The Day After Sundae, Dig In

Yeah, it’s all I got, just catching up with the fresh hell President Trump is poking the msm with today. Go Trump 😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

214 Responses to The Day After Sundae, Dig In

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Watching “Troy” on AMC, Brad Pitt is a HORRIBLE actor! How did he get so A-Listy? Lemme guess……

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Why Fox News is getting on my last nerve also, crap like this……

  3. lyn says:

    http://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/267410/trump-effect-mark-tapson

    Now a new documentary offers some thoughtful commentary on President Trump’s agitating arrival on the political scene. Produced, directed and edited by Agustin Blazquez, The Trump Effect: Deprogramming the American Mind features author and filmmaker Laurence Jarvik musing upon the rise of Trump and how this iconoclastic President is changing the way Americans think about ourselves and the world. Over the course of an hour of discussion, Jarvik’s primary thesis is that Trump is dismantling the politically correct ideology that has dominated American political discourse since 9/11, which will lead the way to a newfound freedom and unification of a country on its way to becoming great again.

  4. Dora says:

    The sundae looks delicious, but for those who would like more variety.

    • Lulu says:

      Number 11 Liver Pineapple is my fav.

    • lyn says:

      I love hot dogs. I found an organic brand whose hot dogs taste like the ones from the ’60s.

    • Ann says:

      My mom gave me my grandmother’s recipe box. Some of the recipes written in my grandmother’s hand are listed as “mom’s”! SCOOOOOORRRRRRE!

      A few are O.o. My great-grandmother had a wood stove so the temps are adjusted to her electric stove she got in the late 60s (the wood stove never left the kitchen. She made things on that stove top until she died) – which may be a bit suspect so I will probably have to watch closely the first few times I make these things.

      The recipe for my great-grandmother’s Polish donuts are in there (OMG!! Best food EVER and I don’t particularly care for donuts). Now I have to figure out the lard + temp she made them in as that is not listed (also “one handful” isn’t very technical).

      Still, I am thrilled.

      • blowme0bama says:

        There’s an outstanding vinegar based barbeque sauce that is a secret at an old rib joint. A distant cousin of mine had a woman work for his deceased Mom who had the recipe and he gave it to me.

        It included the ingredient “1/2 5 cent box of black pepper”, “1/2 10 cent box of red pepper”, I was like, “holy crap, how much was that” and the Wife said, “relax, they kept the same sizes but just upped the price”. So we worked on that assumption and it came out perfect.

      • DeniseVB says:

        My grandma fried everything in Crisco from the can and I can still smell her kitchen 🙂 Her meatballs were about a pound of ground beef and 3 pounds of stale bread all mooshed together with spices, I’m salivating thinking about that 🙂

        • My grandma kept a grease can on her stove. It was a mixture of Crisco and grease from bacon and other fatty meats.

          Whenever she cooked bacon she poured the hot grease off into the can. When she needed some oil she would dip some out. I don’t think she ever washed the can.

          • 1539days says:

            My mom didn’t keep it around, but when she was making sauerkraut, she’s fry a pound of bacon first to get the fat for cooking the cabbage.

    • mothy67 says:

      Aspic ham. Once I had aspic. Once.

  5. DeniseVB says:

    After spending his early and current years with DHS under Bush and Obama, my son is going to miss Kelly. Hope his replacement will make the kiddo happy too.

    • Somebody says:

      Interesting picture in that tweet. Tense look on POTUS’s face. McMaster’s looks annoyed at something, the brunette lady seems to be watching McMaster’s reaction or something.

      Was this picture taken by the WH or by the media? I guess maybe by Dr. Gorka himself?? If the media was there that could explain what appears to be some uneasiness.

  6. I am tempted to pull a Sheldon and lecture everyone on the history of the “Sundae”

    • DandyTIger says:

      Only if it eventually leads to talking about bacon.

    • DeniseVB says:

      This?

      Sheldon Cooper: Howard, are you having a make-your-own-sundae bar?
      Howard Wolowitz: I don’t think so.
      Sheldon Cooper: Well, you should. 50% of all marriages end in divorce, but 100% of make-your-own-sundae bars end in happiness.

    • Ann says:

      As long as it is a low-cal recipe like the one above, the etymology is superfluous. 🙂

    • lyn says:

      Who’s the leaker?

    • Miranda says:

      That was fast???

