It’s Different When We Do It

Young boys and elders head to the Mezcala hills to talk about the importance of their heritage and resisting displacement.


This is from The Guardian:

The American expats breaking up indigenous communities on the Mexican ‘Riviera’

Machetes in hand, the indigenous Cocas are climbing the steep scrubby hills that overlook their territory. Young boys climb alongside elders while a trusty donkey carries their camping equipment. Other groups man outposts beside the entrances to Mezcala, the lakeside town their forefathers founded in the late 13th century, over 200 years before the Spanish arrived in Mexico.

They’re heading out on a unique voyage – bringing the community together to discuss their tactics against displacement. The men and boys will spend the night huddled around ceremonial bonfires, telling stories about their heritage, before descending upon the sacred Isle of Mezcala the next morning to discuss with a larger group how to defend their land and way of life. Based in the western state of Jalisco, the Cocas go back more than 700 years and have had to fight off waves of invaders over the centuries.

The latest threat to their land? A wave of American retirees heading south – pretty ironic, given President Donald Trump’s demonisation of Mexican immigrants. Thousands of American and Canadian retirees have settled in the neighbouring towns on Chapala and Ajijic in recent decades to take advantage of the cheap living costs, year-round sunshine and stunning views of Mexico’s biggest lake.

Now known as the “Chapala Riviera”, the area is brimming with boutique hotels and gated communities. Foreigners are driving the growth, having spent more than twice as much as locals on housing and tourism in 2015. An estimated 7,000 expats live there all year round, with up to 10,000 “snowbirds” joining them each winter. Expat community leaders say their population could double within five years.

Property developers have long coveted nearby Mezcala, the home of 5,000 Coca people. With poorly paved roads and crumbling houses, it is noticeably less developed than Chapala and Ajijic. But after witnessing what happened to the original residents of those towns, the Cocas have reason to fear outsider-led development.

Santiago Bastos, an anthropologist who has spent eight years studying Mezcala, notes that (pdf) the arrival of foreign retirees and wealthy Mexicans from nearby Guadalajara saw indigenous residents ousted, often illegally, from prime plots of land, while prices shot up, making the lakeside area unaffordable for many locals.

“We’ve always had invasions by people who want to take control of our land,” says Manuel Jacobo, a 30-year-old activist with a punk-inspired appearance. “We inherited it from our forefathers who fought and gave their lives for it. Our grandfathers used to tell us the myths and legends. We don’t want future generations to lose [the land].”

“We’re not against progress,” adds Vicente Paredes, a Coca spokesperson. “But if there’s urbanisation then let it be carried out by our community, not outsiders. We’ve seen the problems that happened in Chapala and Ajijic, where the original inhabitants have been forced to move into the hills and live as third-class citizens.”


Let’s see – immigrants from another race and culture move in, displace locals, locals object.

Isn’t that racism and xenophobia?

Oh, that’s right. It’s different when we do it.


Mexican ex-pats breaking up indigenous communities in the American southwest.

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Suck my toxic masculinity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to It’s Different When We Do It

  1. BTW – there were no donkeys in the New World prior to the arrival of the Europeans.

  2. mothy67 says:

    Okay it is 542 am. There is a child here. WTF? That is very early??????? School start at 815.

    • Somebody says:

      Welcome to my world Mothy.

      • mothy67 says:

        I live in fear. Kid can now walk to school. I am so afraid until she walks in. How does some parent that has never met me allow her 11 year old to go to a strangers house at 543 am.
        Today is also first day of PA standard testing. They need a healthy breakfast. I was ready for one now I have to order food. I can buy breakfast. I would have bought OJ and bacon, pancakes had I known. No I get a visitor at 545. I have to feed her. So rude. I could never imagine sending my kid off with no money. She has apps. Citi, chase, discover.

        • swanspirit says:

          When my kids were still preschool and kindergartners, I sometimes had what seemed like half the neighborhood over for breakfast. Just the kids, the parents were still sleeping, but I was up making breakfast for mine. And this was far from a ” ghetto” neighborhood.

