Post-Truth

Diogenes with his lamp and dog


Historians in the future (assuming anybody survives) will call this era the “De-Enlightenment” and describe how civilization crashed and burned, triggering a new dark age.

CCW Cooke:

The Comey Divide

I had an interesting conversation last night with a fellow critic of President Trump’s. He was irritated that I had insisted that those watching the Comey situation remain “skeptical but not hysterical.” Now, he said, is “the time to be hysterical.”

I’ve been trying to understand why he was so vexed, and I think I’ve worked it out: He has assumed — and built into his thinking — that there is a huge Russia scandal in the background of all this. And I haven’t. I certainly think it’s possible that this goes deeper, and I remain as mistrustful toward this administration as I ever was. But I’m not going to credit theories about Watergate-level conspiracies without evidence, and my friend is. That’s the line that divides us.

That being so, his approach makes sense. If, like my friend, you are convinced that Trump is guilty and that we are just waiting for the smoking gun, you will work backwards from that point and conclude that Trump is obviously getting in the way of the investigation, and that this is obviously Watergate. If you aren’t sure that there is a big scandal looming, you’re likely to be circumspect and happy to watch it play out as a process.


Once upon a time some of the smartest men on the planet pondered and argued about the meaning of “truth” and searched for empirical facts. We’re post-truth now.

Did Trump collude with Russia? Why was Comey fired? Is gender “fluid?” Was Trayvon murdered? Did Mike Brown have his hands up? Is Hillary the rightful President? Is global warming real?

It doesn’t matter. The facts are irrelevant. No investigation will suffice to put the matter to rest. Nobody cares about truth anymore.

The only thing that matter is which side you are on. Are you with us? Or are you with them?

When the doctrine of allegiance to party can utterly up-end a man’s moral constitution and make a temporary fool of him besides, what excuse are you going to offer for preaching it, teaching it, extending it, perpetuating it? Shall you say, the best good of the country demands allegiance to party? Shall you also say it demands that a man kick his truth and his conscience into the gutter, and become a mouthing lunatic, besides? – Mark Twain


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Denn die Todten reiten Schnell.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

159 Responses to Post-Truth

  1. votermom says:

    this is so evil I couldn’t finish reading the article

  2. votermom says:

    these look like fun beach reading freebies

  3. Ann says:

    We got gas across the street from this camp the last time we were in Paris (not the smartest move we made on our trip) two years ago. And it was huge then! I cannot imagine what it was like at the size they cleared.

    Is this for show? Did the French government actually learn something from the election this past weekend? Where did those 1600 people go? And, where will they set up tents next?

    http://www.breitbart.com/london/2017/05/10/paris-largest-migrant-camp-evacuated-police/

    • taw46 says:

      I think it is just for show. They have already cleared other areas in the past, but they just pop up somewhere else. I remember last year about one in the wealthy area near the Arc de Triomphe. They were going to build permanent shelters in the park across the street from the very expensive housing. Wonder if they are still there?

      • Jadzia says:

        You’re right: it’s a game of whack-a-mole. I think they should be moved into the palais d’elysee, but hey, I’m just a crank.

  4. DandyTIger says:

    Truth?, we don’t need no stinking truth.

  5. mothy67 says:

    I am buying clothes for me today. Okay I lie. I am buying clothes so I don’t look like a slob at 5th grade music concert. . I need plain white tees.

    • votermom says:

      I need more jeans.

      • elliesmom says:

        I need more clothes, period. It’s great to lose weight, but even my underwear is falling down. lol

        • blowme0bama says:

          That’s why you shouldn’t throw away old clothes.

          • Jadzia says:

            As a former somewhat-hoarder of clothes that “I know will fit again someday,” I disagree. If you lose enough weight that you need new clothes, you deserve something that’s new and in style! Not low-waisted boot-cut jeans from 2005.

          • blowme0bama says:

            Sure, why use what you have when you can spend money, huh?

          • Jadzia says:

            No, I just don’t want to look like I am trapped in the fashions of a decade ago. It’s a very unfortunate look because not only do some styles not look very good in retrospect–sometimes clothes don’t look as good when you’re ten years older, even if you’re technically the same size. See: my velvet halter top purchased back in law school. There’s nothing wrong with spending money on clothes manufactured during this century, and I have plenty of other things in my life that get used until they fall apart.

