Dinner Challenge

Saturday Open Thread: Dinner Edition

Stealth Magnolia

What three people, living or dead, would you like to have dinner with?

This is my favorite question when my local newspaper interviews a local for an “Up Close and Personal” feature, whether they be a business owner, non-profit warrior or a member of the local city council mafia lobby.  I always giggle when I see “Jesus Christ” and “Barack Obama” included on the guest list. So I searched my soul, here’s my three choices …..

Milo Yiannopolous….love him or hate him…I don’t care, he is the most interesting voice of the past two generations, and seems to love America more than the Obama/RINOs wings did.

Chip and Joanna Gaines….because I just want them to remodel my home before I invite Milo over 😉

View original post

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

180 Responses to Dinner Challenge

  1. Venus says:

    Lord Byron
    Marc Anthony
    Oscar Wilde (the original Milo).

  2. Venus says:

    These dumb asses don’t know that sheering sheep isn’t skinning them.
    Or that not sheering sheep can be harmful to them.

  3. AFVet says:

    Samuel Langhorne Clemens (Mark Twain)
    Benjamin Franklin
    Nikola Tesla

  4. mothy67 says:

    Eugene T Meleska(sp?)
    Dolly
    Mario Lemieux

  5. swanspirit says:

    Benjamin Franklin, Elizabeth I, Sarah Palin!

    • Venus says:

      I almost put Elizabeth I on my list but then realized she would be competing for the attention of Lord Byron & Marc Antony so I replaced her ass with Oscar. LOL

  6. dm says:

    Lots of fascinating possibilities, but I’ll stick with my most recent losses…mom, sis, Terry.

  7. votermom says:

    this is interesting reading

  8. mothy67 says:

    Would be interesting to go with psychos. Satan, Hitler, Andrew cuomo

  9. votermom says:

    • mothy67 says:

      I can’t grasp that. Seems impossible. I didn’t want pizzagate to be a real thing. Seemed fiction. I think the collusion is what disturbs me most. We know there are monsters out there. The idea of adults working together just does not compute. I can process a Dahmer easier than a pedo ring. He was very sick. Bill knew his wife was going to run. Why would he not distance himself from a convicted pervert ? I wonder if everyone in DC is being blackmailed. I tended bar for a long time. Most of the dims seem drunk to me. I think pelosi eats pills. I was drawn to Trump’ s sober mind. I have leaned on booze. I would be unfit to hold any office. Biden strikes me as a drunk.I just read Ashley Judd’ s latest attack on Trump. She gets twisted about Ivanka. Like me thinks the lady doth protest too much. I appreciate my kid. Most of the girls are fat. Pup has enjoyed years of dance. Her waist is tiny but she has a caboose. I do not objectify her. Ivanka is stunning. I see Trump just acknowledging the obvious. I don’t sense anything creepy. Doesn’t every father think his daughter is most beautiful thing ever. Judd is on breitbart. Her statements are wacko.

  10. Mt.Laurel says:

    Marcus Agrippa
    Carl Sagan
    Irene Dunne

  11. elliesmom says:

    Are we going to find out who the new head of the DNC is today?

  12. swanspirit says:

    From the Facebook Wisdom (oxymoron alert) or maybe just moron alert, of one Darragh Murphy Yes, I went there. I called her a moron for this one.

    76 million baby boomers, with their addictions to knee replacements and Prozac and prostate overkill, cost US taxpayers waaaaayyyy more than a relative handful of undocumented workers getting flu shots and vaccines at the local community health center. Funny how the boomers who voted for trump don’t see it that way, huh?

    Who the hell imagines anyone gets addicted to knee replacement therapy? I could take the rest of this idiotic statement apart, but for now, let’s just stay with that.
    I have taken care of countless, and I mean countless numbers of people who have had knee replacements. They weren’t addicted, they just wanted to stop the pain and be able to walk. It isn’t outpatient surgery, and requires lots of follow up and home visits, along with anticoagulant therapy, physical therapy etc etc.
    I called her a moron, and I am not sorry.

    • lyn says:

      She pulled that one out of her butt. It doesn’t make sense, because baby boomers have paid for their stuff.

    • CiscoKid says:

      Wow.
      Lucky me to stop by. I have a very bad knee, but as a heart patient and a senior, I don’t think I’d be a good surgery patient, plus I’m just plain scared.
      What you wrote above opened my eyes. I always thought a scalpel would be involved somehow. May I ask you what kind of a doctor to do the above procedure should I look for? I realize I’ll need to be evaluated, but I wouldn’t know where to start.

