Lazy Sunday Open Thread


I got nothing.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Suck my toxic masculinity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

138 Responses to Lazy Sunday Open Thread

  1. Dora says:

    Great news!

  2. DandyTIger says:

    Looks like France surrendered to Germany. Again. Macron wins with 65.5% to Le Pen’s 34.5%. Final count will be different, but I’d guess it will be close to that. So parliamentary election next. That will be telling about longer term trends I think.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Le Pen conceded 😦

    • Jadzia says:

      He will be as hated as hollande inside a year. And the French will be stupid enough to elect another dude just like him in 2022.

      • DandyTIger says:

        Yep. And I predict little or no growth and increased unrest because of open borders and the continued cultural degradation. And yet, the citizens won’t change that. Sad!

      • taw46 says:

        Maybe by 2022, they will elect a Muslim.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Well Jadzia, you are our little canary in the coal mine in France. Keep us updated and stay safe !

        It wasn’t that long ago French Fries were renamed Freedom Fries because of some pithy disagreements between a GOP admin and the French admin. 😉

        • Jadzia says:

          I was watching the Ken Burns documentary on Prohibition and learned that sauerkraut was called Liberty Cabbage during the wars.

  3. helenk3 says:

    http://clashdaily.com/2017/05/clash-poll-protesters-game-start-blocking-trains/

    as someone who used to get reports from all over the country about trains hitting trespassers, let me tell you why this is really not a good idea.

    1 it takes about 1/2 mile for a train to stop.
    2 the bodies can look like kibbles and bits when gathered up after being hit.
    3 sometimes it takes a while to identify them
    4 your family will have to have a closed coffin at your funeral.

    Are you really sure this it what you want?

    • helenk3 says:

      this is

    • dm says:

      I can say with absolute certainty that is not what anyone should want. My godson did this the end of March. He had struggled with addiction for years and had been revived twice since the first of the year. He decided not to risk that again. I can’t describe how devastating this has been for me, my family and most of all his family. I’ve never experienced hyperventilation before, but when I got the call from his mother, well, like I said, I can’t really describe my reaction. I’m still struggling and trying to come to terms…but the visual remains and I don’t think it will ever go away.

      • swanspirit says:

        I am so very sorry for your loss. Ihope it gets easier with time, hugs.

      • lateblum says:

        I am so very sorry, dm. No family , no person should suffer as you all have suffered. ❤️

      • Constance says:

        I am sorry for your loss.

      • helenk3 says:

        I am very sorry for your loss. prayers for you and your family,

        I am sorry if my post sounded cold hearted. The pain for both the victim and their family is terrible and is really never forgotten. But their is also pain for the engineer who could not stop the train in time. I have had some sit in my office and cry because they could not stop the train. Nobody wins when this happens

      • helenk3 says:

        I have been on the headend of train when a couple of young men playing chicken with the train laid their heads on the track. God must protect fools and drunks because they did move in time. I can tell you I had nightmares for weeks after it happened

      • Anthony says:

        I am so, so sorry to hear this dm. Try your best to find a place to put the pain where it can’t immobilize you. A place of reverence where, when you have to visit it, his memory will remain sacred. So sorry again

      • lyn says:

        So sorry for your loss, dm. ❤

      • Jadzia says:

        I am so sorry.

      • Underwhelmed says:

        So very sorry. Prayers for you and your family, and for your godson. He is at peace now, freed from his demons. Think of him with love, bathed in light, and be healed as he is healing.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        DM. So sorry for you and his family.

    • 49erDweet says:

      I always worked on the assumption it took a train a half mile to even begin to think about stopping, then another half mile to actually slow down to a crawl. I used to patrol the Eagle Mountain Mine spur line from the Salton Sea for idiots crossing the desert who thought camping between the rails would protect them from snakes. It did, but not so much from 100 cars of iron ore moving downhill.

      • The desert already has so many interesting ways to kill you, so why make more?

        Where else can you almost die from sunstroke during the day and then die from hypothermia that night?

        • 49erDweet says:

          Gotta love an environment that when ya grab a stick to beat down a rattler the hidden prongs in the stick infect you with bad, bad stuff.

