Why Is Australia Sending Us Refugees?

Refugees stage protest on Nauru

Refugees stage protest on Nauru


Trump called it a “dumb deal” which has the Left’s panties twisted. But was it?

Inside Obama’s quiet deal to help Australia with refugees

The Obama administration’s agreement to take more than 1,000 refugees off the hands of the Australian government drew little notice when it was announced last November after months of quiet negotiations and a grueling election.

At the time, Donald Trump’s unexpected presidential victory overshadowed news of the deal — and then-Secretary of State John Kerry simply said the United States had “agreed to consider referrals” from the United Nations refugee agency, UNHCR.

But as part of the unusual arrangement, the US said it would accept the roughly 1,250 refugees Australia has been holding in offshore detention centers on the impoverished nation of Nauru and Papua New Guinea’s Manus Island.

The deal sprang to the fore late Wednesday when details of President Trump’s contentious phone conversation with Australian Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull emerged.

Bill Frelick, director of Human Rights Watch’s refugee program, said the agreement was a “one-off humanitarian gesture” meant to help an ally that has serious issues with asylum seekers.

“My preference would have been that Australia do the right thing and take these people,” he said.

Many of the refugees hail from Iraq and Iran, two of the countries on Trump’s travel-ban list.

Two months before the deal was struck, Turnbull agreed at a summit in New York to accept Central American refugees who had escaped violence in El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras and were being held in US-funded facilities in Costa Rica.

Many of the deal’s details still remain unclear — much to the chagrin of some members of Congress.

[…]

While Australia accepted 13,756 refugees between 2014 and 2015, the country has cracked down on smugglers who illegally ferry asylum seekers to the nation by boat.

Refugees who arrive by sea have been banned from Australia, and are instead sent to the offshore centers.

Australia has been sharply criticized for its detention centers, which human rights groups have decried as “prison-like.” Some refugees have been held in the centers for years as they wait to be resettled.

Damning reports that were leaked to the Guardian last year revealed instances of sexual abuse, assaults and child abuse on the tiny island of Nauru.

Some foreign policy establishments defended the arrangement between the US and Australia.

“Whether or not it is a ‘good deal,’ it may allow both parties [to] humanely resettle some refugees without necessarily incentivizing a larger wave of economic migrants in their wake,” Chris Griffin, executive director of the Foreign Policy Initiative, told The Post.

Frelick said if Trump refuses to honor the deal, Australia may have to change its policy about refugees who arrive by boat.

“My hope is that Australia gives up on trying to shop people around and just takes them,” he said.


So Australia doesn’t want them, so we’re supposed to take them?


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

"I got a bad feeling about this."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to Why Is Australia Sending Us Refugees?

  1. tonytran2015 says:

    I am from Australia, and I think it is dumb. Those people wanted to get into Aust by the back door, Aust tried desperately to stop them, and now they are shown the way to another country ! Whoever receive them must be dumb !

    • They’re not even refugees, they’re just illegal aliens.

    • Constance says:

      OK then why don’t the USA and Australia chip in and charter some planes and drop them in their home countries. There! We did something to help, it’s not our problem if they aren’t grateful or if we didn’t meet their every need.

  2. taw46 says:

  3. lyn says:

    Let Australia change its laws about accepting refugees.

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Shhhh, don’t upset the snowflakes 😉

  5. elliesmom says:

    Why not send them to Saudi Arabia?

  6. Lulu says:

    They are people who wander and refuse (or are unable) to fit into their home culture. Many are crazy, criminals or extremely dumb. Their home cultures are fine with getting rid of them rather than deal with them. Sound familiar. Yeah. Countries who refuse to take back their own problem citizens and either deal with them humanely or have competent criminal justice systems must be dealt with harshly. Cut off trade, foreign aid, etc. Dumping your problems or overpopulation is no longer acceptable. Stop it or else. How about ask for help instead of misusing the money given to deal with it too.

    • Lulu says:

      She is a fraud and has been for decades.

