Overnight Open Thread


This should hold y’all until I get up tomorrow.


About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Weed will get you thru times of no money better than money will get you thru times of no weed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

140 Responses to Overnight Open Thread

    • votermom says:

      Blame globalism, not Ivanka. All the more reason to bring manufacturing back to the US

      • lyn says:

        Yes! Let’s do Apple again and Nike next.

      • mcnorman says:

        Such utter horse manure…the work is what it is. It is monotonous but not difficult. You work piece by piece. Lots of noise and heat. I remember Levi relocating locally. It was a sweat shop that was a wee bit better than now because they gave you a gym to work out your frustrations. Eventually, they left. It was work with benefits. It should be brought back to the USA.

      • Jadzia says:

        My HS best friend’s mom, who was something like 30 when we were sophomores (you do the math), had a good job for YEARS in the Arrow factory up in Maine, and believe me, she wasn’t getting paid a fortune, but she was able to pay her rent and live a dignified working-class type of life between her salary and what her manual-laborer husband made. Not everybody is going to go to college and get a STEM degree and not everybody is physically equipped to do something like work construction instead. I often wonder how she is making it these days.

    • swanspirit says:

      PT Buma, a Korean-owned garment company started in Indonesia in 1999, is one of the suppliers of G-III Apparel Group, the wholesale manufacturer for prominent fashion brands including Trump’s clothing.

      Gee, they don’t bother to mention any other brand, now do they?

    • swanspirit says:

      G-III apparel , or why they didn’t mention any other brands specifically

      An entrepreneurial culture flows throughout the organization at G-III. It has been essential in driving its diversification efforts and has enabled it to change its business model from being solely an outerwear producer to becoming a diversified apparel company. Today, G-III is proud to have a comprehensive portfolio of over 30 licensed and proprietary brands, including Calvin Klein, Donna Karan, Kenneth Cole, Cole Haan, Guess?, Tommy Hilfiger, Karl Lagerfeld, Levi’s, Dockers, Jessica Simpson, Vince Camuto, Ellen Tracy, Kensie, Ivanka Trump, and G.H. Bass, among others. G-III also has licenses with the four major professional sports leagues, as well as over 100 U.S. colleges and universities. In addition, G-III currently designs, manufactures and markets an extensive range of apparel, including outerwear, dresses, sportswear, beachwear, women’s suits and women’s performance wear, as well as luggage and women’s handbags, small leather goods and various accessories.

  1. helenk3 says:

    for all of the males here , please be very careful of this

    • mcnorman says:

      And that should have been the first thing pointed out about Mueller. You have a litany of paperwork and HR sessions that you must get through before you ever sit down at a desk.

    • lateblum says:

      I find it the height of irony that the DOJ actually has a ethics policy. One would never know it given the actions taken – or not – in the last 8+ years.

      • CiscoKid says:

        Apologies for getting back so late.
        Good thing your a/c in, weather staying in high 90’s all this week, little rain, maybe.
        🌧🌞🌧

        • lateblum says:

          Thanks, Cisco. I’m ok. The temps here were 69 when I awoke this morning! Praise the Lord.

    • Jadzia says:

      Here, the Boy Scouts is a very, very religious thing. (They’re called something a little bit different than the “Boy Scouts,” but that’s what they are.) Like WAYYYY more religious than in the States. My crazy Catholic neighbor(*) has her boys in it.

      (*)This is my half-American, Trump-loving neighbor who is ambivalent about Brexit because she is, and I quote, “not in favor of democracy.” It was a real conversation-stopper. But she is just about my only friend here, so something I overlook some of the shit that comes out of her mouth. I half-suspect that we might be related, but that’s a whole ‘nother thing.

      • Jadzia says:

        SomeTIMES I overlook the shit that comes out of her mouth.

        I’ve just worked an 11 hour day and this is my “coffee break” before the night shift starts.

