It’s a Brave New World

brave-com-logo-900


Remember Brendan Eich? He was the founder of Mozilla who was fired for holding politically incorrect views. That’s when I stopped using Firefox as my browser.

Well, Brendan is back, with a new browser called Brave. I’ve installed it and I’m trying it out. I’m not sure if it is sufficiently bug-free yet, but when I am satisfied I will make it my default browser.

Check it out and tell me what you think.

This is an open thread.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Suck my toxic masculinity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to It’s a Brave New World

  1. On it right now. So far so good. Thanks for the tip. Love the logo.

  2. Venus says:

    Ah yes, publicly shamed for “wrong think” by the SJWs.

    My favorite poster at Big Pink posted about that today:

    Mormaer
    February 4, 2017 at 10:36 am
    The beginning of a preference cascade is when people of like mind realize after being censored, terrorized, shut up, etc that they feel the same. In communist or authoritarian regimes everyone is forced to support, or at least mouth platitudes for Dear Leader which is exactly what was done with Obama. Rather than being sent to secret prisons or a gulag, critics of Obama were attacked and shunned, denied employment, etc. It was exactly the same thing. I saw the resistance to Obama become very vocal and hostile at the border surge. Others saw it in other ways. But it started coalescing in 2014 which led to President declaring in 2015 to run. I think he saw some version of this forming also and saw his chance.

  3. Ann says:

    Downloaded, but I need to see the ads on my website, so it can’t be my primary. FF and Chrome are so funky these days, that I downloaded it as back-up. Thanks for the recommendation.

  4. votermom says:

    I like it as my second browser. Safari is my first one

  5. SHV says:

    I’ve been using it for about a month and even though it’s still beta (0.13.xx), it works quite well. Firefox, since about 6 revisions ago, has been locking up on my Macs (software conflict ?) and I have not really been happy with Safari or other options. Brave has, so far, solved the lock up problem and is quite fast.

  6. mothy67 says:

    Sleepover tonight. I bought 5 bags of assorted chips, log cabin syrup ( real stuff is mine) two pounds of bacon, a gallon of OJ, 5 bottles of mix match Dr Pepper/coke(5 for 5) a yuuuge bag of premade popcorn and a tray of danish some mixed fruit. 48 dollars for a sleepover!!!!!
    (I am so hiding at least one pound of bacon)
    I have cinemax, showtime, netflix, hbo. Dollars to donuts they want something not there. I’ll fold. Will have to buy Arrival to watch once
    Why would anyone want a kid? I jest but damn they are expensive.

  7. mothy67 says:

    Bing pays for Hulu. I get up do a pop srar search. Celeb shows up I click on other people search for dot dot dot. I make coffee. While I wait I click 30 clicks while I wait for my java = free month of hulu. I like free stuff.

  8. lyn says:

    If you need a laugh today …

  9. helenk3 says:

    I want this to go viral

    • mcnorman says:

      Arrogant, smug Nancy is a pathetic excuse for a human being. She needs Botox to keep a frozen face because otherwise she would be laughing at all of us. Rape trees are common on the border. You would think that Nancy would be sickened to hear this but she is immune to the problem. She might want to look at entitlements and pork barrel spending when she searches for funding. It is not necessary. Anyone here familiar with how the tax situation works when a Mexican citizen presents their store receipts at one of many of these Manifiesto places where the collected tax is returned to them?
      http://www.kvia.com/news/program-that-refunds-sales-tax-to-mexican-shoppers-could-change/53149160
      Know that many of our patrons are dual citizenship and they know how to work the system. Many have kept their rental properties across the border. They keep their documentation as still being citizens there. It’s fairly easy to have all of that money returned. It can surely be something that is recouoped for building that wall.

      What this idiot forgets to say is that the illegal population is being subsidized by those who are here legally working their asses off so that the Dems can reap the benefits of having them continue voting for them. She can call me anytime and I will drop her off (without security) within the city limits of El Paso so that she can experience the friendly coyotes firsthand. .

  10. AFVet says:

    What are the main differences that you guys see between FF and Brave as far as usability ?

  11. mothy67 says:

    Conservative Treehouse has a post about latest hillary email release from FBI . I have no idea what they are talking about.