          But now I wonder, does the child’s parent know they left? Does that parent have some job they have to get up for at some ungodly hour? Inquiring moms want to know!😎 My first question always seemed to be, “Does your mother know you are here?”

          • mothy67 says:

            A few extra pancakes makes no difference. I just need to know why a kid is here that early. School gives free breakfast. My door is open but I need to know why. Everything is so convoluted now. You have to be careful.

        • lateblum says:

          Tim, you ought to ask if the parent knows where the child is. The answer may be “no”. The parent may also be the reason the child is at your house instead of her/his own.

    • parentofed says:

      Beck finally gets some MSM attention. All he had to do was hate-Trump. He’s been hating Trump all along but most conservs got in line after the election so Glenn is more valuable now.

    • cynic says:

      The NYT is in the habit of spiking stories that may hurt their candidate. Remember the ACORN/Obama story from the ’08 election?

      https://spectator.org/18757_new-york-times-finally-admits-it-spiked-obamaacorn-corruption-story/

      May 18, 2009, 5:50 am
      “Acknowledging what the blogosphere has known for weeks, the New York Times finally went on record to admit that just before last Election Day it killed a politically sensitive news story involving corruption allegations that might have made the Obama campaign look bad.”

      • mcnorman says:

        They also refused to use his middle name Hussein. I suppose they think these are minor details that the average citizen cannot handle.

    • swanspirit says:

      Oh for crying out loud! The. LA Times is STILL sitting on that clip from a dinner Hussein attended honoring some radical Muslim.
      I forget the details now, but I remember Hussein was reported to have given a speech, or a toast. The public has yet to see it

      • lateblum says:

        Khalidi is the guy the dinner was honoring. That lovely photo of BHO and MO is from that dinner, I believe. And they may be sitting on the clip to protect MO from her appearance at that time. (I know, I’m being catty, so sue me.)

        • jenlyn says:

          Hey now don’t be coming Jackie O’s model double unattractive and sour looking cuz that New York Times would argue with that cuz remember right after they were lifted we were told she looks just like Jackie uh it Jackie O with a black sour-faced piece of s*** linebacker of course

        • parentofed says:

          The O’s sat next to the Khaladi’s at this table, and Big Guy [forgive me, MOTUS] supposedly made some nasty anti-Semitic remarks.

          I’m doomed to die before the release of the JFK assassination report after all the younger Kennedys are gone, and I suspect I’ll never live to see the release of this tape.

          • lateblum says:

            I suspect none of us here will ever see the JFK assassination report. And I suspect you are also right about the tape of the Khalidi dinner either.
            There was also a dinner – the Trumpet Award dinner, perhaps – in which MO referred to whites as “honky”. I happened to see it on C-SPAN during the 2008 campaign. I nearly fell off my chair when I heard her. I went back to watch the video of that speech to check it out, and the video was not available. Nearly a month later, IIRC, the video surfaced in the C-SPAN archives. AND that part of her speech was missing.
            TPTB really do exist and really are powerful.

  3. The media is digging deep.

  4. mothy67 says:

    It is still pitch black outside. I suffer from incurable insomnia so I was awake. Who lets a ten year old walk to a stranger’s house at 542 am. They have never met me. Insane. The way I grew up my home has always been a respite for kids. I didn’t know until a few months ago Janice was a kid who got abused. She was just always in my house. I was 16 washing dishes and picking corn. I came home. She was always there. I was tired. I paid her no attention. Just there. I had no idea she was getting raped. I swear to God I never knew she was black. She was just always there. A fixture. I don’t think I am equiped to handle a child walking alone at 530 am. Irony is Liv is also black. I am going to McDonald’s as there wasno warning Shay is vegan. I have no breakfast for a meat eater. Ugh. I have to talk to her mother. 545 am is not appropriate. If they need help I might do my best but good Lord who sends thier kid out at that hour?????

    • cynic says:

      Does she really walk by herself, or is someone dropping her off on their way to work? Are they poor? Is this one of the few meals (besides at school) that she is getting? Perhaps the home life is bad, and they like Shay and think she is a good example, and should spend as much time as possible with you guys.

