S.H.I.T. Open Thread

As soon as this picture was taken Acosta told the photographer to leave. “We’d like some privacy,” he said as he closed the door.


Breaking news:

Oh, Jim. Trump has done nothing to discredit you. All your wounds are self inflicted. Trump is just pointing them out.

About Myiq2xu - BA, JD, FJB

I was born and raised in a different country - America. I don't know what this place is.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

104 Responses to S.H.I.T. Open Thread

  1. Ann says:

    Twitchy had a bunch, some were lame, some funny, some sadly true, including this one:

    https://twitter.com/redsteeze/status/1027317968898805760

    • DeniseVB says:

      Stuart Smalley ! Back in the day when I liked Al Franken. So much so, I sent him $25 for his first Senate campaign. He owes me a refund!

  2. Dora says:

    Another eloquent speech by Michael Moore.

    =====

    Michael Moore: ‘F—k Hope, Seriously, F—k Hope;’ Trump Will Be ‘Last President of the U.S.’
    https://www.cnsnews.com/blog/craig-bannister/michael-moore-f-k-hope-seriously-f-k-hope-trump-will-be-last-president-us

    • Miranda says:

      If Trump is ‘the last president’, what are they intending? Anarchy? Monarchy? The French Revolution didn’t turn out well.

    • John Denney says:

      Yeah, like Michelle O said, there is no hope. The Russians have totally outsmarted us and too many people are knuckle-dragging misogynistic homophobic Islamophobic xenophobic ignorant racist deplorables clinging to their guns and Bibles.

      P.S. /s

  3. Somebody says:

    Leslie, I may have found something else that doesn’t involve nearly as much work.
    https://tjernlund.com/airshare_ventilation.htm

    I read about these and then went hunting for one. This is the first one I ran across. They are called ventilation fans and doggone you get a million kitchen and bathroom exhaust fans. These could be a really good solution to moving the air around depending on the CFM. The higher the better to move the air around. If you installed a couple of these in your walls down low strategically, I bet it would do the trick. Are you allowed to install something like this in your interior walls?

    I found another thing too, but I’ll post a link to that below.

    • Constance says:

      I didn’t catch the first part of this discussion but am assuming it’s about cooling the house. When I was in Ohio 25 years ago my brother in law waited until the outside temp dropped at night and then opened the doors and turned on an attic fan. Wow did that cool everything down! I guess it eliminates the hot air stuck in the attic. So my suggestion is get an attic fan.

      • Somebody says:

        She’s in a condo, no attic. Those do work well when the weather is coolish though.

        Now that I’ve looked around I can’t find one that moves more than 110 CFM, that’s not much.

        Leslie, question. So you are allowed to have a window unit in your kitchen window because it doesn’t face the street. You say you can’t have a mini-split because only landscaping is allowed on the ground. So here’s my question, is there any outside wall space near that kitchen window that doesn’t face the street?

        The reason I ask is because you can hang a mini-split on the wall, in fact ours is hung on the outside wall. The dimensions of ours is 36 inches wide x 30 inches tall x 15.5 inches deep** but if mounted on the wall you need at least 5 inches behind it 7-8 is better so figure 20 to 24 inches deep. They make racks to hang it on, ours is stainless steel. Ours is 2 ton, probably plenty big enough for your condo, the 2.5 ton is similar in size.

        If you are allowed to have a window unit sticking out there, seems to me having a mini-split hanging on the wall wouldn’t be any more obtrusive. Bonus if you get the heat pump kind you can heat with it too. They are super energy efficient and doubtless, however you’d want the kind with extra outlets so you can put vents in all the rooms, the “duct” running to those is PVC pipe.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I’m in awe of your expertise Somebody! All I was going to offer was start a gofundme to send leslie to a hotel with a pool til it gets fixed 😀 I think Chicago only has a couple of miserable months of summer unlike Fl, or even Virginia when our a/c is on May-Oct. This past crazy winter, we turned it on in February, then back to heat through April.