    • mcnorman says:

      Katica is incredible. She is the sleuth who made the connection and figured out who Combetta was in Reddit. The guy was asking others about how to wipe a server clean as in Hillary’s server. If it had not been for her, I don’t know that we would have all the info on her crap IT people.

  12. Dora says:

    Do they realize what they are doing?

    ====

    Latinos Visit Mosques, Pray and More to Show Support for Muslims

    Several Latino organizations and community members across the country came together on Friday to stand in solidarity with Muslims around the world.

    Civil rights groups, faith groups, immigrant rights leaders, and activists from New York to Chicago to California showed unity for the Muslim community through prayer, vigils, human chains, and more.

    http://www.nbcnews.com/news/latino/latinos-visit-mosques-pray-more-show-support-muslims-n716521?cid=sm_tw_nbcnews

  13. mcnorman says:

    Klown, thanks a million…much faster speed on the browser.

  14. 49erDweet says:

    Still won’t show/open links in Android. But update hope springs eternal.

  15. taw46 says:

  16. Dora says:

    Revealed: New Hillary State Dept.-Clinton Foundation Hanky Panky

    Memo to James Comey…you still have a chance at redemption.

    http://lidblog.com/revealed-new-hillary-state-dept-clinton-foundation-hanky-panky/

  17. AFVet says:

    Well, I just tried to install Brave and no thank you.
    Continually locks up, lousy interface compared to FF.
    Wouldn’t import bookmarks
    Not user friendly IMO.

    • votermom says:

      H8ter!!! LOL. Just kidding. I’m surprised it locks up for you. Strange.

      • AFVet says:

        Every time I tried to import bookmarks it died.
        I may try it again some other time just for shits and giggles but from what I saw today, no thanks.
        FF has a drop down bookmarks menu that I like, I couldn’t find one on Brave.
        Whole interface looks kind of clunky.

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          I cannot get rid of FF as I handle the website for our small agency and another related smallish national org so I need several browsers to test sites. I do refuse to have chrome on any computer after I tried to get rid of in on a new machine and it was like facing the Spanish Inquisition to get rid of the thing.

          So far I like Brave and hoping it can replace Opera for my person browsing as Opera is showing signs of inadequate support/maintenance. However the default settings on Brave need some tweaking if you like having items like a drop down menu.

          I think they are going for maximum space on a page for showing websites but if you do not mind losing some screen real estate you can make some nice changes.

          You can access bookmarks in Brave by clicking on the small three vertical dots in the up right hand of the basic page – it will bring up a menu – but I found better options.

          I prefer a drop down menu – so if you look at the three icons on the bottom right hand side – the first little wheel is setting and you will see an option to show the menu (by default it is turned off). The menu includes a book marks drop down. I also like my URL bar to show and you can change that as well.

          I never import my bookmarks – I tend to rebuild – so I have not tried that option.

          There is also another newish browser called Vivaldi.

          • AFVet says:

            Thanks for the help.
            I didn’t see the icons on the bottom, I did see them on the top right and accessed some bookmark options.
            The URL bar is another thing I didn’t like on the initial screen.
            I’ll give it a go again sometime.
            Thanks again Mt. Laurel. 🙂

            I made a living as a technician and was always of a mind set,….if it ain’t broke, don’t fool with it.
            FF is working just fine now. This system is very fast.

  18. helenk3 says:

    since these college protesters want to bring people without proper vetting here. I think they should have to live under sharia law for one month. wonder how many would want it , if they actually lived it

  19. mothy67 says:

    I wish you could all hear what I am. Four girls on a sleepover. Giggles du jour. I am shaypups great gay uncle liv is black dionne is dominican beth is white. They are giggling.

  20. Dora says:

  21. Dora says:

  22. AFVet says:

  23. Browndog says:

    The scrolling feature on Brave is a bit touchy. I find if I try to scroll down the page using a finger drag, in a manner that is too fast, it locks up and then jumps miles past where I was trying to access.

    And using the down arrow is too damn slow.

    I’m on a notebook and am not using a mouse.

    Other than that it loads lightening fast…even Ace of Spades HQ loads in a blink – and that’s saying something.

  24. driguana says:

    For those of you who have never heard my radio program, Brave New World, now into its 35th year, please join me one day…if you like a world of ever-changing music, that is.
    Be forewarned though, we are not genre specific…http://www.fifthwallradio.com/

Comments are closed.