    • Lulu says:

      Being old enough to have seen weather change daily for decades because it is supposed to change daily, duh!, the Druid approach of sacrificing live valuable animals, human beings, using trinkets as talismans, wearing peculiar unpractical clothing and pointy hats, building big stone creepy buildings, giving up your harvest, etc to make it rain, make it stop raining, create the perfect equinox, throw summer festivals to have lots of babies, and stop the Roman legions from overrunning the place, doesn’t work. Also not being a history illiterate nor a New Age religionist of very pagan like practices for superstitious ignorant loons helps. The sunspots appear and disappear whether I have air conditioning or not. The sun does not care.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I remember in the 70’s the Ice Age was making a comeback ! Probably one of the weirdest things I’ve read recently was a comment saying we could never appreciate Global Warming if we have air conditioning. Ya know, Feel the Burn 😛

        • taw46 says:

          It’s called summer, and I know what it feels like, because we grew up without a/c. And we didn’t live near a river or lake. And no one had a swimming pool. I still remember waking up in the middle of the night, hot and sweaty. No thanks, I will keep my a/c.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Me too. No a/c, no dishwasher, no dryer (just clotheslines). How did I ever survive growing up in a real life sweat shop? 😛

          • taw46 says:

            I remember the clothes lines. When you took the clothes down, they were stiff as a board. 😊 And my sister and I having to wash dishes everyday.

          • AFVet says:

            Yep, wringer washer and clotheslines.
            No motor on the lawnmower either.

          • Jadzia says:

            Welcome to my life. NOBODY has A/C here, including me. And the summers are very, very, very hot. It suuuucks. I miss my grandma’s little house in Texas, where she kept the AC on full blast and it was like 50 degrees in her house in the summertime. We would come in from the pool and after 30 seconds we’d have icicles hanging from the tips of our noses.

          • elliesmom says:

            I have a dryer, but I still have a clothesline. There are just somethings that I like to dry outside the dryer. like wet soppy bathing suits and clothes that shrink in . I’m not stupid about it. I don’t use it much in the winter.

        • lateblum says:

          Believe me, I thought yesterday might be my last on earth – it was so bloody hot in my place. I’ve learned to pull the window shades down years ago, and have fans going and stick my feet in cool water (thanks, swannie) and use the tricks that everyone so generously left for me. But I never felt better than when the AC finally kicked on and I stood in front of those AC units.
          To hell with those global warming warnings and the people who try to shame us into living the way they would never dream of living. I grew up without AC or clothes dryers, too. I do not plan to die without using what is available to me when I need it. As they say, “life is short” and I’d like to live with some small degree of comfort while I can.
          Once again, THANK YOU to everyone who left tips and tricks to get through that heat yesterday.

      • swanspirit says:

        But the summer festivals are fun, so I heard.

    • Lulu says:

      I know a woman who married a guy 35 years older than her. She was thirty and he was 65 when they got married. She is now 60 with a walker, can’t drive or do anything, and he is 95, still driving (a tricked out pickup), very sharp and active going to the old folks gym every day and socializing. He eats lunch out with his cronies and leaves her in her dirty, junky part of the house alone everyday. LOL. He will not die and she has fallen apart.

  2. Dora says:

    I do hope that Barron is allowed to enjoy his childhood.

    ==

    Barron Trump Is America’s Newest Fashion Icon

    “Barron Trump is lighting the fashion world on fire…Observers on social media noted that his appearance as a normal everyday person is why Americans connect with him…Anything the President’s totally chill son wears is probably going to find an audience.”

    https://heatst.com/politics/barron-trump-is-americas-newest-fashion-icon/

  3. votermom says:

  4. DeniseVB says:

    I didn’t know Scott Brown was confirmed as Ambassador to New Zealand ? Worthless media.

    http://thehill.com/blogs/floor-action/senate/337000-senate-confirms-scott-brown-as-trump-ambassador

    • DeniseVB says:

      Did some snooping, seems the Dems are forcing full votes on the Amb noms, that is, the ones who DJT “nominated” correctly ? It was an article on CNN, of course, made no sense.

