Oscars So Fail


Steve Harvey is laughing his ass off.

Oscar shocker: ‘Moonlight’ wins best picture, but only after ‘La La Land’ crew to the stage

In a moment that will go down as one of the strangest and most shocking in Oscar history, “Moonlight” was named Oscar winner for best picture only after “La La Land” was announced first.

The room was in disarray as they sorted out the error.

Here’s how it went down:

Co-presenters Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway were on stage to present the award. After listing the nominated films. Beatty opened the envelope and then paused for longer than usual. He looked around and over at Dunaway, who then announced “La La Land” had won.

Producers and cast members from “La La Land,” the candy-colored big-screen romantic musical about two artists striving to fulfill their dreams, made their way to the stage to celebrate. They had begun their thank yous when the mistake was caught.

“La La Land” producer Jordan Horowitz interrupted the celebration, calling attention to the discrepancy on the winners card in his hand.

At that point, Horowitz showed the card to the camera, which clearly indicated “Moonlight” had won. As the “Moonlight” crew made their way to the stage, Beatty stepped to the mic.

He explained that the reason it had taken him so long to read the card was because he was looking at something that said Emma Stone had won. At that point, he showed it to Dunaway, who announced “La La Land.” Beatty assured viewers that the error was unintentional and he wasn’t trying to turn the biggest award into a joke.


I’m pretty sure the Russians hacked the Oscars.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

"I got a bad feeling about this."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

165 Responses to Oscars So Fail

  1. CiscoKid says:

    President Trump will hold another “Spirit of America” rally today in Atlanta, GA @ 11:30 am

  2. mothy67 says:

    I read an article a few weeks ago about how movie attendance is at its lowest and many studios are in dire straights. They rely on these massive budget films. I can see dropping the cash for an epic movie or horror. Small films like Lion will play fine on my 55 inch screen. Certain genres lend themselves to a collective experience. What I don’t get is why they release a movie on fandango or amazon for purchase after a run but not rental. I don’t want to own Lion. It can take months for it to be available to rent at 4.99. Come June I will likely have forgotten about a small film. Seems to me the geniuses aren’t very savvy. 20 rentals beats 2 purchases. Similar to cable. A la carte will happen. Cable companies are destroying themselves fighting it. I get the promise of a 500 visa almost everyday if I switch providers. I just don’t want espn or cnn. They refuse to listen.

  3. Lulu says:

    It was like November 8 when Hillary DIDN’T win? Hehe.

  4. Dora says:

    I wasn’t watching last night, so I only saw a clip on the news this morning. My first reaction was “Oh no! Is that Warren Beatty”? For years I had a crush on that man. I loved all his movies, but especially Bugsy.

    I realize he is eighty now, but I hadn’t seen him in a while and I was shocked. Oh well. I guess it happens to us all. (Sigh)

    • Lulu says:

      The ELITE, including their fact checkers, don’t know what the hell they are doing. They don’t know what they don’t know so they know nothing. Going to Harvard (and smoking weed) doesn’t make one a polymath.

  5. Dora says:

  6. Dora says:

    The tweeters are having fun with this one this morning. 🙂

  7. DeniseVB says:

    LoL, how prophetic was this….

    • lateblum says:

      If you watched ABC after the Oscars, you’d have seen some idiot named Anthony screaming – SCREAMING and demanding to see all the envelops/cards to make certain no other AA got screwed out of an Oscar. He was SO RACIST, so angry, and so LOUD. And he didn’t drop it for the rest of the time I watched. He interrupted every interview with every winner to complain about and accuse the Academy of conspiracy and racism.
      smh. I’m not in favor of hurting people, but they shoot horses, don’t they?

  8. elliesmom says:

    Was this the first of the three bad things to come back and bite the Wiccans in the butt?

  9. votermom says:

    A “black” movie had to win but they still gave best actor and actress to whites?
    Tsk tsk raycism

  10. Dora says:

  11. votermom says:

    seen on FB: La La Land won the popular vote.

  12. votermom says:

    saw a clip of Italian guy who won something and blathered on about beeing an immigrant.

    Here’s my response:

    LEGAL immigrants in Hollywood, would you please stop trying to steal attention from illegals? Nobody cares about legal immigrants – we are chumps for standing in line and following laws. All sympathy goes to illegals who bravely break the law. Got that?

