S.H.I.T. Open Thread


Daylight Savings Time has me all out of whack. It’s still officially winter and I’m already behind on my spring cleaning.

I want to go back to bed but there is a cat laying right in the middle of it.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Denn die Todten reiten Schnell.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

162 Responses to S.H.I.T. Open Thread

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Speaking of sh*t……Mark Dice Pows Bow Wow !

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Here comes more Climate Change? Global Warming? It’s still winter?

    • elliesmom says:

      Of course. We haven’t been to a party since the Christmas season. That’s not unusual in New England. People are afraid to make plans to have a party in the winter because it might get snowed out. So when spring hits, the social calendar warms up, too. We’re invited to a St. Patrick’s Day party Friday night, and a 60th birthday party on Saturday. The birthday party was postponed a week when the weather report came out last night. We’ll see what happens to the corned beef.

  3. Somebody says:

    Well the good news is, now you have MONTHS to do your spring cleaning!!

    I’m trying to decide if I want to do spring cleaning next week or goof off. My vacation starts in approximately 9 hours!!!! I’m off until the 27th! Well sort of, I promised my son I would join him at the zoo tomorrow. I’ll still get to sleep in, then just show up walk around for a couple of hours and be grandma instead of mom, super easy day tomorrow. Since I’ll be in the city, when I leave I may go shopping or something.

    I have a list of things I want to get done, deep cleaning, painting, gardening, plus finishing a play area I’m building for the kids…….but I do want to enjoy my time off too……decisions, decisions.

    • mothy67 says:

      Is play area grandma code for padded cage?

      • Somebody says:

        No, tempting, but no. I have an area in my backyard where three big oak trees form a triangle. I’ve done several things with that area through the years, but most recently it was a “natural” area. I’ve cleared it all underneath the trees, put down landscape cloth and pea gravel. I put concrete pavers in the center and made an outdoor tic tac toe table with 4 little mushroom stools, it’s ADORABLE! I painted rocks like bees and lady bugs for the tic tac toe. I also have an area toward the back where I put rubber tiles which suck, btw. I’m going to replace those with concrete. I have an old bird bath that I’m going to attach a table top to and I’m going to paint the top with a checker board. I already have chairs for the checker table.

        I have two regular swings and one disc swing along with special ropes for hanging swings from tree branches. I’ve had the damn things for almost a year, I somehow have to talk hubby into hanging the swings. I sunk poles this past summer to hold a two sided chalkboard. I have the backer board (the kind used for tile) in my garage along with the trim pieces. I need to prime and paint the board and trim……then get hubby to hang the chalkboard. I haven’t decided what color to paint the trim either…..tic tac toe table is green to match mushrooms, checker table will be red and black. I just don’t “feel” it with any of those colors as the trim for the chalkboard. Plus I don’t want to do anything too bold and bright, lest I offend the HOA overlords. I want it to all sort of go together, so I’m kind of stumped on color for the trim. What goes with forest green, red and black? Not to mention the brown tones of the gravel, pavers and tree trunks.

        In addition to that I’m going to make drums out of drain pipes, plus I’ve already purchased a set of plastic outdoor drums. I have an appropriate for outdoor marimba I scored off of etsy which I need to hang. I also ordered pipes for a pipe xylophone, it came with holes drilled but I need to string it with buffers between. I’m going to use cut pieces of drinking straws for buffers……ghettoriffic!! My neighbor does woodworking and he said if I got the boards he’d make a giant wooden xylophone for me……then I have to get hubby to hang it, he has a lot of stuff to hang. Some of it I can hang, but even with a ladder I’m not tall enough to hang all of it. I also have my eye on some cow bells and I really, really want double mini steel drums……I keep hoping to find a deal on some. Last but not least, I have a cedar garden bridge to put together. I thought the bridge would be cute to lead to the tic tac toe table. Also, my oldest grandbaby wants me to add hopscotch, which I can do cheaply by painting the rubber tiles I’m pulling up……but where to place the hopscotch I haven’t figured out.

        I’ll be spending my summer sitting in a rocking chair at the checker table!