          • blowme0bama says:

            If you hadn’t bought whatever was trendy 10 years ago, you’d have something wearable now.

          • Jadzia says:

            Thanks for the fashion advice. I assume that you cut your own hair and never spend any money ever on anything that a random stranger might disapprove of.

          • blowme0bama says:

            Any time! :thumbsup:

          • votermom says:

            Omg Jadzi I am right now old wearing low waist boot cut jeans that are falling down! 😂

        • votermom says:

          congrats on the weight loss EM!

          • elliesmom says:

            Thank you! I’ve lost 40 lbs so far. I’m trying to only acquire what I need to comfortably get through the season because the scale is still moving down. I don’t feel guilty about spending money on new things because I donate the good stuff that doesn’t fit to a local women’s shelter. When I gained the weight, I gave them my “professional” wardrobe. Even if I had kept it, it wouldn’t be appropriate for my life out here in the boonies, and it provided other women with clothes to look for and get a good job in.

        • mothy67 says:

          When Shay started new Tae Kwon Do I was not comfortable leaving her there. You have to take your shoes off. My socks were a disgrace. I had to buy socks. It’s not money. I just don’t think about that stuff. I am going to get a hair cut as soon as the mail arrives. I usually cut it myself. I am going all out today.

          • lateblum says:

            Go for it, Tim. And have a GREAT time at the spring concert. ❤

            Shay may not remember that you were there (in the future) but she will never forget if you weren't.

          • mothy67 says:

            I always go. They suck.

          • lateblum says:

            I am happy for both you and Shay. I’ve attended my share of sucky spring concerts and now I miss them because it’s only parents and sibs who can attend my gbaby’s spring concert (due to the limited seating).
            (One time I left the hospital AMA to attend dd#1’s Christmas concert. My doctor called to say her visit was going to be delayed until the afternoon. So I left for the concert. I told the hospital staff to contact me at home if I needed to return for discharge in the afternoon. lol)

      • DeniseVB says:

        I live in Pajama Jeans. I can buy them through Amazon too !

    • driguana says:

      Living in South Florida, I try to wear as few clothes as possible. Helps with the clothes thing.

  6. helenk3 says:

    http://www.dcclothesline.com/2017/05/11/study-nearly-half-of-white-working-class-americans-feel-like-strangers-in-their-own-country/

    It was not this bad during the 60s when all the protests were going on.
    It looks like the bill ayres of the country are winning

    • Constance says:

      The Ayres types are not winning. They rely on the rest of us being passive and quiet but they have provoked enough of us that the push back is starting. That started with Trumps election. I can’t wait to see what happens with the delusional media. With the ability of people to cut the cable cord and pay for only the content they want converging with the media going bat shit crazy and becoming unwatchable there should be some big changes just around the corner.

  7. helenk3 says:

    http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2017/05/draining_the_swamp_is_entertaining.html

    draining the swamp is entertaining
    sit back and enjoy the ride

    • lyn says:

      I wrote that yesterday for a FB comment: Trump hate blinds people.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      The anger runs deep as It is not just that they cannot accept that Hillary lost – it is that they were so sure in their views that they never even considered the possibility that Trump could win. They were already working on furthering their take down of the USA as a nation and imposing those murky and oppressive global ideals and having someone come along and tell them to cut out the crap – they simply are unable to process that theirs is not the one true way of all things. Like a toddler that is given anything and everything he demands by his parents and then runs into a grandparent that says whoa – no way.

  8. Great post, myiq. I think you’ve got the proverbial nail on the head.

  9. helenk3 says:

    http://americanlookout.com/rms-awesome-trump-releases-video-of-hypocritical-democrats-video/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

    you have to watch this video

    I think trump is having fun watching the dems trip all over themselves now

  10. helenk3 says:

    http://www.campusreform.org/?ID=9163

    I do not think I would send a kid to college in this country today. No education and a waste of hard earned money. I would investigate colleges in other countries where they still want kids to learn

    • DeniseVB says:

      They called him a “Nazi Coon” ? LOL, that convinced me that CAIR should be designated a Racist Terrorist organization. Thanks Obama !