          • Somebody says:

            Expertise? Not really, I’ve just been doing research trying to “fix” the man cave. When hubby went back to work it became my mom cave/smoking cave.

            Now hubby is working from home and he’s reclaimed his man cave, it is now his office. My 🚬 is bothering him so I’m trying to fix that. I realize if I went outside that would fix it, but I enjoy being in the A/C and heat in winter….and dry and no lightening and all that. So I hopefully have come up with a filtration system so we can share the space. That’s why I know so much about all these fans and stuff.

            I’m currently in a dispute with a hydroponic place in the Denver area that had a good price on my set up on eBay. I bought it and they never shipped it, always said label created. Yesterday was 1st day to file complaint with ebay, seller had 72 hours then I’ll get my money back because I used PayPal to CYA just in case 😉.

            I can get it from Amazon but it will cost me $150 more 😏 Plus, it should have been here last week. Now waiting for refund then ordering from Amazon I’ll be 2 weeks or more behind on my install.

          • lateblum says:

            Denise —- best idea evah! But we should do the gofundme to pay for all of us to meetup somewhere cool. And by cool I mean 75 degrees or less. 👍❣️👍

      • John Denney says:

        I put a portable box fan in the window on the hot side of the house blowing out, and keep all the doors and windows closed except for where the outside air is coolest, like the patio door in the afternoon when the patio is in shade, after I hose off the patio to cool it down.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Put a kiddie pool on the patio, breezes off the water are pretty cooling 😀

          • John Denney says:

            I used to have a curved piece of pvc that connected to the hose and stood about waist high with two nozzles that would emit a very fine mist. Worked great for cooling. Not sure what happened to it.

        • lateblum says:

          John Denney —-> I tried that the first few years after I moved here. I was in my late-ish 40’s and could better tolerate the temps. It didn’t work all that well because there is no real cross ventilation and the only “cooler side” of my unit is the kitchen window and door that face the porch where my crazy neighbor’s HOT air from her a/c was blowing directly into into my kitchen. It still does. Only now she has a Bigger AC that blows even MORE hot air into my kitchen.
          Truly if I’d had any real sense, I’d have looked elsewhere. I was smitten with the architecture, the 100yo beautiful touches in the entry, the natural wood and the 100yo cabinetry with leaded glass in the dining room and the back courtyard which is a thing of beauty that I cannot adequately describe. It is a magic garden. It’s simply wonderful to go out there even in the heat of day because it is always shady and quiet. Oh dear, maybe I’d still have bought here. Hmm ❣️
          Thank you for your suggestion, though. I wish that would’ve worked.

          • Mt.Laurel says:

            I am sure it is lovely. I think, like me, you went with a condo style that evoked a feeling of it being a home. I have a real kitchen with windows and a dining room. And although not 100 years, over past couple decades the tree preserve and courtyards have been maturing nicely. But, alas, even with corner units, a true cross breeze is not attainsble.

    • blowme0bama says:

      Somebody, you’ve really put a lot of good information out there. I hope she can get some relief. I can’t tolerate heat in a house over 73 or so, especially at night.

      • Somebody says:

        Me either, I couldn’t live in Florida without A/C. The older we get the more susceptible to extreme heat or cold we are. Hearing Leslie was suffering through 90’s with 90 plus percent humidity, worries and makes sweat in sympathy😂

        • blowme0bama says:

          Well, 90s with 90% is my typical July through mid September basically my entire life, though the 90%+ humidity has gotten more common since I moved down to the coast 22 years ago.

          I took the ancestry DNA thing and was expecting to see Icelandic ethnicity given how I hate this shit.

        • mothy2017 says:

          My first thoughts when meeeeeechelle was cheering on raising utility rates and biden was calling a/c the enemy was what about the very old and sick.