    • Lulu says:

      The globalist open border groups have worked very hard to conflate the two. To the not very political or bright they have convinced SOME legal immigrants that they are going to be deported. Some do have their status revoked if they f’ up but that is not a new rule at all and has always been that way.

  13. DeniseVB says:

  14. taw46 says:

  15. taw46 says:

  16. DeniseVB says:

    Heh. Let the memes begin !

  17. Rachel Dolezal has lost weight.

  18. Venus says:

    Do you see what idiots they are who can’t think and who can only read what is in front of them? Warren Beatty SAW that the card said “Emma Stone La La Land” and froze. He had and inkling that it didn’t look right, but the mess up in the “script” was too much for him. Instead of say, looking at the front of the envelop (which had Best Actress on it) or saying “This doesn’t look right — PWC, did you give me the correct envelop?” He, like a coward, showed it to Faye, who only glanced at the name of the movie and read it.
    What a bunch of morons.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Hollywood elites have never been known for intellectual curiosity or common sense.

      What’s funny on twitter this morning that there are people who think Hillary could have been the real winner last Nov. after all! And that they want all the envelopes checked for white winners that could have really been black winners. I see those tweets because there are plenty of normal people who enjoy mocking them 😀

  19. DeniseVB says:

  20. Venus says:

    Well well well. I picked White Helmets for short documentary (and the pick was right) solely based on the subject matter (Just like for foreign film I figured the Oscars were favoring Muslim-themes this year). Look what this person discovered about the main character:

  21. votermom says:

    Freebie!

  22. Dora says:

  23. DeniseVB says:

  24. DeniseVB says:

    I’m sure the Hollywood ladies started getting ready for their red carpet moment early yesterday morning, Miss Ivanka was at a Monster Truck Show with the kids in Baltimore before heading to the Governors Ball at the WH. ‘Murica.

  25. DeniseVB says:

    The Oscar fails just keep piling on. Guess Kimmel screwed up his goading Donald to tweet him back, not knowing that he was hosting an event at the White House. Awkward.

    http://www.bizpacreview.com/2017/02/27/kimmels-plan-bait-trump-oscars-fails-many-levels-one-awesome-tweet-leaves-mark-453192

    • lateblum says:

      Not awkward. Stupid. and/or uninformed. Kinda like those Hollywood elites accuse everyone who disagrees with them of being.

  26. votermom says:

    I would have liked these films to win:
    13 Hours
    Deepwater Horizon
    Kubo and the Two Strings

    Also Mel Gibson deserved Best Director imo

  27. votermom says:

    Lateblum, how would you rank the Oscar best picture nominees? (You saw them all right?)

    I trust your taste more than the Academy’s.

    • lateblum says:

      I’m not certain my rankings would mean much. because they are based on those I’d see again and for different reasons.
      The movies I’d see again are
      Fences – the writing and acting were brilliant, and the movie reflected on a hard time that, though painful for AA in our nation, still offered some hope for the future. (I thought).
      La La Land – It was fun and entertaining and I love musicals This one, despite the actors’ limited musical talents. The cinematography and sets, and “flow” were altogether what I enjoy when I want to be entertained.
      Hell or High Water – I liked everything about it – writing, actors, performances, the flow of the movie (I guess that would be directing and editing) cinematography, etc.
      The rest of the movies are not anything I’d see again – with the possible exception of Lion and maybe Hidden Figures. The acting in those two were fine, and I think I may have missed a thing or two in each of them. “Lion” was a heart tugger. And I’m not all that fond of Dev Patel. The second was like a made-for-tv special that was interesting and again, offered a reflection of a time that affected women in general. – not just women of color. I liked the chemistry of the actors in this movie.
      Arrival was interesting and challenging to “figure out”. And I’m not really a sci-fi fan. I didn’t dislike it, but it isn’t my genre of choice.
      I wouldn’t see these movies again:
      Hacksaw Ridge even though I liked the movie. I found it to be engaging and very well done, but I don’t like war movies in general and this movie did not hold back on the bloodshed.
      Manchester by the Sea was one of the most emotionally draining movies. The emotional tension was so strong, I could barely breathe throughout it. It was a really, really good movie. The story, direction, performances, everything about was great. But I left there feeling so sad that it was almost like being at work for me and I retired for several reasons. Emotional toll being one of those reasons. Perhaps if I hadn’t done the work that I did for the last nearly 30 years, I might not have been as affected by it.
      Moonlight was similar in feeling to “Manchester”. – at least for me. But, I didn’t think the writing or the directing were as good. The performances were great, though. The movie didn’t “flow” for me; it felt choppy and there were gaps that were unnecessary AFAIC. I think Mahershala Ali gave a wonderful performance as did Naomi Harris. They both “deserved” Oscars. So did other actors who didn’t win them. (I know, Naomi Harris didn’t win but neither did any other female supporting actress. Viola Davis was guaranteed the win. She should have been nominated for female leading actor.)