    • That was pretty moronic of her. I defriended a few weeks ago. I’ve only meet her once and we aren’t real friends. The real subtext of that post is “Go ahead and die, already!” Stupid, selfish, short-sighted.

  13. Propertius says:

    Eleanor of Aquitaine
    Hypatia of Alexandria
    Thomas Jefferson

  14. Venus says:

    OMG — in case you weren’t sure that the left is full of morons, here is proof:

  15. DandyTIger says:

    DNC had their second ballot vote. It’s between Perez and Ellison. In the first round Perez had 214 vote to Ellison’s 200 votes. Give or take. The second round votes are being counted now. I suspect they’ll come to their senses and select Perez. Oh well, I was really hoping they’d go for the antisemitic guy.

    • Venus says:

      No matter who wins they will be going for the antisemitic guy.
      The difference is, one is openly antisemitic; the other one gives the DNC “cover.”

    • taw46 says:

      Tom Perez is not much better than Ellison.

    • taw46 says:

    • DandyTIger says:

      From the Hill (about first round ballot):

      Perez came very close to winning DNC chair on the first ballot. There were 427 votes cast, making the threshold for victory 214.5 votes. (Some Democrats abroad and from the territories only get half votes.)

      Perez received 213.5 votes. Ellison got 200.

      The crowd is stunned. A second round of balloting is about to get underway.

      Idaho Democrat Boynton Brown dropped out and did not endorse. Air Force veteran Ronan dropped out and backed Ellison. Former DNC official Greene dropped out and backed Perez.

      The tension inside the room is off the charts.

  16. Venus says:

    Call me “transphobic” all you want – this is bullshit:

    • mothy67 says:

      Why is it LGBTQ. I do not identify with transgender persons. Adults can do whatever they want. None of my business. I have no answers. I try my best to not cause harm. All I can do. I am probably more conservative than most here. I wish brat had stable parents. I firmly believe mom and dad is best. My old boss would say customer is always right except when they are wrong. . Cutters are lovely people. Her parents seem fond of prisons and psych wards. Whatever. You do what you do. I am not shy about my opinions. I do not believe in same sex couples making children. I think I’ve done a decent job. I am a person that encountered a little girl. My being gay is a side note. Adopt. Be a foster parent. In my view you can’t argue gay is natural and then want to make a baby. Kids suck. They are expensive. A child is not an accessory. I spoke out loudly about gay cakes. I was not popular. I got suicide guides. Like with Trump my rational friends were caught up in media hype. A few weeks go by and they sing another tune. With trendy friends it’s little bo peep. I love my friends. They get caught up in stupid. Trans was a big thing. It was hip to think a boy could be a girl. Few weeks go by and they think. Most issues are common sense.

      • Venus says:

        I’ve always maintained that the Ls, the Bs and the Gs need to kick the Ts and Qs out — they’re causing more harm than help.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Or as Milo says, just go back in the closet, you’ll be happier. 😉

        • Anthony says:

          I totally agree. See my comment in response to Mothy’s question to me about same on this thread where I reference that. Every now and then, I do stand-up on open mic night at Stand Up New York, and riff on “The Communiteh” and refer to it as the LGBTQ and PWDTMENAT (or “People Who Drink Too Much Every Now And Then” )😀 Community Center. Its getting ridiculous, and seems to have been co-opted by the same people who believe and condone grade school children’s “gender fluidity” rights.

    • Miranda says:

      I thought taking any form of performance-enhancing supplement was illegal in sports. Either she goes off the supplements or she doesn’t wrestle at all.

      • Constance says:

        I think all sane people can agree that testosterone is a potentially dangerous drug. And it is performance enhancing.

    • CiscoKid says:

      Idiotic, lunacy and just plain stupid.

    • Constance says:

      I hate crap like this. How is this so hard, Women and girls have no Y chromosomes. Anyone with a Y chromosome is not a woman, they may not feel like a man but that doesn’t make them a woman. Do I feel sympathy for them? Yes, but this doesn’t mean they are my problem or that I want them in women’s bathrooms, locker rooms or competitions.

    • jeffhas says:

      Ummm…. if you identify as male and want to be a bit so much that you are on testosterone treatments, why aren’t you wrestling boys?

      Isn’t that the whole idea of transgender? I identify as male, so I want to use a male bathroom OR I identify as female so I want to use a female bathroom…?

      Man, the confused people are just trying to make the rest of is confused… and it’s working, just not the same way.