        • lateblum says:

          That is so sweat…errrrr sweet.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Me too. We have ceiling fans in every room also. Better yet, we signed on for a program a few years ago for an HVAC company to do spring (a/c) and fall (heat) checkups. Plus, if we need to replace a unit, those are the cheapest months to buy one. SHOULD anything go wrong during extreme hot or cold weather, they come right out, 24/7, and no service call fee (just parts and labor) even on the weekends/holidays. It’s paid for itself. A good night’s sleep, priceless 🙂

    • lateblum says:

      Somebody, I just finished a working with my dd#1who is back in town until sometime next week, I think. We installed the Haier AC in my bedroom. It works! And it is so quiet!!! The temp in my bedroom dropped 6 degs in a very short time and I am in heaven. Oddly enough, the unit which is said to fit a 36 inch opening, hardly fits a 30 inch wide window frame. And the board that I used to use for an old AC is too tall, although it fits width-wise. So, as a nose-thumb to the building regs, (not the board – they are all very decent people who have volunteered to serve on this board) we used a piece of cardboard to fill the gap for tonight. My son, who was returning from his end of summer trip to Wisconsin with dil and the little girls, will come over tomorrow morning to do minor carpentry and will bring something more semi-permanent to fill in the large gap.
      I had started a response to you earlier before dd arrived to help with the instllation, but my iPad shut down and I lost the note. And it happened again. Just now. So I have to cut the response short.
      Thank you. Thank you. Thank you for all your amazing hard work and research and ideas and suggestions and expertise. With you and everyone else’s thoughts, I feel there may be some options that I haven’t thought of or tried. I am saving them all so that I can re-explore them and tie more thought to salvaging my future summers.
      I must admit, Denise’s idea of a gofundme was the most fun! We should do that have a meetup someplace. (But not in the heat of summer.) I know there’s more to say, but I fear the iPad will shut down again.

      • Mt.Laurel says:

        Glad you can feel comfortable and should help you get a decent nights sleep. The joys of condo living. Having served three terms on our board, we tried to be reasonable, but those neb noses that complain about every little detail drive everyone crazy. Half the time, they would complain about things that were well within the condo bylaws but that they just did not like. If you don’ t care for children, dogs or cats then buy a unit where pets and kids are not allowed. In the end, I would write up all THIER violations and post them at meetings – without naming names – just unit account numbers that only the owner, the board and management company knew. It usually kept them a bit quieter but not altogether.

  4. Lulu says:

    In that photo with Colbert Jim looks like a slicked up five year old taken to see Santa by grandma.

  5. Somebody says:

    Here is the other thing, I saw these on a different site for $6 more, but I liked Home Depot’s price better. https://www.homedepot.com/p/Suncourt-EntreeAir-5-in-Single-Speed-Door-Frame-Fan-in-White-RR100/100080304

    These go in your doorways to pull air into a room. You can still close the doors as they are small and go on one side or the other. By the way, Home Depot has the other kind of fan and they call it a thru wall fan. Their price was $40 on the one I saw, but it was only 110 CFM, I’d want more CFM than that to really pull the air through. Once you figure out what to search for I bet you can find some that have a higher CFM. Check to see if A/C infinity has a product line like this. In my researching fans, I’ve found they kick just about everybody’s rear with the quietness of their fans, much lower decibels for the amount of CFM. Who knows some other company may make these that are far superior to anything else on the market.

    The corner fans are cute and easy to install, but in order to move cool air they need to be at ground level or close to it because cool air sinks.

    • Somebody says:

      I thought of something with the corner fans. If you aim the window unit vents up at the ceiling they may work depending on how straight of a shot and the distance. You can test it just by aiming the vents like that. Walk around, you’ll find the downdraft.

    • lateblum says:

      I think I’m going to give these fans a try. My sister uses something like them in the winter to move the heat from the wood burning stove to other areas in their house. Thanks!

