TOOT

(Tuesday Overnight Open Thread)

About Deplorable Myiq2xu™

Weed will get you thru times of no money better than money will get you thru times of no weed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

147 Responses to TOOT

    • Dunkirk is a great movie but there aren’t enough “women” or “people of color” in it, according to a review in USA Today.

      The movie – with a cast including Mark Rylance, Kenneth Branagh, and former One Direction singer Harry Styles – has been given a slew of five-star reviews for its vivid, nail-biting depiction of the evacuation of the British Expeditionary Force from Dunkirk in 1940.

      But though USA Today’s reviewer praised it too, he couldn’t resist giving it a little rap on the knuckles about its shameful lack of diversity and equality:

      The trio of timelines can be jarring as you figure out how they all fit, and the fact that there are only a couple of women and no lead actors of color may rub some the wrong way.

      Yes, it’s true that Dunkirk’s leading roles are indeed dominated by white European males.

      But one possible reason for this is that Dunkirk was an actual historical event which director Christopher Nolan has gone to considerable trouble to recreate as accurately as possible.

      Sure it might have provided valuable comic relief if Amy Schumer or Rebel Wilson – or perhaps even both – had been cast as, say, two brilliant battlefield surgeons who insisted on staying behind with the troops when all their male counterparts had fled.

      Also, it would definitely have added a new dimension had James Earl Jones been cast as the salty old Royal Naval officer called out of retirement for one last trip across the English Channel, or if Ice T and Snoop Dogg had been given the role of two aging rappers who parachute from a Dakota to administer weed to the desperate troops, or if Oprah appeared in a cameo as Queen Mary welcoming the returning troops after their desperate voyage.

      But it wouldn’t have been historically authentic.

      http://www.breitbart.com/big-hollywood/2017/07/18/delingpole-not-enough-women-people-of-color-in-dunkirk-usa-today-complains/

    • 1539days says:

      Combine every race and difference into one show and watch the ratings die.

      SJWs are mad because they wanted White guys to lose their shit over Doctor Her. Most of the ones who cared about the show left years ago anyway.

      • I’ve never seen a single episode.

        • blowme0bama says:

          Yeah, it was one of those shows you were *supposed* to like. I think I watched one episode in like 1980 when Dr. Who was played by some guy who looked like Roger Daltry with the big blond curly hair shit going on. It was just quirky and not interesting enough to merit another 30 minutes of my time.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I don’t think the all girl Ghostbusters or the all black Steel Magnolias fared too well. I wonder how a politically correct Blazing Saddles would be remade today? Zzzzzzz.

        • Constance says:

          The Girl Ghostbusters was a really funny movie and made something like $130 million in the states and 240 million total. It is a hoot!

          • Mt.Laurel says:

            The problem was is cost around 150 million to make and that is without the marketing budget which was huge. I like the original but was not bothered by a remake – but had no interest in seeing the movie. I was bothered at the way the people who were involved with the remake attacked those who found it lacking and then whined if anyone hit back.

  1. Venus says:

    I’m watching part 4 of OJ Made in America. I forgot how righteously indignant Ron Goldman’s dad was — that man was spitting truth. Johnnie Cochran was a scumbag.

  2. Watching local news coverage of the Detwiler fire in Mariposa. The talking head said “Live in Mariposa County” and they went to a reporter standing on the side of the road.

    I’m looking at the background (rolling hills covered with brown grass) and thinking “That ain’t Mariposa County. That looks like Hwy 140 just past Planada” (where I growed up). Sure enough, the guy starts talking about the detour set up at Cunningham Road.

    Planada and Cunningham Rd. are shown at the right.

  3. lateblum says:

    I am so done with these Progs/Libs/SJWs.
    First, @femfreq, if she(?) had ever seen Dr Who before, why is it just now that she is offended? She is just an opportunist.
    Second, the SJWs are so used to rewriting history, they think it’s their right to change things to reflect their own personal beliefs… Regardless of truth.
    Third, these do-gooders are doing no one any good that I can see. They’re making lots of noise to let us know they’re around. But that’s it.