  11. Dora says:

    Damn Them!

    • lateblum says:

      … and on the radio, they reported on the protests.
      They spoke with a few people who were against the removal of the statues. And cut off the reasons those people were against this action. Of course, this only lends some kind of credibility to the idea that people who are against the removal of anything Confederate in nature, are racist bigots.
      Pissed me off, I tell you.

  12. helenk3 says:

    I have watched dems dance around and never give a straight answer to questions about why they are so mad when they get what they wanted. They are so busy hating trump and doing all they can to obstruct him, that they do not even begin to understand the damage they are doing to this country. I am not even sure that they care about it.

    • Constance says:

      It is true that Dems don’t care about our country. I think they are so mad because President Trump displayed power by firing Comey and Progressives crave power.. Anytime they have to see evidence of Trumps power they dissolve into spewing their hatred and outrage. They are so out of control and unaware of how they appear it is really entertaining in a perverse way.

  13. lyn says:

    Excellent post! Is it true that Obama sealed his college records? If so, why?

  14. lyn says:

    ANIMAL rights campaigners are hunting a foolhardy angler seen squirming NAKED on the back of a shark in what appears to be a bizarre trophy photo.

    University of Florida American football coach Jim McElwain has denied it is him following a flood of false internet rumours.

    https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/3526704/hunt-angler-posed-for-naked-trophy-photo-shark/

  15. DeniseVB says:

    Good article…..from Carson to Colbert. With the exception of Rickles, Rivers and Dangerfield, I just don’t find angry comedians funny. BTW, Carson was a conservative and hosted one of the Reagan Inaugural balls in the 80’s. The author is right, you would have never guessed because he poked fun at whoever was in power.

  16. Dora says:

  17. mothy67 says:

    I went to Macy’s cause kid has a show. I live in sweats have nothing casual decent. 125 I got two pair of levis, two cotton button downs, two T’s and flip flops. The prices are really cheap.
    On the way home we stopped at Wendy’s. I got the baconater. Never again. So much bacon. I might die. It’s really disgusting. A ton of bacon on two patties of meat slathered with mayo. I could not finish. It had bacon. So much bacon.

  18. helenk3 says:

    http://www.lifezette.com/polizette/grover-norquist-irs-commissioner-fired-next/?utm_content=bufferb7303&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

    why do I think that trump will wait until the dems calm down from comey and then hit them with this guy? timing is everything.

    • mothy67 says:

      I have been wondering over the past few days if Hillary had shown some grace and let him move on with his agenda if he would have given her a pass. He is the president of the United States. He has not attacked her. She came out of the woods screeching. Were I him I would direct the full force of the office to take her down. She hit first. The Russia thing is so fucking annoying. She was Secretary of State. She is undermining everything. She lost because she sucked. That 9/11 video should have been the end.

  19. driguana says:

    Been trying to watch some of the so-called congressional hearings that are on now but it is incredibly frustrating. Everyone attacks the other side, no one is willing to say anything factual, So no one says anything of any importance. Plus, many of them seemingly lie. So why is it that we elect these people and pay the salaries of these worthless federal employees??? It really is time to get rid of them…and start over…and train the pawns. Love your post. Hello to all.

  20. helenk3 says:

    watching the democrats on tv today, I had this thought. It is like the democratic party that I belonged to and believed in has been corrupted by syphilis. It is a sick corruption of a party that is supposed to be good for this county and give a voice to many Americans

    • driguana says:

      Well said. I was wondering what made them look so horrid. It really is hard to watch. Interesting, though, that now both of our major political parties are toast. There is no Democrat party as we have known it and Trump is certainly not a Republican. And who would want to belong to that political quagmire anyway? So what is going to emerge from all of this, do you think? For years people have made fun of anyone who thinks a third party might be a viable option but, perhaps, the time has come. Wondering further if Trump may not, in fact, do that…create a whole new political party. Call me crazy…but nothing is as it seems.

