Violent Non-Violence At UC Berserkly

1024x1024-1


You can’t make this shit up:

UC Berkeley, a public campus once celebrated as the birthplace of the Free Speech Movement of the 1960s, now apparently celebrates the use of violence to suppress free speech and violate the civil right rights of guest speakers and fellow students.

One essay, by Berkeley student Josh Hardman, celebrates the “plurality of tactics,” including violence, that suppressed Milo’s speech. Castigating the Berkeley administration for allowing the Berkeley College Republicans their “racist, xenophobic, sexist extravaganza” in the first place, Hardman argues that the right free speech does not include “hate speech.” He adds that violence in the service of shutting down violence may not really deserve to be classified as “violence” at all: “I urge you to consider whether damaging the windows of places like banks and the Amazon student store constitutes ‘violence’,” he writes.

Juan Prieto, an “undocumented student” (i.e. illegal alien), writes that the violence of the so-called “anti-fascist” rioters made him feel safer, because he was afraid that Milo would “dox” him — i.e. release his name, identity, and other personal data. The campaign against “sanctuary campuses” that Milo was to have launched, Prieto writes, would have used “the power of the state (immigration officers) to deport some of the most outspoken of us, therefore threatening our freedom of speech.” He thanks the rioters for damaging the campus, banks, and businesses nearby: “The so-called ‘violence’ against private property that the media seems so concerned with stopped white supremacy from organizing itself against my community,” he argues.

Reporter and illustrator Desmond Meagley claims in another op-ed that the violence was necessary to prevent Milo from instigating violence against students on Berkeley’s campus. “There was no easy way to shut down the event and keep Yiannopoulos and his fans from inciting violence,” he insists. Milo’s ideas, he claims, are their own unique form of violence: “The violence that forms the foundation of Yiannopoulos’ ideology is far worse than any tactic the black bloc uses.”

Lest any readers object to the viewpoints above, Berkeley alumna Nisa Dang warns them to “check” their “privilege.” She argues that “no protest is nonviolent.” Students were “compelled” to protest violently, she says, because Milo’s words make students feel unsafe, and therefore call for pre-emptive action: “If I know that you are planning to attack me, I’ll do all I can to throw the first punch.” Adding that “police are violent agents of the state,” she claims that their very presence — limited as it was at the Milo event — “creates an atmosphere that perpetuates violence on community members.” She then mocks Milo for not facing whatever violence the rioters had in store — “To Milo: I’m sorry that you were too scared to stand your ground” — and hints that he ought to be murdered by those who survived genocides by “killing Nazis and people just like them.”

I miss Ronnie Raygun.

 

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

"I got a bad feeling about this."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

147 Responses to Violent Non-Violence At UC Berserkly

  1. swanspirit says:

    Berserkely, and other Vile Progs, have become the Red Guards.
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_Guards_(China)
    Red Guards (simplified Chinese: 红卫兵; traditional Chinese: 紅衛兵; pinyin: Hóng Wèibīng) were a fanatic student mass paramilitary social movement mobilized by Mao Zedong in 1966 and 1967, during the Cultural Revolution.[1] According to a Red Guard leader, the movement’s aims were as follows:

    Chairman Mao has defined our future as an armed revolutionary youth organization…So if Chairman Mao is our Red-Commander-in-Chief and we are his Red soldiers, who can stop us? First we will make China red from inside out and then we will help the working people of other countries make the world red…And then the whole universe.[2]

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Just when I thought twitter couldn’t get stupider about the martyring of Eliz Warren by the evil,misogynist men of the GOP, someone finds a clip of Coretta Scott King praising Sessions’ work on the Rosa Parks Library. All is good again 🙂

    • Lulu says:

      They can do all of this on their own dime. No more fed money. The public should not contribute or enable this. Just cut them off and see how much “research” they do. No student loans either.

  3. Somebody says:

    Where the hell did these students come from?? Who the hell raised them? If one of my kids spouted crap like that I’d take care of their ass. I sure wouldn’t be paying for their overpriced “education”. The only people that need to check their privilege are these little shits.

    There is no 1st amendment right to riot, burn, loot, or assault, those are crimes snowflakes.