  4. lateblum says:

    ‘Night all….👋🏼

  5. votermom says:

    Just watched Silence on dvd. Omg so long – I think 3 hours. I sort of liked it and sort of didn’t.

    • Anthony says:

      Marriage makes you crazy. Been saying that for years.

      • Dora says:

        That’s funny. Hubby tells me the same thing. 🙂

      • foxyladi14 says:

        Some of us already were a little nutty. 😆

      • Constance says:

        I agree, I never could figure out why gay people wanted to get married. But whatever, I’m not opposed to gay marriage it just seems like a crazy thing to demand the right to do.

        • Anthony says:

          Its about having the same protections that straight married couples have (rights to survivorship, medical proxy, spousal benefits, tax benefits, etc.) Many of us have had long term relationships (my own, 30+ years) without the same protections and benefits that straight people have. Hope that clears things up

          • Constance says:

            Well having been divorced at 64, being forced to buy out half of my home of 30 years so I can try to afford it on my own and loosing half of my retirement savings I would have to say the protections of marriage are an illusion. I had to fight hard to keep him from taking half of the inheritance my parents left to me.
            Not that I’m complaining, I am happy to be rid of the self centered POS.

          • Somebody says:

            I get the legal implications, but I always thought it was deeper than that. I always saw it as personal freedom……the right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The right to choose who you fall in love with and marry.

          • swanspirit says:

            And some people want the ceremony, because it is a public declaration of their love and commitment to each other ; weddings are a social event. And they are fun!

          • Constance says:

            If you think marriage leads to happiness, love and freedom then go for it. But I would say gay people have every right to screw up their lives (get married) as thoroughly as straight people. I just wouldn’t advise it. Just because straight people do it and I did it twice doesn’t make it a good idea.

          • Anthony says:

            I get it that your marriage sucked. Sorry about your financial/property losses, but that has more to do with divorce negotiations than simply being married. There are indeed protections and privileges that marriage brings – about 1100 more points than civil union – and I know that many marriages end in failure. But that is between the people who couldn’t make their marriage work, not the civil institution of marriage. I hope you find comfort soon, and you might be able to acknowledge that marriage isn’t inherently good or bad. Its the commitment and honesty of the people getting married that really matters, and in the event of the death of a spouse, ALL people should have the right to inherit jointly owned properties, bank accounts, etc. Good luck to you, Constance. I hope you get past this.

          • Constance says:

            I’m not opposed to parties or public declarations of love. But when you sober up it’s nice to have the full right to your property and hard earned money. I have several friends in my age range who have faked marriage just for the party/ceremonial aspect.

          • lateblum says:

            I have three friends (2 who are married to one another) who married for reasons that are 1. To be able to call themselves family (in the eyes of church, society, and law) and 2. For the legal implications: spousal rights, parental rights, economic and tax benefits, etc.
            There was much celebrating when same sex marriage became legal here. In fact, it was looking so tenuous, one of my friends moved to Belgium and married his s/o there before it became law here.

          • Constance says:

            Just saying in my experience many of the rights and protections of marriage are an illusion and the obligations of marriage have been very real. I think a study of relationships would show no increase in love among married people as compared to unmarried couples.

          • Constance says:

            Anthony (this is a long thread) The thing is my marriage was great for 20 years and I have two amazing kids because of it. Then my spouse turned into a different person whom I don’t like and certainly don’t love, things changed. So far as divorce negotiations go I was told by the mediator “this is your day to settle out of court, The judge who would hear your case will decide 10 cases the day of your hearing. In most of those cases someone will be living in the street and the people have no education or career, 4 kids and no teeth. If you go in there each having a retirement account with this house and your inheritance the judge will be disgusted and divide it down the middle and to hell with the legal fine points.” So the idea that legal process or even intent relative to an inheritance, is perfectly followed
            in divorce proceedings is naive. My divorce took 2 years and cost $45,000. on my side. Sure you can question any unfairness, Each time you do that you can add another $5,000. to your bill. Thanks for your good wishes. I’m going a different direction now and life is exciting again.

