Out! Out! Out of the Shadows

flagtrump

They have lawyers at The_Donald:

Lawyer here—I’m tired of the media falsely portraying Trump’s Executive Order. Here is my plain English (i) summary of what it actually does and (ii) explanation of why it isn’t a “Muslim ban.”

I. What does Trump’s Executive Order Actually Do?

Overview: The Executive Order contains 11 sections. The most relevant sections are section 3 and 5. (Sections 1 and 2 are general statements of the policy behind the Order, while sections 4,6-11 deal primarily with data collection and certain procedures under the Visa program). Since a President’s Executive Orders does not make new law, it must be based on an existing law and give direction to the Executive Branch on how to enforce that existing law. President Trump’s Executive Order is based primarily on the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA), particularly Section 212, which deals with the eligibility of foreign aliens to receive Visas and eligibility of admission to the US.

Section 3: Affects on the U.S. Visa Program.

  • Days 1-30: The Executive Order requires Homeland Security (DHS), Sec of State (SOS), and Director of National Intelligence (DNI) to determine what pieces of information that the US government needs from a foreign country in order to determine whether an individual from that country who is seeking a benefit (a visa, admission to the US, or other benefit) under the INA (i) is the individual he claims he is and (ii) is not a security or public safety threat. The DHS, SOS, and DNI have 30 days to provide a report to the President stating their conclusion about what information would be needed, and they must provide a list of countries that do not currently provide such information. 3a-3b.
  • Days 30-90: By day 30, after submitting this report, the SOS will request that any foreign nation that does not provide such information must start providing such information within 60 days. After these 60 days, the SOS will recommend to POTUS a list of countries for POTUS to include in a proclamation that will state that foreign nationals from countries that do not provide the information requested may not enter the US until compliance occurs. The SOS and DHS may also add additional countries to this list at any time in the future. 3d-3f.
  • Days 1-90, indefinitely: In order to reduce investigative burdens on relevant federal agencies during this period, immigrant and nonimmigrant entry to the US of aliens from “the list of countries referred to in section 217(a)(12) of the INA” (there are seven countries – more on this below) is suspended for 90 days. Notwithstanding this 90 day suspension or a presidential Proclamation (discussed above), SOS or DHS may issue visas or other immigration benefits on a case-by-case basis, when in the national interest. 3c,3g.

from The_Donald

There’s more. I highly recommend checking this post out for talking points. You may also want to check out Seth Frantzman’s popular post on his view that Obama made the Muslim Ban list and how the media is lying to you. This guy is to the left of the left.

In other news, I’ve opened up my Facebook to political discussion once again. I felt I could not let the outrage machine to continue unchecked. So I dropped 52 people from my FB friends list, generally all people I work with, used to work with, or may one day work with. I did this protect my employment and well-being. It was sadly necessary. Now I’m actually out to family and friends about my support of Trump AND his policies. I feel so much better, but it’s not for everyone. For me, silence was complicity. Bless those of you have have given no fucks in your social media use.

This is an open thread.

About Lola-in-a-Basket

Bitch, please.
This entry was posted in #DailyDopeslap, #GoTrump, clusterfucks, Immigration Reform. Bookmark the permalink.

132 Responses to Out! Out! Out of the Shadows

  1. votermom says:

    • Lulu says:

      They use any virtue signalling device available. They are globalists and they want to make a buck. Follow the money on who donates.

      • swanspirit says:

        Our old friend Darragh Murphy is one of the worst offenders. And I never knew she was an atheist, until she announced it on FB.

        Sunday morning reflection…
        Jesus praised his followers, saying to them,
        “I was a stranger, and you took me in: Naked, and you clothed me: I was sick, and you visited me: I was in prison, and you came unto me.”
        His followers were confused. They asked, “When were you a foreigner for us to take in? When did we see you naked and give you clothes? When did we visit you in the hospital or in prison? We never helped you like this.”
        Jesus said to them, “Whenever you have done these things for the least of my brothers and sisters, you did them for me.”
        We may not be a Christian nation and I may be a godless atheist, but I truly believe that living these values, first recorded in the gospel of Matthew two thousand years ago, will lead a nation to peace, strength, and security, and will allow her people to be free, equal, and prosperous.
        Have a blessed Sunday.
        Darragh Murphy

        • DeniseVB says:

          As a little girl growing up Catholic, I was told to Praise Jesus. It was my first experience Questioning Authority. I never dissed others’ beliefs, nor did I ever overthink it. I did ask a good friend about biology and The Blessed Virgin Mary theory. I was told to BELIEVE. Crazy. Then I discovered Andrew Lloyd Weber and Tim Rice. They got it…made sense to me 🙂

          • elliesmom says:

            I got kicked out of Sunday School for suggesting we’re all idiots because Noah’s family had to intermarry after the flood.