  17. blowme0bama says:

    I remember a similar one from an outdoor forum I used to frequent:

    Name two famous people you’d love to share a duck blind with. Winner was
    Barack Obama
    Dick Cheney

  18. DandyTIger says:

    Final vote: 235 Perez, 200 Ellison.

  19. OT: Last night’s Jeopardy College Tournament final featured 3 Asians (2 Chinese-Americans and 1 Indian-American). The winner was Lilly Chin from MIT.

  20. Robert Heinlein, Thomas Edison, Leonardo DaVinci.

  21. Anthony says:

    Henri Matisse, Empress Theodora (without Justinian), and Tallulah Bankhead

  22. DandyTIger says:

    Lord Byron, Epicurus, and Laozi

  23. Miranda says:

    Amelia Earhart, Jimmy Hoffa, Jack the Ripper. Just to clear some things up 🙂

  24. Venus says:

    DNC now has La Raza as its Chair & Muslim Brotherhood as its Deputy Chair.

    #TrumpSlide2020 y’all!!

  25. Lulu says:

    Alfred the Great, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, Gloria Swanson.

  26. votermom says:

  27. mothy67 says:

    Anthony
    I wonder f you have seen a change in the gay community. I left NY ten years ago. I had lawyer friends that were passionate about gay marriage. Life threw me a curve ball. I think about low-acid OJ and complete proteins for a a vegan kid.I tended bar 20 years ago at Patzo. Upper West Side. 84 th and Broadway. HIV meant death. It was a different time. People had to set aside prejudices. Laura Ingraham writes well about her brother. His partner had AIDS he stood by him. Laura changed her opinion watching her brother. I got lucky. I have three brothers. We had bunkbeds. They always knew I was gay. Never an issue. We are sort of like tv show Shameless. We say fuck off. I told my parents I was gay. My mother cried. I disappeared for two years. I walked into a bar on Avenue A. The bartender said there were cops looking for me. I said what did they look like. Bartender said like you but masculine. My brothers. They took Amtrak to NYC from Pittsburgh to find me after two years. They did find me. Steve said you are an idiot. That was it. I am spared HIV. I count my blessings and pray my existence offers some reciprocity. I have family. Some people don’t.
    My question is with AIDs being manageable and gay marriage done where are NYC activists putting energy. I have not been there in 10 years. Are they doing transgender stuff? Activists here have power.

    • Anthony says:

      Good question, Mothy, but I might not be your best source to find out what’s up with the community here in NYC. Here’s a link to their page and list of services and events
      https://gaycenter.org/home

      The gay community served me well as a teen and when I was in my early twenties. It was a community of people with whom I could identify because of a shared orientation. It felt safe at first, and it was a great way for me to meet others of like mind. They started out as The Mattachine Society ( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mattachine_Society ) and then morphed into the GAA (Gay Activist Alliance), who served men, women, bisexuals, trans people who needed assistance, and didn’t need all those other letters (LGBTQ and PWDTMENAT or “People Who Drink Too Much Every Now And Then” 😀 ) to be inclusive.

      It didn’t take long for me to feel like I was being stifled by it. So, rather than electing to remain a member of a ghettoized community where I could only feel validated in gay bars, restaurants, neighborhoods, etc, I developed confidence in myself as a person who happened to be gay and elected to live in the real world among all kinds of people, some gay, some straight. That still holds true today – I am a man who happens to be gay, and my sexual orientation is pertinent to nobody but myself and those with whom I share my bed.

  28. Venus says:

    Well lookey here — one of the slow-witted motherfuckers is *almost* catching on (“almost” because he still doesn’t understand they are FAKE scandals, not actual scandals. It’s chum Trump throws in the water which they are too stupid to resist).

  29. lyn says:

    My mom, Aunt Shirley and cousin Sheryldean for family; Dorothy Parker, Frida Kahlo and Vincent Van Gogh for non-family.

  30. Venus says:

    Hmm, let’s see — get a real job, maybe?

    • DeniseVB says:

      I have a lunch date with Carly on Tuesday. Well, me and 400 other ladies and gents at a leadership conference, she’s the main speaker. I love her.

  31. Venus says:

    Remember when the MSM had a conniption that Major Garrett was “disrespectful” to Obama for asking him a real question, not just a fluff question?
    I ‘member:

  32. mothy67 says:

    I give up. An old work mate just told me Ronald Reagan caused AIDS. No it’s a virus maybe response was lacking. She said Pence wants to kill the gays by following gods will. Lesbians do not get AIDS.

  33. DeniseVB says:

    I can’t brain either major party anymore…. Good luck Dems…..