        • lateblum says:

          Sounds delightful…💕

        • mothy67 says:

          Wow! I am impressed. Lucky kids. I read nothing of a wet bar?

        • taw46 says:

          It does sound delightful, but I am exhausted reading about all you have done and plan to do!

        • DeniseVB says:

          Lucky grandkids to have such a caring and creative grandmother ❤

        • foxyladi14 says:

          WOW!!! Somebody. That sounds Awesome!!! 😀

        • blowme0bama says:

          Sounds exhausting.

        • swanspirit says:

          That sounds fantastic!! You are so lucky to have space for all that!!!

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          You had me at the mushroom stools. Very lucky grandkids.
          My father always did things like this inside and outside. To if I am visiting my home town and run into one of my childhood friends they still recall how much fun they had in our house and yard. Because they had that experience they tried to do some of those things for their own children (well now grandbabies).

          • Somebody says:

            Mt. Laurel the stools are so cute and I snagged them at 70% off this past October. They come in red or green, I was only able to find green ones at that bargain price. I drove to every Walmart in the greater Jacksonville area and never found any red ones.

            I copied a design I found online for the tic tac toe table. When I’m on my computer I will post a picture……so doggone cute, but I have to teach the kids to play tic tac toe and checkers now. Last year I also purchased a giant outdoor kerplunk and connect four on clearance. I learned my lesson in one day that they’re not old enough for those games. They’re cool, but too much work for me. So they’re put away, maybe in a few years, preferably in THEIR yard!

        • lateblum says:

          My earlier comment was rather limited in scope… I was with gbaby#1 to take her to school this a.m. using my phone. Gbaby and phone are both limits on my commenting ability. 😉 Now that I’m finally home… many hours later, I see everyone else has added everything I was thinking but had no ability to type out. So I’ll just. Say……
          “What everyone said!!!”

  4. Dora says:

    I knew about the vandalism, but this is the first time I’ve seen this reaction. I don’t usually read the WP. Disgusting!

  5. DeniseVB says:

    Dear God. Shut him up!

    • kanaughty says:

      is this dude even in office? why does he think he has such a big platform? he is just another Obama, thinking he has so much power or influence over how people think, but really he is nothing. doesn’t even have a podcast. so why is this guy so influential? I don’t get it. he is a resentful jerk. how is he the mouthpiece of the neocons when he absolutely has no power at all, no office, no podcast. I don’t get it. Idk.

  6. taw46 says:

  7. Dora says:

    Hey Hey. Ho Ho. These loonie liberals have to go.

    • CiscoKid says:

      And that’s how President Trump will remain President Trump in 2020.
      🚂🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸

  8. NBD says:

    I’m liking the Trump budget: slash funds to the EPA and State Dept, put $ to the military and law enforcement. Wipe out Public Broadcasting and $ for the arts: winning! I’d love to see more movement toward dismantling the Dept. of Education. Still it’s a start. Now if we could only get Congress to reform Social Security and Medicare while repealing the absurd ADA!

    • mothy67 says:

      Social Security seems to be a thorn in your side so I am politely asking what do you propose? How is privatization any different than obamacare? I am not well informed on the subject, but where I grew up when entire industries collapsed people had to hit 401 to survive. They were/are too old to rebuild. They paid in entire lives. As far as disability goes what if someone mid 30’s has renal failure? If we can give ponies to illegals and spend billions upon billions for refugees shouldn’t we provide for those that truly cannot. Schizophrenia often hits in young adulthood. What to do then? Blindness?

      • NBD says:

        SS is a colossal wealth transfer program that takes money from younger employed people and hands it to old people. Almost everyone who cashes in on SS ends up getting back far more than they paid in. But, as the economists say, unsustainable trends tend not to be sustained — which means that the program will soon go belly up and leave people like me out of luck. I propose privatization: people get to invest their money as they wish. As for SS disability: it’s the biggest source of fraud in the entire budget, as plenty of healthy people in depressed areas (like most of WV) claim disability in order to get a government handout. I don’t want billions lavished on refugees and illegals, and I don’t want $ handed out to deadbeat fraudsters who claim disability. What to do with the truly disabled? Private charity. End of story.

