Good Friday Morning Sunshines!

What? It’s morning somewhere, right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

107 Responses to Good Friday Morning Sunshines!

    • DeniseVB says:

      I remember that story, declared a suicide yet couldn’t find a gun after searching 2 blocks in all directions?

      • Somebody says:

        Well it’s possible the gun washed out to sea, but the whole case stinks to high heaven. It is rare in Florida to be on an isolated beach, they do exist but not in south Florida. If I remember correctly he was in a business suit, not usual beach attire. Didn’t they initially claim he fell off a boat? Something about he had been on a fishing trip or maybe that was just a theory. Again a business suit isn’t typical fishing attire either.

        All that being said, is it possible he was distraught about something and wandered down to the beach to off himself in the wee hours. Say he wandered out into the water and shot himself, dropping the gun which then washed out to sea. There are condos everywhere and nobody heard a shot? No way it happened during the daylight hours, someone would have seen him. If he did walk out into the water and shoot himself did it happen during some bizarre moon that drove all the sharks away from that area??? Just saying, our waters are full of sharks.

        Nope it seems far more likely to me his body was dumped there, but what do I know.

        • 49erDweet says:

          Those dad-ratted floating guns! They’ll shoot you even when you’re not looking!!! And then float to New Jersey.

        • Somebody says:

          Um, something doesn’t have to float to be washed out to sea. Tides come in and tides go out.
          I still think the body was dumped and I strongly suspect foul play.

          • DeniseVB says:

            Any homicide within 3 degrees of separation from the Clintons, I suspect foul play. Can’t all be a coincidence 😀

          • 49erDweet says:

            Not saying tides and/or wave action will not tumble a heavy metal object several yards – or at least until it tumbles/washes out of the an active tidal area – but most handguns are like anchors. They’ll go down right where they’re dropped and partially burrow themselves into the seabed within a few minutes. If a proper area search fails to discover it I’d look for the presence of a gun-grabbing octopus or some other removal means. /wink/

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Journalism. Comments are priceless 😀

  2. Dora says:

    The poor pigs. 😦

    ===

    Gene Editing Spurs Hope for Transplanting Pig Organs Into Humans

    In a striking advance that helps open the door to organ transplants from animals, researchers have created gene-edited piglets cleansed of viruses that might cause disease in humans.

    • mothy67 says:

      My valves are pig.

      • Lulu says:

        Mine are cow. Moo! It’s probably why I love steak and hamburgers so much.

        • mothy67 says:

          For real? Mine are 47 yrs old. They are supposed to last 7.
          I do love bacon.

          • Lulu says:

            Mine is supposed to last 15 so a new one is supposedly coming up in a couple of years but so far so good. Mine makes a whooosh noise that I cannot hear. And no to beef loving starting with the valve. I am a descendent of livestock (mostly always beef some horses too) producers so always a big beef eater but the lean grass fed stuff.

    • CiscoKid says:

      🐷😋

    • Ann says:

      My best working thyroid medicine was from pig thyroids – until the government decided a 100-year-old med grandfathered into old pharmaceutical laws needed to be reworked. HTH do you rework a pig’s thyroid? Anyhoooo it did not work as well for me afterward (fillers? REALLY reworked?) and now I am on a synthetic that isn’t half as good as that original pig thyroid med.

      • Lulu says:

        I have a friend who pays a fortune for a compounding pharmacist to make hers. She has taken thyroid stuff forever and the new stuff made her kind of crazy. I’ve only taken the new stuff so I don’t know the difference.

        • votermom says:

          KTE has always been on the fake stuff (synthroid). I sometimes wonder if she’d do better on the non-fake stuff.
          OTOH she’s joined me on zero carb and I have great hopes that it will improve her thyroid function.

      • lateblum says:

        Following on the back of Lulu’s comment . . . I used to work with a woman who got her medication from Canada. It had been prescribed and on the approved list of drugs in the US until some years ago when it was removed from that list. I don’t know much about the drug, but I know she continued to take that drug with success. Through independent research on her part, she learned that she could purchase the ingredients that make up that medication on her own. So she did, and she mixed her own medications with success.

        • Ann says:

          The whole plant closed down to remake it so the original isn’t available anymore, anywhere… and even suckier is NO heads-up was given (the scramble, the wailing… for something people need to live!). The shelf-life was 17 years so we could have stockpiled with any type of notice.

          I have often thought of the compounding pharmacy angle, but as Lulu stated, it does cost $$. When this current one complete stops working (they all do for me, they killed my thyroid but good), it may be my next option though.

