Daylight Savings Time Open Thread


About 25 years ago I dropped by my friend Joe’s house one Sunday morning. I could immediately tell that things were tense. Joe’s girlfriend was making a lot of racket towards the back of the house. Debbie was a little curvier than I like but she had that psycho-bitch thing down pretty good. She was the shoe department manager at the K-Mart where they both worked.

Joe shrugged apologetically and said, “We overslept and she’s twenty minutes late for work.

What time was she supposed to be there?” I asked.

Ten o’clock” he said.

I looked at my watch and said, “Dude, today is Daylight Savings Time. She’s an hour and twenty minutes late.

Joe turned even paler than usual and without saying anything he got up and walked to the back of the house. It got quiet for a second, then I heard a shriek and it got really loud.

When Joe came back I said, “I better go” and he said, “Yeah.


About Myiq2xu™

“Let’s be honest, the people who are currently outraged are the same people who have always been outraged.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

86 Responses to Daylight Savings Time Open Thread

  1. taw46 says:

    Riot in The Netherlands? Looks like Turkey. Ah, Europe, you will never learn. Too late now.

  2. 1539days says:

    It’s Daylight Saving Time. If it were savings, there’s be a sale.

  3. DeniseVB says:

    It’s been confirmed, Chaz Bono is the dumbest “celebrity”…or whatever s/he is/does…..in Hollyweird.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Here’s the mother tweet ….

    • DandyTIger says:

      What exactly is a “helper”? I’m trying to understand these 1%-ers and their ways.

      • elliesmom says:

        She’s the maid, but “maid” is not PC.

      • blowme0bama says:

        I’m *guessing*, the “helper” is the person who actually has to scrub Chastity’s shit from his toilet. The “housekeeper” is a contract service which rounds up the illegals to actually do the work. “Chaz” gets the cheap labor through the “housekeeper” at the expense of the public which doesn’t get the taxes withheld by the “housekeeper”.

        • blowme0bama says:

          The “helper” and his/her family likely are all getting welfare benefits as well.

        • Jadzia says:

          It probably does just mean a helper. I am not going to regale you with the long and ridiculous story of how I came to be “roommates” with my psychotic boss in an extremely rich neighborhood (her husband’s not really dead I don’t think; he’s probably in hiding), a widowed woman in a house the size of an airplane hangar and no kids. (She was an EXPERT on how to raise mine, and also on how her former stepson’s actual mother was doing it all wrong, though.)

          Anyway, big house, no kids, no fucking need for anything other than a cleaning lady once a week I would think (and that’s being generous) but no, this entitled nutcase had a FULL TIME HOUSEKEEPER whose primary job, as far as I could tell, was to hang out with the (untrained, huge, and terrifying) dogs. This lady, an “undocumented immigrant” who by the way treated me like shit, had, I kid you not, family members “assisting” her. Which seemed to mean hanging out when the homeowner was out of town (complete with fiesta music) and occasionally lifting heavy things or going outside to watch the dogs tear up the property of the next door neighbor.

        • Lulu says:

          There are sub-categories of slave labor. It is a complex society of bullying, criminal activity, dumbassery, and terror. Race and geopolitical origin plays a major part.

    • blowme0bama says:

      • DeniseVB says:

        When I was working I treated myself to a weekly cleaning lady to do the grunge work of bathrooms and kitchen, lemon pledge and a vaccuming throughout. Though I think I spent more time decluttering the night before, it was exhausting! How lucky was I that one of the part time vet assistants was looking for 4 more hours a week, voila, here ya go! I happily paid her $35, which came to a little more than the 5.50/hr we were paying her at the clinic. Coming home on Fridays to the smell of lemon pledge and sparkly floors, priceless. (She was working her way through college, that made me feel good too).

    • votermom says:

      this reply made me LOL

  4. DeniseVB says:

    No wonder the media is cranky, Trump has them working weekends 🙂 No, he didn’t spend the day playing golf yesterday…..

    http://www.whitehousedossier.com/2017/03/11/trump-meets-top-aides-discuss-economy-national-security/

  5. taw46 says:

    • Jadzia says:

      Why is this guy getting fired even a story? Being “asked to resign” is a COURTESY that peasants who are about to be fired don’t get. Pro tip: IT’S NOT ACTUALLY A REQUEST.

      • Lulu says:

        I think Sessions was on to his schtick and said no thanks dude. Preet likes to fine corporations instead of sending them to jail and Holder’s DOJ passed out the billions to cronies. Sessions didn’t need that particular specialty in a US district attorney.

        • Constance says:

          Well that explains the outrage in the corporate media, The Powers That Be are losing a corrupt connection to their customary “get out of jail free” cards. And the Progressive party is losing a source of corrupt funding.