        • Somebody says:

          You can’t count on private charity, sounds good but doesn’t work. We can’t mandate what a charity does with their money.

          You clearly have no desire for safety nets of any kind. I hope you never fall on hard times, you may think you’re immune but you’re not.

          As for privatizing SS, what happens to people that don’t save? There will be plenty of them. There are plenty of families now that live hand to mouth and you expect them to save a dime?? Won’t happen, then in 50 years or less you have destitute people in the streets, sick, starving and homeless.

          SS disability is abused, reforms are beyond needed. This probably isn’t popular, but the survivors benefits need to be looked at too. Lots of young widows at the SS office. A friend of mine died rather suspiciously while he and his ex-wife were trying to “reconcile” following a divorce. He just up and died, nobody knows why. Ex-wife ended up getting $1,600 a month for herself and $1,600 a month for their child. Her money she got until the child was 16, the child got the money until 18 or if still in HS graduation from HS or 19 whichever came first. House, two cars all paid for, plus life insurance money. She quit her job to “grieve” and help their son deal with his grief. I had to go to the SS office not too long ago and I was amazed that aside from one senior couple and myself, everyone else waiting was 30 or younger…….what’s up with that??

          • mothy67 says:

            I don’t understand how(outside politics) Cubans were automatically eligible. Destabilizing the island? Okay well than that money should have come from somewhere else not from those who had worked and paid.

          • NBD says:

            People who don’t plan for the future shouldn’t be surprised if it bites them in the ass. I’ve been saving and investing since I was in college because I (and a lot of people my age) know that there is no reason to expect a “safety net” for us: the baby boomers will have looted the whole thing on their way out. What you describe from the SS office is, alas, pretty typical: able-bodied people with no desire to work are cashing in on a system that grants huge incentives for fraud with no serious enforcement. If private charity isn’t enough, it doesn’t follow that it’s the government’s job to dole out money to people who can’t take care of themselves.

        • mothy67 says:

          Okay but lets take those over 55 who have paid in their entire lives. Whether or not it was a scam from the get go they were forced to pay into the fund vicissitudes of life may leave them dependent on those monies. They were promised it and their money was taken. Should it be privatised from where will the funds come? Can the government force you to engage in the market for retirement? How is that different than obamacare? Wall Street salivates over the idea. Scammers? I tried to help out a guy I was teaching to read get it. He had been a drug dealer and was no longer useful in the hood. He would have if approved get less than 700/mo. as he had never paid. The people of WV? I don’t know. If the economic community of which I was apart suddenly collapsed as some coal towns have what does one do? obama took away livelihoods. I have no answers, but I hear tales that SS was “robbed” and that obama took money from medicare to supplement ACA. So young people that have barely worked can get a subsidy from the retired people for insurance paid to a private company? Again it is too complex for my tiny brain.

        • Constance says:

          I’m about to start collecting my SS and I can see that it is unfair to young people to ignore the fact that there won’t be anything left by the time they are old enough to collect. The problem is if you privatize most people won’t have anything because they will get suckered by Wall Street and their savings will have so many fees charged there will be nothing left. Also keep in mind it is in society’s interest to get old people out of the job market so young people can have their jobs and establish lives for themselves and the old people aren’t going anywhere if they don’t get some money to live on. Even with Social Security the behavior of my age group is shocking. The average SS payout at 66 is something like $1,400. a month but something like 70% take a reduced payment as soon as they can (62) so they get even less. And many people have nothing else. It will be way worse for the younger generations as there are hardly any pension plans anymore.

          • Jadzia says:

            Exactly. 401ks have been a cash cow for the institutions that run them, taking their percentage year in and year out based on your balance, not whether they made you any money. The house always wins, right? It’s a goddamned racket and just like compound interest, decades of fees compound to huge amounts of honest people’s retirement savings being skimmed off the top. And that’s only the LEGAL way to rob them.

