Solar Eclipse Of My Heart – August 21, 2017

I’m just giddy about this celestial event…..

Order your solar eclipse safety glasses here and will throw some change at votermom at the same time ! Just enter “solar eclipse safety glasses” to bring up a wide variety and price range. I got the cardboard 6 pack for about $21. Just tested them looking directly at the sun and I’m not BLIND 😉

I know, I know, this is Vox link, but one of the coolest interactive eclipse viewing links I’ve seen. Just enter your zip code. I’ll see 86% coverage, woot.

Bookmark for the links, stay for the conversation Open Thread !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Solar Eclipse Of My Heart – August 21, 2017

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Thank you Boston Globe for reminding the “total eclipse” viewer path is mostly for Trump supporters.

    It’s appears the Globe article was taken down, but the internet is forever 😀

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2017/aug/2/boston-globe-mocked-for-tying-solar-eclipse-to-tru/

  2. DandyTIger says:

    Random 80s combo:

    • NewOrleans says:

      Man, what a combo! And not one ‘bitches’ or ‘hoes’ or crotch-grab among the whole bunch. The good old days.

      Can’t believe the 30th anniversary of Andy Gibb’s death is coming up early next year.

  3. 1539days says:

    67% for me. I’d need to go 700 miles to see the full Monty.

    I should see if I can con my workplace into having an eclipse viewing party.

    • DeniseVB says:

      Nah. Seems clouds are the biggest threat to ruin the viewing, anywhere. Closest to me for full eclipse are Nashville and Charleston, and they’re not even guaranteed to be cloud free.

      • Constance says:

        That’s why I’m heading to Maryhill, WA. It’s probably never rained there in August and they only get 17 inches of rain a year. Maryhill will be 98% and I don’t think I would know the difference. Also they have a winery, I’ve had their wines in Minneapolis but i haven’t seen them in the store so it’s a good chance to stock up! Hmm, I wonder if you need a tasting appointment on Eclipse day.

    • lateblum says:

      Wow. I’m stunned. It said I’d see an 86% eclipse here at home! All I have to do is walk <2 blocks to the beach. How awesome. (Well probably have 86% cloud cover that day.)

    • taw46 says:

      71.3% for me. I could go visit relatives in S.C. and see a total eclipse, but think I will stay here. Should be some good eclipse parties, they celebrate everything here in the Keys. 🍷

  4. Anthony says:

    Anyone catch this? Acosta is out if his mind

    • DeniseVB says:

      I had the pleasure of seeing Special Snowflake Ace CNN Reporter Acosta when he was covering Trump’s Virginia Beach campaign event last October. I’m not in this video but I was cheering his hecklers. ❤

      • Anthony says:

        I so wish I could’ve been there with you lol.

        • DeniseVB says:

          You wouldn’t have had time 🙂 I made up my mind to go about 10 minutes before the rally started because I was worried about traffic and not being there early enough. Since the campus is only a spit away, decided to drive over to check it out, no traffic, no lines, so I stayed 🙂 That video was after the rally, so you don’t see the thousands that were there, earlier it was packed behind that news pen. It was fun.

    • CiscoKid says:

      Just got back from Indiana doing a little shopping for soda.
      Cook County today started its penny an ounce tax on sweetened drinks and many other drinks.
      Taxaholics actually think people are going to put up with that 💩?
      Bwahaaa!
      Now to answer your question as I got here late.
      I always check out whitehouse.gov for press briefings etc.
      Acosta, CNN , I’m not surprised.
      Miller definitely stood his ground and gave Acosta a good dressing down.
      👍

      • DeniseVB says:

        I know New Hampshire has a mega liquor store for tax free booze on the other side of the MA line. It’s always packed ! I know the Virginia black market runs cigs to NYC and makes a fortune. Yeah for taxes! LOL, just shows what dumbasses our local govt’s are, losing millions over their “sin” taxes.

      • lateblum says:

        Can you imagine the new business that will arise from this tax? People will take sugared drink orders and drive to Indiana, or Lake Co, or DuPage Co. Charge less than the tax and keep on driving for soft drinks, fruit juice, flavored water, Frappacinos, iced tea, Snapple, etc…. Maybe the south side gangs will finally have jobs that don’t involve shooting and killing. I know I’m not that far from Lake Co. And if I’m going to Wi, I can pick up groceries. There may be no tax on groceries. I know there didn’t used to be at one time.
        I swear To I Preckwinkle is a third rate liar. She let mNy, many workers go – laid them off, just to push the necessity of the tax. I think this tax is a big mistake.

  5. dm says:

    So, my zip is at 78%….anyone know if I need to keep my critters inside…if it’s damaging to humans, it would be damaging to the critters, yes?

    • CiscoKid says:

      AWESOME!

    • DeniseVB says:

      Gorgeous photo ! I’ve seen ads for airlines that will fly above the cloud cover over the 100% total eclipse path. Nah, I’ll take my chance at 86%. My luck, we’ll have a hurricane that week and planes won’t be able to take off 😛

  6. Anthony says:

    I got 71.6%, right after a particularly loony client. Perfect!

  7. helenk3 says:

    https://thehornnews.com/jeff-sessions-huge-leak-arrests-coming-lock/

    seems like on this coming Friday, a thread featuring “jailhouse music” would work

  8. Somebody says:

    We’re at 93 percent here, thanks for the link VM. We were going to drive closer to the path, which is an easy drive but I’m thinking maybe not now. I will talk to dd, she’s the one that has had a total solar eclipse on her bucket list for years. If she wants the full meal deal we’ll drive a couple hours north.

  9. swanspirit says:

    80% for me! Which is still pretty good, I would have to drive 4 hours south, and I am pretty certain that isn’t going to happen. I bet it will be spectacular over the beach though, I might be up for that!

