The Art of Seduction


The video below is by Sibel Edmonds (h/t Cynic). I don’t vouch for anything in it but it is worth watching.

The typical congressman arrives in Washington DC without a lot of wealth or experience at wielding power. Lots of them come from rural areas. Others come from compact urban areas. Their lifestyles back home were fairly modest and average.

Then they get to Washington and the seduction begins. If they have a weakness (and we all have weaknesses) the denizens of the swamp will find it. The seducers don’t come in with a bagful of cash and offer bribes. They lure you into a luxurious lifestyle. Invitations to parties and events, dinners, trips, gifts, and favors are showered upon the newcomers.

Like a heroin dealer giving out free samples, first they get you hooked, then they reel you in. If they can get some dirt on you then they own you.

Did you ever wonder how Nancy Pelosi has maintained her grip on the House Democratic Caucus?


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Denn die Todten reiten Schnell.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

131 Responses to The Art of Seduction

  1. CiscoKid says:

    Yesterday President Trump held a listening session on opioid and drug abuse.
    Here’s what America is faced with.
    http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2017/03/wow-mexican-state-attorney-general-charged-drug-smuggling-scandal-u-s/.

  2. foxyladi14 says:

    Great post, Shared on FB. 😀

  3. cynic says:

    Do you remember the story of Eric Massa being one of those being intimidated by Rahm?

    “Massa, who is scheduled to resign from the House on Monday, following sexual harassment allegations, contends that he “was set up for this from the very, very beginning,” and that Emanuel was a key orchestrator in the plot to get rid of him.”

  4. mothy67 says:

    So one of my oldest friend’s husband is running against Marilyn Mosby in Baltimore. I have never met him. His wife and I were roommates in Philly for years. She was my roommate when I found a woman shot in the head and compressed my hands against wounds while cops threw us together in back of a paddy wagon and took us to trauma hospital. I walked into her room and said I cannot be alone. I had spent these moments with a woman shot in the head who kept saying I cannot die I have 3 children. I had my hands on her neck and her cheek. I only knew TV apply pressure. She was on my lap insisting on speaking about her kids through blood. She did not die and is a grandmother.
    I walked into my best friend’s room in delayed shock. Was like 7 am by then and I said I cannot sleep alone. I had blood all over me. She allowed me to join her. I was too numb to cry.
    Years later we both moved to Manhattan separately. Still great friends but co-dependent. She met Chad and wanted upwardly mobile. They wed and have children. I argue with her regularly about progressivism. It’s a made up thing.
    She is the most common sense person I know and her hubby might have a shot against Mosley but he uses the word progressive. Such a failed term.

    http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/maryland/crime/bs-md-curlett-states-attorney-20170109-story.html

    • If I lived in Baltimore I would vote for a rabid dog if he was running against Mosby.

      • mothy67 says:

        He is a defense attorney. He won some unsavory stuff. In my mind that means he did his job. The Baltimore papers that ignored Hillary laughing about getting a rapist off highlight him doing his job while they offered no criticism of her. I do not know the man. He worked as a D.A. in Manhattan and at the Hague.
        I know his wife. Save my brat I care for no one more. They might get a little lost in dim proggie thought but no way is she that blind. She and I had an apartment on Spruce Street. We worked in a restaurant with Holly Margolies one day we went out drinking we said Holly crash here. She never left. Marc Mezvinsky’s sister. Such a small world.

      • blowme0bama says:

        I can look at Mosby and tell she has horrendous breath.

  5. Life might be good this summer. My cousin has a lawn and garden business. His biggest customer is my sister and BIL (they have a property management company). My sister told to add my place and Mom’s to his list of regular stops.

    While he was here my neighbor (the hot young widow) asked for a quote and hired him to do her place too.

    Best part: He’s gonna get me some good maryjane seeds. (Weed is legal in CA except you can’t buy it or sell it. You can grow it, possess it, and smoke it, you just can’t buy it or sell it, unless you have a license to sell medical marijuana.)

    • mothy67 says:

      Can you still smoke? I was never a big pot fan– a few months ago I was playing poker and drinking someone passed a joint and I took it without thinking. One hit and I was a puddle. I don’t like pot. Only thing it does is make me sleep like a baby or it makes me sleep with anyone. Gender not important. I don’t touch it. God what if I had a newborn at 50? No no no no no no.

