Oldie, but a Goodie, A Lesson in Mass Immigration

Love our blog, but starting to feel like a blog ho, for reals. Ok, I’m over it…next up, must watch ! Then Open Thread!

And do remember the reason for the season, remembering the fallen who protected our right to blog on ….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

159 Responses to Oldie, but a Goodie, A Lesson in Mass Immigration

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Probably should have reversed the photos/stories above? I know we all love the troops here, no biggy, and what Daddy (myiq) gets when he leaves me the keys to his car. /snork

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Lower photo is the Korean War Memorial in DC. It’s really chilling, in a good way, to see in person. My Dad served in WW2, Korea and Vietnam, I’m like this when I visit the DC memorials….sorta 😉

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      Those are two of my favorite places on the Mall. I find that daylight enhances the experience for the Vietnam Memorial as you can take your time and walk along and read each name while searching out those you might have known (or in my case knew parents or younger siblings). On the other hand, the Korean Memorial really comes alive after dark and in bad weather as you realize what they need to accomplish and under what conditions.

  3. Dora says:

    Caught in another lie.

  4. Dora says:

    Heartbreaking.

  5. gram krakka says:

    Thanks for the new post, Denise. For Memorial Day ” He Aint Heavy”. I can’t help but cry every time I hear this. As one of the youngest members of my large extended family, it has been my responsibility and privilege to help care for many diseased, dying and dead family members for much of my adult life. This weekend I am thinking about how much I miss them.

    And thankful for those who made the ultimate sacrifice so that we can live freely in the greatest country there has been on this planet. We aren’t perfect, but we are still the greatest beacon of hope to many who just want the opportunity for a better life. Thank you, our white men forefathers who fought for and established our Democratic Republic. And thank you Trump for MAGA!

  6. DeniseVB says:

    I’ve been whinning for a year my Mom Cave doesn’t have a good reading light. Hubby found a lovely ad w/$50 coupon, tooting the best reading light evAH. Brand: Microsun. Found it on vm’s Amazon page….$650 ??? Yikesy! Going back to a new search now…. 🙂

    • lyn says:

      I love this floor lamp. I have two, and they are made in America.

      https://www.hubbardtonforge.com/products/242161

      • DeniseVB says:

        Had a floor lamp for years, until it fell over and tried to kill me. Still looking for that perfect night table lamp, that just sits there and lets me read my book 🙂

        • Jadzia says:

          Ha ha. I have been looking for a pretty floor lamp FOREVER (the kind that kind of curves over?) because my house has a HUGE (but cozy) landing on the 2nd floor and I would love to have a little reading nook there with a comfy armchair and a footrest. The lighting is only indirect (there’s a window high up on the wall where light comes through the bathroom that is attached to one of the bedrooms), so lighting is necessary. Unfortunately the wiring is very weird and the electricity only stays on for 2 minutes at a time there (I suspect this “feature” was put in to keep the landlord’s kids from keeping the lights on all the livelong day) and 3 years of requests to my husband to call an electrician to change it up have resulted in no call being made.

          My HS boyfriend says I should just hire the most expensive electrician I can find and leave the bill on his (husband’s) desk. : )

    • 49erDweet says:

      The design standard for your cave might be a tad too plush. My local hardware store has a bunch from $39.99 up to $99.99..

      • DeniseVB says:

        Just want a *brighter* lamp ! 😉

        • 49erDweet says:

          Get the lamp you like and then get a brighter bulb for the lamp you like. Solved!!!!

        • elliesmom says:

          I have an Otto light in my lady cave. It’s between my sewing machine and the sofa where I curl up to read. It’s a floor lamp, but you can get table models. I like it because I can put different kind of bulbs in it. For sewing and reading, I choose the “daylight” bulb. There are brighter versions, but this one is easiest on my eyes if I’m going to sewing for long periods of time.