    • dm says:

      I couldn’t agree more. I encouraged my kids for years to be more involved in the world, and this past election they did which does make me proud. The downside of course is that while politics has never been an easy subject to discuss, it is now impossible. My daughter was just here for a visit and I had to remind the husband to turn off the news when she was here…watched a lot of HGTV. My fear is this shit isn’t going to stop…they are all networked, funded, and organized and this will continue until something truly horrible on a massive scale happens. God, some days I feel so old…I just don’t understand this crap at all.

  4. AFVet says:

    Good Luck Betsy.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I don’t mind teaching other cultures in public schools, but let them put back up their Christmas trees !

      • AFVet says:

        Christianity is a no no in the public school systems.
        The Muslim Brotherhood has no right to be involved with those impressionable children.
        Even Muslim countries have called them a terrorist organization.
        Obama had them in the WH.
        They cannot defeat us militarily, they must entrench themselves within the society and defeat us from within and the children are the simplest, wide eyed and willing.
        Culture is one thing, but teach all of it including Sharia law.
        The cancer must be controlled or destroyed, otherwise it kills the host.

        The fundamental transformation of America would be complete had it not been for Trump’s election.
        I believe that we have a chance to stop the insanity.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I think most of us here, especially those of us who jumped off the liberal train in ’08, were so disgusted with politics in general, and the Duopoly, just wanted to Burn It Down, and Trump was our guy to do just that, and he is. My God, and he won! Buckle up, it’s going to be a bumpy ride 🙂

      • lateblum says:

        I’d like to know just how many other cultures are taught in public schools. Israeli? Polish? French? Belgian? Irish? Christian? Jewish? Egyptian? Columbian? Any of the aforementioned?

        • DeniseVB says:

          Is World Geography still required for h.s. graduation? I know in the 60’s it was, mostly an overview of cultures, the happy stuff. Flash forward to now, most of those countries no longer exist. Where did Persia go?

  5. Leftist freak out of the day:

    ZOMG! IMPEACHMENT! IMPEACHMENT!

    • taw46 says:

      • Lulu says:

        I un-subscribed from their emails. At pre-Christmas one of their salesladies “helping” me couldn’t speak English so I looked at the merch and ordered it from the manufacturer cheaper. So dumb. Why should I pay their rent or salaries? Or for their virtue signalling?

        • taw46 says:

          Supposedly Neiman Marcus dropped her line, and Macy’s thinking about it. I will never understand these stupid businesses getting involved with politics. Just like Hollywood. Half the voters do not agree with you, why are you risking their business? You are right, all virtue signaling.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        A lot of money is spent in this area on clothing and accessories hidden by burkas. You will see them carloads of women in limos being driven about and they are not shopping at Walmart. I would guess that same holds true in many areas where Nordstrom’s, Neimus and their like are situated.

        • taw46 says:

          Years ago I had a friend who worked for Olympic Airlines. He would fly Greece to Saudi Arabia. As soon as the plane took off headed to Greece, all the burka clad women headed for the lavatory. When they came out, they were dressed in Western clothing and wearing make-up. It seemed like such a sham to me, to live one way in Saudi Arabia, but it was ok to be Westernized once they left. Ok with the men, too. But that was the wealthy Muslims, not the others. Maybe even the wealthy aren’t allowed to do that anymore.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I remember seeing my first burka in an Arlington hotel coffee shop. She sat at the table silently, hands folded on her lap, while her “male” companion scarfed up the free muffins and coffee. She had nothing in front of her. (Like how could she smash a muffin through her mesh covered eyeballs, much less sip her coffee or tea?). It was a disturbing sight, and this doesn’t upset the feminists ? I totally get hijabs, but the burka seems like the ultimate woman suppression of womanhood 😦

          I was with my ultra-liberal friend at the time, and she had to talk me down from the ceiling with “don’t you dare approach her, it’s her choice”. Really? That’s a choice?

          • lateblum says:

            I saw my first burka at the university where I worked. I saw lots of hijab there, but only one burka. I “get” the hijab. (It’s good for bad hair days…/s)
            When I saw a couple of women in burkas at the beach this summer, I was really disturbed. (I know that makes me sound very racist. I don’t think I am.) They couldn’t go swimming. They didn’t even go onto the sand. (Try going swimming in one of those black body wraps. A person could drown.) They are not meant for modesty. They are meant to enslave the Muslim women.

          • taw46 says:

            It is not a choice, neither is the hijab. They are required in strict Muslim countries. When you see some women in Saudi Arabia wearing Western clothing and some wearing burkas, THAT will be choice. Same for hijabs, in countries such as Iran. There is no choice, try going without one.