        • dm says:

          I can appreciate your thoughts on this subject. Most people who have never had to live with a true disability have zero appreciation for just what it takes to get through a day, physically, mentally, and emotionally. My genetics doomed me and my siblings, as well as a couple of my cousins. One cousin died at 40 from an extremely rare genetically linked cancer. She left 2 young children who fortunately had a grandmother take them in. One cousin is living with dystonia…don’t know what that is? Look it up, fun times for sure as your body starts to freeze up and become immobile. My sister died 2 years ago from a form of muscular dystrophy. She suffered for over 20 years and managed to pass the average life expectancy. My brother is a near invalid from a heart condition. I am almost totally blind. I realize there is tremendous fraud in nearly every aspect of government services. I can appreciate your frustration…try to stop for a moment and appreciate mine. BTW, if it makes you feel any better, my sister was rejected for SSDI benefits – which is standard operating procedure. I urged her to reapply, she wouldn’t. She tried for a few years to get a job, no one would hire her – I’m sure due to her physical limitations. She worked from home for several years, assembling small parts. My family would really rather have been someone like you with your attitude. Unfortunately, mother nature had other ideas. I worked from 18 through 59, until I simply could not any longer. I’m not going to apologize to you or anyone else…as the song says, walk a mile in my shoes.

          • mothy67 says:

            “But for the grace of God, there go I”
            Thanks for sharing and in a resolute manner.

          • Anthony says:

            Amen, dm. I have a similar story. I’m also unapologetic to those with no or limited reference of real problems who are either so disdainful or judgmental of people who have a right to expect to receive what they’ve paid into all of their lives.

            I went from $500K a year to zero when I got sick in the 90s. Paid off $2.5M on hospital bills, and ran out of assets. To hear someone refer so callously to those of us who really need to receive what we paid for as “people who don’t plan for their futures” galls the fuck out of me.

            Walk a mile in my shoes indeed. Bet they couldn’t get past the first 20 feet without whining.

        • blowme0bama says:

          Bro-ham, I’ve been getting this shit stolen out of my check for 40 years now, and another 8 years to go. I’d GLADLY take what I’ve paid in in a lump sum, but its your turn to pay in now. Deal with it.

    • lateblum says:

      This morning newsradio (CBS) suggested people call their Congress critters asking to NOT refund NPR and PBS.
      I didn’t think they were supposed to lobby.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      We are so far in debt, It will take a lot of cutting.
      And a lot of Jobs to fix the mess we are in. 😡

  9. votermom says:

    • taw46 says:

      Must be the Soros payoff for all he did.

      “Former President Barack Obama arrived in French Polynesia where he will spend a month at a luxury resort frequented by Hollywood stars.

      He landed on the tourist island of Tahiti without his family before going to Marlon Brando’s privately owned retreat Tetiaroa atoll, which the Oscar-winning actor bought in the 1960s.”

      • taw46 says:

        Hmmm.

        “No political meetings have been announced during Obama’s stay, and it is not clear what he plans to do during the sojourn.”

        • CiscoKid says:

          And the meeting between Lynch and Clinton was non political and just a coincidence.🤔

      • lateblum says:

        I need more than a month to recover from everything he did for Soros in the last 8 years.
        Is Soros or one of his henchmen/surrogates going to show up for a visit? Maybe more plotting against DJT?

      • DeniseVB says:

        A MONTH !!?? I know it’s not fair to compare, but Carter was already building homes for the poor and GWB took up painting and biking with wounded warriors by this time. Even Bubba was already working on his money laundering foundation by getting Hillary elected to the Senate. Still, a MONTH away from family and ValJar? There’s some red flags right there.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Lots of tinfoil hats spinning this morning over the timing of Obama’s visit to Hawaii and the judge’s travel ban halt. Barry’s been a busy little gnat, this his third tropical vacation in 2 months. MO was in Hawaii too, I guess she missed Sasha and went home? Snort.

    • Dora says:

      Would I be bad to say that I hope he drowns?

      Alright, I won’t say it.