  7. 49erDweet says:

    When you have to post signs like this……….we are doomed!! https://twitter.com/AwardsDarwin/status/868788790097215488

  8. mothy67 says:

    Lady walking her poodle meets me outside watching kids on hover boards. She went to offer a neighborly bromide. I said they suck. I hate kids. They are awful. Only one is mine and depending on the hour I can despise her too. . She laughed. I was just in no mood to pass sidewalk pleasantries. I am an asshole. She is my new best friend. Female construction manager tough as nails. Smart, mother of a 22 year old. Entire family marines. I have no friends. Pre obama I had loads. Gay suburban Republican pseudo dad does not equate with popularity. Makes it really special if you as a gay man are raising a kid but speaks out against gay parenting. Yeah the gay mafia hates me. My brat I wish had a stable home. She didn’t. I did what I had to do. Our situation is unique. You don’t get to be bored and have a kid. Kids suck. They are not a distraction. So many of my friends want what I have. I think they think a child is going to the good stuff. Yes right now fifth grade graduation is over the top fun stuff. Picnics, parties, concerts, sleep aways. Brats are moving on to a next phase. I love being a part of it. No one gives a shit I am gay great uncle. We stood together all those years ago after first day of kindergarten. My homo friends that are jealous. I think many have so much to give but a kid is not a package. It’s the hardest job ever. Involves shit– literally shit. Wiping an ass is not fun. You sit up all night on the floor near her crib in fear of SIDS. Then a new fear comes along. You are never free from worry

  9. Dora says:

    Eric gets it.

  10. Dora says:

    Still wearing her yellow suit. 🙂

  11. lateblum says:

    Jadzia
    Wordpress wouldn’t let me answer your comment about the OXO shower caddy. Perhaps the comments were closed. I don’t know.
    Anyway, what I tried to say was “Just let me know what you decide to do”.
    Please bear in mind I will be away and not online much while I’m in VT. So If I don’t respond to you, Keep trying,

    • Jadzia says:

      Thanks! It is certainly NOT a pressing issue–what I really should do is look through every caddy at Amazon France to make sure that there isn’t some other company that makes one with the same design features. So…. I’ll put that on my list.

  12. helenk3 says:

    when I was a kid, we sold paper poppies for the VFW. today many people do not know any thing about them and what they stood for

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      The local VFW was very close to our grade school and the veterans would often serve as backup play ground monitors especially as our playgrounds were right at the street. In junior high it was one of the places we would spend Fridays (Fridays were our service days and were spent helping at nursing homes, the hospital, the Salvation Army, Veterans, etc.). We always wore poppies on our uniforms on and around both November 11th – and May 30th but I am sure that would now be considered offensive.

  13. AFVet says:

  14. The ironic part is that is Shaun King’s mother.

  15. helenk3 says:

    random thought
    we have men and women in harms way in many places in the world. But how much do you hear about that in the news? very little. Most people are not even paying attention to that fact.
    For the last 8 years there was more concern about who could use what bathroom , then what is happening to our military. Spending cuts made such a shortage of equipment that spare parts were used to keep planes flying. The people of this country have to get more involved and aware of just what is happening to our military. We can not keep up just thinking about them on holidays. They are in harms way 365 days a year. They deserve much better from us.

    just my opinion

    • jenlyn says:

      Helen yes they do I’m able to send out emails to a large amount of people and tonight I sent out my remember the gift email. I always have to be careful not to be too patriotic because people will complain that I’m racist unbelievable but true. Anyway I always get these responses from veterans and their families that make me cry. Tonight I got one and I’ve been crying thinking about all the things that have been done for us all the men and women who are permanently disfigured injured suffer from post trauma stress disorder are given substandard Medical Care have to stand in line have to wait for it have roaches in their food and these are the heroes Among Us these are the people who’ve given the Ultimate gift and put their life on the line. Tonight in response to my simple email thanking these men and women for their gifts to this country and every person who lives here one of them wrote me back and told me how much he appreciated my words and then even though many have forgotten he would do it all again he’s in his eighties. There will come a time and it is just around the corner the men and women like this will no longer exist. Thank a veteran thank them personally write a letter go to the VA find a family do it it will change your life I have to go back to crying now

    • foxyladi14 says:

      I agree Helen.

