Tuesday Open Thread




There is an episode of Modern Family where Jay orders new security cameras for outside his home, but on the day the crew shows up to install them there is a new black family moving in across the street. Now Jay doesn’t want the cameras installed because he is afraid the new neighbors will think he’s a racist.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

"I got a bad feeling about this."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to Tuesday Open Thread

  1. swanspirit says:

    I am really glad I never watched Modern Family.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I used to enjoy Modern Family until Julie Bowen became an in your face Planned Parenthood “feminist” supporter and fundraises for them. I just lost interest, I guess. Wonder why?

  2. Jadzia says:

    Since we’re in open thread, I am looking for book recommendations, especially memoirs. I like reading about people from various subcultures. Best 2 books I read recently were Girl at the End of the World and I Fired God.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I enjoy the “subculture” of wealthy, beautiful women with “issues”. I really enjoyed Candice Bergen’s memoirs 😉 I had no idea that being witty, brainy, drop-dead gorgeous AND growing up wealthy could be such a burden, eh?

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I found Leah Remini’s interesting. Much from the more recent years has been out in public but she also covers from her mother first got the family into Scientology and the underbelly of the beast where the little peons exist within that culture.

      It’s not a subculture but covers another era – Julie Andrews Home: A Memoir of My Early Years goes from childhood through Camelot (stage).

    • elliesmom says:

      My book club loved “The Aviator’s Wife”, which is a fictionalized memoir of Anne Morrow Lindbergh. Not the story we expected, but mostly accurate. I loved “Boston Girl” by Anita Diamant. It’s written in the words of a grandmother sharing her life with her granddaughter.

    • Miranda says:

      There are several books that have a lot of interesting information about the lives of Colonial-era women:
      Betsy Ross and the Making of America by Marla Miller
      “A Midwife’s Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard” and Good Wives: Image and Reality in the Lives of Women in Northern New England by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich.

      These sound dry but they aren’t, although the Miller book may tell you more about mattress-making than you actually wanted to know 🙂

      One of my favorite non-fiction books is The Weaker Vessel: Women’s lot in 17th Century England by Antonia Fraser. It’s not a woman-as-victim book. It covers the lives of many different classes of women and is well-written. I like all of her biographies.

    • Jadzia says:

      Thanks, everyone. I am sick as a dog (pro tip: don’t let the kid who is spewing from every orifice sleep in your bed just because you FEEL SORRY FOR HER) and am planning to burrow in with a book. : )

  3. Constance says:

    I hate that kind of Liberal Democrat crap in the above post. Democrat freaks out and imagines the worst thing they can think of then projects their crazy-assed fears on you or you group and then blames you for it.
    My Ex did this crap. He got some psycho reward rush for playing victim so he imagined all sorts of crap, projected it on me and had this well developed imaginary nemesis in his life who he called by my name. You should be able to sue people for using your identity in their psycho dramas with out your permission. Why did I stick around? Because I was waiting for our kids to age out of mandatory visitation. Now he bitches about me “keeping the children from him” I just say they are adults, they don’t live with me, if you want to see them talk to them. How is it that nasty, crazy people and their behaviors can seem normal?

  4. DeniseVB says:

    LoL, it’s going to be a long 8 years for the Press wussies.

    • lyn says:

      Hope so.

    • CiscoKid says:

      That is soooo funny.
      They HAVE to go to work? Quit.
      Poor babies.

    • kanaughty says:

      lol! and I actually see people complaining that he is going to florida every weekend. guess what, press just confirmed that he goes to florida, yes, but that he is working that whole time he is there. I don’t care if my taxes go to a president who is working instead of a president who travels just to spend our money. also, he probably goes to florida so that his new staff can continue to check for taps and surveillance in the white house itself.

    • lateblum says:

      Although I think it is clever, I also disagree with their strategy. Why doesn’t the bookstore simply move the books to a central location and dedicate that area to books by women authors?

    • lateblum says:

  5. Dora says:

  6. kanaughty says:

    hey, why do the paul ryan repubs want to keep the Cadillac tax in the new bill? that stinks to high heaven. the repubs should want the free market to work this out and get government out of health care for good. If I were rand paul I wouldn’t pass it either if the Cadillac tax is still in the bill. that helps to kill employee healthcare which is the best healthcare system we have in America because the pool is so big.

    • Somebody says:

      You answered your own question kanaughty. It will help kill off employee insurance. I’m sure the COC approves.

