Happy Summer Solstice via Stonehenge

Some thousands of people gather to celebrate the Summer Solstice at Stonehenge in Salisbury, England, at sunrise early Wednesday June 21, 2017. The prehistoric monument, Stonehenge is about 5000-years old and is thought to have been constructed to mark the movement of the sun and other heavenly objects according to Pagan rites. (Steve Parsons/PA via AP)

And maybe Tropical Storm Cindy could hang a left to cool you guys off in the Southwest. I think I hate hot more than cold.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

171 Responses to Happy Summer Solstice via Stonehenge

  1. DeniseVB says:

    So, Stonehenge has survived 5,000 years, but the snowflakes on the Man Made Climate Change Train don’t think we’ll make it to 2100 ?

    • swanspirit says:

      I went to Stonehenge on Summer Solstice in 1999, before the crowds started coming in large numbers, and actually had quite a remarkable experience. Stonehenge is so impressive, the sheer scale, and quality of the stones is overwhelming in person, and that cannot be depicted in pictures, or on film.
      If any of you get a chance, by all means go visit them.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I would love to ! I’ve always found the science and theories behind their creation fascinating. When I searched for a summer solstice image, the one above appeared and knew I wanted to use it 🙂

      • John Denney says:

        Heh. My wife and I visited it in the late 80’s. Driving west on the highway, we crested a hill and I said, “There it is!”, and my wife said, “Where?”.
        I pointed, and she said incredulously, “That’s it????”
        It’s in a pasture in a fork in the road, and does indeed look small in the expanse of the Salisbury plain.
        The most remarkable thing in our photographs is the weather. In the half hour we took to walk around it, the sky goes from bright and sunny to dark and threatening and back.
        It was definitely more impressive up close, though, I must say.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    10k in line for the Cedar Rapids Trump rally…..3 hours from now !

  3. elliesmom says:

    I hate hot more than cold, too. A lot of our friends are snowbirds, but I’d wilt. We moved to where the ocean moderates the cold just a bit, and there’s just a bit less snow. It’s a typical summer day here today. 77 degrees, not much humidity, and a gentle breeze. The AC kicks in when it hits 85, and that’s about 20% of the summer days.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I think the secret to surviving FL in the summer is live on one of the coasts. The trade winds were always refreshing.

    • lateblum says:

      I only liked the hot summer weather when I was a kid. I suffered a pretty serious reaction to too much heat and sun when I was in 8th grade. Since then, the hot weather and I have not been friends.

      • DeniseVB says:

        As a kid/teen I used baby oil and iodine to get the perfect tan at the pool/beach. Little did I know, it would make me go from albino to tomato. Flash forward a few+ decades, many basal cells popping up on my skin, so I’ve been in slice and dice mode for several years. Not fun.

  4. helenk3 says:

    one very calming way to beat the heat

    • helenk3 says:

      well I guess beer drinking yoga is not for everybody

      • DeniseVB says:

        You can still view it on Facebook 🙂 It’s a public page, not sure why it didn’t play here. I’m not much of a beer drinker, I can only “rent” it 😉

  5. Anthony says:

    Terror attack (guy with a 12″ knife stabbed a cop) in Flint Michigan airport. Canadian, name Amor Ptouhi, screams Allahu Akbar! Guess it must be mory toxic binary gender bullshit?

  6. helenk3 says:

    this looks like a movie to see

  7. mothy67 says:

    Being a bus person I lean towards hot over freezing. It is agony waiting on a highway for a bus that in bad weather can be an hour late.
    I wish I could learn to drive. I ride a bike in heavy traffic and use a segway, but I drift off all the time. Not fugue states but daydreaming. Getting behind the wheel scares me not because an automobile frightens me I just worry some kid would be chasing a ball into the street and I’d be in the clouds. In case I didn’t say before I am neurotic. I worry about how my worrying effects the crud.

  8. Dora says:

  9. mothy67 says:

    Votermom
    My kindle is not letting me respond to your response
    Bob Casey pre obama was very moderate. He went hard core left after Sandy Hook. I found that disgusting. His response seemed scripted.
    We are in opposite ends of the state but I assume you have taken the drive with kid the elder I have greyhound and Amtrak. It is so profoundly beautiful. Amtrak is almost religious. All those people between Philly and Pittsburgh went out and voted. The rethugs should be going after Casey’s seat. He is vulnerable. I hear nothing.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Meanwhile, over in LaLaLand, East Coast Edition……

    • DeniseVB says:

      I really enjoyed that article. Can you imagine how big Vermont and Connecticut would become if they did that to NY state? 😀 Then on to California!