      • I sleep like a baby – I wake up several times a night wet and crying.

        If I could get 4-6 hours of solid sleep a night I would be in heaven.

        • Somebody says:

          Klown have you ever had a sleep study done? You might have sleep apnea. I used to wake up several times a night for what I thought was a weak bladder. What was actually happening is the apnea was waking me, but since I had a somewhat full bladder I would go to the bathroom assuming that is what woke me up……having no idea I was actually having apnea episodes where I stopped breathing.

          I don’t care much for my cpap, it’s an acquired taste. However, I have no problem sleeping 6.5-7.5 hours at a stretch now sometimes 8 or more on the weekends. I don’t wake up in the middle of the night anymore, not even a couple of months ago when I was sick.

          Sleep apnea can contribute to a host of medical problems, elevated blood pressure and depression are at the top of the list. They prefer you do a sleep study at a sleep clinic, but they can do one at home. There was no way I could do the sleep clinic because of watching my grandbabies. Instead I had a late afternoon appointment where they rigged me up and when I went to bed I plugged everything into the machine they sent me home with. The next day I returned it and they read the results. I’ve had to do that twice now, once before the cpap and once after.

          You can do your own sleep study if you have a camera where you can record yourself sleeping or just record the audio. I encourage you to try that and see if maybe apnea might be an issue for you. The machines are pricey around $400, but most insurance covers them. The big thing is figuring out what mask you want and they only give you one shot. I own 4 different masks, I’m like Goldilocks and so far none are just right. You can buy masks and supplies on Amazon.

  6. My eyes seem to have returned to normal.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Saw the post title in my email and immediately started a search for “George Costanza” LOL ! GMTA 😉

    I used to like Jason Alexander until he played ahole parts in Pretty Woman and Shallow Hal. Pretty much typecast as a “George”. Too bad.

    • mothy67 says:

      I’ve waited on him. Nice guy. Very short.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Not that there’s anything wrong with that, Tina Fey and Rachel Ray’s hubbies are like 3 feet shorter than them.

        • mothy67 says:

          I know you love Broadway. Have you ever been to Joe Allen? It’s on Restaurant Row, 46th between 8th and 9th. It’s priced very fairly for New York. I worked there 20 some years ago. 2015 celebrated 50 years. There is one in London and Paris. He was a guy that bought a dive bar on 46th Street. His friends were waiters/actors. They would get off off Broadway gigs and have to quit day jobs. No money. New York City he gave his friends house accounts. Go act. Come back and pay when you get a paying job, but come in. One of those guys to this day signs for his tab. You may have heard of him his name is Al Pacino. Made a few movies. Anyhow when I worked there I would get sent opening night to every show in the afternoon with magnums of champagne. I never paid to see a show and was often walked backstage with out of state friends. Stockard Channing was amazing after Lion in Winter.
          Anyhow Joe’s is big. Never go pre theater. It’s after theater. They only do reservations one week in advance, but any night there are luminaries. I got fired because I showed up for a New Years day shift that started at noon at 5 pm still drunk. Hey I went in and faced the music. I have nothing but respect for Joe Allen. I got a yuuuge catering business out of my time there.
          One thing he still does on Sunday nights he feeds all the Guardian Angels at least he was in 2006.
          My sister and my cousin visited me after I had been fired and we went for dinner. Then you could smoke at the tables near the bar. Tables were very tight I made small chat with woman next to us. She knew me from the area. We were hello people. My cousin was in awe. All she could say was you know the woman from TV show Life Goes On. All I could say was yeah Carole she was on a TV show not that she was Evita. Patti Lupone. That’s how Joe’s is after the shows.
          I hate to sound like an ad but I think it is more authentic than Sardi’s. The walls are lined with posters from shows that closed in a week. It’s called the flop wall. I think next time after a show you should check it out. Very reasonable.

          http://joeallenrestaurant.com/about

  8. Dora says:

    White House Plays Nunes Trump Card To Expose Staff Leaker and Call Out “Oversight” Gang-of-Eight…

    Many people were wondering why the White House was holding back on calling out the congressional intelligence oversight gang-of-eight regarding their political unwillingness to review the same executive intelligence previously reviewed by House Intelligence Chairman Devin Nunes.