  16. lyn says:

    http://www.youngcons.com/have-a-cool-heineken-with-a-side-of-open-borders/

    • lyn says:

      He’s an Obamadick. I wish Trump would have goosed him … maybe next time.

    • taw46 says:

      Trying to show Mommy he’s a big, strong boy.

    • Jadzia says:

      SEE? That’s what I was telling you guys. : )

      BTW, watching the news on TV this morning? They are STILL running footage of the damn handshake. Macron is like Regina George at this point: “Why are you so obsessed with me?” and the big fake smile.

      • mothy67 says:

        I am genuflecting for ever and a day beyond infinity sprinkled with a dash of eternity times 10.
        Mean Girls quotes are second only to Breakfast Club Regina George???? So fetch. Everytime I read a chelsea tweet I think she is so fetch.
        Love Love Love Love some lawyer lady with a brood of sniffles in French countryside aligning with my anguish. I celebrate you.. you love Breakfast Club. You do know I also love St Elmos Fire. I love to sing it.

        • Jadzia says:

          I LOVED St. Elmo’s Fire. I identified with the Rob Lowe character, mostly because we both played the sax. : )

  17. Dora says:

  18. Butthurted NeverTrumper

  19. taw46 says:

    Kissing Merkel’s feet? Sucking her toes?

  20. helenk3 says:

    tomorrow morning at 7:30 est TCM will be showing Never So Few. This is the only movie that touches on the CBI theater of war during WW2. This is where my father was. I did not know what he went through until I saw a documentary on it. The English were building the Burma Road and the Americans were building the Ledo Road to join with it. The purpose was to bring supplies to China to fight against the Japanese. I remember him telling me that they had as much trouble with the Chinese Warlords attacking our convoys and stealing supplies as they did with the Japanese. But since China was supposed to be working with us, the public was never told about this.
    I think about that when I read about some of the muslims we train turning on us. Same thing

  21. mothy67 says:

    I heard Clairton mill may be going to full capacity. It’s the largest coke plant in the world. Never shut down, but reduced. I was raised in Clairton. City of Prayer. Deerhunter was set there. My older brother, Jim (yep they did Jim and Tim) is friends with mayor. Rumor has it that clean urines are hard to find. It has been since 1980 that mill was doing its best. I haven’t lived there since 1981. My family did and I saw a community die. Under Trump it is springing back to life. American steel might become a thing again. Its just beginning to perchlorate. I pop into river daughter. She is only about pharma. Pittsburgh is yuuuuuge with pharma. Tech period.she might be too old. Her skill set might block her. Sad but true. My sister in law works for epipen. She is THE person at HR. Older people are not always assets. Not that experience doesn’t count. It all has to be weighted. Travel is a big deal.
    Just saying Dan, my youngest brother, got a two year degree in CAD. He works hard makes 6 figures on a two year degree. Steve makes 90 an hour. Casey (sister) lives in Florida and clies to Pittsburgh once a month. Jim is vp at a yuuuge dollar store. I am the loser and I have enough to take care of crud. We used neighbor’s newspaper to wipe our asses. I still remember carpenter ants eating mold covered walls in a shack. We did not die. There were no free lunches. I got to be a ghey in that mess. We survived. I always had hope. Do the kids under o have hope???
    What is it like now to be poor? We had a TV it just didn’t work. Friday’s was payday. We ate that night. Once a week. We made up stories that would be on the TV. I went to Purdue on a full scholarship. I would walk on my clothes in the shower and iron them dry. Someday I will ask my mom why we had a shower but no toilet. I never got that. One day after several days of really bad storms the bathroom fell off the house. Crud cried in fear I was going to get her a flip phone. I had no phone. She has iPhone 7 plus.

  22. Dora says:

  23. Dora says:

    There was no official statement from the US Secret Service or The White House.

  24. lyn says:

    Religions don’t recommend public mutilations (above) or the bombing of teenagers, religions don’t operate murderous militia, nor do they operate corrupt judiciaries or demand the subjugation of women and the killing of gays, nor the sexual mutilation of little girls, nor do they regulate the conditions under which its loyal subjects can shag goats.