  5. taw46 says:

    This is a CNN article, but read it to learn about the five appointed by Mueller, their campaign donations to Hillary and the Dems. Also, one represented Clinton Foundation and Clinton herself. One represented Clinton aide who managed her emails. Sure sounds partisan to me.

    http://www.cnn.com/2017/06/12/politics/robert-mueller-donations-democrats-fec/index.html

    • Lulu says:

      Rosenstein (Dep Atty Gen) who appointed Mueller must fire him for conflict of interest with pretty much everybody as he kissed Obama’s ass. If he won’t Rosenstein must be fired. Then Sessions must do it. If he won’t Trump has to fire Sessions. Lawyers are supposed to know and do better than this shit. The DOJ is run like a in-bred family business on crack.

    • AFVet says:

      That whole operation is a set-up.
      They need someone from fly-over country to head that up.
      To hell with these Washington elitists.

  6. Dora says:

    I don’t always agree with Podhoretz, but I’ve never known him to be so childish. The entire Trump Family has these progs going out of their minds.

    ===

    Liberal NY Post writer calls Ivanka Trump a ‘filthy liar,’ mocks her appearance. It backfired hard.

    http://www.theblaze.com/news/2017/06/12/liberal-ny-post-writer-calls-ivanka-trump-a-filthy-liar-mocks-her-appearance-it-backfired-hard/

  7. Dora says:

    • Lulu says:

      So call Trump that. Ivanka didn’t say anything about either men. Transfer aggression like a monkey being mad at the alpha male and hitting a baby monkey. The weak beta outs himself.

    • Jadzia says:

      I would hate to be responsible for half the shit that came out of my (dearly departed) father’s mouth. We all loved him a lot, but sometimes I thought that a muzzle would have been a wise investment. He got fired once because of that mouth!

    • 49erDweet says:

      ….and Podhoretz pauses a moment to clear the spittle from his mouth and chin….

  8. elliesmom says:

    Aww! Country living! Ellie and I loaded the car up to take the trash to the transfer station. Gates closed and 5 or 6 cars waiting in line to get in. A bear family was having a picnic. Since they were only on the first course, we came home. We’ll try again in a couple of hours.

    • elliesmom says:

      I accidentally left Ellie an escape route when I took the lawn mower out of the garage this morning. She was probably gone about 20 minutes and came home with one of the big Milkbone dog biscuits.

  9. Bye NYC! Until next time… 😘

    A post shared by Ivanka Trump (@ivankatrump) on

  10. DeniseVB says:

    VA Primary is trending on twitter right now. I’m voting for Frank Wagner(Trump’s state chair) and Jill Vogel, but Ed Gillispie will probably win.

  11. mothy67 says:

    I am trying to be as open as I can be.
    Pup had 17 in her class. Two homerooms and two schools. Maybe 80 in her grade.
    I have known the kids since pre k.
    I was wondering how I would react if one became transgender. We, as in parents, have been on a long road. We have seen each other almost daily.
    My niece goes to one of those huge multi neighborhood schools. She says there is one transgender. Its a mammoth school. I asked her how she felt. This was between her and I. No one feels pain. No onevis made feel less than.
    Just an uncle chatting with his niece.
    Lex will be 18 in November she is a senior. I am her uncle. Regular uncle, not like pup where I am great uncle.
    I said honestly what does your gut say about the trans student. Lex has never not known me as anything but her gay uncle. It is such a non issue. I am just offering her take. Not any psych eval. She feels the boy being a girl is an attention hound and she finds it offensive. This comes from a young woman whose father is a Buddhist. She has always known me as gay. There is no homophobia in my world unless I don’t get what I want. Then I call all my brothers fa g bashers.
    Also I filed a complaint with the state against her school. Lex will be 12th. She had a yuuuge load. AP and college classes. You have to pay for community college classes. Full price. They go to big schools and teach regular classes. Any kid after 10th can enrol. I think its about 500 a class. Shay goes to a small school so she would have to go to the actual campus. Lex has thousands in her class. I don’t know if they offer financial aid. This is different than AP. Its college classes taught in high school. You pay. Lex right now says she wants to be a vet. 500 now for a bullshit intro to lit is a bargain.
    Well college isca big deal with my white trash clan. Lex has never gotten a B. We are dreadful people that hope for our kids.
    I was going through some of Alexis stuff. I said you need to talk to guidance counselor. Ask her what schools are a good fit and what is financially reasonable. Chicklett was looking to me as a resource. I was intoxicated at 17 when Purdue offered me a ride. I was a dishwasher. I got drunk with waitresses everynight. I talk with Lex. I said go to guidance counselor. She left multiple notes and emails. No response. Its her fucking job. Guide kids thus the name guidance counselor. Not shit. I detest frivolous lawsuits but I am hitting her school. Lex left letters under the door. No response. She is straight A’s. What the fuck is someone being paid 125,000 a year doing if she ignores top talent.
    Lex realistically needs to attend a state school. She got ivy league minimum score on sats. She can go to Penn State for next to nothing. My bro wants elite. He did not have her take SAT prep. I offered to pay. He lied. She did something bogus online. She just barely hit the ivy league cut off. Its a great score but not enough for Stanford

    • votermom says:

      Ivy League min SAT is just for super-diverse minority students with great sob stories.
      And state schools are a lot better than Ivy League imo – bigger chance the kid won’t get indoctrinated into the commie free shit army.

      • mothy67 says:

        We are outhouse poor. Everything is about kids. Steve just wants the best he can give to his child. I want shay to go to Purdue.

        • votermom says:

          I don’t know where I want KTY to go. She thinks she wants to do nursing because she thinks she can travel. She’s in the top 5 of her class right now I think.
          What’s a good solid nursing school for kid with good grades?

          • votermom says:

            KTY was working off the list for her “wanna visit” list.
            John Hopkins – Baltimore riots was my first reaction
            She will apply to UPenn but I doubt if she’ll be accepted (I actually hope she isn;t precisely because of the whole $$$ivy$$$ issue)

            By the way, I’ve been saying we should get her DNA tested with that ancestry.com thing – with any luck she has half a percent black or native american and then she can check the magic diversity box…

          • mothy67 says:

            My mom quit school at 15. Had a litter. 6 kids. Went to community. She worked (and did not like) Dennis Miller’s mom. She ended up being some exec for an insurance company. Her education was less than a grand.
            I loved college. Being honest I want my baby to have the experience. Same with my niece. Lex wants to be a vet. She is not nurturing designs to unseat Megyn Kelly. No need to dump a ton of cash undergrad. Pennsylvania has many state schools. Problem is they got into real estate. Housing is so steep. My nephew went to California of PA. Tuition plus housing was more than Purdue out of state with housing.
            My siblings and I place much value on education. We were that poor. I think college is kind of silly unless you are stem. I was a lit/film major. English lit. Somehow the only things I can talk about are Dostoyevsky and Kafka. They did not write in english.
            I want my kid to just have that time. Those 4 spoiled years. Let her find out who she wants to be.
            I got so lucky. I had gone to 3 high schools. I missed 112 days my senior year. I had to go to summer school to make up the time. It was 1984. People did not want to say gay out loud. Was different then. I got a brochure filled it out on a caprice. One time I did homework. We had lost yet another home. New school. Physics teacher told me I could not be in his class because the method of teaching was different. He said basically my prior school taught from back of text he was teaching from front. I could never catch up. Silly, silly, silly man it was Thanksgiving weekend. I completed the entire text in four days. Every question front to back, back to front. I did it in ink just to spite him.
            Anyhow I wasn’t thinking about college. My parents made 21,000 the year I graduated. We was po. Letter came in mail. Purdue and a scholarship. I had not to my knowledge applied. God only knows the forms I filled out back then. I did okay on tests. Had my name been obama or clinton I would have perhaps enjoyed ivy league. I did 1410 back when perfect was 1600. I was 16 and still drunk from the night before. Sober I might have gotten 900. I never in my wildest dreams thought I could go off to college. I relished in door plumbing. I so wanted an izod shirt. Alligator polos were for the betters. Came home one day after washing dIshes and there was a yuuuuge welcome letter. Welcome to Purdue.
            I was so young and afraid. I had a yellow walkman and I laid in my bed everynight listening to self hypnosis. I wanted so much to be straight and normal. I would chant every night I am straight. It is so silly now but I transfered because I didn’t want my friends to know I was a ghey.
            Blah blah blah. Kid is a new story. I want her to go away and be enriched. She can even join a sorority. I want Purdue. I am so challenged I combed Indiana websites for jobs. I can become a CNA, a pharm tech, an EMS and sell my umbilical cord to soros. Shay will get in state. I have to have George Soros baby.