    Today, you just got the answer.

    https://theconservativetreehouse.com/2017/03/30/white-house-plays-nunes-trump-card-to-expose-staff-leaker-and-call-out-oversight-gang-of-eight/

  9. DeniseVB says:

    Fast Food #WAR and I’m loving it 🙂

    • 1539days says:

      I have some minor inside info on McDonalds. They’re in the process of crashing and burning. Owning a franchise isn’t the license to print money it used to be, and corporate is now pissing them off.

    • Ann says:

      I want to hire whoever is running the wendy’s twitter account. Holy cow that is a great stream.

  10. AFVet says:

    Video was a nice find Klown, I’m going to pass that around.
    Posted on YouTube Feb.7,2017 so it’s not old.
    Reminds of Carlin’s ‘Big Club’ bit.

    • CiscoKid says:

      Now more than ever, I miss George.
      What could be his best material ever is unfolding before our eyes, and George is not here to see or comment on it.

  11. Venus says:

    That was one of the best Sienfeld’s.

  12. Venus says:

    RE: MSM declaring Pence marriage “weird”

    • mothy67 says:

      You are an attorney? Asking because if I ever become a celebrity and commit asinine crimes I want you on my defense team. Rest easy. Odds of me getting adored by masses are slim to none.
      Joking. Your take on things is refreshing. I get lost in the clouds or as your peeps say penumbras but you are incisive. I tip my sombrero.

      • Venus says:

        Yes but I don’t practice criminal law so try not to get in trouble (at least, try not to get caught LOL)

        • mothy67 says:

          Real injun question. I quit working ten years ago with the kid. I thought I had enough money to live modestly. Well I thought kid was going to be a few months. Little Fuckers are expensive. I have a completely useless degree in lit. I was thinking about getting a two year degree as a paralegal and doing temp work. Not looking to make money. I just want to stop the bleeding. I do not want a full time job even though I’d work 40 plus hours. Temp agencies are always looking for paralegals. I can navigate WestLaw.

      • mothy67 says:

        Do you think a freelance paralegal is a thing. I see it all the time on craigslist. I can do research and proofread. My second job in NY was a legal proofreader. 1992. Sure things are different. Community College has a certificate. I can get one for 3800. I do not want a career. Do not want a boss. Give me work and I’ll get it done.

        • Venus says:

          You (and the temp agencies) are probably talking about contract work types of jobs — firms get a big case and hire on extra staff just for a few months. But that would be short-term, not necessarily part time. (i.e., 6 months of 40 hour weeks, then wait until next short-term/temp job and maybe its 2 months of 40 hour weeks).
          I think it would be better for you to get a part-time paralegal job with a firm — 2 or 3 days a week. A lot of firms hire part-time
          Also, a good paralegal job that might suit your needs would be in government — county attorney’s office/city attorney’s office. Doesn’t pay as much as firms, but you’re looking at 35 hours a week plus benefits (including a public pension). And the work pace is not fast paced/stressful like it is at firms.
          I think you should do it — it’s a good, professional job and you can usually find work any place you’d live with a paralegal certificate.

    • Island Girl says:

      Up is down, freaks are normal, crazy times indeed.

  13. lyn says:

    • lyn says:

    • Venus says:

      Amy Siskind — one of the several dumbasses who for 2 years before the election in November 2016, laughed at the notion that Donald J. Trump could ever be president. Who on election day and up to 9:00 p.m. of election night, as the votes came in, laughed at the notion that Donald J. Trump could ever be President offers her words of wisdom.

      LOL: Psst, Amy: GFY.

    • CiscoKid says:

      I found it stranger that Hillary would sell 20% of America’s uranium to Russia.

    • threewickets says:

      She had that falling out with Reclusive Leftist who I do miss, for her writing if not her politics.

      • elliesmom says:

        Dr. Socks was full of so many contradictions she was fun. I always imagined her in a 40’s movie starring her and Humphrey Bogart. Playing the strong confident woman completely in charge of her own life until she falls for Bogey and drives his getaway car.

  14. Venus says:

    Ha, ha! A Cyprus businessman name Gubarev is suing Buzzfeed for defamation related to its publication of the fake Trump “dossier” in FL (he, and his businesses, are named in it). A memo filed by him in a jurisdictional fight is titled:

    “Six Ways Buzzfeed Has Misled The Court (Number Two Will Amaze You) … And A Picture Of A Kitten.”