  4. Dora says:

    Oh no. What did they do? 😦

  5. Jadzia says:

    Guys, the worst part of this for me personally (if I can be all about me for a moment) is the “Congratulations!” and “Vive La France” emails I am getting from people in America. Who clearly do not know ME at all. I’m just not even responding because what’s the point. I have no friends here, and I have to lie to keep the friends I still have over there. : (

    • DandyTIger says:

      So sorry. Time to scope out new places and big changes. Shake things up. Scary as hell, but it’s something I try to do periodically.

      • Jadzia says:

        I fell in love with Latvia while teaching there a few years ago. It seems like the European countries that suffered from Soviet occupation (East Germany excepted) are the only ones exercising any sense in this whole migrant situation. Because there are still relatively young people in those countries who know what it’s like to be occupied. I would be very interested in the Baltics (also: awesome weather! cold cold cold!), Poland, or Hungary.

        • DandyTIger says:

          I love the Baltics and Poland. Such great people. I got to travel around those areas while working in Vienna for a few years. Good thinking.

        • taw46 says:

          I visited Hungary years ago, it is a beautiful country. And they are fighting against the invasion. I agree with you on all of the countries you mentioned, they don’t want to go back to an occupation.

          My heart breaks for France and all of Europe. I think, why aren’t they fighting back. But then, look how close this country came to the same thing. And it will be a long, hard fight to stop what has been happening here, or at least to slow it down.

        • swanspirit says:

          Maryland’s Eastern Shore is a great place to live, but the weather might not be cold enough for you.

      • gram krakka says:

        Periodically I have also reinvented myself. Doing so while responsible for children can be a very difficult decision. Sometimes I felt like I had no choice but to make big changes, such as when I divorced my daughter’s father when she was six. He was putting her in situations that could have caused her to be temporarily put in child protective custody. The final straw was when she was with him when he took a felony level five-finger shopping discount just after I left town for a week business trip. That scared me into deciding that I had to break up my family in order to save her.

        My next reinvention will likely have to wait until my Aspie grandkids are older. Although if we home school my grandson I would like to take him on the road for a year of online / RV school. I would love for him to experience exploring west coast tidal pools, the wonder of the Avenue of the Giants, Yellowstone and other wonders of our wonderful country.

        When my daughter graduated from law school I bought her a 4-Runner and we took a 8500 mile road trip exploring the western third of the US. I currently have a bad case of the wonderlust and am itchin to get back on the road again. Maybe I can take the boy on a long road trip next summer.

    • DeniseVB says:

      You’ll always have friends here ❤

  6. foxyladi14 says:

    This is terrible, I so hoped she would Win.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Round 3 ? I guess it’s for the winner’s legislature ? Interesting thread……

    • Jadzia says:

      It’s a weak president system. So if marine had won she would not have been able to govern. Not a problem for macron since his so called party, which has no other office holders, is really a Trojan horse for hollandes sp.

  8. NewOrleans says:

    R.I.P. France.

  9. 1539days says:

    Congratulations to Macron and his very affectionate mother.

  10. Dora says:

    • Jadzia says:

      Is that the Syrian flag? It is displayed outside a local business and I was wondering.

  11. Dora says:

  12. Dora says:

    Oh look! There goes Bernie!

  13. gram krakka says:

    Macron’s teacher-wife looks a lot like Mary Kay Letourneau. Also didn’t Newt Gingrich marry his much older teacher as soon as he graduated from high school? As my dear departed hubby liked to say, “if you don’t do it right the first time, a teacher will make you do it over and over again till you get it right”.

    http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/video/mary-kay-letourneau-fualaau-vili-fualaau-interivew-couple-30224200

  14. Dora says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      All he needed to say, can’t wait to check out all his troll commenters who’ll have nothing to attack 😉

  15. gram krakka says:

    Well time to get up close and personal with some weed – the mowing kind. Guess this will have to be my road trip for now. It is blazing hot and sunny here in Texas.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Pretend the weeds are all growing on the center line of a lonely road in West Texas and you’re just our for a casual stroll to New Mexico.