          • Anthony says:

            So sorry you had to go through all of that, but happy to hear you’ve moved past it. Just keep looking forward and leave the rest behind you. Besides, you’ve got all of us with you!

        • mothy67 says:

          If I could turn back time I would have done something illegal and offered 25k in cash to end custody. Five years cost me so much more. Fighting the good fight can be expensive. . Father and mother never spent a cent. Her safety is priceless, but so much money. I cannot imagine a divorce.

    • Underwhelmed says:

      When is someone going to blame white privilege for their acts?

  6. Dora says:

    I think we should all refuse to pay taxes until Washington DC gets their act together.

    • Constance says:

      Damn! I didn’t know Seattle had a Republican party! Well that’s encouraging, maybe our great city doesn’t need to go the way of Detroit and Chicago. I’ve got to find those guys.

  7. Anthony says:

    Not even 7am in NYC and Joe and Mika are obsessing over presidential typos… That’s right – typos in some tweets. They are mortified for us as a nation because they can’t understand the necessity of contractions when limited to 140 characters. According to Mika, this presents a ‘clear and present danger’ to our nation. Jesus Christ, it’s way too early for that much stupid.

  8. Dora says:

    My brother and his wife, who live in Vegas, are not happy about this situation. Not happy at all!

    ==

    Homeless camp moves onto Raiders stadium site in Las Vegas

    The Oakland Raiders haven’t started building their stadium in Las Vegas, but there’s already some activity at the project site.

    A homeless encampment has taken shape on the football team’s land. The cluster of property and trash is below a billboard off Dean Martin Drive that, as of last week, advertised a garage-door company on one side and singer Mariah Carey’s performances at Caesars Palace on the other.

    https://www.reviewjournal.com/sports/raiders-nfl/homeless-camp-moves-onto-raiders-stadium-site-in-las-vegas/

    • Lulu says:

      Our local “encampment” lives under a bridge next to a shopping center. Every big rain storm the creek rises and they have to be rescued by the “water” team of the Fire Department who are now rated as probably the best in the state from all of the practice. I think the fire guys enjoy it all a little too much with hoists, pulleys, lasso’s, wet dogs, sirens and a lot of hooting and hollerin’.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    😀

  10. Dora says:

    The latest on Charlie.

    ==

    Charlie Gard is given legal permanent residence in US by Congress so ‘he can fly to the States for world class treatment’
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4709122/US-expert-fails-Charlie-s-doctors-reconsider.html

  11. votermom says:

    I signed up to join this informal 90 day meat-eating study
    They are planning to start in August
    http://nequalsmany.com/

  12. mothy67 says:

    I am going to group. It was a yuuge mistake. A 302 with a poker player that had a drug induced break. I agreed to go along with a person on the edge. Hospital was under impression I was also to be admitted. I never was the ER had 18 people waiting to be taken in for psych. I had to wait over night. They were taking people by ambulance two hours away to Altoona PA as there were no beds. Staff was very nice, but once the doors shut only an MD can release you. I was keeping this guy calm. I could possibly press charges for unlawful imprisonment. I chatted with the shrink about my insomnia. It was such a relief. I didn’t go to him seeking help. It was just a conversation. I was only in ER. The staff cannot let you out. Has to be a doctor. I saw some very sad stuff, but most was opiods and people looking for three hots and a cot or people that need long term care. Everyone not suffering from an actual impairment was claiming suicide. The doc was from India but very funny. I am so glad I was trapped for 11 hours. I went all in for kid 11 years ago. She has outgrown me to an extent. I am a passionate person who did not fill the void created by her aging. I was treading water. He said my insomnia is likely depression. Group therapy through Catholic Charities gives me access to apsychiatrist that my insurance will not do. I get two mental health visits on my plan they are with an MSW. I needed a referral. Got one because I was in the wrong place at the right time. I went to group yesterday. I confess I enjoyed it. I had avoided life as baby grew. I participated in some fucked up people’s lives yesterday. Nothing grand just me being the asshole I am. Dope fiends are borderline but the injured through no fault of their own were fun. I went to sleep at 11 no booze or pills and woke up at 6.