      • Jadzia says:

        I went to one of those snooty schools as an undergrad. (Not Ivy League, but top ten.) It’s not worth it unless you are a literal genius or you are already well-connected and want to go to school with “your kind of people” who will make up your network in the future. Note: you are not let into that network unless you went to the right kind of high school or prep school and/or have the right parents.

        Basically, for working-class kids, the elite schools are a trap. ESPECIALLY if student loans are in any way involved. I had a lot of classmates who you probably have heard of and a lot of others who have had awesome but less public careers. Almost every single one of them (I can think of exactly 2 exceptions off the top of my head) came into college with their ticket in life already punched. The ones like me? Mostly went back to where they came from and spent the next 10-15 years struggling to pay off the loans.

        I have heard similar stories from working-class alums of the Ivies. That they were miserable while they were there and even if they did well, the brand-name diploma didn’t help them much in the end.

        • Ann says:

          It may be different today, but Hubby went to an Ivy League school for his undergrad. Hubby is very smart and very driven. His parents were not born in the United States but did become American citizens (before he was born). They were middle class (his father worked at Ford, his mother was a seamstress). Hubby loved every second of his undergrad time (conversely, he felt his graduate program was a business exchange – he gave them $100K, they gave him a diploma). He did take out student loans as part of his tuition package and paid them back asap.

          If I die first, he is leaving half of his estate to that Ivy League college. He felt he everything he achieved as an adult was due to the education he received and the connections he made there. Hubby retired at 41.

          If Hubby predeceases me I am cutting that school with the multi-billion dollar slush fund out of the will so fast, it will make the papers flutter. (And I actually like the place – they do a lot of good work… it is just that they don’t need the extra cash.)

          This may be a case of YMMV. (I wrote more about my cousin who went to the same school, but it was kinda redundant so I deleted it.)

          • votermom says:

            I wonder if it’s both true – that the Ivy was pretty good back in your hubby’s day, and not so much now?

          • Jadzia says:

            I agree that there are far more charitable things to do with one’s money than give it to the kind of university that is sitting on an outsized endowment.

  12. taw46 says:

    • Lulu says:

      He reportedly tried to tattle on Sessions too. I guess he forgot about writing memos with those two of his bosses.

  13. foxyladi14 says:

  14. Dora says:

  15. Dora says:

    It breaks my heart to see how they treat this man.

    The audience members who stood and cheered are all SICK!

    • lyn says:

      He seems nice.
      I refuse to embrace the degenerate anti-Tumpers and Democrats.

      • Lulu says:

        That is the “consultant” who was so furious that Jeb wasn’t the nominee and Trump would NOT be giving him any fees that he lost his shit. I think he must have already spent the money that didn’t materialize when Jeb’s payroll ran out before it got to him or something. Now he scrapes by with his anti-Trump sewer mouth and “media” appearances. He is also a freak of some kind because he brain always jumps first to something really perverted and sick. And he projects a lot especially regarding degeneracy.