    • votermom says:

      it would be karma if the Left manages to turn Ivanka fully conservative

    • DeniseVB says:

      Today Rush read Democrat Harry Truman’s letter threatening bodily harm to a critic who gave his daughter’s singing performance a bad review. I guess it’s okay “when they do it”.

      While the anti-Trumpers are bleating Ivanka makes a crappy product and it should be pulled !!!!, usually capitalism dictates what to sell and what not to. Her line is priced and styled for the working moms. So if there’s no demand, put them on the sale rack, if they still don’t move, don’t re-order. The high end stores have their spring collections out now, but still no excuse for removing all her items because they offend the pussy brigade. That’s just bad politics and business mix.

      Oh well, read that Nordstorm’s stocks took a hit. Let the shareholders deal with the stupid management.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Once Virginia made photo id’s mandatory, they started issuing state photo i.d.’s for free. I don’t think I want people voting who can’t figure out how to get something for free.

      • Lulu says:

        It is the same in Texas but they still filed lawsuits. In one court hearing the judge asked why this young Hispanic woman (student) couldn’t get one-free. Because her father was too busy at work she said. The judge asked her how she got to the airport to fly to DC to testify at a Congressional hearing. She said her father took her to the airport and went with her to DC. He asked how she got on a plane without ID. Oh she had student ID (that was unverified and based on nothing) she said but not state ID. It was ridiculous.

  6. taw46 says:

    Looks like the Sessions vote will be at 5:45 today.

  7. Dora says:

    • votermom says:

      damn

      I hope Jadzia checks in

    • Jadzia says:

      Thanks, guys. From what I read in local media (after, um, hearing about it here first!), it was an electrical issue and three people were “lightly” injured. Based on the line where this happened (station Place d’Italie), for once I believe those reports: that part of the Metro is basically held together with spit and baling wire. (There are some very new and snazzy lines, and there’s been tons of renovation over the past few years, but it’s a huge system and they can’t fix everything at once.)

  8. lateblum says:

    Frankly, IDGAF if VP Pence has to break tie votes on the remaining Cabinet nominations.
    I am sick of the opposition’s attempt to render President Trump unable to be POTUS. They are despicable.

    • Lulu says:

      Maybe he will get Ruth Ginsberg’s seat. The level of ape-shit insanity would be worth it. AND McConnell could shut up the Dems with “THE RULE!!!!” since he would be a sitting senator like Sessions.

    • Constance says:

      I am so damn sick of liberals blabbering . I spent the day blocking Facebook lib posts by their origin. I must have blocked 20 different organizations. I only have FB to look at pictures my friends put up of their life. I hate to block the friends but now it seems like they are off on Sarah Palin. So much hate they spew. And the boycotts. It irritates the hell out of me.

      • lateblum says:

        So glad I quit FB in 2008. It was so bad when TehOne was running against HRC that I could NOT stand it. I think I’d throw the computer against the wall if I were still on there.

  9. Dora says:

    ?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

  10. blowme0bama says:

    Sessions confirmed. Never in doubt.

  11. votermom says:

    Sessions confirmed.
    Winning is relentless!

  12. lateblum says:

  13. mothy67 says:

    I do not think I can be gayer. I love President Donald J Trump. So happy with Sessions. I am listening to Reagan music and getting drunk alone.
    Cheers. For me Sessions is highlights thing ever.

  14. Venus says:

    BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

  15. mothy67 says:

    My friends are in total melt down. I am the only gay one. They seem to think tomorrow there will be camps
    It should be a crime to laugh this hard at your best friends.

  16. DeniseVB says:

    Trump Schedule 2/9 😉 Whew.

    Obama Schedule || Thursday, February 9, 2017
    Posted on February 8, 2017, 8:03 pm by Keith Koffler • 1 Comment
    9:00 am || Speaks at the Major Cities Chiefs Associationn confernce
    9:30 am || Breakfast with airline industry officials; State Dining Room
    10:30 am || Participates in the swearing-in of Attorney General Jeff Sessions
    11:30 am || Speaks with President Ashraf Ghani of Afghanistan
    Noon || Speaks with Emir Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani of Qatar
    12:30 pm || Holds a SCOTUS listening session and lunch; Roosevelt Room
    2:15 pm || Speaks with Emir Sabah al-Ahmad al-Jabir al-Sabah of Kuwait
    2:45 pm || Speaks with Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi of Iraq

  17. blowme0bama says:

    Starbucks in Madrid is subject of “sticker protest”, being rebranded “Starburka”

    http://newobserveronline.com/starbucks-madrid-redubbed-starburka/

  18. AFVet says:

    Next up, Tom Price tomorrow.
    Manchin voted yes on Sessions.