      • kanaughty says:

        yeah, that’s what I am afraid of, this is a uniparty thing because dems also wanted to kill off employer insurance. I hate this COC right now. because employer insurance is the best insurance we can get in America. it was also instituted as a perk so that companies didn’t have to pay actual wages higher to each employee. an employee would see these extra perks and say, heck yes, I will take a pay cut if I get awesome health insurance too. so if the uniparty takes away employer insurance, companies will go more in debt because they will have to pay employees more money to stay so that employees can afford the more expensive individual insurance market. this idea in the end kills small and large business if they take away a great perk they can give their employees instead of more pay.

    • Venus says:

      It’s the opening bid. Trump himself tweeted “let the negotiations begin.” The final bill won’t look like this one when Trump signs it — and it will be all of Ryan’s COC bullshit like the Cadillac tax that is jettisoned.
      Book it.

    • lateblum says:

      Please help me be less uninformed. COC?
      Thanks.

  7. kanaughty says:

    also, I went on a rant today about how a minority of sjw females have hi-jacked our positive day that is supposed to celebrate women in international women’s day. I hate how they have hi-jacked it for political purposes making it more about victimhood and resentment about being a woman, and not at all about celebrating the accomplishments of women. they just had to do their stupid day without women on international women’s day, the only day a year we get as women to celebrate being a women and sjw’s have divided us into whining protesters vs. women who are loud and proud of being women and being celebratory of being a woman. these day without women sjw’s disgust me for hi-jacking our day so they can show off their whining and crying victimhood that they perceive as being women. really in America we are equals, we just have to work hard and we can be equal. the government and our religions or our ideology are not holding us back. this day without women crap could have been done on any day this year, why did it have to be on our only women’s day. it’s like Caitlyn jenner winning woman of the year. this is some bogus sjw bs.

  8. NewOrleans says:

    This tweet gave me a chuckle.

  9. NewOrleans says:

    Just hanging out with grandpa.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    • Lulu says:

      Dragging your kids around with you while you break laws is usually considered very abusive. Social services take children away from abusive, law breaking parents all the time. Making children break laws, by dragging them across an international border before they are old enough to consent, taking them away from family like grandparents, etc and away from their culture is not a good thing.

    • lyn says:

      The DOJ sends letters to people who receive calls from people whose phones are wiretapped. A friend of mine received one recently. She couldn’t remember who called, but it was probably a scammer.

    • votermom says:

      they really got the expressions and gestures down

    • lateblum says:

      This was the second time I’ve seen it and BOTH times, I said, “I wish I’d seen the whole thing”. They were really good.
      FWIW: I wish my brothers had seen it, too.

    • Venus says:

      Ha ha! The idiot lefties who came up with this idea (although I admit, the actors do a great job imitating the 2 — wish I could see it all) thought they would prove how sexist people who voted for Trump were, but instead proved how sexist THEY were for accepting that bullshit act from Hillary just because she was a woman.

      What if Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton Had Swapped Genders?
      A restaging of the presidential debates with an actress playing Trump and an actor playing Clinton yielded surprising results. [snip]

      Millions had tuned in to watch a man face off against a woman for the first set of co-ed presidential debates in American history. But how would their perceptions change, she wondered, if the genders of the candidates were switched? She pictured an actress playing Trump, replicating his words, gestures, body language, and tone verbatim, while an actor took on Clinton’s role in the same way. What would the experiment reveal about male and female communication styles, and the differing standards by which we unconsciously judge them? [snip]

      Salvatore cast fellow educational theatre faculty Rachel Whorton to play “Brenda King,” a female version of Trump, and Daryl Embry to play “Jonathan Gordon,” a male version of Hillary Clinton, and coached them as they learned the candidates’ words and gestures. [snip]

      Salvatore says he and Guadalupe began the project assuming that the gender inversion would confirm what they’d each suspected watching the real-life debates: that Trump’s aggression—his tendency to interrupt and attack—would never be tolerated in a woman, and that Clinton’s competence and preparedness would seem even more convincing coming from a man.

      But the lessons about gender that emerged in rehearsal turned out to be much less tidy. What was Jonathan Gordon smiling about all the time? And didn’t he seem a little stiff, tethered to rehearsed statements at the podium, while Brenda King, plainspoken and confident, freely roamed the stage? Which one would audiences find more likeable?