      I’ve said before that I’m basically an uncomplicated person and my likes and dislikes will show you just how simple I am. But you asked… :facepalm:

      • taw46 says:

        I only saw 3 of the movies, and I think “Hell or High Water” would be deserving of an Oscar. “Hidden Figures” was a feel good movie that I enjoyed, but would not award with an Oscar. I liked “Lion”, but it was two movies in one. I would award an Oscar to the first half with the little boy.

        You make me want to see the remaining movies, thanks. In the past I would see all of the movies nominated, I also love movies. But Hollywood has really turned me off the last 8-10 years. I am just not as willing as I once was to pay money to see them.

        • lateblum says:

          I agree with your reviews of those 3 movies. I did love Hell or High Water. I’m glad we agree on those. It makes me feel more normal. 😉
          The others will be at Redbox soon enough (I actually rented Hell or … at Redbox to see it again just a couple of days ago.) and for rent to streaam on Amazon. But I’ve found that unless there is a special – like the 99cents “A Man Called Ove” at Amazon that lyn mentioned yesterday, the streaming at Amazon is almost as costly as seeing the movie at the theater.
          I’m amending this reply….
          In the area of Foreign movies, I really liked “A Man Called Ove”. It was a quiet movie about a man whose wife had died and was challenged with shaping his life without her.
          The Salesman was very sober story about a couple who are actors in a community theater group who are forced to deal with a sexual attack on the woman. It takes place in Tehran.
          “Elle” (not nominated), but the female lead, Isabel Huppert, was nominated for female lead. It is a brutal and perhaps unrealistic portrayal of a woman’s reaction to a sexual attack and her attempt to find out who her attacker was. It opens with a black screen and the sounds of the attack. I had a mini case of PTSD throughout the movie. I wish I’d known about the content of the movie. I would not have gone to see it. (There was nothing on Fandango and I didn’t think to look on IMDB.)
          I was unable to find the other foreign movies playing nearby. I originally chose “Salesman” but changed it just before the program began because I’d read a new review of “Toni Erdmann”, (which I shouldn’t have done), and wont do that again.

          In the future, if you’re interested in movies, go see the nominated short films if you can. They are the most fun to watch. And the most different. I didn’t realize they are shown in theaters until only a few years ago.

      • votermom says:

        I love your ranking criteria! Would you like me to turn it into a guest post for Book Horde?

      • swanspirit says:

        I haven’t seen any of them, so I am very grateful and appreciative of the reviews. I rarely go out to see movies, but I rent them to watch at home. I hate wasting my money on a lousy movie.
        For instance, I wouldn’t even sit through Florence Henderson for free. Meryl must have missed the irony of playing an irrelevant, out of tune, self important woman.

        • lateblum says:

          swannie,
          Don’t hate me, but I thoroughly enjoyed “Florence Foster Jenkins”. Hugh Grant and Simon Helberg from TBBT were delightful. In fact, they were marvelous. The story, based on a real person, costumes, music and supporting cast were great and the movie provided many touching moments as well as moments that were joyous. It’s a movie that I can see myself watching again just to unwind and de-stress. The fact that Meryl Streep played her with gusto made it even better. She was not afraid to look foolish. I don’t care for her politics, (but I don’t care for the politics of some of my dearest friends, either.)
          So, if you can see it for free, and you just want to smile, take a chance on this movie.

          • lyn says:

            It’s also a 99-cent rental at amazon.

          • elliesmom says:

            I generally like Meryl Streep when she plays fictional characters, but she always overplays real life ones. When she played Julia Child, it was more like she was doing Dan Ackroyd doing Julia. She was horrible as Maggie Thatcher, and the person who cast her in the Carrie Fisher role in “Postcards from the Edge” should have been shot. I haven’t seen “Florence Foster Jenkins”, but it’s hard to believe Streep’s portrayal of her wouldn’t be a bit too far over the top even for Florence.