    • taw46 says:

      As we have all said, never a dull moment. Lol. Will Scaramucci still love the President? Is Spicer laughing or crying?

    • DeniseVB says:

      True or not, NYT and the rest of the corporate news are using unnamed “sources”,

    • taw46 says:

      People on FBN talking about how brilliant he is, and maybe he needs to be put in some business capacity in the administration. But definitely didn’t think he should have been in communication.

    • Venus says:

      Larry Schweikart who has a line with Bannon says Mooch was only a temp –came in to scare the shit out of staff/clean up leaks/ oust Preibus. He worked fast. May be back in another capacity.

    • 1539days says:

      I thought he wasn’t even on the payroll yet. Ironically, this answers the question the media posed of “how can the comm office work with someone who fires them?” Looks like he was brought in just to fire some people.

  7. DeniseVB says:

    Sabo’s posters lasted a couple hours at Politicon 🙂

    • taw46 says:

      One of his best. Haha.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Hey taw, how are you doing with “Emily” ? The future track is supposed to pass us well off shore later this week, but I’m still told to “stay tuned” for updates. Stay safe 🙂

        • taw46 says:

          North of us. We are getting some rain that looks like it is from Emily. Thanks for thinking of me!

        • taw46 says:

          We are getting heavy rain now and some wind.

          • We’re in the middle of another cocksucking motherfucker heatwave. I’m not sure if this is the 3rd or the 4th. It’s not any hotter than when I was a kid, I just got old. When you are overweight you retain heat. That’s why fat people sweat so much.

            I can drink a gallon of water and not have to pee because I sweat it out thru my pores.

          • taw46 says:

            It does not hit 100° here, I think it did once over a hundred years ago. But the humidity is awful, just miserable. And will stay this way through October. So, most of the day I am inside in a/c. I lived in Phoenix where it reached 117°. Both horrible in their own way, can’t say I would choose one over the other. Stay inside where it is cool!

  8. Dora says:

    I’m getting dizzy!

    ==

    Anthony Scaramucci Out As White House Communications Director:

    Just over a week into his tenure at the White House, the New York Times reported that the businessman turned Trump defender is out.

    https://patch.com/us/white-house/anthony-scaramucci-out-white-house-communications-director-nyt?utm_source=alert-breakingnews&utm_medium=email&utm_term=weather&utm_campaign=alert

    • DeniseVB says:

      I read on Page Six that Mooch’s wife had a baby last Monday, he hasn’t been by yet, probably why the messy divorce? OMG, my politics and tabloids worlds have collided !

    • Anthony says:

      Wtf?!?! Well, he sure was pretty while he lasted. Reminded me of a young Sinatra. I was on the fence but hoping to find a way to have confidence in him.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I did not comment on Scaramucci. but I always got the vibe that he was brought in for a very specific hatchet job/to be the elephant in the room and that he would be gone as soon as the smoke cleared.

      When I saw he is in the midst of a supposedly very messy divorce/pregnant wifey – that really was a red flag. DJT knows from divorce and you do not want some on in that type of position whose personal life will potentially eclipse his role at the WH.

      • mcnorman says:

        Roger Stone told Steve that Anthony Scaramucci was sent in as a “POLITICAL SUICIDE BOMBER” and may land a job elsewhere in the Trump Administration.

  9. DeniseVB says:

    LOL….the real Spicer’s been invited to Dancing with the Stars, which probably pays better than 4 years as PressSec 😉

  10. Dora says:

    • lateblum says:

      I wonder how many of them actually got jobs. (Besides the 14,000+ that Intel hired when they “let go” those 14,000 including my daughter.)
      😡😡😡

      • elliesmom says:

        Elliesdad calls Intel “The Evil Empire”.

        • 1539days says:

          Samsung beat them as the #1 processor chip maker. Lot of smart phones out there.

          • lateblum says:

            And dd#1 gloats every time she hears news like that Samsung bit.
            I’m grateful she is doing so well, and I doubt she will ever forget how worthless Intel made her and 14,000 others feel just over one year ago.