    Link:
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/wires/ap/article-4365638/Cyprus-businessman-suing-Buzzfeed-unproven-Trump-dossier.html#ixzz4cqAcFSQi

  15. mothy67 says:

    Not sure if I should commit suicide or cry I caught my parents dancing to Through the Years. 57 years. I walk in and find this shit

  16. threewickets says:

    Excellent video. Thx for the recommendation. Has everything: AIPAC dirt, Gulen (the guy who may have tried to coup Turkey last summer for the CIA), evil Jan Schakowsky from Hillbuzz’s Boystown, lesbian spies, and Bob Creamer visited Obama 350x in the White House? OMFG. 🙂 Chicago political crooks man, it’s another league from everyone else.

  17. Dora says:

  18. Dora says:

    Senator Pocahontas Warren (D-MA) Attacks Ivanka Trump

    If Ivanka Trump was a Democrat and Sen. Pocahontas Warren a Republican, the liberals would be screaming that Warren was anti-Semitic for her ad hominem attack on Ivanka Trump. But the liberals would never accuse her of anything, they even ignore her faking a Native-American background to get into Harvard. Pocahontas is a favorite of the radical left that runs the Democratic Party.

    http://lidblog.com/senator-pocahontas-warren-d-ma-attacks-ivanka-trump/

  19. Dora says:

    Good Doggie. Good Doggie.

    ==

    WATCH: ANTIFA Thug Getting Bitten By Police Dog “GOOD BOY” Huntington Beach Trump Rally

    http://theamericanfirst.com/watch-antifa-thug-getting-bitten-by-police-dog-good-boy-huntington-beach-trump-rally/

  20. mothy67 says:

    6 am brats friend is over. 6 am. I or my my mom has to cook breakfast for an extra kid. 6 am. There was no warning. 6am. School start at 815. 6am a kid knocking at door. Did I say 6 am. I have never met her parents. No clue as to who they are. They do not know me. I am 50 living in a garage. I think everyone knows I’m a gay. No way ever never would I let my crud go alone to someones house at 6 am. Six a m!!!!! No warning. They are having a blast. Over the years on snow days I have walked half the school. But 6 am. Shay is vegan. Has been for years. She is athletic so I went to dietician. Too much protien is bad not enough is bad. I buy dark berries for breakfast. Not cheap. Liv loves my smoothies. Cost about 5. I added extra almond milk they said not sweet enough 6 am.
    Funny my nemesis in her grade is asain. Liv who is here at 6 am is black. Holy Christ she can sing. I said where did you get those pipes. She said church. Pup has had pros teach her she bows down. Liv can sing. I am so racist. My white thing has a best “boy” friend who is asian math prodigy and a bff with soul who is black with blue eyes. Again 6 am Liv is here. 6 am. It was still dark out. Eleven years old. They have never met me 6 am. I don’t care if she is 3 or 90 bacon is all mine. I’ll fight. Might have to wait until 715 as I’m tired.j

  21. mothy67 says:

    I am in spam. 6 am a kids friend showed up school starts at 815. Just wow. Iet her take a 900 dollar phone so I can track her. Six am. No advance. I have never met her parents.

  22. mothy67 says:

    Oh sure now it shows up.

    • lateblum says:

      If this ahole had shut up for one bloody minute, he’d have heard Tucker calling him out. It was interesting watching him twist himself into a pretzel while trying to avoid being seen as a hypocrite. I was talking back to the tv last night as I watched this. What an a$$hat. And narcissist! He rivals bronco as an elitist and narcissist. I had a couple of profs in college,who thought so highly of themselves that I was compelled to take them down on occasion. Seriously. I have a daughter who could’ve taken him down with both hands tied behind her back. I wish she had attended Drexel just for the opportunity to show him who is really smart.