          • lateblum says:

            I agree that she sometimes tends towards caricature and this may be no different. A reviewer I read said she never cared about Florence throughout the movie. I did, in the end. But more than Meryl/Florence, the work of Hugh and Simon are worthwhile. And at the time, they were both touted for possible Oscar nominations. Simon, especially, was a surprise. I recall saying something like that (here) when I first saw the movie. I think I’ll rent it again to see if I still feel the same way. As lyn reminded…It’s only 99 cents on Amazon right now.

          • lateblum says:

            I just found a French movie on Netflix called “Marguerite”. My sister said it’s about a woman who sings serious music, but can’t carry a tune. Like Florence only better. I started to watch it on my computer, and it seems it maybe based on a story similar to (if not directly on) the story of Florence. I’m going to watch it tonight. The beginning of the movie is promising.

  28. taw46 says:

    I only saw a little of the Oscars live (saw the Moonlight screw-up). But I did see this. Last night Twitter was saying it was actors playing “real people”. But I guess not, since no follow- up today. Anyway, seemed condescending to me. ‘Come on in and see how great we are’. I probably wouldn’t feel that way if they had given the seats and let them stay, instead of just parading them past the front row.

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-4262832/Hollywood-tour-bus-group-meet-greet-Oscars.html#newcomment

  29. DandyTIger says:

    Oscars: when you screw up your virtue signaling.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I think it was Dinesh D’Souza who said post-Oscar kerfluffle, if you can’t even run a television show, what qualifies you to tell the President how to run our country?

  30. Dora says:

    She avoided falling to the floor completely or that would have been the main headline today instead of the wrong envelope story.

    ========

    Bet she wishes she wore Chanel, now! Meryl Streep tumbles as she suffers a wardrobe malfunction in her Elie Saab gown on the Oscars red carpet following THAT row with Karl Lagerfeld

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-4263652/Meryl-Streep-tumbles-Elie-Saab-gown-Oscars.html

  31. votermom says:

  32. votermom says:

    Just saw a comment that Moonlight is the story of Obama.
    🤣

  33. DeniseVB says:

    This is never going to get old.

  34. CiscoKid says:

    The Dem’s are going to do everything they can to disrupt Trumps speech tomorrow by packing the gallery with illegal’s and muslims.
    http://www.weaselzippers.us/326945-democrat-taking-muslim-girl-as-his-guest-to-trumps-first-address-to-congress-in-response-to-travel-ban/
    But, meanwhile, the religion of peace continues its barbarity.
    http://www.weaselzippers.us/326932-isis-cannibals-terror-group-are-teaching-their-fighters-to-eat-non-muslims/

  35. NBD says:

    Oh, look! The Harvard Law Review just appointed a black woman as president — and she’s a child of Nigerian immigrants.
    http://www.nbcnews.com/news/nbcblk/meet-imeime-umana-harvard-law-review-s-first-black-female-n718366
    The virtue signaling will never cease.

  36. Dora says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Most entertaining book I’ve ever read about the old Rat Pack was Johnny Carson by Henry Bushkin. They all loved Reagan too. Johnny had to stay in the closet during his Tonight Show years, but was the main organizer for the first Reagan Inaugural Ball. That photo could have been from that?

      • Dora says:

        I don’t know that much about Johnny Carson. I don’t remember seeing his name associated with anybody special, other than all of his Joannes. What were there four of them? Yikes!

        The book sounds good. If I see it around, I’ll give it a try.

        • DeniseVB says:

          The biggest shock of the book, Johnny died alone. The author was his closest confident for many years, until Carson stabbed him in the back, Bushkin didn’t write the book til after his death.

  37. Dora says:

    So cute! And dressed nicer than most of the people at the awards ceremony last night. 🙂

  38. Dora says:

    Exclusive ­ President Trump: Oscars ‘Were Focused so Hard on Politics’ They Could Not Get the Basics of the Ceremony Right

    WASHINGTON, D.C. ­ President Donald Trump, in an exclusive interview with Breitbart News in the Oval Office, said that the Academy Awards failure on Sunday evening was due in large part to Hollywood’s obsessive focus on politics ­attacking him, generally speaking.

    http://www.breitbart.com/big-government/2017/02/27/exclusive-president-trump-oscar-fail-focused-hard-politics-not-get-basics-right/

Comments are closed.