      If she’s left alone, perhaps she wouldn’t get to school on time?

      Maybe you can buy her a whistle to wear to keep her a bit safer? I’m sad that her parents would allow this, but there are a lot of neglected kids out there, and maybe you can make a difference in another child’s life. She will remember your kindness.

      • mothy67 says:

        I have no idea about her home life. I know she is half black. Her mom just had a kid. Different father. I am royal white trash. My home is always open. I do not care. I throw out pancakes every morning. I buy fruit it always goes bad an extra mouth cost nothing. I just need to know why she is here at 543. She is a kid. She came alone. That cannot happen. Should there be a reason I will walk and pick her up.
        School offers free breakfast no one gets rejected. Pup does not qualify they still feed and send me a bill. So cheap. She does yougurt with water. It’s 1.75 non vegan lunch is 1.50 no one eats regular lunch all the kids eat yogurt. Regular lunch is awful and comes with super skim milk which is undrinkable. All the kids opt for vegan lunch. Its most everyday yogurt but it comes with water. No kid drinks super skim.

      • mothy67 says:

        I have to figure out how to be polite. I could not care less if there is an extra child. I need to know why. My guess is her mom had a baby with someone not her father and she feels less. My home is open if its a good thing. I don’t know. Should I call CYS? She seems fine. How would I know? No bruises. Egads.

  5. Dora says:

    President Trump will be hosting the Wounded Warriors on Thursday.

    In case your’ve heard the ugly rumors about that charity it’s just a smear campaign. Don’t be fooled.
    http://www.theblaze.com/contributions/debunked-wounded-warrior-project-myth-that-its-paying-executives-instead-of-helping-veterans-is-false/

    .

  6. Dora says:

  7. mothy67 says:

    Later today I am going to buy poster boards and write a big thank you. I will buy 4 and then I am going to post office and mail. I went to McD’s at top of my hill. Service usually sucks. Not today. One young woman kicked ass. Because of kid I am running I do eat fast food. Always terrible. I always,want to complain. Today I had an early guest. They have PSSA’s today. State exams. I had neither the will or the time to cook a healthy breakfast. I went to McD’s. No way to compliment the young girl. Website for McD does not allow appreciation. I was yuuuuugely impressed by this young woman. I will use packing tape and make two poster boards a big thank you card. Send one to local store and another to corporate. I was that impressed. She was that good.

    • lateblum says:

      That is so nice to hear. I am certain she will appreciate your message. I hope she doesn’t end up being shunned by the other McD workers there for having been noticed. that is what would happen in my little “liberal” town. The others would torment her for doing her job.

  8. Dora says:

    Another state being destroyed by democrats. What a shame!

    ==

    California Senate OKs statewide immigrant sanctuary bill

    SACRAMENTO, Calif. (AP) ­ California lawmakers gave initial approval Monday to a measure that prevents law enforcement from cooperating with federal immigration officials, a measure that proponents said rebukes President Donald Trump for his immigration crackdown.

    It makes California a statewide sanctuary for many people who are in the country illegally.

    https://www.yahoo.com/news/california-senate-oks-statewide-immigrant-sanctuary-bill-002029460.html

    • 49erDweet says:

      A state currently building a bullet train running between a landfill and a cattle yard is never going to be logical or relevant, so it’s no big deal. Feewlings are always more important than governance.

  9. elliesmom says:

    Have any men been made the scapegoat for Obama’s misdeeds? Lois Lerner at the IRS and now Susan Rice. Rahm Emmanuel gets to be Mayor of Chicago. Eric Holder moves back into a cushy law firm after being in contempt of Congress.

