S.O.T.

SOT |sät| noun – a habitual drunkard.
ORIGIN: late Old English sott foolish person, from medieval Latin sottus, reinforced by Old French sot foolish. The current sense of the noun dates from the late 16th century.

It also stands for “SUNDAY OPEN THREAD”

REHAB IS FOR QUITTERS!

Today marks the 6th anniversary of Amy Winehouse’s untimely death.  I was a big fan from the get-go.  Many people don’t know that she started out as a jazz singer before busting into the pop scene.  Here she is in 2004 performing at the North Sea Jazz Festival/The Hague:

Seven years later, after becoming famous (which meant absolutely nothing to her, she just wanted to sing and didn’t gave a damn about fame), she cleaned up her act, finally DID go to rehab, and was looking forward to focusing on her music and leaving her tacky ways behind her.  Then, she suddenly died from alcohol poisoning.  Or Arkancide.  Who knows?

Today I plan to spend my day binge drinking in memory of dear Amy.  And also because I’m introducing a new kitten into my home and my existing cat is being an asshole.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

164 Responses to S.O.T.

  1. Anthony says:

    GREAT interview of Amy Winehouse

  2. Lulu says:

    I love the old definitons of words. One of my favorite is punk. The word was first used by the Elizabethan Brits. It meant whore. When “punk” rock came out I thought “whore” rock?

    • Anthony says:

      Might be some truth to that – I used to listen to many people whoring their (lack of) talent at CBGB

      • Lulu says:

        In 2008 I called Bronco a Chicago punk. The moron Dems I was around thought it was a compliment!

      • DeniseVB says:

        Trivia: My dd played (lead singer/screamer) in an all girl metal-punk-grunge-whatever genre during her early days in NYC. They called themselves A.D.D. for Another Dying Dysfunction. They played at CBGB and to this day, I now know why it closed 😛

  3. Anthony says:

    WELCOME HUJEK (HOO-yeck). It means “dickhead” in Polish. He’s pretty amazing

    • Lulu says:

      Very pretty kitty. I hope one day kitty is like my 14 year old calico laying under your feet like mine is and snoring. Gelly, or Prissy Missy the Cav is giving old cat the side eye from the doggie princess bed for daring to enter the inner sanctum and make racket. Silence! We’re reading! You boorish cat!

    • DeniseVB says:

      He’s gorgeous ! ❤

    • swanspirit says:

      Sweetheart. How do you say sweetheart in Polish?

      • Anthony says:

        Kochanie

        I’m not very fluent but I have a lot of clients in Poland as well as other non English speaking countries. I always ask them to speak to me in a fusion of their native language and English. Helps me learn new things (I’ve always has a knack for languages), and I think it’s also good business.

        At present, I can say “Go fuck yourself” in 7 different languages. Just like Melania.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Google Translator is my friend ever since my dd hooked up with an entire family of immigrants from Honduras, and had a baby. Sigh. Anyhoo, since they’ve assimilated with everything except for English (a fine Christian and American patriotic family) I thought the least I could do is communicate with them in Spanish. Only problem, Honduran translations in Spanish does not always translate well. I think I wished dd’s MIL a happy birthday with “You smell like meatballs made of stinky fish”. So I have long stopped trying to communicate with them on FB 😀

    • votermom says:

      so THAT’S what it means!
      He looks like my childhood cat

    • This is Tucker when he was still a kitten.

    • Jadzia says:

      Sooooo pretty!!!