          • Somebody says:

            I went to Christian school, in 7th grade I was tasked with leading the case for evolution in a “debate”. I took my job seriously, made my case and refuted not only creation but the bible. I pointed out inconsistencies, falsehoods, the implausible if not impossible and last but not least 3 instances where God “lied” or did something he said he wouldn’t.

            I won! Yeah me! The student body voted and I won 98% of the vote! I also ended up in the principal’s office and got an F on my assignment.

            I also was the church pianist for a short time until I took a $50 bet to work “Tubular Bells” or the theme from The Exorcist into the piano solo played during the offering……who knew so many Baptist had seen The Exorcist!

            I worry when attending church events that the roof will cave or lightening will strike me. There’s a lot more to my checkered past but those are two of my favorites.

        • I thought Murphy hated Islam?

          • swanspirit says:

            You won’t get that impression anymore if you are friends with her on Facebook. She has gone full Trump hate. I have been trolling her just for fun, but she hasn’t unfriended me, yet.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    As hard as I tried not to embarrass my friends and family on Facebook, I made that OH F**K IT decision to come out also a few months ago. Was surprised how many of my friends were closeted Trump supporters also and the TCH family is awesome when they visit. Much more enjoyable experiences on FB now. And Trump is our President !!!

    • It has ended up being a pretty tame discussion on my feed. I came out kind of BTFO, but people have been willing to discuss, and only one has called me a bigot, and I challenged her right off the bat. That went pretty well as well.

  3. Lulu says:

    President Trump said repeatedly on the campaign trail that he has the very best lawyers. Why did they not believe him? Real estate is VERY heavy on the legalities and lawyers. Very, very precise and picky stuff that. Almost but not quite as bad as oil and gas law which has lots of real estate law too! Exactly how many lawsuits did Trump lose as a real estate developer? Not many. Mostly because everything he does is vetted out by legal before he does it. Then you loose. In court. And wasted a bunch of money. LOL.

  4. elliesmom says:

    I’ve been posting mostly puppy pictures on my own FB page for the last year and a half. The dam broke today when a good friend posted a pic of the little refugee boy who washed up on the beach and called anyone who supported Trump “immoral”. Unless that happened this week, I don’t think it had anything to do with Trump. The hypocrisy of the last few months hit the tipping point for me. This woman has been a friend for over 40 years so I didn’t respond to her, but I put a rant on my own page. I’ve decided not to be complicit by being silent.

  5. It should come as no surprise that just about everything we heard from the Left about Trump’s so-called #MuslimBan turned out to be distorted, exaggerated or just plain false.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Especially the “Opposition Media”, Bannon was right about SHUT UP AND LISTEN FOR AWHILE. Media: Hitler. I love Trump, but debunking the media may be more fun than defending the new administration.

      Also, I might ask the new admin to defund J-Schools that don’t require reading Don Surber’s Trump the Press, and soon to be released, Trump the Establishment, as part of their graduating requirements. Not that Shaun King needed J-School or anything, just victimhood 😉

  6. This has got to be the most specious of specious arguments.

  7. Dora says:

  8. taw46 says:

    “It’s also confusing because many contemporary judges have no respect for our sovereignty and have been gradually chipping away at the plenary power of Congress (or the president, pursuant to statute) to exclude aliens re-entering the country, despite years of settled law. If courts are indeed violating our sovereignty, this is the very grave danger I warned about in Stolen Sovereignty.”

  9. driguana says:

    Sometimes when I am feeling really confused by the whole mess I just have to crawl home to the Crawdad Hole and everything feels ok. Great post…made my day so far…

  10. 1539days says:

    I found this bit of crazy linked at Uppity’s blog. Apparently, the real conspiracy is to make Pence the president.

    https://www.autostraddle.com/i-was-trained-for-the-culture-wars-in-home-school-awaiting-someone-like-mike-pence-as-a-messiah-367057/

  11. Venus says:

    I’m on a purge frenzy on FB — I’m sick of these hysterical assholes. Two people are sweet, expect when it comes to politics, so I simply “unfollwed” them rather than unfriend.