    The Perseid Meteor Shower is coming up too!
    https://www.space.com/32868-perseid-meteor-shower-guide.html

    • DeniseVB says:

      I don’t think, in my lifetime, I’ve seen anything over 25% (which is still pretty cool). I think we were using the shoebox safety method. Something like this……

      • elliesmom says:

        I saw a total eclipse in Nova Scotia in the summer of 1972. My mom’s family is there so I decided I needed to meet the ones I didn’t already know. It`was cool to mark it off my bucket list, but a little disappointing because you can’t really look at it. We had pinhole boxes and a couple of pairs of welder’s glasses. The photographs in magazines were more interesting than watching a shadow in a cardboard box. I have friends who are traveling to see it, but the anticipation is more exciting than the actual event. It was about as exciting as seeing Plymouth Rock.

  10. AFVet says:

    • mothy67 says:

      And in comments libs going on about child labor laws.
      Washington Post will likely investigate if he has paid taxes.
      I hate libs.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Shoveling snow, mowing lawns and selling lemonade are all illegal here without a biz license, bonded and insured. Most young pre-teens can’t afford that 😦 Last fall after my dh’s hip replacement a neighbor sent his kids over to rake leaves for us. Little felons 😉

      • CiscoKid says:

        Maybe if the kid was on welfare via his mother, that would be ok.

      • AFVet says:

        There’s a slightly longer version out there where Sarah says that the grounds keepers are going to show him around and let him mow the rose garden.

  11. AFVet says:

  12. Used that vox link. Handy.

  13. helenk3 says:

    https://creepingsharia.wordpress.com/2017/08/02/virginia-islam-lessons/

    would the kid flunk if their poster read
    lie – rape – beat women – refuse to wash hands – use terror tactics

    • CiscoKid says:

      Just WTF is going on in Virginia?
      I hope they don’t leave out FGM and 12 year old brides.
      Honor killings too.
      F’king insanity.

      • Anthony says:

        Let’s not forget simple vs complex beheadings, cage roastings/drownings, and the ever popular flying gays.

        • CiscoKid says:

          I’ll never understand how anyone would want that 💩 here in America.
          Are people completely oblivious to what muslimism truly is about?

          • Anthony says:

            It’s a social experiment started by GHWB in the 80s and continued by Clinton in 90s, GWB in 2000’s, and The Changeling in 2008. HRC was supposed to deliver the coup de grace but instead got schlonged by a true American

    • mothy67 says:

      That happens here and school will not be happy.

  14. AFVet says:

    Kennedy……

  15. mothy67 says:

    Wow

    • CiscoKid says:

      I posted this before, but I enjoy so much giving the taxaholics in Illinois the big F🖕U
      I live very near the expressway, I drive to Indiana or Wisconsin to shop.
      Only buy fresh greens in Chicago, nothing else.
      Gas, liquor, cat food, meat and soda.
      I have a vacuum sealer and a deep freezer.
      The drive gets me out of the house.
      And I beat these A-holes.
      Winning, anyway I can.

  16. lyn says:

    From the horse’s mouth:

    • CiscoKid says:

      I believe PDJT has more class than that.
      He loves America, its people and I don’t believe that he would make a statement like that about the TWH.

      • taw46 says:

        I remember seeing him in the WH after inauguration, talking about what a wonderful, beautiful, special place it was. So no, I don’t believe he said it.

  17. taw46 says:

    NASA on safe glasses for viewing the eclipse. Not all glasses are safe.

    https://eclipse2017.nasa.gov/safety

  18. swanspirit says:

    View story at Medium.com

    Something has to give. By the ancient rules of astrology, the Great American Eclipse says the change begins NOW.
    Into the Shadow
    Eclipses are all about working with shadows. A solar eclipse is literally the Moon’s shadow falling on the surface of the Earth.
    Metaphorically speaking eclipses then are moments when we must face our individual and collective shadow, to allow us to find healing through a new level of understanding.
    In this sense, Donald Trump was never the “enemy of progress.”

    President Trump, the man who would “Make America Great,” basks in the glow of his introduction.
    He was the right man, in the right place, at the right time. In this sense, Trump is a man destined from birth to hold the projection of the collective shadow of our nation. So that we can clean up our shit and move on to the next phase of our history.
    He’s holding up a mirror to see what’s broken within ourselves and within our society. He’s a proverbial match that lights the bonfire, already stacked long before he arrived.
    Now it’s our turn as a nation to ask the crucial questions: who are we as a nation, and what do we want to become?
    Over the next few years, we must develop a process for having this conversation. Because, to echo Ben Franklin’s sentiments, if we don’t learn to hang together, we shall most certainly hang separately.

    Read the whole thing!

    • Lulu says:

      We’re only at 73% and wouldn’t be able to see it with the trees and probable clouds. So we’re going to sit in our “henge” in patio chairs, drink iced tea and just soak in the pagan aura of it all as darkness falls like a couple of old crazy Druids.

      I find it amusing that “conversations” are NOW being asked for by the various and sundry. And bi-partisanship. That is what Obama said too back in 2009. That time has passed. Most don’t trusts them to talk about jack. Their version of conversation which consisted of shut up is over and now they have to do or tolerate or go nuts or whatever. Don’t care.

    • CiscoKid says:

      Very, very interesting.
      Give it a read.
      Tks. Swan👏

      • cynic says:

        I agree. Very interesting. Thanks! Oh, and this was interesting:
        “Oh, and by the way, let’s not forget, President Trump was born on the day of a lunar eclipse. So, as an eclipse baby himself, he’s even more sensitive to their triggering influence.”

  19. Dora says:

    I like this picture. 🙂

  20. ginainmo says:

    100% here in flyover country!

Comments are closed.