  11. Venus says:

    LMAO

  12. Dora says:

    What a bunch of racists!

    • CiscoKid says:

      Somewhat on that note.
      Baltimore thugs publicly Execute(Murder) Mother in Front of Her Kids Minutes After She Talked to Police.
      Sad story @ gatewaypundit
      I guess black lives don’t matter to other blacks.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Wonder if they would meet with Ben Carson, probably the best role model (of any color) to understand how to get out of poverty and the ghetto.

    • CiscoKid says:

      OMG!
      For a kid that grew up watching not only westerns but also Captain Video, Flash Gordon and countless sci-fi movies, I never ever thought I’d see the establishment of the United States Space Corps.
      🚀🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸

    • DandyTIger says:

      Holy crap. How do I join?

    • swanspirit says:

      Now this is HISTORY! And during President Trump’s term!! Woohooo

    • DandyTIger says:

      Sounds like the Air Force is saying no to the idea, but maybe later. They already effectively have a space corps inside AF and like it the way it is. I’m guessing it’s more about losing control and shaking up the org chart though. I really do like the idea of separating it out.

      • CiscoKid says:

        I believe the same fracas happened when the Army Air Corp broke away and became the USAF.
        Army didn’t want to let them go.

        • DeniseVB says:

          The USMC was organized in a bar 🙂 From wiki….

          According to tradition, Tun Tavern was where the United States Marines held their first recruitment drive. On November 10, 1775, the Second Continental Congress commissioned the innkeeper and former Quaker Samuel Nicholas to raise two battalions of Marines in Philadelphia. The tavern’s manager, Robert Mullan, was the “chief Marine Recruiter.” Though legend places its first recruiting post at Tun Tavern, historian Edwin Simmons surmises that it was more likely the Conestoga Waggon [sic], a tavern owned by the Nicholas family. The first Continental Marine company was composed of one hundred Rhode Islanders commanded by Captain Nicholas. Each year on November 10, U.S. Marines worldwide toast the memory of this colonial inn as the officially-acknowledged birthplace of their service branch. The earliest Marines were deployed aboard Continental Congress Navy vessels as sharpshooters because they were typically recruited as outstanding marksmen.[2]

          It’s been recreated inside the Marine Museum in Quantico with great food too !

  13. lyn says:

    http://sultanknish.blogspot.com/2017/06/anger-privilege.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=facebook

    If you want to know who has privilege in a society and who doesn’t, follow the anger.

    There are people in this country who can safely express their anger. And those who can’t. If you’re
    angry that Trump won, your anger is socially acceptable. If you were angry that Obama won, it wasn’t.

  14. helenk3 says:

    I wonder if it would upset the political correct people I know if I bought this

    https://www.facebook.com/commerce/products/1721731274518727/

  15. Venus says:

    Awsome

  16. Venus says:

    Truth

    • Those two young women made asses of themselves.

    • jennifer says:

      Bad-da-bing. You either want freedom or tyranny. You either want independence or to be spoon fed. You either want to fly or be under his thumb. Call me crazy (and some do:) but the 2017 version of a feminist is sort of like the 2017 version of a democrat and homey don’t do that cra cra. You want equality you must act like it and hypocrisy gets you nowhere. I wonder if the real democrats and the real feminists both went to the same cave and aren’t coming out until after the zombies are all dead. Come on now get out here and join the fight peeps we need you. Of course I was always a radical feminist–I wanted immediate equality now–so I am in until the last one is dead. Bring it on you fools because there are still some of us willing to fight until our hearts give out and they won’t…..

      • elliesmom says:

        I was in the feminist trenches in the 60’s and 70’s, but everything I was fighting for women have. There are no employment barriers. Women can strive to be anything they want to be. There are no guarantees we’ll make it, but men don’t have any guarantees, either. We get paid the same salary when we make the same choices. We can own anything we can afford to buy. My credit cards are in my name. More of us are in college than men. Sharing household chores with a spouse is a negotiation, not a foregone conclusion. I still have a little fight in me, but I don’t know what would get me off the sofa.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Even on my non-professional track, I always got jobs I wanted and happy with the pay in the positions I took, I never, ever felt like a victim. Back when the military was debating on putting women on combat front lines, the best advice I read was “don’t try to do everything a man can do, you were designed to do what he can’t” ❤

    • DeniseVB says:

      I never understood the “Free the Ta-Ta’s” movement where feminists parade topless where they can be oogled by perverts. If you don’t want to be objectified, grow a brain!

  17. Venus says:

    This is one of the freakiest things I’ve ever seen — so of course I had to share here. This kid has a serious mental illness IMO

  18. lateblum says:

    Does anyone here like Chris Stirewalt? I’m watching the repeat of something on FNC and Stirewalt is bugging the stuffing out of me.