  21. driguana says:

    Oh, and yes…”The foundation of every state is the education of its youth.” Diogenes

  22. Dora says:

  23. helenk3 says:

    the story no one is talking about

  24. CiscoKid says:

    Well here’s my contribution to the “stupidest thing I’ve read”
    Political correctness strikes again.
    http://lawofficer.com/news/seattle-police-change-suspect-to-community-member-on-reports/

    • mothy67 says:

      Do victims ever get outraged in Seattle. I was good friends with the niece of former mayor Charlie Royer back in the 80’s. They seemed so normal, but I guess he started it. Everything I hear about the place is bizarre. I know people in their 30’s that camp. They have no address. Not enough pot on earth. Is crime bad there?

      • CiscoKid says:

        First it was offender, then suspect, then person of interest and now community member.

      • Constance says:

        Most of the crime in Seattle is confined to certain neighborhoods. Mayor Murray, a liberal idiot, has decided not to run for reelection (Thank you Jesus) as he has been accused by 4 men of paying them for sex when they were drug addicted teenagers, the scandal has put too much strain on Murray’s husband (or he was strong armed by Dem Powers That Be) . So now we have a hyper-active rabid commie city council woman, and a bunch of other Progressive twits lined up to run. I think they have to file by next week. Meanwhile the parks are turned into homeless squalor camps, drug addiction (not to pot) is out of control and the Libs sit around thinking up how too freeze rents and raise property tax (I’m not making this up). The minimum wage is now steadily rising to $15./hr so all the waiters get paid $15. and all the restaurants have a percentage “service fee” added on to the bill but they still expect tips. A middle class 50 year old 3 bedroom 1 and 3/4 bath home costs $750,000. The largest public high school in the city which is in a good neighborhood has a drop out rate of over 30%. I think Seattle is right on the edge of going full Detroit.

        • lateblum says:

          That is so sad. Tragic, really. I remember many years ago when Seattle was just the best place to live as well as to visit. Now, I’m looking forward to a visit in a town just outside Seattle. But I think I’ll forgo the trip to the Market.

          • Constance says:

            They have improved the Seattle piers so that cruise ships can dock close to downtown on their way to Alaska and cruise season has started so Pike Place Market is absolutely stuffed with people. There are now a lot of really nice neighborhood Saturday markets that are a good alternative the one in the University District is near my house. There are also some nice art and craft fairs in places like Edmonds and Kirkland and the one in Anacortes is really nice. The tourist trip I have settled into is drive to Anacortes and take the ferry to Friday Harbor (I leave my car in the parking lot and walk on the ferry that way you can get back without waiting in line). Then walk around and shop and go out for dinner then hit the winery right by the ferry dock which pours 10 wine tastes for $5. then stumble onto the Ferry where you mostly sober up in time to drive home. My guests seem to love it.

  25. DeniseVB says:

    If I ever move back to California, I want to live in his district ❤

  26. mothy67 says:

    Peoples on my twitter feed are mad Last Man Standing got cancelled. I’ve only seen it a few times but it was middle of the road not conservative. He did make fun of hillary. Ratings were good. They trashed espn I guess global agenda trumps shareholders.

  27. votermom says:

    OT I’m so impressed with how hard KTY is studying for her first AP text tomorrow. She’s been really heads down in her lessons for weeks. I hope she does ok.

  28. Dora says:

    Not surprised.

    ==

    Bangladesh prime minister says Clinton personally pressured her to help foundation donor
    by Sara A. Carter

    http://circa.com/politics/clinton-pressured-bangladesh-prime-minister-personally-to-help-foundation-donor

  29. Dora says:

    They already know it! Grrrrr!

    ===

    Before being fired, Comey told Congress that Russian probe targets didn’t include Trump
    by John Solomon

    Congressional officials were told by FBI Director James Comey before he was fired that there are just a small number of Americans who are targets of the criminal or counterintelligence probes involving Russia and that none were President Trump or his top aides, Circa has confirmed.

    http://circa.com/politics/accountability/james-comey-told-congressional-officials-that-trump-wasnt-a-russian-probe-target

  30. MOM! He got more than me! Waaaaaaaah!

    • DeniseVB says:

      Obama told us to stop eating steak to cut down on cow farts that are harming the environment, his former chef came out saying Obama ate a lot of steaks in 8 years.