    • mcnorman says:

      Doesn’t that area sit under an active fault?

  10. votermom says:

    bring back the spoils system

  11. CiscoKid says:

    So 9th Circuit again stops temporary travel ban.
    Bad news for America, but good news and well appreciated by….
    http://www.weaselzippers.us/329643-iranian-official-boasts-of-guerilla-movement-within-the-u-s/

    • mothy67 says:

      I fear things are going to get very ugly. The willful blindness of the PC culture is astonishing. oblahblah set up the ACA to throw its hardest punch after he was out of office. Who is to say he did not do the same with regards to terrorism. These people drive trucks into crowds with children. What moron does not think there are threats. All these people think they are so superior but are ahistorical. Progs are being played. The hubris that they are the ones they have being waiting for is and has gotten a lot of people killed. It is absolutely insane they think they can make islam compatible with democracy.
      They actually sold the story that a youtube video caused Benghazi and that these poor blokes behead children because they don’t have good jobs and people blamed San Bernardino on people being rude at a Christmas party?
      When something happens here they will blame Trump’s rhetoric. I am sure the script has already been written.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      Every other POTUS did this with no problem. 🙄

    • AFVet says:

      There are hearings today on splitting up the 9th circuit.
      C-span has it.

      • blowme0bama says:

        Good idea. Split into at least 3 circuits.

      • kanaughty says:

        awesome! now can we talk about splitting California into two states? 😉 north of san fran and eastern cali is one state and the rest is another. they can call the rest of California, mexifornia or calimexi or hollywoodland.

  12. votermom says:

    This is a good friend of Sarah Hoyt

  13. Dora says:

  14. Dora says:

    Trump Train is rolling, rolling, rolling along.

    ===

    Texans Receive First Notices of Land Condemnation for Trump’s Border Wall

    https://www.texasobserver.org/texas-border-wall-mexico-condemnation-letter/

    • DeniseVB says:

      If I had property on the border, I’d happily donate it to the US Govt to build my FENCE 😀

      Good grief, a lot of Mexican companies are submitting Wall bids too.

  15. CiscoKid says:

    And even more winning.
    “The Business Roundtable’s CEO Economic Outlook Index — a measure of expectations for revenue, capital spending and employment — jumped 19.1 points to 93.3, according to the group’s survey released Tuesday. The increase, the biggest since the final three months of 2009, left the gauge above its long-run average of 79.8 for the first time in seven quarters. Readings above 50 indicate economic expansion.

    Bloomberg continued that the CEO’s “the outlook for sales, the labor market and investment brightened considerably.”

    The Business Roundtable which conducted the survey represents companies with more than $6 trillion in annual revenue and about 15 million employees. and the most important policy change from the Trump administration to grow the economy was tax reform –

    The survey, with responses from 141 member CEOs, was conducted from Feb. 8 to March 1. In response to a special question, 52 percent of the participants said tax reform would be the single best policy change to create the most pro-growth environment for businesses.”

    Winning. Winning. Winning.
    $6 trillion in annual revenue and 15 million employees.
    These are the big boys of business and President Trump has opened the doors for American businesses.

  16. Dora says:

  17. taw46 says:

  18. CiscoKid says:

    Here come ‘da Judge, here comes ‘da Judge.
    Whew! Hold by the nose and kick ’em in the ass.

  19. lyn says:

    The Democrats now see Russia from their homes. It’s funny how that worked out, eh?

  20. votermom says:

    check out McD story on drudge

    corp McDonald’s account shit twertted Trump

  21. The New York State Board of Regents, which supervises public education, has decided it will no longer be necessary for would-be teachers to pass an Academic Literacy Skills Test. The reason? The test was producing racially disparate results: Only 41 percent of black candidates and 46 percent of Hispanic candidates had passed the exam on their first attempt, compared to 64 percent of white candidates.

  22. mothy67 says:

    WTF

  23. Dora says:

    This is why he was so happy when Preete was fired.

  24. Dora says:

    This is why he was happy about Preete.

    • DandyTIger says:

      Definitely not for this. I hope it doesn’t happen.