  10. mothy67 says:

    I need to address the parents that let their kid walk to my hose alone at 543 am. That cannot be right. It was dark. I was up because of insomnia. I do not want my child answering the door at that hour. Just no. I have plenty. If kid needs some help I have no problem. I deal with my brat. That was a choice. I was 40 when I picked her up. I was almost an adult. Kidding aside I feel for very young parents. I got to be reckless. One time I woke up I could not feel my face or hands. I was absurdly drunk. I looked out the window and saw a huge bridge. I think they call it Golden Gate. I did dumb stuff like wake up in San Fran. I was a student in Philly. Young parents don’t get to fuck up. I will offer but I need to engage the parents. Liv is half black her mom is on new husband and he is white. They just weeks ago had a kid. There could be many issues. Not my place. If Liv needs to be here every morning it has no sting. I can do that. Seriously breakfast for one more makes no difference. I just can’t have a child showing up at 5 am unannounced.it scared me.

    • swanspirit says:

      Make the generic phone call to the parent, tell them you just wanted to make sure they knew where she was, and was it OK you gave her etc etc for breakfast, because she could have allergies, or something. You are absolutely correct in your instinct to want to know what is going on.

  11. Venus says:

  12. DeniseVB says:

    This made me nostalgic for simple third rate burglaries….

  13. cynic says:

    Looking at the picture of Podesta & Rice on Drudge, and I swear, if Podesta curled back his lips, I expect to see vampire fangs. That guy (and his brother is worse, if possible) is one creepy-looking dude.

    • lateblum says:

      I know… He looks as if he’s preparing to take a bite out of her neck. Pure creepiness.

    • lateblum says:

      Too bad this doesn’t make the MSM “reports” today. It is really a strong endorsement of her involvement and guilt imo.

  14. mothy67 says:

    Kid wanting gymnastics. Everything seemed to expensive. Like 12,000 a year. I said baby I love you I cannot. Premier called me after at least 20 emails. Its 181 for three months. Her fist class is free then its 120 as 1/3 has gone by. My dwarf is so annoying. All she does is back flips and hand stands. Non stop. I wanted to give gymnastics. 12000 a year was not possible. 60 bucks a month. I am in heaven.

  15. votermom says:

    • Constance says:

      My old Nook from 2008 just finally died last night. So is this the amazon reader you would buy? I have to get something.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        How large is your nook library?You might want to make sure you can still access your nook books so another question for those that have kindles would be can you access the nook books using the android app?

        I can read my kindle books on my nook using the android app (it is a nook hd generation so a bit newer than yours) .

        If the Kindle does not let you access your nook books, you might want to look at a small Android tablet that is not as locked down as a kindle although if you are looking for the b/w ereader Kindle is the remaining big player although I think you can still purchase a Nook Glow.

        Nook has a new small tablet (not the Galaxy line Samsung does for BN- smaller) so that might also be an option. From what I have seen on the tech sites it must be closest to my hd in size and weight.

  16. DeniseVB says:

    Wow, proof MichelleO wore wigs, lol? This is not a bad look, wonder why she didn’t embrace her natural hair?

    • cynic says:

      Well, I have poker straight hair that I curl with lots of products, and a curling iron.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I survived childhood with never ending Toni perms and Mamie Eisenhower bangs. Whoever thought that was a good look for little girls should be shot, lol !

        • lateblum says:

          Just reading ^this^ makes me laugh out loud. When I was in the 4th grade, my mother, who was a brilliant woman, but a little slow in the beauty business, gave me a Toni perm. She left the rods in for hours and when she finally took them out, I looked like I’d stepped on a live wire!! She was so mortified by my appearance that she kept me out of school until she could get me an appointment with a hairdresser who “straightened the mess out”. OMG ! we still laugh about it in my family. My brothers, who didn’t especially like going to school kept asking her to do it to them so they could stay home. 😀 😀 😀
          BTW: She never touched anyone’s hair (to cut or curl) from that point on.

          • DeniseVB says:

            I’ve had a few of those, lol ! If the last one didn’t “take” Mom would leave the rollers in for twice the time for my next torture session 😀

    • mcnorman says:

      Perhaps wearing the full fro would have made her resemble Angela Davis more?

  17. AFVet says:

    If in fact France has no extradition policy, Obama is on a sanctuary island.