  4. DeniseVB says:

    Not Snowflakes. Have at it transgendered and women who want to be on the front combat lines 😉

  5. swanspirit says:

    Apropos of nothing, but fun

  6. mothy67 says:

    I thought Whinehouse died from heroin. I was a fan. I do not pass judgement on people that get wasted. I have seen far too much.
    Something else to love Trump for— he js talking about opiods freaking heroin. It is an epidemic. Near me is a town gone. 1990 I snorted heroin with Jean Michelle Basquiats lover. I did it for a few days. I collapsed in front of Tower Records. Puking. Shaking , sweating. I never touched heroin again. I can drink a gallon of vodka. Drugs do not possess me. I am no prude. I have done cocaine. I can do a line and stop. I do not drain my bank for one more hit. I am no better than anyone else. I will drink. I had cirrhosis. Of course I am a freak show. It went away. For real I had this thing called perosentesis. . Most people die. Its fluid in the abdomen. I had 5. Three is usually end of the road. They chatted about a transplant. I said that will be a no. I am dreadful. Not even I would deny a child a liver. I was never going to accept a liver in front of a kid. I said no thanks. Death and I don’t seem to see eye to eye. Rumor has it I am oldest person ever with pig valves. I have had them since 1970. They are supposed to last 8 years. I am on 47. My liver is now at full function. No one gets 5 perosentisis and lives. They were talking transplant. I had to have fresh frozen plasma to get a biopsy. I was dying. Shay is my best friend. We were morbid. My blood vessels stopped working. I am kinda sick. We would watch blood just shoot out of my fingers. It was funny. I did not die. My liver is fine. I am very healthy. Makes no sense. I was never letting shaypuff feel sorry for me. We stood on the deck and played spiderman. My fingers were bleeding . They shot out blood. I thought I had only hours I made it fun. Obviously I am not dead. My liver is top notch.

    • Anthony says:

      It was alcohol poisoning. If you follow the link in the post, you can learn a lot about her that wss never publicized. For instance, she donated tons to children’s charities and even footed the bill for someone’s life saving surgery providing he didn’t tell anyone about it

      • mothy67 says:

        Wow thanks so much I did not know that stuff. I wonder if we ran into each other by chance if we would get along. I think we might clash. Gays that are political seem to hate me. There seems to be no room at table for conservative homos. You do group think or fuck off. I have never been one to play along. I am A Dolly Parton kind of gay. Seems people who need people fall into groups. A Striesand or Cher gay is not a dolly gay. I would love to meet some of the women that post here but I would hide. I never want to get in argument with Venus or Lulu or lola. They scare me.I think vmom and I would be pathetic. Would be all about kids. . Jadzia I think I might win but we would both be speaking pig french. That might be fun.

        • Anthony says:

          We’d probably get along. I pretty much get along with everybody until they fuck with me or someone that I love. Then my inner Evelina comes flying out of an alleyway with blood in her eye and a knife in her teeth lol

          As far as a “conservative political gay” identity goes, I’m not exactly conservative. I am a fiscal conservative and quite liberal on all social issues. In other words, don’t spend what we don’t have and the government needs to keep its nose out of everyone’s personal business.

          On being gay – my orientation has nothing to so with my validation. I’m not a lemming so the gay community is puzzled by me. I also prefer to live in the real world, where there are all kinds of people, not only gay. I’ve always been bored by gay bars, restaurants, neighborhoods etc. Ghetto-izing ones self because of their sexuality prevents a person from a fuller and richer life experience.

          There are things about Dolly Cher and Babs that I both like and loathe. I’m pretty much a free spirit. Until someone tries to contain me. Then I’m a bitch from hell.

          • DeniseVB says:

            You sound more libertarian than liberal on social issues. Probably where I’m at since leaving the Dem plantation. Liberals seem to want to control my thoughts and decisions, libertarians just want to be left the fuck alone. The governments *only* job should be to keep me safe and deliver my mail 😀

  7. DeniseVB says:

    I really enjoyed this article. Made me remember why I left the Dem Party from Hell, which started with Barack Obama’s race baiting agenda of dividing us…within the party! He was pure evil.

    https://www.facebook.com/groups/VirginiaBeachRepublicans/permalink/1990325517648081/

    • Anthony says:

      Michael Musto is a disgrace to the gay community. His columns were a combination of haughty outrage over perceived slights to the gay community that had nothing to do with reality. He was (and remains) the original Trigglypuff. I never liked him, and still don’t.