      • CiscoKid says:

        Pro’s, con’s ?
        I’m really not sure of what’s involved.

        • DandyTIger says:

          A couple of issues with it. One, there isn’t a problem budget-wise or performance-wise. The reason to do it seems to be some private companies who are friends with some elected officials want money and power. The bigger reason is that there has been a long, slower than we’d like, but good program of modernizing most aspects of the aviation industry. Privatizing now in the midst of some of the most critical changes could set things back by decades.

        • DandyTIger says:

          Another issue is that the new corporation(s) running private ATC would almost certainly have close relationships with the airline industry corporations. And for profit reasons on both sides, would likely lead towards favorable treatment of commercial aviation over us little general aviation folks. There’s already, as is probably reasonable, favorably of commerce of the commercial aviation corporations, but this shift could push that balance past what would be reasonably fair. Of course I may be a bit biased since I’m in general aviation. 🙂

          • CiscoKid says:

            I do understand about general aviation.
            Two of my good friends have licenses, multi engine, both retired Air Force guys.
            And I’ve heard their complaints.
            And both were livid when Rahmn Emanuel destroyed the landing strips at Meigs Field.
            Tks. for input.

          • DandyTIger says:

            FAA: We’re not happy until you’re not happy.

  25. Dora says:

    I’m sitting here smiling as I read this.

    • CiscoKid says:

      I forgot the numbers but a very large majority don’t show up anyway.
      What part of ILLEGAL don’t they understand stand?

    • kanaughty says:

      arrest them all wherever they are. they are illegal. f them seriously. it will hopefully discourage illegal immigration. I don’t care if prosecutors can’t use them. if they are that important to a prosecution case, then prosecutors need to find a way to get them a temporary visa, a witness visa or something, instead of upending our whole illegal immigration arrest system.

      • CiscoKid says:

        Good argument.
        If they can get health care, section 8 housing, EBT cards etc, certainly the people getting this for them can arrange some kind of temporary visa.

      • Constance says:

        A witness visa is a good idea. It would encourage them to cooperate.

  26. CiscoKid says:

    This is it, f’king fight is on, I mean seriously.
    Fuck this traitorous “judge”
    “The judge then prevented every other judge and every other state from following the President’s order, the judge making himself a one-man Supreme Court and substitute President.

    The judge then held that American universities and immigrants living here can prohibit America from ever limiting immigration from Muslim-heavy countries, claiming the First Amendment gives Muslim-dominant nations a right of immigration.”

    • DandyTIger says:

      There are some batshit crazy judges out there.

    • kanaughty says:

      I can’t believe that something so plainly stated in the constitution as an executive decision, the executive that gets top secret intel on terror possibilities, is barred from doing their job of executing immigration policy. that article that gives the executive branch this power, isn’t even ambiguous. it says it is his power and only his power to figure out immigration policy. these judges are ignoring our constitution with these rulings plainly! it is so outrageous to me how they are ignoring plain language in the constitution and that they do not have the top secret info to even decide anything on immigration. fuck these tyrannical judges. they need to be impeached and maybe jailed for treason in going against the constitution as written.

    • kanaughty says:

      also, our constitution is not for anyone on our soil. so this makes me sick they are giving anyone in the world our constitutional rights. sorry foreigners do not have our rights. it is a sovereign nation and we are lucky to be here and lucky to have the best constitution in the world. wtf is wrong with these judges?

      • kanaughty says:

        I meant our constitution is ONLY for people on our soil or for American citizens abroad, but for no one else in the world.

      • John Denney says:

        But keep in mind that we do hold that all men are created equal, and that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, among which are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness.
        Illegal aliens have some Rights; we can’t just shoot or enslave them, for instance.

    • taw46 says:

      This is so dangerous. These judges are saying they have power over the President to determine who comes into our country. If this isn’t stopped, we have lost. They will stop anything he tries to do, not just about immigration.