      Yeah. Doesn’t work for me, either.

  16. DeniseVB says:

    Always about her. Maybe Le Pen lost because of misogyny ? Nah, that’s only for Hill’s excuse….

  17. DeniseVB says:

  18. Dora says:

    I am watching Lou Dobbs where they are discussing the French election and I just learned that Emmanuel Macron has a stepson 2 years older than himself. Now that’s weird.

  19. DeniseVB says:

    No surprise that Hillary’s Hollywood Droolers are jumping on the anti-Le Pen bandwagon too.

  20. dm says:

    Thank you all for your kind words above. And no, Helen I didn’t take offense at your post. This has been weighing heavy on me since it happened. Not sure why I responded to your post, it really didn’t relate other than the part about the train…guess this whole processing thing has its ups and downs…but again, thank you all. This is a very caring group of people here and while I don’t post much, I do catch up with you all everyday…you have no idea how much this place cheers me up.

    • helenk3 says:

      DM
      when something like this happens the hurt takes a long time to ease for all involved.
      Everybody wonders what could have been done differently.
      May God bless you and ease your pain

    • DeniseVB says:

      dm, how I hurt for you since my own dd’s been battling demons and addictions for several years now. Fortunately we seem to be back in the recovery cycle and she’s flourishing with a new job with many perks including travel all over the country with a supportive, loving baby daddy and family in Queens who supports her. I follow most of the local NYC media on social media. My heart still jumps to my throat when I see a “subway jumper” fatality headline.

  21. helenk3 says:

    http://www.campusreform.org/?ID=9141
    wealthy campuses getting worried about tax exemptions

    considering the poor job of educating being done, they should lose any exemptions

  22. jenlyn says:

    Francis is dead it will never recover all people who care about their personal safety and the women in their lives must move and leave I will never return to France it’s scary and the scariest thing of all is we could have been there something in us said push on fight another day but it’s almost like it’s not almost like it is a sickness it’s like touch the burning stove again and again till not only is your hand burned but your whole arm is burned off and even then touch it again and touch it again and touch it again the saddest thing is that we have to listen to it and watch it. they’ve got a form of insanity they don’t see it I guess they don’t feel the burn but I’m watching it and it’s like they’re killing themselves Slowly and dont feel it don’t they see it utter insanity and I’m sad because I knew the liberal assholes would rejoice shame Shame on France shame on the world thank God we have Trump

  23. Jadzia says:

    There is so much interesting stuff on this thread ! I’ll respond to it all tonight. It’s a national holiday (irony alert, it’s victoire de 1945 day ), and I am taking the kids to futuroscope, which has no politics and no cable tv, instead of letting them reenact lord of the flies in my living room while I work all day, which is what we did this weekend and last weekend.

  24. NewOrleans says:

    Haha!

  25. DandyTIger says:

    A little fun at identity politics:

  26. Dora says:

    He’s Back.

  27. CiscoKid says:

    Long Derby day.
    Terrific sleep and wake up to such terrible news, but congratulations anyway to the “islamic caliphate of france” and your imamin macron. ☪🇫🇷☪

  28. DeniseVB says:

    She’s spunky.

  29. Dora says:

    • DeniseVB says:

      Sometimes I think President Trump is the only one working in DC. His busy brain doesn’t seem to have an Off switch either, I don’t think he can totally relax on his “vacations”. If the media wants to whine about the “costs” flying him home, why not compare the number of work hours for every hour of golf compared to Obama’s slap-happy rounds with junior aides?

    • CiscoKid says:

      Well! The day definitely got 🌞
      🚂🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸

  30. DeniseVB says:

    Some sanity on the French election…..

  31. taw46 says:

  32. votermom says:

    Sorry, France.

    Jadzia, how long is Macron’s term?

  33. votermom says:

  34. Dora says:

  35. taw46 says:

    “Islam is never out of the news. Never have I experienced a time when Islam and Muslims have been discussed daily in the news, social media sites, the water cooler and even the hairdressers. There are atrocities being committed in the name of Islam right across the world, pretty much every single day, and probably as I write these very words.