      • mothy67 says:

        Many people got fame years ago as loud mouth gays. It is not like that anymore. Rabid gays are boring. They are like like black pastors. I do not think anyone likes Al Sharpton.
        I am gay. I love my family. I do not need elitists telling me how I feel. They are a disgrace. I find people like the cast of Cnn offensive. That black guy pisses me off. His New Years Eve drunk speech. What the fuck. Poor me. Joke. Disgusting. I spoke with my brothers.
        We shared bunk beds. Not one of my brothers turned away from me. Not ever. They give me the kids. I implore you to reflect. Poor folks are not homophobic. Its rich people. I am someone that lived it.

  8. DeniseVB says:

    FFS. People has now elevated the National Enquirer to Pulitzer level journalism. Oh wait, People will probably win a Pulitzer for this absurd article. Lefties are having the glees thinking this confirms how evil the Trumps are. LOL, no wonder print media is struggling …..

  9. Kathy says:

    Scaramucci…just saw him playing with Tapper on the morning show. Am still laughing..this is gonna be fun.

  10. Your new cat is so cute!

    • Anthony says:

      Thanks! Things are looking up – Sam is playing with him, but only when I’m not looking lol

  11. Dora says:

    I know some of you enjoy the movies on TCM.

    There’s a good one on today:

    Inherit the Wind (1960)
    Sunday, July 23 @ 11:45 AM (ET)

    • DeniseVB says:

      TCM is more than just movies, it’s America’s rich history of the arts, which seems unrecognizable today. #OscarsSoWhite

  12. Dora says:

    He’s a true New Yorker. Better than that actually He comes from Long Island.

    Gotta like him. 🙂

  13. helenk3 says:

    http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2017/07/those_of_us_who_had_decent_health_care_in_2009_have_been_ripped_off.html

    close enough for government work, really means the government would screw up a one car funeral

  14. Dora says:

  15. 49erDweet says:

    We’ve been watching Inspector Gently on Acorn. Top notch. Each epside is like a quality full length move.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Episodes are great, too.

    • Dora says:

      Hubby and I watched all of them already. I hope you started at Series 1. It’s more fun that way.

      BTW, we think that ‘Morse’ is the best of the best. If you can get a hold of that series, I guarantee you’ll enjoy it.

      Happy watching.

    • Miranda says:

      I love Midsomer Murders. Death in Paradise is good too. For something a bit darker (althought it’s downright giddy if you compare it to Boradchurch), try Shetland. All on Netflix. If you have Acorn, have you watched Midwinter of the Spirit? Female priest/exorcist solves crimes. They’re based

  16. DeniseVB says:

    Well, this is true, what Surber said……

  17. dm says:

    Random question here…does anyone else get these annoying Kayak ads at the top of the screen? I am unable to remove them and they always drag me screen back to the top where the ad seems to run forever

    • SHV says:

      I’m using the Brave browser more and more. It blocks all of that crap.

      • dm says:

        Thanks for the reminder. I meant to check this out a while ago and forgot. These Kayak ads have prevented me from commenting much lately because they won’t even allow me to read the other comments – which is the most annoying part cause I love reading what everyone has to say!

  18. DeniseVB says:

    Heh.

  19. DandyTIger says:

    What’s really amazing about Trump and all these investigations is that the swamp and its inner workings are being exposed. We see the GOP, the Dems, the deep state, the investigators, and the media, all on the same side desperately wanting to maintain the swamp. Trump doesn’t even need to do kill shots or stop the crazy investigations. All he has to do is sit back, point it out, and let us all get educated. We’re learning a lot about government. Best part, I don’t think the swamp even gets it.

    • Lulu says:

      The mentality that this information is their own personal property to dispose of as they wish is part of the problem. It is NOT. It belongs to the people of the United States. Not some jumped up shit-head with a personal problem. They are stealing it. They are thieves. Thieves don’t get to keep on thieving without consequences. And to expect to be paid by the very taxed people that own the “information” that is being thieved is a gross insult. And anyone who knows someone thieving and not reporting it is a thief too. Fire ’em. Fine ’em. Jail ’em.

