role of Mildred.
        I felt every word of Of Human Bondage. The title is taken from Spinoza .. of human bondage or the emotions that constrain.
        I read the book after my apartment had burned down and I had walked to payless on the Upper West Side with a fifty. That was all I had. I had no shoes. I asked them to let me in. I had no shoes.
        They let me buy shoes. I had nothing. I moved into a flop house I had been in a fire Everything was gone. I had to crawl out. I was always dark. I thought when the smoke was consuming just lay down let it all be over. Right after I allowed myself to think about dying I fought my way out like a savage beast. I lived. No shoes. I did have apartment insurance. Maybe two months later I got a check from my attorney. I had to fight for everything I had ever owned. I thought I could be a writer at that time, but everything was gone forever. I had my attorney(yes insurance was dicking me around so I got a lawyer) I was broke he gave me 5 grand and I put 5 in the bank. I was walking up 9th Avenue saw a Liberty Travel. I said how much for an open ticket to London. She said when would you like to leave I said now. I had no passport. I put it off for 2 days flew to Pittsburgh and had my younger brother vouche for me for an emergency passport. I flew to Heathrow never having been anywhere but Canada when my parents took me as an open heart freak to be prayed over at St Ann’s in Quebec. I went alone and navigated the tube. Lived in Europe on 7,000 for a .year found hostels. Ozzies and Kiwi’s are my favorite people. I ran out of money was beyond high in Hyde Park. I called my older brother. I said help. No pause. He wired me money and booked a direct flight. You could still smoke back then. I had chugged a few scotches but I had no smokes. My version of white trash you never “bum” a smoke. Guy said shut up take a pack they are duty free I never asked he gave me a pack. We drank single malts for six hours. Trashed. Somehow he knew my Peurto Rican trash god parents. I got loads of opportunity. New York was very kind to me. So was Philly. Icould write about where I have been. Celeb piece of shit. The kid writes from her heart. She is good. I don’t want to exploit my former friends. I think about Ron who played Arnold Horshack. I knew him in the biblical way. He’s dead so I can say this– we engaged and I tried to make him say what he had said on Welcome Back Kotter. He said his dad had emphysema and he regretted ever making that sound as it was him. Talk about buzz kill.
        I have lots of stories I can tell. I got drunk with lots of guys and went to the Hudson to watch the sun rise on East River kissed dumbasses that thought sun rised on the Hudson. Nothing gay unless guys kissing with tongue is gay. Whatever we were so young.
        Anyhow I have so little to ever say. Yes I sat at moondance with Lou Reed kickin heroin. We had feta tomato omelets. That is it.
        I did lots of stupid shit. I am disease free. So wrong. I was always careful about guys. Not as much with women. I was a scared young gay guy in NYC. Women were aggressive. I slept with women to not hurt feelings. I was that hot– kidding.
        I was insane. I lived to experience. Heroin was not my thing, but I loved walking through alphabet city buying it. Was .so dangerous. I grew out of it by 30.
        I was an event planner. Pound nine inch nails into your eyeball. Great money but so dull.
        Visiting Pittsburgh I meet a crud that is thrownaway. Ten years later I sit outside of tae kwon do . I have gotten arrested for walking while intoxicated but 10 years no drugs and no drunk in front of her. I cannot imagine putting her first.
        Sucks because she can write. Ten and she grasps humanity. I was reliant on knowing people that were bigger than life. Seriously dullest thing you could ever read is Lou Reed, Penn or Teller and I have eggs after Midnight Madness NA meeting. Nothing could be more boring. I lived all this stuff my words could not be more bland. Shay is 10. Common Core teachers praise her. She is good. Somehow she gets “it”. Because I am a yuuge Dolly f a g. I almost see it like how she absorbed what was around her. I cannot write. Acting and writing is all I ever wanted to do. I am over joyed. My debit card expired the alert is on my yahoo account which I never check. My word expired. She was distraught. She wants to babble at a keyboard. Didn’t word used to be free. 99 a year or 9.99 a month. I know Apache is free but I am clueless. If she wants to write I will encourage, but my God recurring kid charges add up. 90 for tae kwon do(so cheap) 100 for dance, 107 phone, 9 hulu – she must watch dance moms, 10 for star stable, piano, sax. I have a cushion. How do poor people do it? I put 500 down on her phone. My lease is still 12 months at 28 she has a 50 unlimited plan 10 insurance. My bill is 103. I pay 15 in tax. They charge tax on insurance. The universal charge pisses me off. I think free limited cell phones for the broke people makes sense. We have always had it, but the hundreds of billions spent on obamaphone goes to aMexican billionaire. If you want to tell Americans you pay 4 dollars a month to give free phones why shouldn’t that “TAX” come back home feed an American company. Take a look at your cell phone bill. FYI it was Clinton and Bush that did this.

        • ginainmo says:

          Google Docs is free and set up much like Word. You can import Word documents into it. Have her give it a try.

  9. AFVet says:

  10. mothy67 says:

    Does repeal of ACA also negate CHIP?
    I am so fucked if it does. Pup cannot get on my insurance because I am not her legal guardian. I would pay I cannot add her. I am simply her great uncle. I have no legal rights.
    (I still plan on moving to Indiana and becoming a nurse and a para legal so she gets in state tuition at Purdue as I sell my soul working through medical malpractice. I love Purdue and I love math. I will have to adopt her. I am Rosie crazy when it comes to financing college for her. I will go Breaking Bad to give my not my child a future. Seriously paralegal nurse with a degree in Bullshit(literature) might get me a job.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      This is a very very simplified explanation.

      HIP is a Medicaid (for children) and is a state program so the coverage and eligibility caries across the country. It existed long before ACA. One of the ways they got states to sign onto ACA was to provide extra funds to expand Medicaid programs. That is were pulling ACA back might decrease funds.

  11. 3 DAYS
    12 HOURS
    58 MINUTE

    • kanaughty says:

      Hey, it’s not actually free until you pay your deductible, so there’s that. Mine was free til end of year, but back to $54 after january 🙂 so the free birth control of obamacare is a myth.

  12. lyn says:

    “Keetje Tippel” was a 1975 film by Paul Verhoeven. It was based on a true story.

    Here’s an artsy X-rated scene.

Comments are closed.