  6. SHV says:

    Another reason Ohio 12 had a 87% Dem. turnout:

    “Consider that 170 registered voters listed as being over 116 years old still existed on the rolls of Ohio’s 12th Congressional when GAI accessed the data last August. That’s 10 percent of Balderson’s current margin of victory, pending provisional ballots. And 72 voters over the age of 116 who “live” in Balderson’s district cast ballots in the 2016 election.”

  7. Myiq2xu™ says:

  8. Cisco says:

    MCC 8-4-015 is Gang Loitering and MCC 8-4-017 is Narcotics Related Loitering.

    MCC 8-4-016 is Prostitution Loitering and the Department is being ordered NOT to enforce it citywide. So do the working girls, boys, and gumps have free rein to ply their trade for now?. You’d think that the 50 aldercreatures would actually consult the Legal Department before passing some law that doesn’t run afoul of the Courts and cost taxpayers some obscene amount of money when a plain
    Maybe this is the problem in Chicago, not the police.
    No law to enforce, no problem.
    Let ‘da community take care of it.

    • SHV says:

      “Let ‘da community take care of it.”
      *****
      The community doesn’t want proactive policing or prosecution/incarceration and the politicians are encouraging/granting their wishes. ie. very positive correlation between a wards homicide # and voting for Kim Foxx. CPD POs should answer calls, fill out paper work and go home. It’s gotten to the point where it’s hard to have sympathy for POs who end up in the shit for foot chases, Terry Stops, or otherwise engaging with the community. The irony is that Chicago get all the bad press for homicides and it’s doesn’t even make the Top 10 list.

  9. Myiq2xu™ says:

  10. Dora says:

    Goodness, he just compared them to letterboxes. I’d say he was being complimentary.

    ======

    Furious Tory MP accuses No10 of launching a ‘witch hunt’ against Boris over the burqa row because they see him as a ‘threat’ as the party launches formal probe into the ex minister

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6042491/Boris-Johnson-not-apologise-telling-truth-burka-says-Oxford-Imam.html

  11. lyn says:

    U.S. media is caca.

    • John Denney says:

      Devastingly good?? Salena must be in really dire straits.

      Better:

      Love others and
      1) Keep trying to do useful things
      2) Be diligent
      3) Keep learning new things
      4) Be trustworthy
      5) Take time to relax and enjoy life

    • DeniseVB says:

      I enjoyed that, especially that he compares the Academy to Vatican 2 of the 60’s.

      • Underwhelmed says:

        He’s really right. And given what’s happened to and in the Catholic Church, I’m really glad I’m not Catholic. I would be so heartbroken by now.

        • DeniseVB says:

          I left the Church in 1969 when they wouldn’t recognize my “Sacrament of Marriage” if I took birth control pills. I lied. We had that freaking High Nuptial Mass for the parents, that was my last official day In Church. So much has changed over the years, I take communion at St Patricks whenever I’m in NYC. No confession required anymore? Just Generic Christians now? I’m in 🙂

    • mothy2017 says:

      Remove our tax dollars.
      .

      • DeniseVB says:

        Did you see where some petition got more signatures than it needed to replace Betsy DeVos with LaBron James for Sec of Education? Yeah, the guy who started the I Promise School (?) but only contributing 20% of the cost, we, the taxpayers are on the hook for the rest.

    • elliesmom says:

      It’s a charter school. Attendance is voluntary. If the parents object, they have recourse. If they don’t, then the kids are learning the same things at school as they learn at home. Which is what most conservatives want schools to do.

  12. mothy2017 says:

    I am the biggest LOSER ever. My dad’s dog died one month after my dad. I swore up and down never again another animal. Nope I was not giving in ever ever ever.
    They are bringing the puppy around after 5 to see if she can get along with Bella(my neurotic mutt).
    To be fair Bell is depressed and a pup might make her less afraid of everything.
    Dogs are fascinating. She sits on your lap shaking during a storm, but if I play act I am going to hit Shay she has no fear.