    • SHV says:

      Very early on, I supported her Senate “exploration” committee and early campaign because the word was that she pissed off Obama. Then I started doing some research and found that she is a total fraud. The oddest thing was the law license. IIRC, she, at one time had OK and NJ(?) licenses but was practicing law out of her Harvard office without an Mass. license. The really odd thing was that she didn’t need to take the Bar exam to get a Mass license, just do the paper work, because she was full time faculty at a Mass. law school. She also had voluntarily surrendered her NJ(?) license and her records are sealed. And then there is her Cambridge home…..etc., etc.

      • AFVet says:

        I didn’t know about her law license.
        She has a lot of gall to question any candidate on their past financial dealings.
        Truth is, many if not all of them know these things about her and have to sit there and listen to the ‘holy than thou’ attitude she displays.

        Just once I would like to see some of these parasites subjected to the grilling they give others.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Once you’re a hero of the left, there’s no information or anything you can do that will shake their sick need to believe.

  7. DeniseVB says:

  8. blowme0bama says:

    Already protesting for better free shit No thanks.

  9. Dora says:

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Looks like Australia’s had detention camps since the 50’s as a result of their strict immigration policies ?

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australian_immigration_detention_facilities

    • taw46 says:

      I remember friends visiting back in the 1960s talking about their strict immigration policy. And I don’t blame them. They, too, would be swamped with invaders. Just like Europe. But then, no one gets to criticize us. We want to preserve our country, too.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I remember reading (Forbes?) an article claiming the best foreign countries to retire in. Of course I zoomed in on the English speaking nations. I remember Australia requirement included don’t even think about applying to move here unless you have at least 600k in the bank and have NO criminal record. I doubt these refugees could clear step 1.

  11. taw46 says:

  12. helenk3 says:

    https://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/9883/australia-refugees

    this article explains a lot about why Australia won’t take them and just who they are

    • AFVet says:

      I can see now why Trump put his foot down.
      He has found himself in the middle of yet another mess the Obama admin created.

    • Anthony says:

      Great article Helen. Thanks. Really lays it out. Figures backtrack would pull such a slimy stunt as he slithered out, but I’m surprised that Australia would expect it to be honored.

  13. Holy Moly! We just got hit by a monsoon! It scared the cats and they were inside.

  14. taw46 says:

  15. taw46 says:

  16. DeniseVB says:

    I’ve found the anti-Samantha Bee 😀

  17. helenk3 says:

    just a short break think of this while watching the game

    • AFVet says:

      Right wingers affiliated with Breitbart news,……….
      Reich is one sick bastard.

    • John Denney says:

      If police and security had actually done their job and arrested these enemies of LIberty, we’d have a better idea of who they are.
      But no matter who they are, the point remains that the police and security let them wreak havoc.

  18. votermom says:

    Don’t forget your freebies!

    This is the last day for this one:

  19. votermom says:

    I don’t know what this site is but they used my tweet

  20. votermom says:

  21. Dora says:

    • CiscoKid says:

      Oh my. The left is gonna explode. Acknowledging that Christian’s, in this case Catholic’s actually exist and wishing them well?

    • mothy67 says:

      I grew up Catholic it is a part of me. I don’t agree with the dogma, but I was instilled with some values. Values I am thankful to have. Catholics have gotten a lot of bad press. To this date when someone has offended my beliefs I have not beheaded anyone.

      • John Denney says:

        I was taught by nuns from 1st through 6th grade, then attended public school afterwards because the town we moved to had no Catholic school.
        I found I was about a year ahead of my 7th grade public school classmates in English, math, and science.

  22. votermom says:

  23. Somebody says:

    TGIF, TGIF!!! I’ve had a short fuse this week and the kids have done everything in their power to light it……today the bus driver got in on the act.