  20. Lulu says:

    http://www.mysanantonio.com/news/local/article/8-found-dead-in-trailer-11308288.php
    Do not get into a closed trailer in Texas in July or August or June or September either for that matter. You will die or your brain will be cooked. As I have said before when Texas was part of Mexico the government in Mexico City could not get people there to settle in Texas because of the extreme weather, snakes, and various other very dangerous critters. When the Mexican army retreated back to Mexico after San Jacinto untold thousands (and all of their horses) died in the extreme heat, lack of water and food, and getting lost in the huge distances. The Texas population was quite small for such a large state before air conditioning for a reason.

    This horror in San Antonio is awful. So now expect every truck coming from Mexico to be searched extensively because the cartels will do anything to traffic drugs and humans. And the failed state of Mexico can’t stop them even if they wanted to do so.

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Gonna miss this guy …

  22. Venus says:

    New kitty is adorable. Try rubbing some oil from a can of tuna on the heads of both your kitties — that should make them start licking each other and start getting along.

    • SHV says:

      With my two Cats, the “top of the head lick” is foreplay to a howling, screaming fight; happens about once a day.

    • Anthony says:

      They’re making slow progress (play fighting until Sam sees me watching. Then he turns away and pretends it didn’t happen lol)

  23. threewickets says:

    Only way Trump thrives is by beating the MSM, CIA, and being a real populist. Trouble is he has Goldman Sachs running everything. And sometimes it even looks like he could be *colluding* with Jeff Zucker and Mike Bloomberg (our new CIA oligarch). Interesting times.

  24. Venus says:

    This thread.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Rasmussen polled voters….wait for it….Kid Rock is not electable!!!!!!1!!!! And so it begins, how Kid Rock will become a Senator. (He’s checked off all my boxes 1)personally and professionally accomplished 2)Rich 3) Loves Trump and America. Too bad I can’t vote in Michigan 😉 )

      • CiscoKid says:

        I have friends in Michigan. I’m going do do an “unscientific” poll and see how he does.

  25. lyn says:

    My m.e. lou had to deal with three male kittens when she was 16. She hissed at them and they kept their distance. She never attacked them.

  26. elliesmom says:

    GOD GIVES 3 MEN LAST CHANCE TO ADMIT INFIDELITY BUT THE FAITHFUL ONE ENDS UP CRYING!

    St. Peter tells them, “As you all know God has a sense of humor and his latest idea is to put the Kingdom of Heaven several hundred miles from the Pearly Gates.”
    “How is that supposed to be funny?” one guy asks.
    “Well, God had the novel idea of allowing those admitted into Heaven a vehicle to travel that distance, but the quality of your vehicle is based upon how faithful you were to your spouse.”
    Knowing they can’t argue and that God obviously knows all, the men begin confessing their infidelity.
    “I admit I screwed around behind my wife’s back, but I broke it off with the girl before my wife found out.” One man admits.
    “Very well,” St. Peter responds and gives him a standard bicycle. The guy shrugs and feels a little better confessing.
    The second man says with a grin, “I’ve never actually cheated on my wife.” St. Peter raises a skeptical brow.
    “Okay… There was one time, but it was technically before we were married! I was drunk and I didn’t know what I was doing but I’ve never been unfaithful after that!”
    With a heavy sigh St. Peter grants the second man a car–but in terrible condition.
    The third man says proudly, “I’ve never been unfaithful. Never.” The other two stare at the third in disbelief.
    “No, he’s right.” St. Peter confirms. “He’s been faithful the whole time. In fact he lost his virginity to his wife.”
    The other two men gape in jealous amazement as the third man is granted a brand new sports car.
    The third man obviously can make it down the long, glittering highway toward the Kingdom of Heaven faster than the other two. However, the first man on the bicycle finds the third man pulled over not too far down the road. Perplexed, he rides to the sports car and finds the man sobbing into his steering wheel.
    “What’s wrong, wise-guy, is this Italian muscle too much for you?” he gloats.
    “No…” the third man tries to gain composure. “It’s not that… The car is beautiful!”
    “Then what’s your problem?”
    “I just passed my wife and she was on rollerskates.”