      The two sold-out performances of Her Opponent took place on the night of Saturday, January 28, just a week after President Trump’s inauguration and the ensuing Women’s March on Washington. [snip] “Most of the people there had watched the debates assuming that Ms. Clinton couldn’t lose. This time they watched trying to figure out how Mr. Trump could have won.”

      Inside the evening’s program were two surveys for each audience member to fill out—one for before the show, with questions about their impressions of the real-life Trump–Clinton debates, and another for afterward, asking about their reactions to the King–Gordon restaging. Each performance was also followed by a discussion, with Salvatore bringing a microphone around to those eager to comment on what they had seen.

      “I’ve never had an audience be so articulate about something so immediately after the performance,” Salvatore says of the cathartic discussions. “For me, watching people watch it was so informative. People across the board were surprised that their expectations about what they were going to experience were upended.”

      Many were shocked to find that they couldn’t seem to find in Jonathan Gordon what they had admired in Hillary Clinton—or that Brenda King’s clever tactics seemed to shine in moments where they’d remembered Donald Trump flailing or lashing out. For those Clinton voters trying to make sense of the loss, it was by turns bewildering and instructive, raising as many questions about gender performance and effects of sexism as it answered. [snip]

      The other thing is that the sections she chose featured both solo speaking and cross-talk. We felt like that was an important element because Trump’s aggression—the way he uses the microphone—is present in the cross-talk and not as much in the other sections.

      We both thought that the inversion would confirm our liberal assumption—that no one would have accepted Trump’s behavior from a woman, and that the male Clinton would seem like the much stronger candidate. But we kept checking in with each other and realized that this disruption—a major change in perception—was happening. I had an unsettled feeling the whole way through.

      Based on the conversations after the performances, it sounded like audience members had their beliefs rattled in a similar way. What were some themes that emerged from their responses?

      We heard a lot of “now I understand how this happened”—meaning how Trump won the election. People got upset. There was a guy two rows in front of me who was literally holding his head in his hands, and the person with him was rubbing his back. The simplicity of Trump’s message became easier for people to hear when it was coming from a woman—that was a theme. One person said, “I’m just so struck by how precise Trump’s technique is.” Another—a musical theater composer, actually—said that Trump created “hummable lyrics,” while Clinton talked a lot, and everything she was was true and factual, but there was no “hook” to it. Another theme was about not liking either candidate—you know, “I wouldn’t vote for either one.” Someone said that Jonathan Gordon [the male Hillary Clinton] was “really punchable” because of all the smiling. And a lot of people were just very surprised by the way it upended their expectations about what they thought they would feel or experience. There was someone who described Brenda King [the female Donald Trump] as his Jewish aunt who would take care of him, even though he might not like his aunt. Someone else described her as the middle school principal who you don’t like, but you know is doing good things for you.

      So I think it was mostly the smiling piece—so many women have told me that they’re taught to smile through things that are uncomfortable. It’s been really powerful to hear women talk about that, and a learning experience for me. I was surprised by how critical I was seeing [Clinton] on a man’s body, and also by the fact that I didn’t find Trump’s behavior on a woman to be off-putting. I remember turning to Maria at one point in the rehearsals and saying, “I kind of want to have a beer with her!” The majority of my extended family voted for Trump. In some ways, I developed empathy for people who voted for him by doing this project, which is not what I was expecting. I expected it to make me more angry at them, but it gave me an understanding of what they might have heard or experienced when he spoke.

      Link: https://www.nyu.edu/about/news-publications/news/2017/march/trump-clinton-debates-gender-reversal.html

  11. Milo was right.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Is this not the he/she/it person who is exceptionally vulgar and threatening toward people on twitter but then cries poor poor me if the targets of her assaults respond so that the SJW Twitter League bans the people she is violating with her crudeness rather than sending her own horrid little butt into the void never to be permitted to return?

    • DandyTIger says:

      Liberals new favorite (racist) meme:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Shaun King even said slaves were immigrants. I wish I saved that tweet link to a retweet to a link to his NYDN column. Sometimes there’s just not enough hours to my days. 😉

    • mcnorman says:

      Ms. Leslie done lost her mind.

      • lateblum says:

        OMG, McN, I had been focused on something else when I saw ^this^ comment of yours and I thought you were talking about me!!!! Hahahahahaha
        I had to scroll back up to see what I had said. (Of course, it could have been just my normal run of the mill brain that you referred to.) That’s when I realized it was Ms. Jones you meant.