    • elliesmom says:

      I’ve unfollowed a lot of people over the last few months. I check in on them every once in awhile to make sure their cats are still doing funny things and to get the recipes they post.

    • Unfollowing is how I started, but it wasn’t enough. I needed to speak my mind without worrying about getting fired. So I had to full-on purge. One has already resent a friend request, but I’m just ignoring that shit. If they truly wanted to be friends, they would have used fewer -isms and less outrage. These assholes need to be careful because they don’t know how people voted if they aren’t talking about it.

      • taw46 says:

        That’s what gets me, the arrogance to assume everyone thinks the same as they do. Never enters their mind that someone might have a different opinion.

      • elliesmom says:

        I’m comfortable unfriending people I only know online. I’m not ready to toss aside long term in real life friendships yet. I still have hope they’ll come to their senses because I’m counting on Trump to prove those of us who voted for him were right.

        • I hear you. But I used to have a rule about friending people at work, but that fell by the wayside. And the politics at work is poisonous and uniform. I had to take that drastic measure to speak my mind without risking my job.

          • DandyTIger says:

            BTW: make sure they’re not following you. If your settings allow anyone to follow, they may. Just turn off following for non friended people. Also make sure posts are for friends only, not friends of friends.

        • Venus says:

          Yes, I should have been more clear. I’m unfriending those I have no real life connection with; unfollowing those that I do.

      • Constance says:

        I assume everyone not actively re-posting Democrat mantras and group think voted for Trump. They are also the only interested people left on Facebook.

    • DandyTIger says:

      The other fun thing to do is block all posts from… whatever crazy fake news thing they’re sharing. Cuts down on a lot of crazy, but not fool proof. Literally.

  12. votermom says:

  13. Y’all, I have fucking had it. I can’t tell you how frustrated and angry I am. I’ve held my tongue for so long, and now I’m just trying to go from 0 to 60 without embracing my full inner Troll Queen. We can’t all be Angie. LOL ♥ you Angie!

    But seriously. This break has been been good for me. I’ve been in graduate school for 3 weeks and I already know I don’t give two shits for public administration, nor have I any respect for public administrators. I’ve decided I’m dropping the class and doing what I wanted to do, and thought I was too old to do. I’m taking the motherfucking LSAT. We’ll see what the results are.

    • mcnorman says:

      You go Lola!!!!!!!

      • Thanks for the support, McNorman and Dandy!

        • Awesome! First thing you need to do is buy a LSAT Prep book. It tells you what to expect and gives you some practice exams.

          • Already planning that, but thank you for the advice!

          • elliesmom says:

            Did you take the GREs on the computer? The test is formulated differently. The test gives you a question. If you answer it correctly, it gives you a harder one. If you get it wrong, it gives you an easier one. The score is not based just on the number you get right or wrong, but also on the difficulty level of the question. There’s no skipping a question and coming back to it, and no checking your work. If LSATs are done the same way, and you haven’t experienced it, you might want to find a place where you can take a real sample test. A workbook doesn’t give you a real feeling for taking the test.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Go Lola Go! Until you meet a RL TCH in person (mine was Mt Laurel for the Freedom Concert) you think you’re going crazy, but you’re not. We’re fine. Trust me. ❤

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        Denise and I also saw we are not alone. There are a lot of us across the country and it is a far more diverse group than the melting snowflakes want to admit.

        I saw no people worshiping their latest idol. Just regular people who decided to take a chance on someone with a different approach. Pragmatics who understand that there will be successes and failures and hoping for more of the former.

    • lyn says:

      You go, girl!

    • swanspirit says:

      GO LOLA!!! I know you will do great!

    • lateblum says:

      Lola, that’s awesome!

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I had to the LSATs at the urging of my profs to qualify for a new dual Public Health/Law program they were starting. I actually found them to be the most logical standardized test I ever came across. In the end not enough people qualified for both public health and law and the dual program fizzled.

      I ended up going with the public health program. Had to take courses in various graduate programs for my original public health graduate work as I was concentrating in policy and planning. I enjoyed the health laws courses and took as many credits as I was permitted. Ethics in the theology program was also interesting as were the logistics engineering courses.