    • taw46 says:

      In reply to this. They don’t even understand, better yet don’t care, about our Constitution.

      • Jeffhas says:

        … and that’s what this brouhaha was all about: bring up his name recognition so he can run for office as a ‘law and order’ candidate in NY. Just watch, he’ll be running for mayor or governor soon enough.

        So transparent.

      • Lulu says:

        “Sharia” Sarsour must have gotten some of the extorted DOJ money Bharara extorted. That money legally collected as fines should have gone straight to the US Treasury instead of slush funds.

  6. Miranda says:

    Snow falling in NC today, after a couple of weeks in the 70’s. I had company yesterday and spent most of week getting the house ready while having work stress. Stress seems to be over and company is done, so I plan to spend a good portion of today on the couch reading/knitting/sewing.

    • Constance says:

      That is my ideal day! I kind of like getting snowed in so I can sit, knit and read.

      • Miranda says:

        Now, it’s sunny again, and there’s pollen. This is why I have a constant headache from pressure shifts.

  7. elliesmom says:

    We had a couple of days last week when I walked Ellie w/o a coat or jacket. She chased some ducks into the pond. Now the temps are in the single digits, and we’re expecting a Nor’easter on Tuesday. While the weather folks on TV are acting like we’re all doomed, this is perfectly normal New England weather. Just when we’ve all had it with winter, we get a little breath of spring. A few spring bulbs poke out, and we all get renewed a bit. Then Mother Nature tells us to hold her beer while she dumps some more winter on us.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Ahhh! Good old Mother nature. 😀

    • Lulu says:

      The media is like a turkey. They forget everything that happened before they woke up today. This happens every year. Every. Year. It is called weather. Not the global warming gods are mad at us. But the weather as in the sun, the tides, the oceans, etc that create weather and we don’t fully understand it. We don’t have to sacrifice an economy or some oil wells to please the global warming god. Sun spots don’t give a shit and most of us are past the Druid stage of human development.

      • blowme0bama says:

        Yup – climate scare-mongers have been around forever. Aztecs sacrificed people. Current historic climate deniers want everyone other than them to sacrifice their standard of living so they can tax us to whatever “normal” temperature is supposed to be.

    • lateblum says:

      All this and Sally Kohn loses her sh*t crying “The sky is falling.” or some such nonsense.
      She even gets “shamed” by the weather people.

      • Lulu says:

        This is the young child mentality. The world began when they were born and nothing important happened EVER before they got here.

        • lateblum says:

          I have been saying that for years now. There is nothing before them and likely nothing will follow them. Because they will have destroyed EVERYTHING worthwhile.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I lived in Lake Placid NY from Feb-August in 1996. Will always remember the Mother’s Day blizzard that year…in May, a month after the April mud season warmup in shorts and tees. Crazy, but beautiful, but the locals were still in there shorts and tees while I was dressed as Nanook of the North. 🙂

        • lateblum says:

          In March of 1965 or 66, I was sunbathing in the backyard in southern Illinois. The next morning I was on the train back to Chicago where there was a full on blizzard. By the time I returned to Southern, it was freezing back there as well.
          It’s March ffs.

          • CiscoKid says:

            The Great Blizzard of ’67
            Mom’s office closed, school also.
            Fun day off till my brother and I were drafted in the neighborhood shovel brigade.
            I think we got rid of more snow in the form of snowballs than by shoveling.
            Blizzard with thunderstorms
            Formed 26 January 1967
            Duration 29 hours
            Dissipated 27 January 1967
            Lowest pressure 997 mb (29.44 inHg)
            Lowest temperature 15 to 20 °F (−9.44 to −6.67 °C) January 26-27, 1967
            Tornadoes confirmed Funnel clouds sighted
            Highest winds
            53 miles per hour (85.3 km/h)
            Maximum snowfall or ice accretion 23 inches (58 cm)
            Damage $150 million (1967 dollars); all transportation stopped
            Casualties 26 deaths in Chicago, 60 in region
            Areas affected Northeastern Illinois and Northwestern Indiana

          • lateblum says:

            Wow! Where did you get all this?

  8. AFVet says:

    • elliesmom says:

      When I was a college student, I worked for a sweater company over the summer. After I was hired, I discovered the jobs the guys got assigned to paid more than the ones the gals were given. I went to personnel and made my case for why I should get one of the “guy jobs” and their paycheck. I got promoted to a job off the floor and into the office where I made more money than they did. That was in 1969. I have never been paid less than the men I worked with at the same job ever since. There is a very real discrepancy between the value we place on different jobs. I personally agree “dangerous and dirty” should get paid more than “sit on your butt and answer the phone”. Women traditionally haven’t gravitated toward jobs with bigger paychecks, and they also haven’t done much about negotiating for higher pay for the jobs they do want. I took a substantial cut in pay when I became a teacher, but I also didn’t start out at the bottom of the pay scale. If you’re waiting for someone else to negotiate for you, you may never get what you’re worth.