  34. elliesmom says:

    I have a FB friend who writes art history coffee table books. She just spent 24 hours in FB jail for critiquing Michelle Obama as a possible nude model. While I concede it wasn’t very flattering, it was funny. 😉

  35. DeniseVB says:

    Do any of you remember Steve Allen’s series, Meeting of the Minds? He took historical figures and had round table discussions with them. Fascinating stuff. Here’s an episode….

  36. Plato, Shakespeare, Elizabeth Cady Stanton.

  37. DeniseVB says:

    Saw this guy in “concert” in the 70’s. So funny, knew he would be going places. 😀

  38. taw46 says:

    Oh please, don’t let this one win.

  39. CiscoKid says:

    Late again Cisco.
    Gen. Robert E. Lee, just to chat about the men he led.
    Sir Winston Churchill, drink some Port, and enjoy a cigar or two, talk about WWII
    Thomas Sowell, hear him talk about anything.

  40. SHV says:

    “NOPD: Dozen in critical condition after vehicle crashes into crowd in Mid-City”

    http://www.wdsu.com/article/nopd-dozen-in-critical-condition-after-vehicle-crashes-into-crowd-in-mid-city/8981048

    No description of the driver yet.

  41. DeniseVB says:

    Over and Out with Dice….for my second dinner, Dice, Watson and Cernovic. OMG, I’m leaning InfoWars 😉

  42. DeniseVB says:

    In other news…

  43. mcnorman says:

    OT Anyone need a kitteh fix? 24 hr feed Iceland’s best show. The show’s premise is simple: four kittens, all from a local animal rescue shelter, are made to live together in an oversized dollhouse rigged with hidden cameras. The kittens: Guðni, Ronja, Briet, and Stubbur have captivated an Icelandic—and global—audience. Though viewing figures aren’t available yet, Inga says that the show (which is available to stream online) has already attracted the highest-ever traffic to Icelandic broadcaster Nutiminn’s website.

    Live feed http://nutiminn.is/kattarshians/

  44. Constance says:

    Wow! Really good choices Denise. I can never think of who I would choose but I want to come to your dinner party!

  45. DandyTIger says:

    Might have to make room for Johnny Cash at the dinner. Here’s his last performance.

  46. Dora says:

  47. Dora says:

    Nigel looks so happy. 🙂

    ?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

  48. Dora says:

    I’m not familiar with this site, so I hope this isn’t a joke. I want it to be true.

    =====

    BREAKING: TIME WARNER CABLE DECLINES TO RENEW CNN’S CONTRACT

    Cable television giant, Time Warner, has released a statement detailing their decision to not renew CNN’s cable TV contract for 2018.

    The decision comes off of the news that CNN will be barred from the White House press room indefinitely. This, and a steady decline in viewership and credibility likely led to Time Warner’s decision.

    http://linkis.com/undergroundnewsreport.com/FhADp

  49. helenk3 says:

    has anyone heard from Angela? truck crashes into crowd in New Orleans during parade

    • Venus says:

      I’m here Helen.
      Thanks for thinking of me.

      I didn’t go to Endymion — my days of fighting traffic/parking/crowds to go to Mardi Gras parades are over! (And even when I did go, I caught the parades Uptown, not Mid-City).

      It is terrible what happened though. Reports in NOLA say 28 injured now (last night it was 12) and that it was a young man who seemed “out of it” (drunk). The fact that authorities still haven’t released his name makes me wonder, though.

  50. Dora says:

  51. Venus says:

  52. Dora says:

    Oh what a stupid man!

  53. votermom says:

    Bill Paxton died. check tmz

  54. Venus says:

    #FakeNews — when will these morons learn? Are they even capable of it

  55. Dora says:

    I’ve never seen Maria get so angry!

    • Lulu says:

      That is ALL they got. Conflating legal law abiding resident aliens with violent criminal illegal aliens. Most interviewers won’t bother to point it out much less argue it with a dodo head like this but the public I think has caught on except for the chronically slow witted. And notice it is always a Muslim special guest that is willing to be a dupe in the false narrative. And why are special guests allowed at a freaking joint session? Could someone bring a costumed space alien or whatever. It turns a relatively rare and sombre occurrence into a clown show. Maybe President Trump could have Diamond and Silk behind him miming his remarks.

      • Constance says:

        Republicans can also bring guests and they can be real working people. How about young people who don’t believe they will ever see the money they have taken from them for social security. People who are forced to pay $1000. a month for insurance they can’t afford to use. People who lost their family homes in the banking melt down that the Dems never sent anyone to prison over.