  3. Dora says:

  4. Jadzia says:

    On the opioid thing, I just read that alcohol causes about 88K deaths per year compared to 35K-ish for opioids. The problem with taking a War on Drugs approach to Rx, IMHO, is that unlike, say, cocaine, Rx drugs have legitimate uses. I’m not sure how drug-treatment programs are supposed to help people with spinal stenosis or other extremely painful conditions. This war has already started in Europe, and the “advice” given to people who legitimately use these medication is, in my opinion, cruel–advice like tough it out, just do yoga!, and hey fatty, you really should go to the gym more often. If you’re in too much pain to get off the floor, how are you supposed to go to the gym?

    That said, I am having a bad day with this injury that started back in March. I would LOVE to go to the gym. For the last two weeks or so, I’ve been able to spend about two hours a day working at my desk and the remainder of my work day flat on my back with my computer sitting right under my chin. I was able to go on vacation with the kids by using up what was left of my pain medication (Tylenol III is about as weak as you can get and still be in the disfavored category, but disfavored it is) before they took it off the shelves here. I have eight tablets left, which I am saving so that I can get through my dissertation defense in November.

    And still I’m sure that this desire to not feel like this all the time, not to have to essentially withdraw from life as a professional and a mother who is not all that old yet, will be seen by many as weakness, or a moral failing, or an addiction. I’m going to an osteopath today (which terrifies me–they are not real doctors here like they are in the USA, all they do are manipulations) and yet another physical therapist next week. At best they will help and at worst, well, I can tell the doctor that I was a good girl and did what she told me to do (well, that and just stretch!). I am beginning to see why people want to check out from a life of chronic pain, even though that isn’t an option for me.

    • lateblum says:

      I am so sorry for you. It sounds like you’re going through hell. And without any support.
      At what point is surgery an option?
      I ask because spinal stenosis plus sciatica were the causes for my chronic and debilitating pain. I tried medication – it made me so ill I was in bed 12 hours/day. I tried weekly acupuncture until my practitioner told me I should stop as it had no positive effect after the first hour. I tried PT, walking, stretching, meditation. I had seen 4 different doctors who all recommended surgery. And still I put it off. But since my surgery last summer, the pain that I’d struggled with for so many years, is gone.
      Yes, I do have some pain, but it is related to the surgery and not chronic. It is also not as bad and does not debilitate me or hinder my activities.
      I know my response to the surgery is what most people experience – but not everyone. I know 2 people who had similar surgeries and had far different experiences from mine. In fact, knowing them and how they suffered since surgery very much influenced me against having it. But I also didn’t think I’d survive at all if I didn’t try the surgery.
      Jadzia, I hope there is some relief for you.

      • elliesmom says:

        After two years of back pain being treated with physical therapy and medication with some modest success followed by painful relapses, I opted for surgery. If I lift something that’s too heavy or try to turn my body into a pretzel, I occasionally get a sharp pain down my leg. It usually comes in the middle of the night, but a few minutes of stretching and walking it off, and I’m back to sleep, pain-free, again. The reminders of where I used to be are infrequent. Just enough to keep me from getting too cocky about how much heavy lifting is too much. I can do 25 lb easily as long as it’s not repetitive. I remember not being able to carry a small grocery bag. My surgery was in 1992.

    • Lulu says:

      I went through two rounds of intensive physical therapy for discs problems in the late 90’s. I thought “kill me!”. My therapist laughed when I told him I would hang upside down on my kids’ monkey bars like a bat to take the pressure off. No surgery and it got better. I can’t lift a lot (25 pounds or so) and it has to be with my legs but I have no pain except when I overdo it. While it is going on it feels like it will never end. I also have the “back” chair which has a heating pad wrapped around a lumbar pillow and I do therapy exercises when it flares up which isn’t very often. It will get better. And I’ll do a little pagan dance to hurry it up for ya since I’m a heathen.

    • votermom says:

      Jadzia, so on the zero carb group, they recommend let the body heal first and actually avoid exercise until you feel so great that you want to.
      It seems to work – they have 10 year veterans who started out really debilitated and have been healthy for a while, one of who does regular marathons now.
      If you want to try it for 3 months, there is an informal social media study starting on Aug 15 that a lot of curious folk are signing up for. (You send an email with a certain subject line to sign up, they send you a survey)
      http://nequalsmany.com

    • swanspirit says:

      My back pain was excruciating, I had no choice but to have surgery. Being allergic to opioids didn’t help either. But the relief from pain that surgery brought, and the ability to return to work and live my life was such an enormous blessing, I am grateful that surgery was an option. I admit, I was absolutely terrified of having back surgery, but having no choice sort of limited my options. I hope you have some option that will relieve your pain, Jadzia!
      The surgery I had was for a herniated disc, L5, and I have to be careful lifting. I just don’t lift heavy objects, and I do just fine.