  23. DeniseVB says:

    DC’s baby eagles have hatched. Live Nest Cam !

    http://www.dceaglecam.org/

  24. mothy67 says:

    God I hate the woman that gave birth to me. Shay is 10 she lost her glasses. I said lets just get another pair. Kids lose and break glasses daily. It’s not a big deal. My mom is like no you can’t give in. She has to find them. I am like what part of lost do you not get. No she must find. I searched everywhere. Not to be found. I offered to pay. No that spoils her.. Glasses spoils?????? No last night I had 7 cash she wanted conditioner. Her hair is 85 every 6 weeks. I do not pay that. I am of the school get a good cut once and go anywhere and ask for a trim. I gave in conditioner was 8. I refused to spend more than 7. I gave in but glasses are different.I will pay. My mother will not order . Its prescription. I can do nothing.

  25. DeniseVB says:

    I love the stories these paintings tell ….

  26. Dora says:

  27. DeniseVB says:

  28. DeniseVB says:

    “Spicier” triggered this one pretty good 😀

  29. votermom says:

    Oh crap. It was raining and I was driving at the intersection where there was a crossing guard (not in the road). A school bus stops at the other side and I go forward and I’m mid-way before I see the bus’ lights are flashing and the crossing guard yells at me. I stop at the middle then go on.

    Get home and there’s a msg on the answering machine telling me to call the police dept. So I did but just get the cop’s voicemail (I leave a msg).

    Gitmo here I come.

  30. DeniseVB says:

    My bad, I laughed. (and at the brains who thought storing highly combustible material under a highway bridge was a good idea)

  31. DeniseVB says:

    Since no one was hurt, the Twits are having some fun with the I-85 fire. Civil War buffs will get this….

  32. DeniseVB says:

    Ok, this made me laugh too (sorry if there are any Atlanta commuters here, several sections of the highway will be closed in both directions for several months), but I did get a chance to travel on I-85 from the airport to the Redstate Gathering hotel about 20 miles away, it took an hour at 10 in the morning. Fortunately, taxis have a flat fee to that part of Atlanta, whew.

  33. helenk3 says:

    http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2017/03/russians_cheat_better_than_democrats.html

    I love this article. the whole mess in DC does have the look of the movie The Sting

  34. Dora says:

    I think this should be a big story, but the media just says ‘ho hum’.

    ===

    Hillary Clinton aides had access to State Dept. after she left, says key lawmaker

    When Hillary Clinton resigned as Secretary of State in 2013, she negotiated continuing access to classified and top-secret documents for herself and six staffers under the designation “research assistants,” according to a powerful senator who notes that Clinton was later deemed “extremely careless” with such information.

    http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2017/03/30/hillary-clinton-aides-had-access-to-state-dept-after-left-says-key-lawmaker.html

  35. Dora says:

    Oh Wow! This is a big one! Peter Schweizer is a pretty reliable reporter.

    ===

    BREAKING=> KREMLIN CONNECTION CONFIRMED! Podesta Company Paid One Billion Rubles from Russian Govt.

    FINALLY ­ INVESTIGATORS UNCOVER KREMLIN CONNECTION IN 2016 US ELECTION!
    Confirmed­

    The Putin Government gave John Podesta 35 millions dollars (1 billion rubles) while he advised Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama.

    http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2017/03/breaking-kremlin-connection-confirmed-podesta-paid-one-billion-rubles-russian-govt/

    • CiscoKid says:

      Two hopes.
      First , it’s true.
      Second, when the WHPC starts asking about the false Trump Russia connection at today’s press conference, Spicer mentions this.
      But it’s early, have to wait for confirmation.
      Let us hope.

  36. votermom says:

    I may turn meatatarian.
    Just discovered that there’s a whole subgroup of low carbers who eat zero carbs, only food from the animal kingdom (mainly red meat) and they seem very happy and healthy.
    They say low-carbing that lets you eat a bit of sweets is hard because it keeps you sugar addicted.

    • Dora says:

      That sounds like the Atkins Diet. According to Atkins you should limit your carbs to 20 a day.

      It really works.

      I should get back on it again myself.

      • votermom says:

        Kinda like Atkins but even less carbs as in zero. They say it’s easier to stick to than Atkins.
        Check it out

        https://zerocarbzen.com/
        http://myzerocarblife.jamesdhogan.com/wp/

        • Somebody says:

          Do you really want a life without mashed potatoes, mac N cheese, french fries, cupcakes and cookies? I like a good steak, but damn what is a steak without the baked potato?

          • votermom says:

            Only one way to find out!