    • lateblum says:

      I get so frustrated that these people think that because of Pres. Trump’s skin color they can accuse him of undermining diversity and belittling people who make up the population of legal immigrants and natural-born citizens or every race, color, etc. I NEVER ever heard anyone criticize bronco bama of anything short of perfection. I am taking deep breaths after screaming at the screen at this person bloviating his ass off.
      Good for Maria!
      I’ll probably do the same tonight during the #OscarsSoAntiTrump. I think I’ll mute the sound and just watch as the names are called. It’s too bad. There were some real good movies that were nominated – in every category. I’m just sorry the Hollywood elites think it’s okay to denigrate the POTUS and those who voted for him and/or are giving this president a chance.

    • Anthony says:

      She can be pretty formidable, but always keeps it civil. I saw her cut someone down to size at Cipriani a few years ago. She was strong, adamant, but remained respectful. I would have bitch slapped the guy she was making her point to. Mad respect for her!

  56. Constance says:

    This is something I don’t get about Obama care. They say insurance is more expensive now because everyone has to have maternity coverage even though they don’t need it. OK, so now you have to “cover” men and old women and children for maternity coverage, but they can’t possibly use that coverage, so where are the added costs to insurers or health care providers that justify the price increase? And unless the birth rate has gone up in the last 8 years of Obama care, and I think it is going down in the USA, then they also aren’t covering more women for maternity.

    • elliesmom says:

      Insurance is more expensive for some individuals because the cost of coverage for things they don’t need are being spread around, and some of it lands on them. If maternity coverage was sold separately, the cost of insurance for people who need it would go up, but people who could comfortably pass on it would see their rates go down. While the birth rate is going down, the cost of maternity care has gone up- a lot. Pregnant mothers undergo a lot more tests than women used to and see their OB/gyn for more visits. While hospital stays are shorter, the amount of medical intervention has gone up as has the malpractice insurance for OB/gyn doctors and hospitals.

      • lateblum says:

        I agree with your explanation, em. I also want to remind people that he had the insurance companies write the plan with major input from PHRMA. There was NO input from the Doctors against this plan, and in fact, the medical profession was not only not invited, but not permitted to participate in the discussions. They were quite literally shut out of the meetings. The plan was written to give every advantage to the insurance and pharmaceutical industries.

        • 1539days says:

          The other thing that’s missing from the Obamacare story is that the “law” was the Senate version written by about 60 Democrats after discussions with their donors. Because of Scott Brown, the House and Senate never had time to integrated their bills and the House had to pass the Senate version in its entirety because they were no longer able to get 60 Senators to pass an amended version without a filibuster.

          Obamacare is a half-baked law.

      • Constance says:

        Well this argument could be used for prostate coverage or any number of issues so why is it only used on maternity? I have to pay for prostate coverage and sexual dysfunction and peeing dysfunction although I will never use the coverage so separate that out and let me buy my policy then. Men now have far more prostate health checks and tests and surgeries and things that were once considered normal aging are now treated like ED. Also all people are born and so at one time they used maternity services. And I am sure that men who constantly leak after prostate surgeries and have to wear diapers the rest of their life sue for malpractice often too. I see no reason to single out maternity services.

    • Somebody says:

      Same principle applies with forcing insurance companies to cover sex change operations. Is there now a sudden rush of people changing genders? I would imagine it is about the same, which is a fraction of a percent IIRC.

      Insurance is about covering risks, they have actuary tables for everything. I can only assume they feel the need to hedge their bets in case we have a baby boom or 20% of the population switches genders?? Maybe they have actuary tables that tell them if it is available free or inexpensively eventually more people will use those services???

      That is the only explanation I can think of for those issues. I do think their costs have gone up due to no pre-existing conditions, having to cover people with high medical costs, or should I say cover more people than their business models initially planned for. That combined with other mandates like free well baby visits and vaccines as well as mandates on yearly physicals and certain diagnostic tests.

      According to claims by insurance companies their profit margins are down, Ocare isn’t working out for most of them either so something about the ACA is driving up costs.

      • Constance says:

        It has to be bullshit fees and overbearing administration that is driving up costs. I don’t support insurance covering optional surgeries like boob jobs or sex changes.

  57. lateblum says:

    “Only the dead have seen the end of war.” — Plato

      • lateblum says:

        I just saw this on tv. I think it must be the beginning of the movie “Blackhawk Down”. It’s playing on BBCA right now.

        Gotta go. Gbabies are coming over in a cpl minutes for a few hours while their parents go see “La La Land”. It is an honest-to-goodness happy escape.

Comments are closed.