THOOT


Just when you think we’ve reached peak stupid, some liberal goes and proves you wrong.

Say Goodbye To X+Y: Should Community Colleges Abolish Algebra?

Algebra is one of the biggest hurdles to getting a high school or college degree — particularly for students of color and first-generation undergrads.

It is also the single most failed course in community colleges across the country. So if you’re not a STEM major (science, technology, engineering, math), why even study algebra?

That’s the argument Eloy Ortiz Oakley, chancellor of the California community college system, made today in an interview with NPR’s Robert Siegel.

At American community colleges, 60 percent of those enrolled are required to take at least one math course. Most — nearly 80 percent — never complete that requirement.

Oakley is among a growing number of educators who view intermediate algebra as an obstacle to students obtaining their credentials — particularly in fields that require no higher level math skills.


That’s what this country really needs – lower standards!

I remember reading a story about a college student complaining about being required to take calculus. “I’m planning to be a doctor. Why do I need to study calculus?” he asked.

The teacher replied, “We require students to pass calculus to make sure that idiots don’t get into medical school.”

This is your Thursday Overnight Open Thread.


About Myiq2xu™

“Let’s be honest, the people who are currently outraged are the same people who have always been outraged.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

128 Responses to THOOT

  1. votermom says:

    i can’t even…

  2. 49erDweet says:

    If a person were required to demonstrate skill in algebra in order to buy a six-pack of Bud we’d be a nation of mathematical geniuses. It’s lack of motivation. Period.

    • mcnorman says:

      It’s about that self esteem. Jeebus, they can’t even multiply simple numbers. It used to be that calculus was the do over in order to get a decent grade. Times have changed.

    • This is definitely the generation that bails. I just want to know, how low can they go? Is walking too hard? Using forks? If I go to Gen Con in 5 years and everyone is wearing diapers, I will not be surprised in the least. Disgusted, but not surprised…

      • Anthony says:

        To be fair, I still find using a fork a little tricky… 😉

        Also, congrats, good luck and kick ass in your new endeavor ! 😘

    • 1539days says:

      Happens all the time. That’s how people figured out a 30 pack was a better deal than a 24 pack.

  3. mothy67 says:

    SHE dwelt among the untrodden ways
    Beside the springs of Dove,
    A Maid whom there were none to praise
    And very few to love:

    A violet by a mossy stone
    Half hidden from the eye!
    –Fair as a star, when only one
    Is shining in the sky.

    She lived unknown, and few could know
    When Lucy ceased to be; 10
    But she is in her grave, and, oh,
    The difference to me!

  4. elliesmom says:

    My daughter hated math. I even had a teacher tell me “Math phobic moms are responsible for girls who hate math”. I asked her how many semesters of calculus she’d taken. But when my daughter got to high school, I made a deal with her. I’d make her bed for her everyday she had a math class. She hates to make her bed so she took math all four years, and she did very well. She only had one math course required in college, but she took three and aced them all. Today she uses a lot of math in her work, and she often takes a moment to thank me for beating her over the head with it. But what really changed her mind? Meeting an anthropologist who wanted to work on the Mars project who got turned down by NASA because she couldn’t pass the math test they gave her. She hadn’t taken anything past Algebra I in high school and no math in college, but she had a PhD. She wanted the job badly enough to sign up for community college math and try again, but she told my daughter she wished someone had kicked her butt in high school.

  5. AFVet says:

    “Merica….

    • lateblum says:

      I remember driving to my niece’s wedding the Friday after 9/11. Nearly every car on the road was flying an American flag, or had one pasted to one of the Windows… there weren’t that many on the road that weekend, though. However, the numbers grew and grew aa newspapers had full page pictures of the flag to use on windows or walls.
      Odd how the same people who defiantly displayed the flag at that time, are now opposed to the mere mention of patriotism and flag.

  6. AFVet says:

  7. Took Mom to see the sawbones today. After they weighed her I stepped on the scale. I had felt like I lost some weight but I haven’t been on a scale in months.

    I’m down about 40 lbs.

  8. AFVet says:

    • Constance says:

      I’m sure it’s not the first time Trump has been sandbagged so watch out DOJ boys.

  9. lyn says:

    Was this posted?