  27. lateblum says:

    GOLF SPOILER ALERT….. I tried multitasking —- watching the British Open and reading TCH. It took awhile for me. Just like it took Jordan Spieth 1/2 hour to complete a single hole (13) on the back nine. Utterly amazing. He double-bogied the 13th, then birdied 14 and eagled (with a 48 ft putt) 15. Birdied 16, and 18. Unreal.

  28. DeniseVB says:

  29. CiscoKid says:

    😂😂😂😂
    Is it just me or is this the same shit the Dem’s have been peddling the last 50 years or more.?
    https://www.axios.com/better-deal-economic-agenda-house-democrats-plan-2463550316.html

  30. mothy67 says:

    Anthony
    I do wonder about how that disease framed people. I was 16 Aids meant death back then. I hid and tried very hard to fit in to a world that rejected me. . My screwed up heart protected me from going out and getting laid. I knew people that during that time threw caution to the wind. They died awful deaths. I was spared because I was already broken. I think you are near my age. I am 50. It is impossible to tell people what that time was like. People just died. It was,awful. I never had to hurt like that. My siblings always stood with me. We are assholes. Jim, Mary, Case, Steve, Dan. Trash the whole lot. I have never been alone cause I have those cunts. Very political gays wanted me to hate my family. That will never happen. There were days when my being a ghey was not easy. We survived. Jimmy, Alexis, Chris, Mandy, Shay all know uncle TT is a f a g. They do not care. Some gheys seem to like being angry. I get resentment for loving my family. I will always be thankful for those idiots. Same gheys hate Catholicism. Non Catholics spew venom. I will always be Catholic. There are issues. I deny none but I don’t feel comfortable with outsiders judging. I find a peace with my God. Its between us not anyone else. I have known people that cheated on spouses telling me I cannot get right with God because I am queer. WTF?? I have not since 2001. 16 years adulturers tell me about burning in hell. Thanks but no thanks.

  31. DeniseVB says:

    Whoa, OAN has giant brass ones, no wonder they’re on fire !

  32. DeniseVB says:

    Milo found subway guy !

  33. DeniseVB says:

    Scaramucci was talking and joking about his own looks. NYP turned him into a sexist pig.

    • intel15company@yahoo.com says:

      I watched the press briefing.
      I never thought fo a minute, a second that he was slamming Sanders.
      I was thinking all the time, this guy has perfectly quaffed hair, and it looks like he spent a little time in the tanning booth, maybe even spray on.
      His suit was tailored to perfection.
      Snazzy watch too.
      Plus sharp as a needle.
      The media will find their hands filled with Scaramucci.

      • taw46 says:

        Same here, never entered my mind that he was in any way talking about her.

      • Jeffhas says:

        I watched the Tapper interview… I learned a lot about Scaramucci from him; I went to Harvard Law, I was in Larry Tribe’s course – I got an A- in his course; my former company Skybridge; I was for Trump before I was against Trump (and now I’m for Trump again); I supported Scott Walker (wasn’t he the first to crash?); I played football (who cares) and had a great coach that made us feel like a team – working for Trump is like that.

        This guy was a yammerer. He name dropped and talked about himself most of the time. In my humble opinion it was weak defense of this administration and all it has already accomplished.

        I saw the first press briefing, and though he was smooth as silk… but after Tapper, I agree with others here – I don’t trust this guy.

        • Jeffhas says:

          … but I will say he is highly polished. Good-looking/Well presented…. and his suit (and shirt) IS tailored to perfection.

          Now if only his suit was defending Trump it could’ve been a strong performance.

  34. Jadzia says:

    11 hours on the train. Approximately 200 admonishments to “use your inside voice.” I did not know it was possible to be this tired.

Comments are closed.