      • DeniseVB says:

        You triggered me ! Probably my favorite student talk was with Milo, Steven and Christina Hoff Sommers (Milo’s Based Mom) at UMass last April. Here’s the video…..

        Sommers, a liberal, said there is no pay gap as long as you study STEM and ignore Women’s Studies 🙂 You can scoot the video to her parts, this is the event that gave birth to Trigglypuff, who was even ruder to Christina.

        Also, reminds me of the movie Working Girl. A great girl power lesson. And my daughter, who was paid less than boy bike mechanics because she’s a girl, well FU, opened her own shop 😀 (She has since sold it and took a corporate job with the city contractor for the NYC Bike Share program, better hours and benefits aka a normal life for her and young daughter)

        • lateblum says:

          I remember this^^. Wasn’t she (Sommers) great?
          Working Girl was one of my favorite movies. And for all the “right” reasons. Hmmm, maybe I’ll watch that again tonight. 😉
          Oh, and good job re: your daughter!

      • Constance says:

        Somehow many American women don’t “get” how to negotiate for salary. They don’t learn how and they don’t seem to think it is their responsibility to negotiate for their own pay. This is sort of a related story. I am renting part of my house through Airbnb and I’m also working part time still so I had to hire someone to clean between guests. I offered $30. and couldn’t even get local cleaners to come out and look at the space, obviously my price was too low. Then I called a woman who is a citizen but grew up in Brazil and knows how to bargain. She came out, looked around, asked what I would pay, I said $35. she said “No way! I can’t start until 11am and I need to be out by 3pm that screws up my schedule for the the whole day I want $75.” I said “OMG! that is more than I charge for the room!” She kept up the bargaining and we finally ended at $50. and she informed me I should list a $50. surcharge for cleaning on my listing so we both get what we are due for our services. Now there is a woman who “gets” advocating for her pay. I think it is a cultural flaw that native born women can’t manage it.

        • lateblum says:

          What a great example of negotiating and problem solving as well. So, did you do what she suggested? and did that work out for you?

          • Constance says:

            Yes I did! And putting a $50. cleaning fee also solved for the problem of one day stays which are a lot of work for not much money. Now I have a lot more multiple day stays where before I would have at least 8, one day stays per month.

          • lateblum says:

            Awesome. Where is your airbnb?

        • elliesmom says:

          I saw the panel at UMass, and all I could think of was what a rude awakening the kids were going to have when they started looking for work.

          When I returned to professional work after a hiatus to do the mom thing, I had fallen behind my peers in the 5 years I was at home. I negotiated coming in at a lower salary than what I wanted in exchange for company paid for “refresher training” and a full review at 6 months instead of a year. I had no trouble getting the money I expected to be paid at the review, and I was up to date in all of the latest and greatest on company time and on their dime. A couple of months later I was scooped up by the VP of Planning, largely based on my ability to negotiate deals. It took me about two years to be even with my peers again. A woman doesn’t have to be all that aggressive to get what she wants. Just to do her homework and find the right opportunity to politely ask. It helps to know when it’s better to just walk away.

  9. lateblum says:

    I couldn’t resist this from MOTUS:

  10. lyn says:

    Sickos.

    • votermom says:

      so disappointing

      I was told there would be Muslim bans
      Death camps
      Catapults to deport illegal Mexicans

      Turns out Trump is just another empty promise politician

      😂

      • CiscoKid says:

        Remember that “adult” telling a young Trump supporter that if Trump is elected he was going to all blacks back to Africa. Both were black

  11. DeniseVB says:

    Sidebar: Today’s dh’s colonoscopy prep day. Pray for me 😉 Bacon Boy is not in a good mood, so nobody shout Release The Kracken! /snork

  12. Venus says:

  13. votermom says:

    Inspired by his recently deceased relative, a young German student Eugen Merher made this touching tribute. It’s a story about an aging runner, constrained to living inside a retirement home, longing to put on his running shoes and break free from it all for one last run.

    Eugen sent his video to Adidas hoping they would at least acknowledge his work, but they remained silent. Disappointed, he uploaded it to Internet and within days it touched millions of people in a way no ad ever will. It gives hope, it makes you cry and I hope Adidas is regretting ignoring him.http://talkofnet.com/2017/01/27/adidas-rejects-students-commercial-made-now-going-viral-probably-regret/

Comments are closed.