      But the public administration and international studies courses – whoa. I had a similar reaction to yours and only got the required 3 credits changing the focus of the international studies to an independent study focusing on epidemiology and dropped the public administration courses like a hot potato. The profs and students were off putting. They were progs before we even had progs.

      Take the LSATs and see if you can sit in on a few classes in various departments. Law, like business, relates to just about every discipline.

      I am sure you find your niche and kudos for your efforts.

    • Constance says:

      Great decision!

    • DeniseVB says:

      You’re never too old, as we learn as we get older. Just remember in 2-3 years, you’ll still be the same age whether you pursue your new passion or not 😀 Go for it !

  14. taw46 says:

    I watched videos of these protestors in the airport arrivals area. They are holding up signs, welcome immigrants, we are all Muslims, my country is your country. What does it remind me of? Oh yeah, Germany when all the invaders began to arrive. Before the Germans were raped, beaten, silenced, and murdered. That welcome.

  15. Whenever someone says we need to take all these immigrants ask them how many immigrants they plan to sponsor and support.

  16. AFVet says:

    Why doesn’t the MSM show this ?

  17. AFVet says:

    Hey Mark,……cheeseburger ?

  18. Dora says:

    Now, this is truly stunning news!

    ====

    Stunning Win – Saudi King Salman Agrees to Support/Finance Safe Zones In Syria and Yemen…
    https://theconservativetreehouse.com/2017/01/29/stunning-win-saudi-king-salman-agrees-to-supportfinance-safe-zones-in-syria-and-yemen/

    • CiscoKid says:

      OMG!
      This is probably the best diplomatic agreement in the last 50 years, and I don’t believe I’m overstating.
      What a political coup. Dem’s have to be soiling their undie’s.
      After a bashing President has taken from the media about his so called “muslim ban”, he pushed right back. Now what are they going to say?
      Ya, I know, they’ll find something.
      Thanks Dora for the update, I might have missed it.

    • swanspirit says:

      That is less than amazing!! WTF were those other Prezzies doing with their time?

  19. swanspirit says:

    I thought I might catch the SAG awards, to see the clothes. OMy Goddess, they have gone full political . Everyone one of them. They are supporting “their people” in airports. AFAIAC they might as well be wearing feces smeared all over them💩💩💩💩💩

  20. Venus says:

    Just flipped on Miss Universe — not even one blonde in the top 13 finalists.
    What bullshit is that?
    Flipped back to HGTV.

      • Venus says:

        Nope. All light brown to black hair. 2 Asians, 2 Africans (Kenya and another country), 1 Muslim (Miss Indonesia), Miss Canada & Miss France is very dark/black hair, Miss USA is African American, the rest are Central & South American.
        No Northern Europeans/Scandanavians in top 13.

        • CiscoKid says:

          The purge will continue under the banner of diversity.
          The muslim from Indonesia is the winner, just wait for the decision.

          • Venus says:

            That’s what I figured.

          • Venus says:

            Sorry posted too quickly. That’s what I figured, but it was Miss France (Iris Mittenaere) — France is just as good as crowing a winner from a Muslim country.

          • Venus says:

            From USA Today:

            Mittenaere praised France’s open borders and refugee population during the competition’s Q&A session.

            “In France, we want to have the most globalization that we can, we want to have the biggest exchange of people that we can,” the 24-year-old told the judges.

            Miss Columbia 1st Runner up; Miss Haiti 2nd Runner up (I was mistaken that 2 of the top 13 were from Africa — it was Miss Kenya & Miss Haiti).

  21. NBD says:

    California mulls non-remittal of federal taxes in response to moves against sanctuary cities. I’d say we’re on course for a full Calexit:
    http://sanfrancisco.cbslocal.com/2017/01/27/california-could-cut-off-feds-in-response-to-trump-threats/

  22. AFVet says:

  23. 1539days says:

    Programming note: Donald Trump interview at 11pm EST on Freeform

  24. Dora says:

  25. taw46 says:

    The missing green cards from the Obama administration. But, hey media, let’s not talk about this.

  26. taw46 says:

    And, the tens of thousands of blank passports held by the Islamic State. But let’s not talk about that, either.

  27. mcnorman says:

    “Quebec City” Two suspects are Bashir al-Taweed and Hassan Matti, Syrians who entered Canada as refugees last week.

Comments are closed.