    [It is within Koranic law that a Muslim’s livestock can be sexually penetrated but the livestock that has experienced penetration cannot be eaten by the household, but amazingly it can lawfully be sold to another village, or those who are unaware of the penetration.]

    http://pickeringpost.com/story/-/7197

  25. mothy67 says:

    I feel compelled to share this. Not sure why I need to express it now but I feel driven.
    It was April 15, 1992. I remember the day because of taxes. I woke up there was smoke everywhere. I thought it was my fault. Guilt not fear was my first reaction. I threw water next to my sink. No hiss just smoke. I ran into the hallway. I have had suicidal ideations all my life. I thought this is it just lay down. No one will know. Go to sleep. Die in peace. Something savage took over me I went up two floors and pounded on a door. Mother asleep with two kids. They got out. I had nothing. Not even shoes. I walked to payless and had to beg to buy shoes. I was in my socks. I went to work. A few months went by my insurance paid off. I was walking by Liberty Travel on 8thI said how much to London she said when I said now. I flew out that night. I had never been to another country. I just went on a caprice. I had a passport because Temple has a Rome campus and I almost went. I went to London alone. Loved it. Lived in a hostel.
    Wonder why I feel the need to relate this story? I have better.

  26. John Cole:

    I did get pulled over, though, and that is the first time I have been pulled over since 1995. I was on 119 right near the East 22 exit, and the highway splits off in three directions and drops from 70 to 45 in about 300 ft while downhill, and I was breaking to get to 45, but you can’t just slam on your brakes on a highway, so I was still speeding and got pulled over.

    Fortunately, I have the whole whiteness thing going so I got off with just a warning (he didn’t even tell me how fast I was going), but I was still kind of irritated I was pulled over for such shitty design. At any rate, I treated the cop like I treat all police when I interact with them, which is that they are pretty well trained to shoot me and inadequately trained in everything else. Pulled over far off to the right so I was almost in the culvert so he would feel safe with enough room, turned my hazards on, turned off the car, rolled down the front and back window (since the back window is tinted), put the keys in sight on the dashboard, and just kept my hands on the steering wheel and let him do all the talking. Took about five minutes and I was off.

    Again, whiteness is good. I also think having a clean car really helps. They can see everything in the vehicle and don’t have to worry about guns hidden anywhere.

    Some people don’t like interacting with their moral and intellectual inferiors.

    Cops don’t have a choice.

  27. “Chaos”

  28. CiscoKid says:

    On the South side of Chicago there’s a brown marble slab surrounded by a waist high chain link fence. To be exact it’s located at 91st & Brandon within the small parish of Our Lady of Guadalupe.
    On this dark piece of marble eight names are inscribed, eight young men who answered America’s call to arms, volunteers each and every one. Each one killed-in-action while serving in The Republic of VietNam. Did I know each one personally, no, just a couple, but it was a small neighborhood we knew of each other. Same high-school, same soda shop, same church. Touch football on the streets and basketball in the church gym.
    I’m getting up in age and I don’t know how many more times I tell the story. I’m not complaining, I’ve been blessed with a long and prosperous life.
    On this Memorial Day 2017 I want to remember…
    Pvt. Antonio G. Chavez Jr. KIA,1967
    L/Cpl Peter Rodriguez KIA, 1968
    Pfc. Joseph A. Quiroz KIA, 11966
    Pfc. Michael Miranda KIA, 1969
    Pfc. Charles Urdiales Jr. KIA, 1968
    L/Cpl Edward Cervantes KIA 1968
    Pfc. Alfred Urdiales KIA 1968
    Pfc. Dennis J. Rodriguez KIA 1969
    Thank you for listening, over and out.

  29. Jadzia says:

    I think my kid rolled me today. She lost two teeth yesterday, entitling her to a double payout from our version of the tooth fairy. So I snuck into her room late last night only to find her AWAKE. I gave her a big hug and slid that $ under her pillow.