    • votermom says:

      awww
      you are such a softie

      • mothy2017 says:

        It is August. I laid down a bunch of ifs (but bought a collar and treats already) I said I am taking 75 a month out of your allowance. Realistically I bet I make it to September. Her fudging dogs, but I pay her to walk them? Huh? Other than walking her dog and cleaning HER bunny’s cage her chore is making sure I have cold water. She constantly has friends over. Day and night. They drink my water and never replace it. It is like the only thing that upsets me. You were smoking crack with MS-13 while drunk driving. That’ll be okay but I must have cold water.

        • Somebody says:

          I’m that way about my diet coke. Several times my eldest daughter’s boyfriend/fiance drank my last diet coke, he learned not to do that 😁

          • Jadzia says:

            I was that way about my Tab, which is in my Top 5 Things I Miss About America. When I went to California last spring, my colleague made sure there was a 12-pack waiting for me! She knows me so well.

  13. John Denney says:

    Love me some Sabo. 🙂

    • mothy2017 says:

      I look at her gums way too much. Is it me or is she very gummy?

      • Anthony says:

        I see gerbil teeth more that gums. Brings to mind that old Tom Cruise scandal lol.

          • Anthony says:

            Right. I remember feeling sorry for the gerbils, but I guess my instinctive revulsion of Cruise swapped him for Gere (who I had a huge crush on back then)

          • mothy2017 says:

            Love Gere. Always prayed gay rumors were true. I am sure that makes me cisphobic I should be ruined because I had un pc thoughts about an actor. Please alert twitter.
            My dad once managed a drive-in. We were poor so I cleaned the toilets. I will never forget I was mop in hand and I saw him pick up Debra Winger. Damn.
            I do wonder as a fellow gay what you think of babs. I was done with her but then I was leaving the gym and Stoney End came on. I will always love Evergreen and What’s Up Doc. I felt lonely hearing that voice. There is a reason so many were drawn to her

          • Anthony says:

            I’m kind of over Babs. I was a big fan, but at some point, she began believing her own PR and turned into an obnoxious know-it-all. Now that she’s gone full Rosie O’Donnel about politics, she can just sing in the shower for all I care

      • DeniseVB says:

        Braces would have helped. She does come from a privileged childhood, I read.

  14. Myiq2xu™ says:

    • mothy2017 says:

      I tried to read the piece. By trying I mean two sentences. Nope. They created the rulz. One word Roseanne.

      • DeniseVB says:

        Funny, Roseanne reference that is. I was on a FB Roseanne Reboot fan page when that show came out. Now it’s morphed into a F**K THE CONNORS SPINOFF OF THE REBOOT page. I love it. Seriously, what is ABC thinking? Two and a Half Men worked for a few more years which proved Jon Cryer carried that show.

        • mothy2017 says:

          They think it is Darlene. I don’t think they could be more wrong. The original and reboot were about a seriously flawed MOTHER. A dedicated screwed up mother. Darlene character worked because she was her child. Far too dark to carry a show. Goodman looks like shit dipped in misery. Pre Planet of the Apes I thought that’s what cancer looks like. He looks unhealthy. Becky and DJ could not be more boring. The show was about a mother. What is neurotic Jackie without her sister. I was a sort of fan of the original. I was in Manhattan without tv studying literature. I remember being intrigued by the writing, butbi only saw it a few times.
          If I recall correctly her show featured the first same sex kiss (hemingway and bernhardt?) And the first regular gay character(martin mull). They had as best friends a black couple and they never talked about it. I guess DJ had to kiss what would later be his wife in a play and it caused strife. She was and will always be the show. Is she nuts? Please introduce me to that person out there who has raised a kid who hasn’t relished the idea of being taken away in a straight jacket. There have been days when I have fantasized about commitment. Nothing ever works out no matter how hard you try. Roseanne at least the original braved something. I have known a child now for almost 12 years. Watched some of the old shows. Wow I think the show aged well. I get very different things from it. The episode where DJ is getting erections in class. My god I laughed in 1990 at being a person with one of those things. My laughter is so different thinking now about what a quagmire puberty is.
          The character Roseanne Connor is almost a real person to me. How can they reboot that? Proggies may hate it but the show was always controversial and she plowed through lots of stuff they love. I might be curious but I won’t watch. I spent a good bit of time working in media and a wee bit in development. Roseanne came out within a few years of Cosby. Same producers. Almost everyone I knew then was trying to makevthis new thing called “dramady” work. They were supposed to attract the thirtysomething audience. None of them worked. Remember Hooperman, The Days and Nights of Molly Dowd. Heavy shows trying to get coveted 18 to 49 year olds. This was before you could google everything. The shows all tanked very badly. Roseanne drew an audience. A big audience. She was not meant to. I think she hit number one a few times. It has been decades so it is fuzzy. She defied demographics. Affluent white women loved her and the ratings held. Moms loved her. TV is about advertising in America. She could sell peanut butter. Media is now so different. Ratings don’t matter. Shows are sold to streaming services, cable, international. Original Roseanne was an unparalleled hit. She had the power. It is different now. ABC is launching a yuuuuuge streaming service to rival netsux. They will be able to create endless propaganda. Who cares if you watch. They will get your 10 a month. I so do notvwant netsux but they have the kids.