    The morons in this county and their bus drivers have no clue how to keep a schedule. Because of sole custody arrangement for my grandbaby’s protection one of three people must be at the bus or the driver won’t let her off. I am very thankful for that, it can be a bit annoying as her mom isn’t around and doesn’t give a shit…..but you never know the slug might show up one day. If one of the 3 adults are not there to meet the bus the driver calls it in to transportation, 3 calls nets a visit from social services. OK, fine, but keep a fucking schedule don’t show up to the bus stop 10 or 15 minutes early and then blame me. Like I have nothing better to do than stand on the street corner like a hooker every day for 20-30 minutes…….grrrrrr! Bitch was 10 minutes early today. I just pulled up as she was about to pull off and she had the nerve to be pissy with me. The other parents never made it to the bus stop, I saw one coming out the door on my way down there, the other was walking out as their child was walking up the front sidewalk. I made it, I picked her up, matters not one call has been made to transportation because I wasn’t on the corner waiting like a hooker.

    The younger two grandkids have tried my patience this week, they have trying to out whine each other……I detest whining. My kids were not whiners, didn’t abide it…….grandkids figured out it’s a button that sets me off and they are enjoying pushing it this week……OMG so fake. I think I’m going to insist on dinner out and an adult beverage or two tonight.

    One last thing, my son is trying to make his kids more responsible so every day when he comes to pick them up this week he makes them put away all their toys. I make them pick up during the day so it’s not like there is a lot to pick up……hopefully he’s making them pick up at home because that’s where it’s needed. Anyway Monday through Wednesday…..an HOUR an hour and half, he’s waiting for them to pick up……they’re playing, he’s on his cell phone……OMG go home, all of you go home. Yesterday the younger two had the devil in them and they made the biggest mess. Time got away from me and I realized my son would be coming in the door soon so I ran around like a chicken with my head cut off picking up all the toys. I was literally sweating and out of breath when my husband came in the door. Hubby was like WTH is wrong with you, so I told him I was heading the “clean up game” off at the pass. My son comes in the door about 10 minutes later and remarks how clean everything is. My oldest grandchild straight up LIED. She immediately said “Oh that’s because of me Daddy, I knew you would want us to pick up so I went ahead and cleaned up everything even though I didn’t get anything out”. Then she looked at me with a big grin and a look of daring, go ahead call me out and I’ll rat you out…..I heard you complaining……my, my what a cunning little vixen. My son bought it hook, line and sinker, he almost cried he was so proud of her……..calgon take me away!!

    Thank you the opportunity to vent, there were sooooo many things this week, I swear I might need blood pressure medication if I have many more weeks like this. Bonus I’ve been waiting all week for my teen daughter’s head to spin around and for her to spew green pea soup…..good grief, who are you and what have you done with my daughter! She’s fine today, thank goodness.

    • Somebody says:

      My brain is so fried I left entire words out, OY! Is 3:15 too early to start happy hour? It’s 5 O’clock somewhere…….somewhere in the middle of the Atlantic.

    • elliesmom says:

      When she comes back, let her know she used up the one time she had that you’ll cover for her. Make her do some chores to make up for it. My daughter used to make the kids clean up my house when she came to pick them up, and it would take forever. Now I make them clean up before she gets here. If they dawdled and weren’t ready, I made them start earlier the next time. When it got to a point where they were starting at noon for a 5 o’clock pickup, they got the message. Now they pack up their clothes after they get dressed in the morning. They clean up the toys that are mine and staying here an hour before Mom or Dad is expected. If they don’t pick up their toys that are going home with them as soon as a parent arrives, they have to go home w/o them. Since that’s usually video games and huggy sleep stuffed animals, they hop to it. They spent most weekdays with us last summer, and I had enough to do with the wet bathing suits and beach sand. It was worth the fight when it fell into place, but there were times when I wanted to wring my daughter’s neck as much as theirs.

    • lateblum says:

      I feel for you! It was a hard day here, too. I’m grateful I only had 1, and I had her only 2 days this week. 💕💕💕

  24. foxyladi14 says:

    {{ Somebody}}

  25. Dora says:

    Amazing. 🙂

  26. helenk3 says:

    this was on facebook. something to think about

    • taw46 says:

      This is why I would be pleased if we stopped all immigration from those countries. Their culture is worlds apart from ours. And they want to make our country like theirs.

  27. AFVet says:

Comments are closed.