  19. Mt.Laurel says:

    I finally realized what the new Ken line-up of odd, odder and oddest variations on pajama guy reminded me off from my past. They are modeled on the dud guy from Mystery Date!

  20. mothy67 says:

    Wow a quick a scan of drudge shows how willfully blind dims are. They are trying to frame the oshoff loss on anything but giving Trump credit.

  21. Kurt Schlichter:

    That’s why I reject any principle that somehow obligates me to submit to the left’s tyranny. If your principles told you we had to elect Felonia von Pantsuit and allow her to complete the transformation of the United States into Venezuela II, maybe that’s a sign you need some new principles.

    • elliesmom says:

      I don’t know. If I go away and leave both of them home, Elliesdad is glad to see me when I get back, but Ellie shuns me for not taking her with me. Depending on how long I’ve been gone, it might take her a couple of hours to forgive me.

    • Constance says:

      But some women would be glad to see their husband again so they could let the “pay-backs are hell” begin. I’ve known women like that.

  22. Dora says:

    Just when I thought it couldn’t get much crazier . . .

    FEC Dem eyes widening Russia probe to Facebook, Drudge, foreign companies
    http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/fec-dem-eyes-widening-russia-probe-to-facebook-drudge-foreign-companies/article/2626674

    • lateblum says:

      They are looking for a piece of string, a grey hair, a dribble of spit – anything That they can proclaim is evidence of something nefarious.
      It’s has the smell of desperation.

      • Constance says:

        And a full employment program for Democrat lawyers. Trump really needs to be out there tweeting the daily cost of this witch hunt. “Lawyers with Dem loyalty cost taxpayers 100 million and counting”

  23. Dora says:

  24. taw46 says:

    “The FBI’s briefing appears so contrary to the facts as to be insulting. When a man with a history of hating Republicans cases a location, takes pictures, verifies the targets are Republicans before opening fire, has a list of Republican politicians in his pocket, and shoots and nearly kills Republicans, it’s hard to swallow the FBI’s contention that the shooting was “spontaneous” with “no target.” The agency should reconsider whether it wants to troll Americans about something this serious.”

  25. elliesmom says:

    Has anyone else had the glass top of a patio table explode?

  26. votermom says:

  27. Dora says:

    He’s at it again. And I love it. 🙂

    • DeniseVB says:

      Local radio talk guy had Dems call in this morning with suggestions of how to fix the party. Getting rid of Pelosi and Schumer were their most talked about solutions. Some even said they voted for Trump because they couldn’t stand the constant hectoring from Clinton and party leaders and Trump actually “spoke to me” with great solutions for the future. Kinda took me back to ’08. 🙂

      • helenk3 says:

        I just had to turn my tv off. slimy slug schumer was bloviating about the health care bill from the republicans. It will kill us all. he makes me sick if I had not turned him off I would of had to use my medicare and existing health care.

    • foxyladi14 says:

      😆

  28. Dora says:

  29. Dora says:

  30. Dora says:

    PAYBACK=> Senate to Probe Obama Administration For Obstruction of Justice

    The Democrats have exposed themselves to a legal probe since using former FBI Director, James Comey as a weapon to investigate the Trump administration.

    http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2017/06/payback-special-counsel-probe-obama-administration-obstruction-justice/

  31. DeniseVB says:

    This is for myiq, I know how he loves his crazy ladies, and definitely should be put in that mental illness film 😀

  32. foxyladi14 says:

    😆

  33. mothy67 says:

  34. Dora says:

    Set Your Alarms! 🙂

  35. DeniseVB says:

    I wonder why Otto’s parents declined an autopsy? I can’t imagine the emotional swings they’ve suffered from the news he’s coming home to his unfortunate neurological state to his death in such a short time.

    http://www.cnn.com/2017/06/21/health/otto-warmbier-autopsy/index.html

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      It may be more than they can process right now or they may feel I would serve no useful purpose and to let him go in peace.

    • Constance says:

      He’s dead. The detailed reasons why won’t change anything and there would be awful autopsy pictures all over the internet. Nothing will ever be done to the people who murdered him. They should cremate him and let his memory return to him as a healthy young man with a future instead of a beaten down shell.

  36. DeniseVB says:

    Tonight at the White House…..

  37. DandyTIger says:

    Anyone notice in Trump’s Iowa speech that he wants to make the wall solar. And the higher you make it, the more energy it will produce. So now if you’re against the wall, you’re against solar. #MAGA

  38. DeniseVB says:

    New thread up !

Comments are closed.