    • mothy2017 says:

      Good Gawd I went back
      “I defended Williamson at the time, but not on account of any potential misinterpretation of his abortion views. My main point was that we should be judged on the totality of our work, and that we are more than just a collage of quotes from our social-media history or some foolish utterances from the near or distant past.”
      Maybe he gets to Roseanne but this made me see red. Give a conservative 1/10 th of that you butt plug.

  15. mothy2017 says:

    I think I have decided what kind of crazy old person I want to be when I grow up. I just want to sit in a Lazy boy recliner and curse all day long.

    • Somebody says:

      Like the Tourette guy on YouTube a few years back. Hey you could probably make some bank too.

    • 49erDweet says:

      Welcome to my world.

    • John Denney says:

      As I left the gym today, an old guy left at the same time.
      “How ya doin’?”, he says.
      “I’m good. Good workout?”
      “Yeah, gotta keep active. Makes you live longer than others. I’m 90.”

      I’m pretty sure he was playing racketball with guys 30 years his junior.

      • Jadzia says:

        There was a guy at my old gym who was probably pushing 90. He was in the weight room almost every day. Called me a pretty young lady. I miss him!!!!!

    • blowme0bama says:

      Minus the recliner, I’m there already.

  16. DandyTIger says:

    Thursday dick pic time:

  17. mothy2017 says:

    No pup. Bell was a mess going to try again in a few weeks. Maybe I spoil her. Hmm. Nah not me. I can’t even spell over indulgent.

    • Anthony says:

      Bell will let you know when the right one comes along. I went through that with Sambo after Son died. Eight months passed before I caved. It took four tries (and four neuter/spay procedures, exams and kitten shots), but Rodolpho stole his heart in the first 10 seconds. They’re inseparable now.

  18. NewOrleans says:

    Absolute brilliance from a self-declared ‘Friend of Sabo.’

    Donald Trump stars are popping up everywhere!

    https://twitter.com/TheFaction1776/status/1027648263220936704

  19. Dora says:

    Yes! Yes! Please do it!

  20. Venus E. Lee says:

    • mothy2017 says:

      Venus
      I am working very hard to not call some men cunts. It seems it often deliciously offends. Oops I am also trying to eliminate cum gurgler. I have to stop calling people names. I work at a coffee shop to give my monster an 1100 dollar phone. My language is policed. I need to be nice.
      So kidding I love your posts.

  21. Myiq2xu™ says:

    Nothing says “British Secret Service” like a black man whose parents are from Sierra Leone.
    If this doesn’t kill that tired franchise, maybe the one after Elba can be a lesbian or a tranny.

    If they are gonna use Elba they should remake Live and Let Die with a white guy playing Kanaga.

Comments are closed.