    • kanaughty says:

      this is also setting some kind of weird precedent that somehow public universities are above the law, above our constitution or our branches of government or somehow immune to the laws of our constitution or exempt from our laws of the constitution. like eventhough tax payers fund them, they are somehow sovereign and have unlimited powers to go against us the tax payers in what we voted for? this is really weird that somehow universities all of a sudden have all this power. I don’t see anywhere in our constitution where public universities are a branch of our government. I mean, how weird is this? I say we should stop funding all of them with our tax money if they like sanctuary cities refuse to abide by our laws and our constitution. this is a really weird position these judges are putting these universities in in giving them this much power to disobey laws somehow. how does this even make sense especially when they are tax payer funded?

      • gram krakka says:

        Loose lips sink ships!!! Rudy Guiliani should have STFU about what Trump supposedly said to him about pausing entry from failed states that happen to be Muslim majority! Thankfully Rudy is not SOS! He should be permanently under the bus. SAD!

        • Venus says:

          You’re defending courts ruling based on hearsay instead of the law and you are too stupid to realize it. Sad.

          • lateblum says:

            Even judges are not unaffected by the shit they hear or read. It wouldn’t surprise me, though, if that judge was less affected by Rudy than by Bronco’s visit. The one that we will never hear about – ever.

      • lyn says:

        http://redstatewatcher.com/article.asp?id=68118

        President Trump’s revised travel ban was put on hold Wednesday by U.S. District Court Judge Derrick Watson in Hawaii just hours before it was set to take effect after hearing arguments that the executive order discriminates on the basis of nationality.

        According to reports, Watson met with President Obama a day before requested a temporary restraining order on President Trump’s new executive order.

        • John Denney says:

          “. . . arguments that the executive order discriminates on the basis of nationality.”

          Well, yeah. Duh!

          If you’re concerned about infiltrating Jihadis, would you be doing extreme vetting of Japanese?

  27. kanaughty says:

    what’s funny, is I was watching videos on volcanoes and the subduction earthquakes, because the west coast is screwed if one of these earthquakes happen (like japan 2011 earthquake of a 9.0 at least and the indian ocean subduction quake of 2004) and I came across a theory that the earth is actually going into a cooling phase because there are more of these earth changing events like these earthquakes (which raises and lowers land mass height quickly more quickly than any kind of warming theory) because of increased volcanic activity and also the sun is going into a quiet less hot phase, a hibernation every 200 or so years.

    anyway, I thought it was interesting because this john casey guy said all this funding is going into warming, and mostly into how man causes it (and not in solutions anyway like how to grow food in hotter climates etc.) when the real danger may be that we are cooling and there is no research going into the results of a cooling vs. a warming, because that theory is shunned and ridiculed by the scientists and governments.

  28. mothy67 says:

  29. Dora says:

    Good news. 🙂

  30. DeniseVB says:

    OMFG, this is true, so probably wasn’t a hack….LOLOLOLOL

  31. This is actually funny:

    • CiscoKid says:

      Chicken kiev, great line.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Classic Colbert. Wish he (and other late night “comedians”) would get back to their “no one is safe from our skewers” humor. The Dems are just writing these jokes for them, as the Obamas had for 8 years.

  32. DeniseVB says:

    Back in 2008 there was one guy heavily vetting Obama but was scoffed off as a “conspiracy” whackjob, but he made you think. For some reason, and triggered by Tahiti, I thought of Obama’s first book, blowing his advance for a year in Bali, and no book written. Great article for fellow tinfoilers 😀

    http://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2008/10/who_wrote_dreams_from_my_fathe_1.html

    • lateblum says:

      Remember when the reports about bronco and his book focused on the private office UofChi gave him. Bronco has this pvt office when associate professors NEVER Had pvt space. He was to use it to write his damn memoir. He didn’t. But kept the office.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Cashill’s archives, http://www.cashill.com/articles_all/index.htm , are an abundance of “who the hell is Obama and where did he come from” articles. They were totally ignored in 2004-2008. Whenever I’d ask a question on DU or Dkos about any of the topics he brought up, it was always You Have to Believe – You a Concern Troll or What? – You’re Either with us or the Hell With YOU. It was kind of easy to escape the Dem Plantation about then. No wonder the corporate media is so despised.