          • elliesmom says:

            Elliesdad had some medical issues that could have been solved at work with some minor modifications, but when his doctor requested them, Intel gave him an early retirement package instead. It was very generous and allowed him to be very comfortable until the pension he had there kicked in. TBH, most people would have taken it, packed their bags, and been off on a long vacation. But it hit him hard and was something he had no time to get adjusted for mentally. Emotionally, he felt like he was being fired instead of being rewarded for his many years of service. I thought he’d snap out of it, but it’s been four years, and he remains depressed. We have a good friend in a similar situation whose company eased him out gently. Reducing his hours over a six month period until he decided he’d rather be retired. Elliesdad was pulling a full salary for two years after they let him go so it wouldn’t have hurt Intel to give him a small part-time project to ease his way out. They’ve had to pay a lot of therapy bills instead.

            Elliesdad originally worked for Digital and was in the part that got bought out by Intel. Ken Olsen, the guy who started Digital let his old folks come in and water the plants if it made them happy. Who knew what words of wisdom one of them might share with one of the youngsters if they came for lunch? But Intel took Elliesdad’s credentials away his last day at work. When he wants to see any of his old buddies or the young guys who used to work for him, they have to meet offsite. Evil and stupid.

          • Depression is a silent killer.

        • DandyTIger says:

          Sorry to hear about Elliesdad. I consulted with Digital and loved every minute. I’ve worked indirectly with Intel and agree with his assessment. My feeling is they’re actually paranoid and crazy. Never seen a company like that. He’s very lucky to be out of there, but I know that doesn’t help. Depression is very hard to work your way out of. He’s got this techie rooting for him.

        • lateblum says:

          When Intel did their huge “lay offs” last year, it was to bring in those thousands of H1B(?) people. Intel gave people NO notice. People with company cars – and for many it was their only transportation in an area where public trans is limited – were ordered to turn in their car keys, clear out their desks, and leave the premises at once. One HR person submitted a resignation if s/he was forced to take away people’s only method of transportation before they were able to make arrangements to pick up their children, get to appointments, get food for their families, etc. also, everyone’s credentials were taken and were told to never return. They were also told they could never work for Intel anywhere in the future. (Obviously a huuuge mistake and sign of some paranoid and megalomaniacal thinking.)
          Now dd#1 is working for a consulting firm and has had to return to Intel’s offices in her capacity as a consultant. (Ha!) She reported feeling a bit strange having to wait for visitor’s credentials. But I think she also feels a bit smug about those visits. And deservedly so imo.
          Elliesdad was treated much better than those people who were forced out. Many, like my dd who were actually “highly valued” employees. I am glad he fared so well. I hope he is adjusting to his life, and is recovering from his medical issues. It seems they are pretty disabling from the sound of some of your comments.

        • Constance says:

          Sorry to hear Elliesdad is feeling so bad. Having watched and also lived with people who have depression I now feel like people should not wait to go in for treatment because things get out of control and depression builds on itself. I think 2 weeks or 10 pound weight change is long enough to wait before seeking treatment. As time ticks by their life goes to pot to the point where a fully functioning person would have a hard time coping. And dreary thought patterns become established. Or equally as bad they start self medicating habits that are destructive.

        • lateblum says:

          BTW, I consider depression a medical issue. I didn’t want you to think that I forgot the role that depression is playing in his life. After working in psychiatry for the last nearly 30 years, i sometimes bundle those psych illnesses in with other more “physical” illnesses.
          I’m glad he is having – or has had – therapy for the depression. I also hope there is some form of adjunct treatment to talk therapy.

          • elliesmom says:

            He started “adjustment therapy” immediately after leaving. Talk therapy didn’t help much. The weekly sessions turned into a pity party. He needed help moving forward not rehashing what Intel did week after week. But I think his therapist was as depressed as he was. After we moved, he had to change therapists because I refused to drive him back to see her every week. He’s been seeing a psychiatrist here instead who has him on medication now. He has good days, and not so good days. The weekly visits went to monthly visits, and now to every two months. He still sleeps a lot, sometimes backs out of social commitments at the last minute, but he is becoming more social. Having someone in the house doing the renovations has put a bit of a strain on him, but he wants the end results so he’s coping. I had been walking around with a fake smile on my face hoping it would rub off on him, but since I’ve come clean with what his depression has been doing to me, it’s actually been more helpful.

    • swanspirit says:

      Did voters registration come with those permits?

  11. Dora says:

    They are having a field day with this.

    • lateblum says:

      All the noise from the talking heads is about Spicer returning as the Communications Director. Spicer is apparently at the WH right now.
      What a merry-go-round!