          • Somebody says:

            Been there done that years ago. Hubby and I both went on a diet like that when we were in our 30’s. It worked for a couple of weeks and then we noticed we were a bit short and nasty with each other…….our kids actually tell the story better. Cutting to the punch, I yelled at hubby “What the hell is wrong with you asshole” to which he replied “I want a GD potato” to which I replied “Oh yea, me too I want a big fat loaded baked potato how about you?” He replied “That’s not enough for me. I want a baked potato, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, french fries, some white rice and some mac and cheese”. (All of this we screamed angrily at the top of our lungs)

            I informed him I wasn’t cooking all of that, he told me to get my purse and the kids and get in the car. We went to an all you can eat buffet and carb loaded, LOL! Actually we attacked that buffet like we hadn’t eaten in weeks, our kids were embarrassed by us. To this day they both swear they’ll never give up carbs after watching us turn into angry jerks. Funny back then we used to go to the gym daily, we were both in great shape but we were seeking perfection, we wanted to get down to a ridiculous level of body fat……oh to be that toned and fit again, LOL!

          • votermom says:

            LOL Somebody I am laughing like a crazy person at your post.
            So funny.

            I actually just checked and I don’t have any meat! Only chicken. Sad!!!!
            Meatatarianism will have to commence another day. Assuming I stay out of Gitmo.

  37. Dora says:

    Lives wasted. That driver should not have been here!

    ===

    Three Americans killed in Ohio crash by illegal alien drunk-driver

    https://fellowshipoftheminds.com/2017/03/31/three-americans-killed-in-ohio-crash-illegal-alien-drunk-driving-suspect-identified/

  38. helenk3 says:

    http://www.breitbart.com/california/2017/03/31/gov-brown-wants-52-billion-tax-increase-to-fix-transportation/

    more problem for California taxpayers.
    what does brown smoke? must be some awesome shit

  39. DeniseVB says:

    Actually a very nice article on Mar-a-Lago but with undertones of liberal bent 😀

    http://www.houseandgarden.co.uk/interiors/news/mar-a-lago-inside-donald-trumps-winter-white-house

    While libs will scream at the cost to join the golf club, it’s a pretty average rate for the country club elitests. Funny that at the time Trump bought it, it would have been the only club in the area that would have allowed Obama to play at 😀

  40. Somebody says:

    Attention everyone…..just wanted to make sure you are all aware today is FRIDAY!!! TGIF!!

    That is all, carry on.

  41. Dora says:

  42. mothy67 says:

    Blah blah, blah

    Primary49

    Search
    12:09 pm
    New categorized mail

    Senator Robert P. Casey,.

    Thank you for contacting me about the nomination of Judge Neil Gorsuch to the U.S. Supreme Court. I appreciate hearing from you about this issue.

    President Trump nominated Judge Gorsuch, who currently sits on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 10th Circuit, on January 31, 2017. In order to properly discharge the constitutional duty to provide “advice and consent” on judicial nominees, I believe it is my duty as a U.S. Senator to evaluate the nominee based on several key criteria: character, temperament, professional and personal experience, judicial philosophy and, of course, prior judicial rulings. When considering nominees to the Supreme Court of the United States, the most powerful court in the world, my obligation to be thorough in this process could not be more serious.

    Accordingly, with regard to the nomination of Judge Gorsuch, I have spent hours studying his decisions from his seat on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 10th Circuit. I have consulted a variety of legal scholars and practitioners to understand the nuances and implications of his approach to the law. I met him personally to discuss his work and his nomination. And I watched closely his testimony before the Judiciary Committee this week.

    Judge Gorsuch’s experience as a lawyer and a judge is substantial, and I have found nothing in the record that would disqualify him based on his character, temperament or experience. I do, however, have serious concerns about Judge Gorsuch’s rigid and restrictive judicial philosophy, manifest in a number of opinions he has written on the 10th Circuit. It is a judicial philosophy that employs the narrowest possible reading of federal law and exercises extreme skepticism, even hostility, toward executive agencies.

    Judge Gorsuch’s opinions show an approach that yields decisions more suited to satisfy his judicial philosophy than grapple with the complex circumstances faced by ordinary Americans. This approach leads him to come down disproportionately on the side of powerful interests and against workers and consumers, a cause for particular concern at a time when the Supreme Court, under Chief Justice Roberts, has become an ever more reliable ally to big corporations.