  10. DandyTIger says:

    So it’s prediction Thursday. OK, I made that up. But I have a prediction for the Trump WH. I think Trump has signaled to Mueller that he better not investigate his finances, then Mueller immediately leaked that the was investigating Trump’s (and Trump orgs) finances. Then Trump says to the NYT that he’s pissed about the AG Russian recusal. I think these are all signals preparing us for the big Saturday night massacre. Here’s the prediction. When the Senate finally has a recess (part of August, or whenever), Trump will fire the AG, the dept AG. Recess appoint a new AG who will fire Mueller. And he’ll recess appoint 100s of others for various jobs. The reason for the firing: illegally and/or inappropriately leaking about the finance investigations.

    • lyn says:

      I hope you are correct, but Sessions may be in on it.

    • votermom says:

      interesting, Nostradamus, 😉

    • taw46 says:

      No doubt Mueller should be fired, along with Obama holdovers, for the sake of his Presidency. But I would hate to see Sessions gone. He was the first Senator to come out for him, very early in his campaign. Stuck with him, advised him on many issues, especially immigration. I have admired him for a long time, this would be a depressing outcome. Politics ain’t pretty.

    • NewOrleans says:

      Since Trump was sworn in, Congress has not had an “official” recess. Both times they should have, BOTH the Senate and House held pro-forma sessions – sessions that lasted just a few minutes from gavel to gavel. Thus, neither chamber officially adjourned.

      Why would a Republican-controlled chamber do that with a Republican president? Specifically to stop Trump from making ANY recess appointments or filling vacancies in federal offices OF ANY KIND.

      You can bet they’ll continue the practice.

    • Constance says:

      Nice. I hope the recess appointments happen.

    • Venus says:

      I gotta disagree. I agree there is no way Trump gave a story full of bombshells to the NYT — he called them! — without a game plan. But I think it is to keep the MSM & Dems focused on ‘Russia collusion” before the indictments for the unmasking/leaks start coming down — Ben Rhodes, Susan Rice, Samantha Powers, et al. Added bonus it reinforces the imptession that DOJ/Meuller & WH aren’t working hand in glove
      Mueller was interviewed twice by Trump for director of FBI — with the 2nd the day before he was picked for special counsel (which has barely been reported in press). Why would a guy who already served 1 term PLUS a few more years as FBI director be considered to serve again? That makes me think the interview was never about FBI director — and the “upset that Sessions recused” is horseshit theater to fool the MSM.

  11. ecoast says:

    I think you are right, Dandy. Wondered why Trump gave that interview to NYT. That was to force a leak from Mueller and Mueller fell into the trap. He is gone at recess.

  12. helenk3 says:

    check this out. I never knew about this. How many people has it hurt over the years?

    • swanspirit says:

      Certificate of Need, applies to almost every new/ existing facility in the State of Maryland, up to and including how many beds available in nursing homes. It has nothing to do with actual immediate need of patients, but they use some arcane formula that relies on the latest census, population growth expected, etc. It can easily be manipulated.
      It took many many years to get a hospital built in Berlin, Md, which serves Ocean City, as well, because the powers that were, in Salisbury, didn’t want competition for their regional hospital.
      But now we have Atlantic General Hospital, so emergency patients don’t have to be transported to a hospital 35- 45 minutes away.

    • DeniseVB says:

      They won’t be punished, authorities say they did nothing illegal. That’s the punch to the gut and they filmed this on a cell phone, no call for assistance? So much sadness to that story 😦

  13. 1539days says:

    The algebra thing is ridiculous because algebra is the math we all have to do. Most of the time people don’t have to just add or subtract two numbers. They have to determine an unknown quantity from the information available.

    If you have a bag of chips that’s two servings of 160 calories, you might want to know that the whole bag is 320. Sure, that’s 160 x 2 = 320, but it’s really c = 2x where x is 160. If you want to buy food in bulk, pick up tile or paint, buy gas or take medicine, you need these basic levels of math.

    • elliesmom says:

      I always laughed when parents complained about the math “word problems” I put on every science test. After you leave school all math is word problems.

  14. DandyTIger says:

    Feel free to buy me one of these 🙂

  15. Dora says:

    FBI Turns Over 7,000 New Documents From Weiner’s Computer to State Department

    The FBI has turned over 7,000 new documents from former Democratic Rep. Anthony Weiner’s laptop to the State Department.

    The disclosure is part of the conservative watchdog group Judicial Watch’s lawsuit in relation to the Hillary Clinton private email investigation, Fox News reported Thursday.

    http://freebeacon.com/politics/fbi-turns-over-7000-new-documents-weiners-computer-state-department/

  16. Dora says:

    Time to do away with the ‘blue slip’ nonsense. Why should the nominees need the approval of dims?