        • gram krakka says:

          Always wondered if it was Jebby who was the Repub who was the initial client for the dirty Russian dossier. Seems like the media has no curiosity to dig into who first contracted Steele to dig up dirt on Trump.

        • 49erDweet says:

          Bingo! Lulu. You nailed it!!!!!

    • Anthony says:

      That was quite a meltdown lmao. Only thing missing was a stroke 🤣 Maybe tomorrow?
      #HopeSpringsEternal…

  16. Dora says:

    JPMorgan Pulls Ads From NBC News After Megyn Kelly’s “Repulsive” Alex Jones Interview

    While Megyn Kelly’s interview with Russian President (and all around global bad guy if one were to believe the daily barrage of leftist headlines) Vladimir Putin did not raise the ire of advertisers, it appears her interview with right-wing provocateur Alex Jones has lurched from social media firestorm to real-world dollars and cents for NBC News.

    The sit-down has been promoted as a discussion about “controversies and conspiracies.”

    http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2017-06-12/jpmorgan-pulls-ads-nbc-news-after-megyn-kellys-repulsive-interview

  17. mothy67 says:

    I grew up in a town that was 51% black. I love when proggies explain to me what it is like to grow up black.

  18. Dora says:

    Sounds like trouble is coming.

    • lyn says:

      WW III is starting.

      • gram krakka says:

        Been telling my daughter that we have been in a world war for some time now. This time it is a war of ideology – western civilization and democracy vs middle eastern tribalism and theocracy. This is not a war against countries like Germany and Japan in WWII, but against an ideology masquerading as a religion.

        If Putin/Russia had any common sense they would realize that they need to work with us to defeat this common enemy. Russia has much in common with western europe genetically and culturally. The high reproductive rates of Asia and Africa don’t bode well for Europe and Russia. The hungry, low skill hoards are going to migrate west and north and overwhelm western civilization. How can their contributions be greater than their burden to their host countries? How ironic that so many want to migrate to the countries developed by those horrible white men.

    • Anthony says:

      My money is on Poland, Hungary and the Czeks. The pajama boys in Belgium are about to find out how beta they really are lol.

      • lyn says:

        😀 I hope the EU dissolves.

        • Jadzia says:

          The eastern countries are in a tough position. Having spent most of the 20th century occupied, they have an appreciation for their freedom and values and culture that we have lost in Western Europe.

          But they are poor. So many eastern families are surviving economically only because of the free movement within the eu. This is especially true of Poland, which seems to now be doing most of the working class jobs in England and other Western European countries, working here as maids, plumbers, truck drivers, etc. Romania, where my housekeeper is from (she sends money back for her kids and it breaks my heart), is the same way, which is probably why they are not resisting. If the eu decides to make an example of, say, Poland, and revoke the right to live and work in the other member states, that would create real hardship.

      • mcnorman says:

        What’s Angela gonna do? Strip and scare them into submission? Her own country is fed up.

      • Jadzia says:

        If only the Serbs had not capitulated (historical guilt) we could have had one hell of a rumble.

    • Jadzia says:

      I wish I could volunteer for those countries’ legal teams.

  19. DeniseVB says:

    Just saw the list of panels scheduled for Nutroots Nation in August. Loved the one about how to take over your local Democratic Party.

    The Democrats are dead !

  20. DeniseVB says:

    Well, it is Tinfoil Tuesday …. has this been proven yet? Paternity test ?

  21. Guess who wants Canada to invade and liberate us.

    • 49erDweet says:

      And THIS, Ladies and Gentlemen, is what happens to your brain when you stop thinking for yourself!! You fixate on apparel worn by children of the rich and famous, instead of your own personal care and appearance. It’s degenerative, too.

    • lateblum says:

      She must have had an enormous amount of criticism on twitter. Otherwise, why the back tracking?

  22. foxyladi14 says:

    Watching the Sessions testimony on Fox!

Comments are closed.