    This morning, she comes downstairs sobbing. Me: “What’s wrong?” Her: “The petite souris took my teeth and didn’t give me anything!”

    I go upstairs and of course, the $ is NOWHERE TO BE FOUND. I tore the bed apart and looked under it, the whole nine yards, and ended up borrowing another 2-euro piece from her brother (with strict instructions that this was a TOP SECRET MISSION) so that I could “find” the money while she was out of the room.

    And now I am wondering if she just pocketed the first coin and got paid twice.

  30. mothy67 says:

    My brother Steve just discovered how working middle class gets fucked I the ass without lube.
    He is union his daughter is exploring college. He found out he is fucked. She is only a junior, but I guess they have apps.
    She gets zero in financial aid. My union bro cannot believe it. I paid taxes blah blah blah. My kid this and that. I don’t know reality but the app gives zero. I am paying one year at a state school. Only tuition and only state school. That is 25%
    I think its a big gift. I will not pay for Penn State but any small state school. I am game. I jumped on 529 train decades ago. I can actually do 3.5 years at a state school for my niece. Steve does not know. He thinks I am a cunt only willing to give a little. 529 accounts you pay tuition at rate it is when you buy. I charged ten thousand when Lex was born. I never told Steve. He is my “air force” baby bro. He had to go to Berlin on Sept 12, 2001. I was never giving him shit about a college fund. Just so funny his girl is a year away. He is going neurotic. He has no idea Lex has a fund. It was 20 k in 2001. 529 accounts buy tuition at current price. I will buy one year, my parents will buy one year. She has 20k from 2001. Excluding room and board I think we have college covered with no debt.

  31. mothy67 says:

    Jadzia
    One song changed my life.
    I was outside of a restaurant with kid waiting for a ride. They had outside speakers Baby Baby by Amy Grant came on. I was pissy having a fag. My child who is not my child started dancing. I melted. I could summon no sarcasm. Its just so simple a song you can’t hate it. Clean. Respectful. Seems silly but I know my baby more because of a dumb song.

    • Jadzia says:

      Amy Grant was so beautiful, too.

      • mothy67 says:

        My monster aka Sharon aka mom thinks its hilarious I love Amy Grant. In high school she took all my Led Zep. It was satan music. I am 50 love Led Zep, ozzy, Amy, Dolly. I never got grundge no deep analysis it just didn’t speak to me. Its all so beaten. I adore Turner never as a homo got cher or Babs. I love Evergreen but that’s it. Many of my prog friends are just discovering life sucks. They are 50 and hiding bottles of pinot grigio in neighbors isn’t working. Kids suck. Well snowflake kids do suck. Some are on Celexa. SSRIs are devils work. They should be used short term with a pro following. They are not magic. Well heeled friends despise we of the deplorable but pop several pills a day. My affluent friends all have kids dosed. I may not be model parent but I never allow my kid to quit anything. She hated clarinet and to be fair its not her. I made her finish and then we went to sax. My elite friends allow their kids to quit everything. It’s always someone elses fault. One friend has taken her son to John’s Hopkins five times. He is a bed wetter.
        I said did you try saying don’t pee the bed. She did he stopped. After a billion dollars.
        Watching very rich kids with banal parents is trippy. They think because of a bank account the kids are special. Lots of Chelsea’s and Fatty Matty Yglasias out there. Dull half wits. My kid cannot do math like me. She will finish 5th without ever getting a B. It is work. Worth it but there have been tears. My friends allow kids to leave if it becomes hard. Run away. It is least common denominator faultfor being racist or islamalhobic or something. Not this guy. Sit your ass down. We will figure it out. I was on the phone with a friend I told Shay I do not give a flying fuck she cleans her room or I take her 900 dollar phone away. Do not care end of discussion. My “friend” was annoyed I said fuck. That is child abuse. Okay I tend to be salty. I drop more than the occasional f bomb. I am an asshole. My kid is not a frequent flyer at pharmacy. She has a red belt two stripes. I talk to pup. You treat your kid like he is an experiment. So many drugs. News flash they are all monsters and special you don’t sedate because at 50 parenting got hard. Parenting sucks. I mean really bed wetting. It can be an awful sign but it can also be simple stop peeing in your bed. Shayla had one night. This kid
        stopped after hours of therapy when his mom said it has to stop.
        I am so blessed. Child is a good slug. I never felt sorry for her. We rolled with the punches. Today is May 29 or something like that. Still not one Christmas present from her parents. Its not an issue. Kid is adjusted. She has a shrink. I leave nothing to chance.