      • 49erDweet says:

        My honey’s back surgery last year was to remove an extra half-of-a-vertebrae she was blessed with at birth and which had brought on a major spinal fusion in her early teens. Because they took quite a bit of curvature OUT of her spine they stretched her spinal cord just enough to give her pain, pain, pain, pain everywhere, plus encroaching numbness from her hips, down. She’s a half inch taller than when I married her and she now has four steel “rebar” rods screwed into the top and base of her spine, Lot’s of fun for her, NOT.

        • lateblum says:

          49er, I think of you and your honey so often. I remember very clearly the time of that surgery and the long time following when she struggled so much. You were so generous to share all of that with us. How is she now? Has the pain lessened?

          • 49erDweet says:

            No. Bless you for asking. She has learned a little better how to manage it, now, but it’s still debilitating and wears her out. One side benefit is her surgeon is – by his own admission – much less cocky now.

          • lateblum says:

            I’m sorry to hear she still has such a debilitating pain. I don’t know how people really handle such pain and remain upright, and alive. I really do think of her often. It sounds as if her entire life has been a trial of sorts. Lucky that she has you on her side. What is she doing for the pain? does anything work?
            As for her doctor being less cocky —-

          • 49erDweet says:

            She is on a full bore medication regime – including oxy and hydro – and to keep from being addicted counts the minutes several times a day before she can move freely again. But it’s never totally painfree.

          • lateblum says:

            That sounds so rough. Like swanspirit, that stuff makes me so ill, I have to take a a med just to control the nausea. I am so so sorry. Is anything better for her?

        • DeniseVB says:

          {{{hugs}}} to you both Dweetie. She sounds like a much stronger person than I can ever be. ❤

      • DeniseVB says:

        Surgery is terrifying, so glad you were fixable ! Know your limits and just accept the new normal, as I tell dh over and over and over to keep him off a 2 story ladder, or other activities that gave him 2 new hips and a shoulder. We hire “The Guy” now to pressure wash the house, deck, balcony and piers. Clean the gutters, paint the trim, deliver, spread mulch, trim the mature trees and anything else that would put another joint at risk or may screw up his current new parts. So far so good on the back, though some days he needs a celebrex to get him through a round of golf.

        It’s why I’m ready for Beachfront Bargain Hunting for a condo 😀

  5. taw46 says:

  6. Dora says:

    Manafort switching legal team as feds crank up heat on him

    Former Trump campaign chairman Paul Manafort is changing his attorneys as a federal investigation heats up into his financial transactions, according to people familiar with the matter.

    Manafort’s case will now be handled by Miller and Chevalier, a boutique firm in Washington that specializes in complicated financial crimes among other issues, these people said.

    http://www.politico.com/story/2017/08/10/hold-manafort-switching-legal-team-as-feds-crank-up-heat-on-him-hold-241507

  7. Dora says:

    For those interested in cold cases, this is exciting news.

    ========

    Potential physical evidence uncovered in D.B. Cooper mystery

    A crew of volunteer cold-case investigators in the Pacific Northwest, led by a former FBI agent, has uncovered what they believe to be “potential evidence” in the 46-year-old mystery of D.B. Cooper.

    http://nypost.com/2017/08/10/potential-physical-evidence-uncovered-in-d-b-cooper-mystery/?utm_campaign=SocialFlow&utm_source=NYPTwitter&utm_medium=SocialFlow&sr_share=twitter

  8. Dora says:

  9. helenk3 says:

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2017/aug/10/open-letter-mitch-mcconnell-and-congress/

    OUCH. congress might want to pay attention to letters like this

  10. helenk3 says:

    http://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2017/08/reviving_missile_defense.html

    it is overdue. backtrack stifled it, now we have to make up the loss quickly

    • Lulu says:

      It is that Chalupa chick. My hubby laughed when he saw her name when she was on Fox. So maybe we will have a Chalupa-Gate.