    • lateblum says:

      I thought he voted no. I am so confused…. 😦

      • Lulu says:

        Manchin is going to have to change parties or he will lose his Senate seat. He is currently trying to split the baby like Solomon but that is not going to work much longer.

  19. mothy67 says:

    Smart TV is playing dumb music
    What fun
    Gilbert O’Sullivan — Alone Again. Please if there is a God I am going to hear theme from Greatest American Hero.

  20. Venus says:

    Class act — the Dems, if they were capable of shame, should feel some:

    • lyn says:

      #Respect

    • taw46 says:

      I have great respect for this man. And he is a better person than me, to be kind to the Dems who were so disgraceful toward him in this process.

      • Lulu says:

        That was his “bless their heart” speech. He is a gent. But don’t worry. He will fuck them. Bigly. Because President Trump will let him.

        • taw46 says:

          Good! That is what I want to see, lol.

          • Lulu says:

            They know exactly what he has been working on and advocating for 20 years. They ignored him, dissed him for decades. Then Trump. Trump has adopted almost ALL of his work. Sessions is Trump’s mentor and brain and wonk for almost all of his policy (except economics I think). Feinstein threw a fit and said she was putting a hold for a week on his vote because Sessions “had too much influence on the White House”. It just occurred to her that Session is Trump’s consigliere? That dummy did not pay attention to Trump’s kids saying that he and Sessions were best buds, talked constantly, and Trump told Sessions he could have any job in government he wanted including SC and SOS. Sessions said I want to be a wrecking ball at the DOJ. And now he is. This is the WHY of the Dem freakout. The “borking” of Sessions by Ted Kennedy and the mindless ilk of the Dems is KARMA bites ass. If they had not done that Sessions would probably be just a now retired fed judge in Alabama.

    • mothy67 says:

      I am a they. This guy has me going to DR with an erection lasting since forever.
      I think I appreciate him more than Trump.

  21. AFVet says:

    • votermom says:

      • Lulu says:

        Liz has know such racism, intolerance and hate her whole like that she had to steal an Affirmative Action slot from a Native American to realize her dream at Harvard. She KNOWS racism and hate like no one else ever. The terrible things this woman has been through. I weep. /s

  22. This shit has got to stop.

    • Lulu says:

      AND he is a better lawyer than she is! That I think is what chaps her ass.

      • mothy67 says:

        Lawyer seeems natural for him. Like the law is in his blood. She seems like she got a lit degree and didn’t know what else to do.
        Speaking of attorneys The People vs OJ is freaky real. Sarah Paulson is Marcia Clark. Funny she is dating Holland Taylor. A reporter asked Taylor about the 30 year difference in ages. She responded well if she dies she dies.

  23. Venus says:

    Today’s Wins:

    Left: Ivanka can’t sell shoes at Nieman Marcus

    Right: Sessions

    LOL

    • Jadzia says:

      Right: I just went to amazon.com through BookHorde and ordered a pair of Ivanka wedges. : ) What do I have to lose? Summer shoes tend to not last more than one season.

  24. lateblum says:

    • Lulu says:

      I hope she has her “exploratory” committee up and running. Another old, white, scold, do-nothing, money grubbing, climber like Hillary is just what the Dems need. Do it! Run granny run! Scold granny scold! Awkwardly shake that fist out of tempo with your speechifying. Screeech! Note: I’m of a similar age, ethnicity, and obnoxiousness but I fucking know it.

    • Lulu says:

      Lizzie always has that perpetually disappointed look. It’s the “if only” demeanour. It is the sad mouth and no discernable eyebrows.

    • Lulu says:

      The level and direction of their projection is disturbing. They accuse everyone else of what they are thinking. Really weird shit mostly. And violent fantasies of insecure, immature, socially inept and rather stupid people sounds kind of like ISIS ravings. How much longer until the lefties are screaming “I keel you! I keel you all!” if they aren’t already.

  25. Dora says:

    ?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

  26. Propertius says:

    “racist, xenophobic, sexist extravaganza”

    Well, that remark certainly sounds like hate speech to me.

Comments are closed.