  12. DeniseVB says:

    While it’s still Tinfoil Tuesday, OMG, OMG …..since the CIA leaks today, all kinds of conspiracy theories are resurfacing…Breitbart, Scalia, Hastings, Rich,etc AND JFK,Jr’s plane crash. So I found this article from the NYDN 1999…… “pilot error” my ass.

    http://www.nydailynews.com/archives/news/jfk-jr-mulled-run-senate-2000-article-1.847866

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      There have always been rumors over the plane crash with Sen John Heinz (R) and that convenient transfer of his widow and money to the Circle D and horse face.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Everything bad and sad that’s happened in politics in my lifetime seems to have happened on purpose. 😦 LOL, now InfoWars is more trusted than CNN !

      • lateblum says:

        So funny that you should mention Circle D. I had forgotten about Circle D until just yesterday when I saw that sticker on a car in my neighborhood. I personally always thought “target practice” or the Circle D ranch when I saw it in the past.
        Now, it looks even dumber.
        😉

  13. Mt.Laurel says:

    On a more pleasant note, the daily pic on the Bing search page is particularly beautiful today:
    http://www.bing.com/?scope=web&mkt=en-US&FORM=PRLNCM&pc=EUPP_MALCJS

    Give it a second for the motion to start.

    • lateblum says:

      The picture is beautiful. It’s almost magical.
      How do you like using Bing?

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        I use duck duck go as my primary and some specialty searches for work but if I do not get the results I want I go with Bing. And I usually check it for the pictures -and at the holidays they often do fun things. An interactive graveyard for Halloween, Decking the Screen for Christmas. Microsoft is still a pinch better than Google spies. I still miss scroggle.

        I am trying Brave and Vivaldi browsers – II tend to have two or three going during the day but there is now a new way that they can track you even if you switch browsers for different tasks.

        http://thehackernews.com/2017/02/cross-browser-tracking.html

        • lateblum says:

          I understood about 50% of that article. Was it really written in English? I think if I were to read it slowly, and without the NCAA basketball games in the background, I could push that to 65-70%.
          I also use DuckDuckGo for much of my searching; I’ve never used Bing. Are there techie reasons to go with or stay away from Bing? Or privacy concerns? Do you use different browsers at the same time? I used to do that with Firefox and MS. I thought I was being adventurous. LoL
          That’s as “sophisticated” as it gets for me. 😉
          It sounds like you are more than a little masterful in the computer universe. Thank you for sharing your experience and knowledge. 😊

  14. DeniseVB says:

    When you hang with the infowars peeps, you break a personal likey record in an hour on twitter./snork

  15. Venus says:

    Deep State in Deep Shit:

    • kanaughty says:

      this is great! from someone who watches the bachelor/bachelorette and I don’t know why, I know it’s unrealistic, except that it’s fun to watch the drama and in the case of this year’s bachelor, I would love to see him rejected 😉 plus it’s fun to make fun of millennials and all their crying. this bachelor is the most crying bachelor ever, though I think it is fake. he is a bad actor fame whore.

  16. mothy67 says:

    Jadzia
    Alvin and the Chipmunks seems so long ago. Dork now is all about Joey Grustaffa and other youtube stars. All the girls love Joey. They seem to enjoy sarcasm. Teacher banned Pepe so they all run around screaming Pepe. My nemesis is an 11 year old boy from Indonesia. He told me he was going to get an uber and take pup to see Split. I said that will never happen. He said racist. I say Taylon tie your shoes. He yells racist. 5th graders seem much tougher than college snowflakes. The boys think its funny to kiss each other. Its all for shock

  17. Dora says:

    In case you missed it.

  18. Dora says:

    Just a thought – in 2000 New Yorkers were pretty sure that JFK Jr. was going to run for the senate. But then he died in a plane crash and along came the Hildabeast.

    One has to wonder.

  19. Dora says:

    Oh what a tangled web…

    ==

    Are There any Uncorrupted Democrats? Now the Wiretapping Scandal Ensnares Harry Reid

    The source of the wiretapping against Donald Trump is becoming increasingly more bizarre. Moreover, the Democrats’ continued accusations that Trump is tied to the Russians in a compromising way now threatens to ensnare virtually every major power player in their party.

    What started out as just one more Clinton lie – that Donald Trump was a Russian tool – to save her failing candidacy has now morphed into a full-scale scandal.

    http://patriotcrier.com/uncorrupted-democrats-now-wiretapping-scandal-ensnares-harry-reid/

Comments are closed.