    • votermom says:

      you accidentally got involuntarily committed?
      Mothy you really need to write a memoir!

      • mothy67 says:

        Therapy is so fun when its not poor me. Had I walked into an office and whined about sleeping I would have thrown up so many impediments. Instead I got a guy saying do something anything. I guess there were arrests from poker game. Cops might have spared me. I don’t do drugs and did not know I was in a dealers place. It was just poker. The guy was freaking out. I was trying to keep him calm. Thinking maybe he was acting and it was a sting. He was very fit and he disappeared in ER. Cops do not put you in backseat of a car with a person having a break.I had to give urine. My tox screen was clean. I was given cab fare and sent home right after I talked with shrink. I believe the guy was undercover and didn’t want me caught up in the sting. Come on no one gets lock down for playing poker. I avoided what they rained down. I was tested for illegal substances without any charge. Very impressed if that was the case. Cherry on top I got a full nights rest after being released. An ER psych ward puts things in perspective.

        • mothy67 says:

          There is nothing on police blotter, but I heard there was a yuuuge bust. Cops got in under medical emergency. Seems illegal. Not my issue. Had I been roped in for just playing poker I could be in jail. Psych ER for 11 hours was a bargain.
          It is very sad. I never got out of the ER. They had very sick people waiting days for a bed. Inexcusable tragedy that a few of the people need real help and the system is inundated by people feigning suicide I really believe the prison system needs to be focused on expansion towards a half way house type structure. Give the mental health system a chance to deal with actual ill people. A government run half way house is cheaper than prison. Non violent offenders get a chance with no record they do random piss tests. You fuck up you do a full bid.

      • mothy67 says:

        I think I might make sexy time with the doc. I have a habit of ER docs. Its an issue. I do it often.

  13. Dora says:

    • Lulu says:

      Darling dog. Retrievers just can’t help retrieving stuff like fawns. I know a goldie that gets his owners house shoes OFF OF THE SHOE RACK in the closet and has them waiting for her by the back door every time she leaves the house.

  14. helenk3 says:

    for the fishermen here

  15. helenk3 says:

    http://silenceisconsent.net/muslim-cop-justine-damond-shocking-dirt/

    3 complaints and a law suit in 2 years?? something is not right with this guy

    • mothy67 says:

      I am white trash and I don’t speaks real good but this sentence is unforgivable
      —Him and his partner, Matthew Harrity, drove to an alley behind Justine’s house.

    • helenk3 says:

      49er
      I read that the driver said they pulled into the alley with their lights out and their body cams were off. Is this normal when answering a call?
      something is wrong with this whole thing

      • lateblum says:

        In the report I head, they had pulled into the alley because that is where she had reported that was where the disturbance was coming from.
        But that could also have been wrong. There are so many versions now of what happened.

      • 49erDweet says:

        Another report said they were supposed to have turned their body cams on as they approached the area, but failed to do so.
        The most likely thing I’ve come across so far is he over-reacted to the sound of a few “gunshot” noises on the right side of the squad (they had just stopped) by assuming the women coming up on their left was shooting at them. The statement he is being uncooperative seems incriminating. It is obviously a bad shoot by a person who should never have been a cop.

    • 49erDweet says:

      That fire DOUBLED in size overnight!!!!!! It’s got a lot of dry brush still ahead and several towns and communities have been evacuated. If they don’t knock it back today it’ll grow to over 100,000 acres before it burns itself out. No loss of life, so far, but 8 dwellings are gone.
      The fire has/had at least three major fingers, so it’s going off in multiple directions. A real puzzler on how to fight it.