      • taw46 says:

        When he resigned, I believe he said he would be there through August. So, he is working. As for returning to his old position, anything goes. Lol.

      • DeniseVB says:

        I know. Since the “announcement” it seems like Trump is playing the media like Candy Crush addicts. 😉

      • Constance says:

        With all this tabloid level stuff going on in the White house I have to wonder if there is a bunch of major changesto policy going down in the background that will really make a difference to us regular people. I hope so, but I doubt it. It’s just that I think of chaos as being creative.

  12. DeniseVB says:

    R.I.P. Sam Shepard. Loved him in “Baby Boom” ….

  13. DeniseVB says:

    Funny that I put this post up before the Scaramucci news broke 🙂 Just proves every TCH post is an Open Thread post, ya never know what you’re going to get !

  14. mothy67 says:

    A new kind of privilege intelligence privilege. They have lost their minds.
    http://daily-iowan.com/2017/07/25/williams-what-is-privilege-and-what-do-we-do-with-it/
    H/t Gay Patriot

    • Anthony says:

      That was the most pretentious pile of shit I ever had to force myself to finish reading

      • Somebody says:

        I couldn’t force myself to finish it, I will take your word for it. I had the same reaction I have to RD posts Klown links too. Click, read a paragraph or two, close…..done. I have enough things in real life that annoy me, I don’t need to go searching for more.

        • elliesmom says:

          Given how smart she thinks she is, I wonder how RD feels about her ” cognitive privilege”? Apparently, it’s wrong to take pride in being born smart. Is it also wrong to take pride in having athletic ability? Or musical talent? Or artistic accomplishment? Or being beautiful or handsome? Since we also “didn’t build that”, we can’t take pride in our ability to start and build a business. Unless we’re born without any innate abilities, we have no right to be proud about anything we do. Taking pride in your work is a key to success, but I guess only stupid, clumsy, tone deaf, unimaginative, ugly people can have pride in what they accomplish.

  15. I went to the local VA clinic for my regular check-up. The first time I walked in there I weighed 376 lbs. My weight had been creeping up for several years because I had untreated depression and all I did was sit in front of a computer and eat. (I was below 200 when my life first fell apart.)

    Today I weighed in at 323lbs. My goal is to be under 300 by the end of the year.

    OTOH, I have a rash in my right armpit.

    • elliesmom says:

      Good for you! Slow and steady.

    • Constance says:

      WOW! That is really impressive. I have nearly finished my preliminary procrastination and am begining to think of making some lifestyle changes. I think I am going to go on the Core Balance Inflamation diet when I get back from my trip to Oregon to see the total eclipse in August.

      • I should have gone on The Biggest Loser.

      • lyn says:

        Where will you be in Oregon? We were thinking of going to Crater Lake to watch.

        • Constance says:

          I’m actually going to watch the eclipse at Maryhill WA at the Stonehenge replica, it seems like that would attract a lot of crazy types so even though it’s only a 97% eclipse there I figure I won’t know the difference. Then dipping down into Oregon to stay at Mcmenamins which has something like 9 bars on the property so you can see why I don’t want to start a food rehab program until Sept. Crater Lake is really beautiful that would be a great vacation too. Probably a lot more restorative than 9 bars, an outlet mall and Bacon cheese burgers or fish and chips meals for 4 days straight!

    • lyn says:

      Wow–way to go!

    • DeniseVB says:

      Walkies! I’m probably closer to your mom’s age than yours, but have been walking daily 2-3 miles for over 10 years now. Slap on some ear phones and walk out your door for 30-40 minutes. It’s refreshing!

    • votermom says:

      Congrats!!
      Eat as much meat as you can, avoid carbs.

    • Somebody says:

      Congrats!! Elliesmom is right, slow and steady wins the race!

    • lateblum says:

      That’s wonderful. I’m happy for you and for us, too. It means you’ll be around a good long time. 🎈 ❤️ 🎈

    • DandyTIger says:

      Woot! Right armpit is probably from the, you know, alien implants.

    • helenk3 says:

      all kidding aside, do you by chance use old spice deoderant? I read recently that it causing serious rashes.

    • swanspirit says:

      You are doing weight loss right! Very impressive!
      I on the other hand, am probably losing because of the GI issues, and not being able to eat more than about a cupful of food at a time. Don’t be like me!

    • Jadzia says:

      Congrats!