  18. Dora says:

  19. Venus says:

    MSM is in full cover up/bury Susan Rice story — even as it is being reported that she ordered charts of all Trump associate communications (yeah it wasn’t just “incidental collection”).
    Too bad for them they haven’t learned 2 things:
    1. Trump ALWAYS makes them paint themselves into a corner before revealing the next bit of info to destroy the current narrative (note how we went from there was no wiretapping of Trump to it was incidental surveillance, and now spreadsheets on Trump associates ); and
    2. Trump is GWB or Romney or Jeb! There will be grand juries and indictments and trials and convictions. The MSM will not be able to cover it up.

  20. lyn says:

    Stolen from a MOTUS comment:

  21. DandyTIger says:

    Apparently Trump retweeting Drudge has triggered the progs. LOL

  22. helenk3 says:

    I guess it is in the eye of the beholder.
    the movie 1984 will be opening in theaters this week as a protest against Trump.
    to my eye it is the epitome of the backtrack years.
    doublespeak became the language of the day
    up is down and down is up for 8 long years

  23. AFVet says:

  24. DeniseVB says:

    Today’s Surber column is a must, must, MUST read. I felt so much better because he’s a real journalist. Comments are interesting by some people who remember Watergate well. Like “the political equivalent of a panty raid” 😀

    http://donsurber.blogspot.com/2017/04/like-watergate-44-years-ago-obamas.html?spref=tw

  25. lateblum says:

    I’m gonna go vote now. I think I may write in my own name for City Clerk. The incumbent charged the city THOUSANDS of $$ to have his name put into the “Who’s Who of city governments. (They recently found a reported $2M sitting in his offices more than a month after they should’ve been deposited. Maybe he’s more stupid than dishonest. Otherwise, that money would’ve been found in his own accounts.) The other guy has been arrested for multiple wrongful actions (none truly evil) and he’s the one we are supposed to entrust our payments for city services to.
    I have become so cynical that I may have to vote against the referendum increasing taxes for schools and education here.
    The local news has reported that the school population has been on the increase without increasing the funding. They don’t say (outright) that the money has been spent on teaching kids who don’t live here, but attending school here anyway. They also don’t give the numbers of illegals who are currently sending their kids to school in this “sanctuary city” where I live. The same local news – that, by the way, supports the referendum, has reported that the school population is projected to decrease in the next 5 years. So I guess that means the money is being raised to pave the streets in front of the schools?
    BBL

    • gram krakka says:

      Will Pam Anderson & PETA show up naked to protest Ivanka’s neighbor wearing a fur coat?

  26. swanspirit says:

    And now for something completely different!

    https://worldnewsdailyreport.com/woman-arrested-for-training-squirrels-to-attack-her-ex-boyfriend/

    45-year old Janice Smith was arrested this morning by officers of the Detroit Police Department, for allegedly capturing numerous squirrels and training them to attack her former lover.

    The victim, 51-year old James Robinson, was presumably attacked by the rodents on more than a dozen occasions over the last month.

    These attacks caused him many serious injuries, including the loss of two fingers and one testicle, bitten off by his attackers.

    The poor man had no idea why squirrels kept attacking him until he saw his ex-girlfriend, a former circus animal trainer, cheering the animals during one of the attacks.

    “She was partially hidden behind some bushes, but I could clearly see her and hear her. She was yelling orders at the squirrels and telling them to attack me.”

    Realizing that his life could be in danger, Mr Robinson filed a complaint to the police, who paid a visit to Ms. Smith.

    In her residence, they found a dozen cages, holding a total of 27 squirrels. They also found two training dummies with pictures of Mr Robinson taped over their faces.

    Detroit Police Chief James Craig confirmed that Janice Smith had admitted that she was responsible for the attacks and confessed her strange plot.

    “Ms. Smith confessed to capturing and training squirrels to harass and attack her ex-boyfriend. She used to train lions for a circus, so it was easy for her to make the animals do as she wanted. She said she hoped to raise an army of up to 50 or 100 animals.”

Comments are closed.