    • helenk3 says:

      it ain’t bacon

      • mothy67 says:

        I think Kid Rock is perfectly positioned to highlight pork. He does not need the party. He is already yelling we should be able to read a tax or health care bill. I think many non political junkies are not aware of the abuse. There was a congress critter near me that was king of pork. Murtha. He actually got an airport built that no one ever uses. Millions upon millions. Yet small local towns rot in disrepair. Broken windows. That money could have been put to good use. I took a bus yesterday through one of “those” neighborhoods. All I could think was this decay does not need to be. It is unnecessary I am 50 this area was not like this when I was in high school. I see it as cancer and like cancer it spreads. Diseased.
        I would love to see one of these so called philanthropists invest in Chip and Joanna do a fixer upper on a neighborhood. A few months ago I took brat to a phone store to get her screen fixed. She will soon be 11 but she was very aware of how oppressive the environs were. She expressed it. Wanted out of the area. What is it for a child to grow up in that. How expensive is a pane of glass. Is plywood that much cheaper. The cries for more school funding are relentless. I get technology needing funding, but I think a little touch up and a little paint would do wonders for psyche. Kid can and I think will be a national presence bringing attention to some easy fixes.

  16. helenk3 says:

    a different opinion on what happened with the health insurance bill

    http://canadafreepress.com/article/three-cheers-for-the-republicans-who-let-mcconnellcare-sink

  17. taw46 says:

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Don Surber reminds us that Trump has the power to repeal Obamacare, thanks to Obama giving the Presidency so much power to ignore congress 😀

    http://donsurber.blogspot.com/2017/07/trump-can-dump-obamacare.html?spref=tw

  19. lyn says:

    Psycho bitch!

  20. Dora says:

  21. Dora says:

    Rand Paul: Bring Obamacare Vote to the Floor – Then Let Republicans Go Home and Explain to Why They Voted No

    Call the liars to the floor ­ Put them on record lying to American people.

    Rand Paul wants the liars to be exposed for running on repeal and now running away from repealing the disastrous bill.

    http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2017/07/rand-paul-bring-obamacare-vote-floor-let-republicans-go-home-explain-voted-no/

  22. helenk3 says:

    http://www.judicialwatch.org/press-room/press-releases/judicial-watch-sues-voter-registration-data-national-voter-registration-act/

    if they would not give it to the presidential committee on voter fraud, will the courts allow this?

  23. foxyladi14 says:

    • mothy67 says:

      Mooch campaigned at a voting site. Never any repercussions for dims.

      • lateblum says:

        I wished she had been at my polling place. I’d have told her I was voting for ANYONE else. And believe me, I’ve said that to our local candidates in person and to their surrogates as well.

  24. mothy67 says:

    Just saying its a killer tune
    “I was off to drink you away”

  25. foxyladi14 says:

  26. Anthony says:

    Milo rocks lmao

  27. foxyladi14 says:

    • Dora says:

      That is a good story. I had a family of raccoons living in my chimney some time ago. Had to hire a handyman to get them out. I would have gladly called ‘hammer man’ if I knew where he was at the time. 🙂

  28. helenk3 says:

    http://www.oann.com/technology-experts-convene-to-educate-congress-on-block-chain-bit-coin-crypto-currencies/

    this is a good thing. I am sure there are many there that know nothing about this

  29. Somebody says:

    Strange thing just happened to me. I just answered a phone call from Ruby Tuesday’s, which is a restaurant chain the closest one to me is by JAX airport. I pick up the phone and say hello, a female voice on the other end that I did not recognize says “Please stop crying”, then hangs up.

    WTF??

    • Somebody says:

      Stranger still I can’t find a Ruby Tuesday’s with that number in this area. I even looked as far out as Lake City, Ocala and Gainesville??? Reverse lookup says the number belongs to a woman in Egg Harbor, NJ…..which is even more strange because the area code is 904 which is this area????

    • DeniseVB says:

      Maybe she was talking to one of her kids. You know how they are when mommy’s on the phone. Still weird though. It’s why I never answer my phone, sometimes even when I know who it is 😀

      • Somebody says:

        I usually don’t answer numbers I don’t recognize either. However, Ruby Tuesdays is really close to the airport and I have family and friends who fancy me an airport shuttle since it’s about 15-20 minutes from me. I just assumed somebody I knew needed a ride.

        It could have been a mom talking to a kid because she said it in a very nice way……like honey please stop

  30. lyn says:

    Jedi-mend-meld-worthy …

    • CiscoKid says:

      The time for passive resistance has ended, no more turning the other cheek.
      Hit me and I will do the best to f’k you up.
      These m-effers done lost their mind if the think the can hit someone and just walk away.
      🖕Them, it’s on.