  33. SHV says:

    IIRC, about 6-7 years ago at a political conference in Maine(?), Bill Ayers said he wrote Dreams and, half jokingly. said he was sorry that he didn’t get a cut of the royalties. He said that he didn’t write the second book but it was so poorly written that he though that it was written by a committee. There used to be a audio recording of his speech on the web, which I listened to, haven’t looked for it recently but likely scrubbed.

  34. CiscoKid says:

    On that shooting in Grasse, France.
    The principal and three students were physically injured in the shooting, according to Education Minister Najat Vallaud-Belkacem. Several others were taken to a hospital for treatment of minor injuries and counseling, she said.
    The student, armed with a rifle, a handgun, a revolver and two grenades, entered the Alexis de Tocqueville school at about lunchtime and opened fire at the head teacher, CNN’s French affiliate BFMTV reported.
    The shooting was an “act of madness by an unstable young man fascinated by weapons,” Vallaud-Belkacem said.
    “An act of madness by an unstable young man fascinated by weapons”
    Certainly, I mean after all he certainly can be a ☪, naw.

  35. mothy67 says:

  36. mothy67 says:

  37. DeniseVB says:

    This surprised me, I have infowars friends 😛

  38. DeniseVB says:

    There’s been a trend on the msm twerps today…..We Only Care About Poor People When the EVIL GOP wants to drain the Liberal Troughs. It’s about time, imho, an example…

    I have supported the arts my entire life, purchasing tickets to plays on and way off Broadway to high school and regional productions, and buying memberships to art museums, zoological and botanical parks. I also attend fundraisers to support them also. So what’s the fuss? I think I woke, when VP Pence got a dressing down from a popular Broadway show cast a few months ago. NO, Just NO, you aholes. Not a tax penny more from me. I support the cuts.

    • CiscoKid says:

      And at another play HRC got a standing ovation as she entered.
      I’m done also.

    • mothy67 says:

      So have I and if I am willing to spend 250 a pop to see kevin spacey and tony danza tread the boards you can tack on an extra 10 to support the arts make it optional (Danza was great in Iceman Cometh small role but good). Only for the high end tickets. The last time I went to the Met was maybe 15 years ago. So expensive. It’s not like the mom’s in flyover country clipping coupons feel any benefit from that. No instead they have been insulted by artists. Look where the grant money goes to individual artist. I think it was Piss Christ — it was

      https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piss_Christ

      And if I remember correctly Karen Finley and Mapplethorpe also got NEA grants. Your tax dollars pay for that? Insulting your faith. Hmmm? I think the Amish kill you for that. We bigoted Americans simply said no tax dollars which is so much worse than beheading.
      I am all for evocative art, but find a patron.

      The most exciting thing I ever saw on Broadway was David Hare’s -Via Dolorosa (the path Jesus took to Calvary) One man show about his visit to Israel and the conflict. He went all proggie back in 1998/9. People were screaming fuck you at the stage, at each other, walking out. He kept his show going without missing a beat. I had gone to TKTS by myself out of boredom. Ticket was 20 so I went alone. Wish they had camera phones back then. I knew next to dick about the conflict as it was pre 9/11. It was so emotional, not the play the audience. The play was cerebral. Not crazy about Hare(The Hours, The Reader, Plenty).

    • kanaughty says:

      I’m an artist and I don’t think the government should be spending money on this. this is the one subject in our country and our world, where we have so many rich people willing to spend money to fund the arts. so why does it need subsidies. people spend millions at auction for the works just to loan them to museums to put on a show. and when these people die, they usually endow the pieces to museums anyway. there is so much money in the arts voluntarily already that I don’t think tax payers need to fund it. it is already self funded enough. it’s really ridiculous how much money is in the arts already without all tax payers money getting involved.

  39. westcoaster says:

    Jack and Jill went up Mount Etna to fetch a picture of an active volcano: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-39293086

  40. Dora says:

    Washington DC goes green. 🙂

Comments are closed.