    =====

    Senate Democrats hold blue slips, delay Trump’s federal judicial nominees
    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2017/jul/9/senate-democrats-hold-blue-slips-delay-judicial-no/

  17. votermom says:

  18. Dora says:

    Don’t get excited. New York Republicans don’t have a decent candidate to oppose him. Bring back Al D’Amato!

    ====

    Obstructionist Chuck Schumer Has His Lowest Approval Rating in New York Ever
    http://ntknetwork.com/obstructionist-chuck-schumer-has-his-lowest-approval-rating-in-new-york-ever/?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=politics

  19. Anthony says:

    My friends text me the most amazing images 😀 😀 😀

  20. AFVet says:

    We have an enemy among us that is trying to stop this man.
    Why are they being allowed to?

  21. helenk3 says:

    http://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2017/07/sick_of_your_congressman_elect_a_veteran.html

    what do you think of this idea.
    they have put their lives on the line for the country, many in congress have not

  22. DeniseVB says:

    This is the carrier PDJT will be commissioning tomorrow, so here’s a “hyperlapse” of the Ford being built 😀

  23. helenk3 says:

    https://www.weaselzippers.us/349704-denver-moves-to-cut-off-communications-with-ice-on-immigration-cases/

    Denver, didn’t the city council just pass a bill where you can now shit in the streets? Pot is legal.
    really off my bucket list.

  24. helenk3 says:

    http://www.breitbart.com/big-government/2017/07/21/future-of-globalization-shaken-by-trump-nationlist-earthquake/

    I think this is the real reason there is so much push against Trump. They will do anything to push the globalization movement. In their minds Trump and people like him must be stopped

  25. Dora says:

    This man turns my stomach!

    • Lulu says:

      Trump is going to Alinsky Mueller. The “investigation” is to smear Trump and Trump is going to smear Mueller and gang first. There is nothing unconstitutional or criminal about it. Now Mueller is going to have to worry what they are going to dig out on HIM. His pristine reputation is a lie. All’s fair in love and war and this is war. They need to get ready for their divorces to be made public. And bar complaints, shit clients they represented, salaries as “directors” etc. Where did Trump learn this? Holder and Broncobama.

    • lyn says:

      Said the most corrupt AG ever!

  26. AFVet says:

  27. AFVet says:

  28. mothy67 says:

    I need to say thank you. I am on this trip with my grand niece. I was in a psych ward ER. I am such a better man after that horror. I am so blessed. I have this kid. She counts for me. Adorning her life is my job. I am given a chance to make a throwaway child a decent shot. What child gets chucked aside gets a gay great uncle that had multiple open heart surgeries. I am a freak. Love my brat. I am lucky. Its not always easy. Plug self centered person I is sometimes I am done. I look at waffles and wonder if I can place them in the toaster. I get tired. I am biggest asshole ever. I draw strenghth from your stories. I at times resent shay. I don’t want this sometimes. I love her and I am all in. Times its draining. I get tired and it helps to hear others frustration. I am less alone because you vent. Might sound silly but it abets me.
    Crud is a superstar. Class act. I did this but I only got with her because I listened to others..
    Many thanks. Shayla Rayne is not a byproduct. She is vibrant. I did not do it alone.

  29. DandyTIger says:

    Apparently Sean Spicer resigned.

  30. Dora says:

    What a mess!

    ===

    Sean Spicer Resigns As White House Press Secretary: NYT

    The New York Times reported that the press secretary resigned in opposition to the appointment of a new communications director.

    https://patch.com/us/white-house/sean-spicer-resigns-press-secretary-nyt?utm_source=alert-breakingnews&utm_medium=email&utm_term=weather&utm_campaign=alert

    • lyn says:

      Unfortunately, they come and go. Sean Spicer did his job well, but I bet he won’t miss the stress.
      I’m more concerned about Sean Spicier on Twitter. 😉

  31. votermom says:

    cooked some thin lean pork chops in bacon grease
    so good

  32. helenk3 says:

    offended snowflake

  33. DeniseVB says:

  34. Dora says:

    It only took them a few minutes.

    ===

    Media jumps to showcase Scaramucci as Trump’s new failure

    Sean Spicer has resigned.

    Anthony Scaramucci is the new White House communications director.

    And the media’s many left-leaning, anti-President Donald Trump members, just minutes into the announcement, are already having a field day with the chaos that’s ensued.

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2017/jul/21/anthony-scaramucci-take-front-and-center-medias-hi/?utm_campaign=shareaholic&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=socialnetwork

  35. jenlyntx says:

    can she even spell president?

Comments are closed.