  31. DeniseVB says:

    Something fun…..

  32. Dora says:

    I can’t tell you how glad I am to see this! People have been concerned about this place for over 20 years and nothing was done to check it out. Until now.

  33. CiscoKid says:

    Give a listen to President Trump.
    Me thinks this was his plan all along.
    https://www.whitehouse.gov/featured-videos/video/2017/07/18/president-trump-meets-servicemembers

  34. DeniseVB says:

    HGTV fans, Trading Spaces is coming back next year !

  35. mothy67 says:

    Macy’s should just lock its doors. I never use my card and thought about cancelling with the Trump . Thing is being a. Non driver I sometimes need stuff. I except for Christmas pay my bill in full. Christmas depending on what new offer I get. There is always 0% for 9 months. I bought two pairs of levis and a couple of shirts. I have decent credit. Macy’s 24.6 %. Insane. I paid the bill off. I got a bill for 2 dollars as did my mom. Its account maintenance fee. I paid and cancelled. I assume its something new. They are closing stores left and right. I have home depot, best buy ,lowes, target, walmart. All have zero balance. None charge a fee.I was so annoyed. I will never shop there again..

    • mothy67 says:

      Thing is crud has been dancing for 8 years. She has a caboose with a tiny waist She has no body fat.. the trendy girls stores shops don’t offer her waist with behind. Jeans are impossible. She reminds me of Mary Tyler Moore. Also a dancer. She lives in those same pants. The only place outside of Macy’s I can buy anything is Burlington. It is so much cheaper. I was going to take her to Macy’s the week before school started. I also spend a few hundred on my older niece. I won’t be spending 2,000 there over a year because they hit me with a 2 fee. My mom is also cancelling. Between us 4 grand. Not very savvy who ever instituted this. Why alienate customers when your base is drying up. Same bill had 25% off if I use my card. Makes no sense.

      • votermom says:

        hey mothy do you happen to have list of PA state college rankings – I nnean the actual state colleges like IUP etc

        • mothy67 says:

          The V mom I do not. I would go cheap. Really cheap. Save the cash for grad school BA is BS these days. I am a frighteningly shallow person. I think I told you years ago when brat was wee I got an interview at Carnegie Mellon admissions. He was like can we look forward to seeing your niece applying in the fall. I said oh no she is 7 I am just getting my ducks in a row.
          Might seem like I push too hard. I don’t. She lasted two days when she was 3 at Abby Lee’s place. Nope that was not how she was ever to be treated. Instead she took cheap classes in a church basement from a former Rockette. I require A’s. She is competent. Not a natural math student like my asian nemesis. Fucking asian. He refuses to be a part of the geek stuff. Only reason he is in the calcusolve program is because of Shayla. Her grades are earned. She has a 900 phone which I pay 112 a month for unlimited everything. She earns it with grades.
          College I want her to go to Purdue and live that life for five years. I want her to go away and have fun. Did you know out of state tuition with room and board is cheaper at Purdue than Pitt. PA schools gouge you with housing. My nephew went to California State his housing was 8,000 a semester for the middle of nowhere.
          I would look at Slippery Rock for kid the younger. Its a lot cheaper than Pitt. Grad school is almost a given. Save the money for that.
          Also I know she has AP classes. My niece goes to a yuuuge school. A couple of her classes are actual college classes. Community college stuff taught in the school. You pay tuition. Her advisor said not to take credit for the hard sciences as she wants to go pre med. Said history and English are fine but she might miss something on a science track. Better off repeating chemistry than missing something.
          My family is kinda like immigrants. We traveled to this country from a land called extreme poverty. Hard work got us all out of the abyss. We obsess over education for the kids. Our country is so amazing. Anyone with the will can achieve. I had an outhouse and lived in London and New York.
          Anyhow I tip my hat to a mom dedicated to her kids. It is uncommon. I am in a burb but within walking distance to the city. Should kid the elder want to move into her own apartment . I would gladly scope out neighborhoods for you. Just say when.

  36. Dora says:

Comments are closed.