        • Jadzia says:

          We both have (had, in my case) moms named Sharon, but you probably already knew that.

          Do not get me started on drugging kids. My ex-husband has had our son drugged since he was about 8 and NOBODY seems to think this is a problem. What is worse, though, is that he (my son) now thinks of himself as having some kind of a disability, when in reality he was just a normal boy who would get restless in class. That label is one he’s going to believe in for a lifetime, and I think it’s far more damaging than the actual medication, which he will be able to make his own decision about in 2 months and 1 day.

          Quitting activities is a conundrum. I don’t tell my kids that they can “never” quit, but they are certainly not allowed to quit the second they don’t feel like practicing. So instead, they have to at the very least finish out either the lessons that I paid for or the school year–which generally turns out to be the same length of time. I let my oldest daughter quit dance after 1 year because she wanted to play tennis instead, which she LOVES and will continue with. I am also letting my second son quit piano at the end of this year because he absolutely hates it, he is miserable, the (awesome) teacher realizes it’s not working out, and he does 2 other activities anyway (chess club and theater). Plus the youngest will be old enough at the beginning of next school year to just take his lesson slot.

  32. Dora says:

    I think she is getting on peoples’ nerves. 🙂

  33. Dora says:

    Talk about mass immigration. Yikes!

    • taw46 says:

      I think they get this same number just about every day. European ships actually sail to Libya and pick them up just off shore. Crazy.

  34. Dora says:

    An oldie but goodie.

  35. Dora says:

    Fmr. Thatcher Aide: NATO Leaders’ Treatment of Trump ‘Absolutely Appalling’

    Nile Gardiner said that NATO leaders acted in an “absolutely appalling” way toward President Trump.

    Gardiner, an aide to late British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, said he was disgusted at leaders who were caught smirking and chuckling during Trump’s speech.

    http://insider.foxnews.com/2017/05/27/nato-leaders-laugh-trump-appalling-nile-gardiner-says-belgium-france-luxembourg

  36. DeniseVB says:

    True.

  37. DeniseVB says:

    Yep !

  38. DeniseVB says:

    I love when the liberal media’s fake news collides 🙂

  39. DeniseVB says:

    Ha !

  40. DeniseVB says:

    This made me lolz this morning….

  41. DeniseVB says:

    Good luck France !

  42. Dora says:

  43. taw46 says:

  44. DeniseVB says:

    About those mystery red strobe lights seen inside the White House? This was the best explanation I could find…..this is used to sweep for bugging devices …..

    http://www.securityandselfdefensestore.com/products/bug-detectors/1327-spy-camera-detector-lens-reflector.html

  45. DeniseVB says:

    Some days I just love Twitter, ask and you shall receive !

    • DeniseVB says:

      I wonder if she got a big fat donation from Kimberly-Clark to make this tweet? I think women without “access” to personal hygiene products have bigger problems than free-bleeding, like staying alive?

  46. taw46 says:

    • Jadzia says:

      I wonder how hard it is to learn Polish? It’s gotta be easier than Hungarian. The only Pole-from-Poland I know is super duper multilingual.

  47. DeniseVB says:

    Works for me 🙂 A phobia is an irrational fear, losing your head is not……

  48. AFVet says:

    Rolling Thunder.
    T-Rex rolls through at 1:53.

  49. taw46 says:

    Our President just walked out for the speeches and received warm welcome and lots of applause.

  50. DeniseVB says:

    New Thread Up ! Thanks Anthony!!

  51. Mary says:

    Chappasquach–I love it! 🙂

Comments are closed.