    Some say it has “nothing to do with Islam”; some cannily hedge their bets and say it has “something to do with Islam” and some say it has “everything to do with Islam”. The bickering continues with insults, threats and deaths to silence any honest and grown up discussion around Islam.

    Sitting on the fence gives you a sore behind so I say it has everything to do with Islam and the mullahs and sheikhs who control their communities, and tell us that all our problems can be solved by reading a 1,400 year old book about violence, conquest and intolerance.”

    • mothy67 says:

      Watching the Night of on HBO. Only on episode 2, but thus far it is playing islamophobia. I have known many people of that faith. Worked and got drunk with many. Wasn’t until the flood over the last few years that I took much notice. Now we have Winter festivities no Christmas. I don’t even know if there is a woman in hajib with two things if I can offer her to go before me. I’m just a bit tired of having to be the one accommodating. You came to another country and culture. Why do these prog geniuses think mass importation of a foreign culture works.

  36. Dora says:

    What a phony!

  37. DeniseVB says:

    Another prestigious award bites the dust. Courage? What, for kite surfing? Also, Caroline got to parade her son (JFK’s ONLY GRANDSON!!!) like a show pony, media swoons.

    http://www.weaselzippers.us/337702-barack-obama-awarded-john-f-kennedy-profile-in-courage-award

  38. DeniseVB says:

    Photo round-up from the Kennedy Library. JFK is probably rolling in his grave…….WTF for Letterman doing there? I thought he was the world’s most famous recluse now?

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4483246/Barack-Obama-honored-JFK-Profile-Courage-award.html?ITO=1490

    • CiscoKid says:

      Good catch!
      That’s the picture I was looking for. I knew I had seen it somewhere.

    • CiscoKid says:

      A comment I read.
      “The next nuclear armed muslim nation will be France.”

  39. Dora says:

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Scuttlebutt is that the usher that was shown the door, in addition to not getting on well with most of the WH staff in general and not understanding her actual duties such as serving the current boss not the former boss, was engaging in(to put it politely) oversharing tall tales to outsiders.

  40. mothy67 says:

    Yippy. Cell phone insurance covers replacement. Child was devastated I was going to get her a flip phone. Really not her fault life force case says its water proof. Buying that expensive of a phone was silly for a 10 year old. I should have known better. I get impulsive.

    • taw46 says:

      Tim, thanks for recommending Big Little Lies, I watched it yesterday. It was so good, I didn’t want it to end! I liked all of those women. And a great soundtrack. I saw where they asked Liane Moriarty if she could write more material to have a Season 2 (she’s thinking about it). I have mixed feelings about that. As much as I liked the characters, I think I would rather they leave it as the one season.

  41. Dora says:

  42. helenk3 says:

    way off topic
    i was reading a book and at a dinner they served
    pumpkin pie in a maple pecan pie crust. I had never heard of this. I looked on computer and found this

    maple pecan pie crust
    1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
    1/2 cup pecans
    1/2 cup rolled oats
    1/4 cup oil
    2 tbsp maple syrup

    place flour in 9″ pie pan. place pecans and the oats in a blender and grind into powder. combine pecan oat mixture with the flour in the pie pan

    slowly stir in the oil. mix with fork until oil is thoroughly incorp into flour mix
    stir in maple syrup. mix just enough to blend well and form a dough the will hold together when pressed

    press the dough in an even thickness against the sides and bottom of the pan Poke holes in bottom and sides of the crust. bake at 375 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown. let crust cool before filling

    a lot of work but it does sound good. I am going to try this

  43. Mt.Laurel says:

    I’ve done both a pecan nut topping/layer with a pumpkin pie. The crust variation should come out nicely – pumpkin melds well with the nutty flavor and you get a nice crunchy & creamy texture mix. The advantage of going the pecan topping is you can cheat and use a frozen pumpkin pie if you have to come up with something to serve/take to a event and are limited for time. I got the idea from a McCalls cookbook my father bought me decades ago but here is one from online that is similar.

    http://www.bhg.com/recipe/pies/pecan-topped-pumpkin-pie//

Comments are closed.