    A major study published in the Minnesota Law Review in 2013 found that the four conservative justices currently sitting on the court, Justices Alito, Roberts, Thomas and Kennedy, are among the six most business-friendly Supreme Court justices since 1946. A review by the Constitutional Accountability Center shows the consequences of the court’s corporate tilt, finding that the Chamber of Commerce has had a success rate of 69 percent in cases before the Roberts Court, a significant increase over previous courts. These are cases of serious importance to everyday Americans – cases involving rules for consumer contracts, challenges to regulations ensuring fair pay and labor standards, attempts by consumers to hold companies accountable for product safety and much more.

    Judge Gorsuch’s record indicates that he would only exacerbate this problem and further stack the deck against ordinary workers and families. A variety of cases are illustrative of Judge Gorsuch’s troubling approach.

    One case involved the tragic death of a trench hand who was electrocuted while working as part of an excavation crew. The court reviewed a ruling by the Department of Labor (DOL) punishing the mining company for failing to provide proper safety training to the worker. Judge Gorsuch mocked the DOL’s ruling as nothing more than a “Delphic declaration” devoid of necessary proof, and concluded that the agency was wrong to penalize the company following the worker’s death. Fortunately, a majority of the court disagreed and affirmed DOL’s ruling.

    Another case involved a truck driver who was stranded on the side of the road at night in subzero temperatures with the brakes on his trailer frozen and the heater in his cab broken. He called dispatch for help multiple times, but after hours of waiting in the freezing cold, he was having trouble breathing and his torso and feet were numb. Worried about his safety, he unhitched his trailer and drove the truck away. The company fired him for abandoning his load. Two different authorities within the DOL ruled the firing was illegal and the trucker was protected under federal law. Judge Gorsuch disagreed, parsing a federal statute to argue the driver was not protected in his decision to drive away, despite the risk of freezing to death if he stayed put. Again, fortunately, the majority of the court disagreed, describing Judge Gorsuch’s labored interpretation of the statute as “curious” and ruling in favor of the driver.

    Judge Gorsuch has a particularly troubling record when it comes to enforcing legal protections for individuals, particularly students, with disabilities. This case is worth dwelling on since, just this week, the Supreme Court issued a unanimous 8-0 ruling repudiating a previous opinion Judge Gorsuch wrote concerning the rights of a disabled student. In that 10th Circuit case, Thompson R2-J School District v. Luke P., Judge Gorsuch saw fit to overturn three previous rulings in favor of the family of an autistic child. These previous rulings found that the family was entitled to reimbursement for tuition at a residential program tailored for autistic children, since their son Luke was having trouble generalizing the skills he learned at school to his outside life. Judge Gorsuch reversed these rulings, going beyond precedent to articulate the narrowest possible interpretation of the federal law that protects students with disabilities, the Individuals with Disabilities in Education Act (IDEA).

    Judge Gorsuch ruled that as long as Luke’s progress was “merely more than de minimis” – essentially anything beyond no progress at all – then the school had satisfied its duty under IDEA to provide a so-called “free and appropriate education”. The Supreme Court’s decision this week highlights the callous absurdity of this approach, even quoting Judge Gorsuch’s opinion to explain that, “a student offered an educational program providing “merely more than de minimis” progress from year to year can hardly be said to have been offered an education at all … The IDEA demands more.” I agree.

    These cases are illustrative of a broader trend in Judge Gorsuch’s jurisprudence. Judge Gorsuch’s approach produces rulings disconnected from the lived experience of those they impact. It’s in that disconnect that ordinary people get hurt – they lose their livelihood, find their rights curtailed or see the courthouse doors closed in their face.

    After considering his nomination seriously and without pre-judgement, and mindful of the awesome responsibility of passing judgement on nominees to the highest court in the nation, I do not believe Judge Gorsuch’s judicial approach will ensure fairness for workers and families. I will not support his confirmation to the Supreme Court.

    Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts with me on this important issue. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future about this or any other matter of importance to you.

    For more information on this or any other issues, I encourage you to visit my website, http://casey.senate.gov . I hope you will find this online office a comprehensive resource to stay up-to-date on my work in Washington, request assistance from my office or share with me your thoughts on issues that matter most to you and to Pennsylvania.

    Sincerely,
    Bob Casey
    United States Senator

Comments are closed.