  11. lateblum says:

    I’m not going to be around much today. I have a boatload of chores that must be completed by the weekend. But I wanted to report that the Cook Co, Illinois “sweetened beverage tax” is illegal in the eyes of the Dept of Agriculture’s Food and Nutrition division. They have threatened to withhold $87M in food stamp money if the tax is imposed on SNAP customers.
    Apparently, the Feds told the Cook Co Bd that the imposition of this tax on SNAP users was illegal as far back as in late June. Yet the county has moved forward with the tax and everyone who has purchased anything resembling a sweetened beverage has had to pay this illegal tax.
    There are already lawsuits related to this tax. Some, like Walgreens and McDonalds and 7-11, are imposing this surcharge even when the drink is not sweetened. One franchise owner said that if it comes in a “Big Gulp” cup, it gets taxed no matter what’s in the cup.
    So much graft/corruption, so little time. But then it is C(r)ook County, Illinois.

    • Lulu says:

      My favorite part is that the pols gave each other a big raise as soon as the tax went into effect.

    • Ann says:

      People on food stamps do not pay tax on grocery store food (in general). The tax shows when the item is run up but deducted from the bill when the food stamp card is used as payment. Hot food is classified differently and is (generally) not paid for with food stamps. That tax should have been deducted from any order paid for with food stamps when eligible food stamp items were purchased (which include canned/bottled sweetened beverages for home consumption).

      Back in the day (when I was training cashiers for a major grocery store ohhhh a million years ago) a big gulp would have been considered “prepared food” (hot food) so not food stamp eligible. Not sure what it is classified as these days: https://www.fns.usda.gov/snap/eligible-food-items

      • Ann says:

        *rung up

      • lateblum says:

        If that’s the case, and the county administration was advised about something they should have known already, they deserve to be fined and have a class action suit filed against them.
        I’m so tired of the corruption in Chicago and Cook County. The greed is unbelievable starting at the top. So when Rahm Emanuel starts throwing stones at the governor, I just want to throw bricks at him. And Toni Preckwinkle is right up there with him.
        How they continue to be elected is a sign of how poorly informed or dependent or both, the electorate is.
        Thanks for the info.

    • Lulu says:

      I think most of them think he has done quite enough “helping” by now. I guess he wants to be paid off to go away.

  12. 49erDweet says:

    It’s morning! But the marine layer is keeping the sun hidden here on the Monterey Bay. Tuff times.

  13. helenk3 says:

    https://www.space.com/32868-perseid-meteor-shower-guide.html

    Saturday will be a good skywatching night

    • lyn says:

      Youtube is doing that to the conservatives.

      • swanspirit says:

        Youtube, facebook, twitter and google. Our corporate overlords think; and I use that term loosely; that because they are smart at one thing, like coding, or online videos, or search engines, they are smart about everything, and that everyone should agree with them, about everything, because they are so smart.
        They are actively censoring conservatives, and anyone with whom they disagree. They think if they control the narrative, that they will control people, and control outcomes. That worked really well in the last election, didn’t it?
        Their time is coming. Workarounds are coming. People will just have their own websites, and upload their own videos.They think people are that dependent on their platforms. They are not.

  14. DeniseVB says:

    Michael Moore’s show opened on Broadway last night and here’s the links to the reviews from Playbill. I guess only reviewers from lefty sources attended? Sounded like a real fun night out for Trump haters.

    http://www.playbill.com/article/what-do-critics-think-of-michael-moores-broadway-show-the-terms-of-my-surrender

  15. votermom says:

    The Smirnoff pic in the post looks like Michael Jackson.

  16. foxyladi14 says:

    America loves a Strong leader. 😀

  17. Dora says:

    These images are hysterical. 🙂

    ==

    Trump Fans Gleefully Appropriate Trump Chicken for Meme Magic

    After liberal protesters set up a 30-foot inflatable chicken outside the White House, President Trump’s supporters joyfully appropriated the image for their memes.

    http://www.breitbart.com/big-government/2017/08/11/trump-fans-gleefully-appropriate-trump-chicken-meme-magic/

  18. helenk3 says:

    random thought
    if we have to go to war, at least this time we have a president with the will to win. It has been a long time since we had that

  19. DeniseVB says:

    LOL !!

  20. DeniseVB says:

    Ready !

  21. DeniseVB says:

    Nutroots on Cspan. Meh. It’s all SJW crappola and The Resistance!!! Scanned a few tweets, same, same at #NN17

  22. DeniseVB says:

    Sabo !

  23. Dora says:

  24. This year just keeps getting better and better.

  25. Dora says:

    I think it’s a beautiful painting.

  26. Dora says:

    • CiscoKid says:

      🚂🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸
      Now tell me that’s not Presidential.
      Merkel ruined her own country and now she’s trying to give Trump advice
      😂😂😂😂

Comments are closed.