    • Anthony says:

      That’s awesome! I recently lost 15 lbs since May 31 after some thumping and gurgling in my chest sent me running to the Dr. My heart checked out ok but I had about 10 extra pounds i put on in the past few years.

      Keep yourself mindful of your goal. A Fitbit Charge 2 helped me push myself a little harder and as Denise said, walking is a good exercise to incorporate into your daily routine.

      Another helpful reminder is the Weight Watchers app. You work with points rather than calories, and most fruits and veggies have no points so if you use up your daily points allotment you can still satisfy your hunger with them and continue to lose weight.

      Slow and steady is definitely the way to go. Good luck!

      • Constance says:

        Fitbit Charge is really helpful. I didn’t like the idea but it was a gift and turns out I love it because it really helps.

        • lateblum says:

          My dd has wanted to give me a fitbit for a while. After reading yours and others’ comments, it looks as if it might be helpful for me. Next time she offers, I won’t say no.
          Glad to hear it’s helping.

        • Anthony says:

          I love mine because of the complexity of the cardiac evaluation as well as sleep evaluation. Interesting to see how much deep, light and REM I get each night

    • John Denney says:

      And to think that my mental image of you was a skinny geek like me.

    • taw46 says:

      But she doesn’t apologize to the President. Bitch.

      • lateblum says:

        She also waited several days after learning the truth, and after the lies being retweeted tens of thousands of times before tweeting her “correction”. Not a genuine apology at all. It should have come earlier and her tweets should’ve been deleted the same day they were originally written.

    • lyn says:

      OK, neither blacks nor Latinos nor Asians are racists.

    • mothy67 says:

      Who the fuck is she to tell anyone what to do? Such an accomplished life.

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      I assume Poor Little Chelsea was too busy helping her mother write up all those fake hero stories and learning how to get donations by selling out ones own country instead of actually learning about other cultures when traveling.

    • lateblum says:

      I am sitting here with my mouth open in sheer amazement at the stupidity of this vapid young woman. It is painful to think that anyone with the advantages she has/had is such a twit. And she doesn’t seem to be embarrassed by it.

  16. SHV says:

    “nor Asians are racists.”
    *****
    But Asians have Cognitive Privilege which is a severe microaggression against real POC, esp. in the California school system.

  17. DeniseVB says:

    I just ordered my solar eclipse safety glasses from vm’s Amazon link. !

    • cynic says:

      Our glasses are ordered as well, and will be watching it from MO. We’re taking a mini vacation to Springfield, on to Hannibal, MO to see some Mark Twain stuff, then on to Jackson, MO. I have to be home Tue.a.m. to babysit, so it’ll be a quick, long weekend.

  18. Dora says:

    It was a year ago! How can they even remember? Do they write down everything Melania wears and on what day she wears it?

  19. helenk3 says:

    http://www.breitbart.com/texas/2017/07/31/video-nypd-powerless-stop-naked-illegal-alien-panhandlers/

    choices have consequences. D”Blasio chose to have NYC a sanctuary city.

  20. mothy67 says:

    I am eating a hot fudge Sunday from one of the top 55 ice cream shops in USA. Listed by state not rank. It is yummy.
    https://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/ice-cream-shop

  21. taw46 says:

    The insanity never ends.

  22. AFVet says:

    Well, well, well,…..what have we here?

  23. mothy67 says:

  24. DandyTIger says:

    Change of pace. Let’s get a nice overview of cowboy shooting from Hickok 45:

  25. mothy67 says:

    The plot thickens if this is true

  26. Dora says:

    Rick Perry is doing a good job as Energy Secretary.

    They are not making much fuss about this yet, but I have a feeling that it’s a pretty big deal.

  27. Dora says:

    This looks awful to me, but who knows? Maybe it will taste good with that sundae. 🙂

  28. Dora says:

  29. Tap, tap, tap . . . is this thing on? Hello?

  30. mothy67 says:

  31. Dora says:

  32. mothy67 says:

    Oops he did it again

  33. mothy67 says:

    First the baby now this and dims still want it

    • Ann says:

      So where can overweight people and smokers go for “non-life-threatening surgery”? Canadians can (and do) routinely come to the US for procedures, but where can those in the UK go? Fly to the US on the QT so they are permitted to board a flight?

      And our leadership wants to bring that crap here? Shesh.

  34. votermom says:

    New open thread, now with 100% content-free!

Comments are closed.