      So far Trump hasn’t told me what to eat or what not to, but I’ll have what he’s having 🙂

    • Venus says:

      Moron who thinks Trump staged a coup against himself by firing Comey has more worthless insights.

  31. lateblum says:

    So Condi Rice was on The View Tuesday. And for all I know, this has already been posted. But if not,, and if you want to watch the entire 10 minutes of her appearance, here is the link…
    If you want to watch the part that focuses on the election, it starts around 5:30 (ish) in the video.

    http://www.bizpacreview.com/2017/05/10/condoleezza-rice-destroys-view-harpies-saying-election-hacked-489452

  32. Dora says:

  33. Jadzia says:

    This guy must have tenure. It’s a really interesting piece about why, as a philosopher, he voted for Trump: http://www.thecritique.com/articles/why-i-voted-for-trump/

  34. mothy67 says:

    So through voting commission Trump will have the addresses of millions of illegals and they have all committed a crime. Well done California. Well done.

  35. NewOrleans says:

    Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach will co-chair President Donald Trump’s new Commission on Election Integrity – and Dems are PISSED!

    #Winning!

    • lateblum says:

      Shoot . . . they’d be pissed regardless of who he named to the commission. They are just the pissiest group of pols in the history of the republic.

    • Constance says:

      Love that ridiculous Progressive outrage. It makes them do such stupid stuff!

  36. lyn says:

    Free on prime … I haven’t laughed this hard in a long time.

  37. DeniseVB says:

    Fun find ! This blog that covers all cable news networks. Good reads…..

    http://johnnydollar.us/20170511/thursday-links-and-open-thread-102/

  38. DeniseVB says:

    A personal best on twit?

  39. John Denney says:

    “The coming of the lawless one will be in accordance with how Satan works. He will use all sorts of displays of power through signs and wonders that serve the lie, and all the ways that wickedness deceives those who are perishing. They perish because they refused to love the truth and so be saved.” – 2 Thessalonians 2:10-11 (NIV)

  40. swanspirit says:

    I 💛 Diogenes. Always have. I sort of took the day off today, it being my birthday. I just wanted to completely relax, and not get worked up over politics today. DJT, will still be POTUS tomorrow.🗽💛

  41. AFVet says:

    Go get ‘um Sarah.

    • kanaughty says:

      she’s good! makes her argument with facts plainly and doesn’t let anyone interrupt her in making her case.

  42. AFVet says:

  43. WEAKELY COUNTY, Tenn. — A Weakely County woman was arrested after reportedly following Congressman David Kustoff Office: Representative (R-TN 8th District) and then threatening him.

    Police say Wendi Wright followed a car down Highway 45 Monday afternoon.

    Inside the car were Congressman Kustoff and aide Marianne Dunavant.

    Wright reportedly followed the car after it left a town hall on the UT Martin campus.

    A police report states Kustoff and Dunavant felt they were in danger of being forced off the road.

    When they pulled into the driveway of someone they know, Wright reportedly ran to the car and screamed while banging on the car and reaching in.

    She then reportedly blocked the car until police were called and she ran away.

    Wright later posted about the incident on her Facebook account.

    She is charged with felony reckless endangerment.

  44. mothy67 says:

    Kids concerts should be used as a deterrent to crime.

  45. AFVet says:

  46. mothy67 says:

    Rewatching Westworld. I like it on second viewing.

  47. NewOrleans says:

    Ahahahahahaha!

    • kanaughty says:

      actually a metaphorical quote coming from someone who wore sunglasses in dark rooms or at night sometimes. it’s like he also wanted to hide from his own truths or demons. his voice was amazing.

  48. mothy67 says:

    I have a gut feeling there is going to be hell to pay in DC and hillary is tip of iceberg. They are freaking disproportionately to what Trump has done. She threw first punch. All she had to do was lose with grace..

    • mothy67 says:

      I wonder if that would work. My sister in law whispered to me she was voting for Trump. I said we are in my living room no one can hear us. Now if he were to sit in working class bar and just listen. No leading questions. Just take it in he might learn something.

Comments are closed.