Tuesday, July 19, 2022

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Tuesday, July 19, 2022

  1. elliesmom says:

    I love the lilies. Mine survived the deer and the bunnies this year, 🙂

    This article title caught my eye at RCP this morning. I didn’t find the article itself all that illuminating, but it made me think about how long it will take to dislodge things like the 1619 Project from people’s brains. Washington Irving, of “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” and “Rip Van Winkle” fame, wrote a biography of Columbus in the 1820s. In it he wrote that Columbus sailed tp prove the earth is round. People knew the earth was round a couple of millennia before Columbus, and in fact most people knew Columbus and everyone else knew it before Irving’s book became a standard in our elementary schools. Every year 125 or so 13 year olds entered my science classroom believing Columbus was trying to prove the earth is round. One hundred and eighty or so years had passed since Irving published his fairytale biography, and the lie was still firmly lodged in people’s brains. Elementary school teachers were still perpetuating it. (I invited the 8th grade history teacher to come to class when the kids did a lab that showed how the ancient Greeks measured the circumference of the earth when I found out she was as clueless as the kids.)

    We are going to have to live with this CRT mess for a long time.

    https://www.washingtonexaminer.com/news/washington-secrets/black-scholar-predicts-30-years-to-erase-big-lie-of-1619-victimhood

    • DandyTIger says:

      Agree. This crap and other things like it is programming people’s minds, and it will keep going for many generations. 30 years, ha, we wish. Reprogramming on purpose. I fear this will be one of many new efforts to come.

    • swanspirit says:

      I remember being taught that Columbus was trying to prove the earth was round, and his sailors were terrified they were going to sail off the end of the earth.
      Then later, possibly by 6th or 7th grade, I remember being taught he was trying to find a new passage to India, and that is why we called Native Americans, Indians. But no one ever said, hey, we wrong about that Columbus trying to prove the earth was round.

      I also remember being taught a map maker made another mistake, and named America, after Amerigo Vespucci, giving credit to the wrong person, for the discovery.
      Mistakes were made. The name was never corrected. I hope we can correct the 1619 stupidity.

  2. DandyTIger says:

    Also same here on lilies and the great battle of the rabbits. Note to self, learn how to catch and harvest rabbits and make rabbit stew. If there is a coming food shortage, I may just be OK here. 🙂

    • swanspirit says:

      We have an abundance of rabbits here, too. And squirrels. Does anyone here ever watch that survival show on Thursday nights, Alone? I find it fascinating. Lots of good survival tips, too.

      • Somebody says:

        We have lots of rabbits, deer, squirrel, etc., but if we take all the gator food what will the gators eat😬

        • Mt.Laurel says:

          start them on a diet of swamp critters and global elites. The heart burn and other digestive issues alone should be more than enough to get those gators to swear off humans and become vegans.

    • Constance says:

      Same! The bunnies, squirrels and raccoons are all over my place and I think that will give me a buffer during food shortages. But then what will the Coyotes eat?

  3. lateblum says:

    Unreal !!!

    • elliesmom says:

      That was my son. We had to take him out of a crib at 9 months because he kept climbing out over the top of it. If someone left the pantry door open, he climbed up the shelves to get whatever he wanted. He was a preemie and still very small. He could get anywhere he wanted except he couldn’t reach door knobs.

      • lateblum says:

        If any of my three had been a climber like this, I’d have lost my mind.

        • swanspirit says:

          I wouldn’t have been filming that. I would have gotten his butt down before the second gate. My oldest was a climber. Had to watch him every second!

          • lateblum says:

            Someone said ‘it was probably the father who was filming this escape, the mother would have been getting the kid off the gates.’
            I wonder if they had a mattress or beanbag chair on the floor on the other side of the gate/ doorway.

        • elliesmom says:

          We put a screen door on his bedroom with a doorknob out of his reach. I had friends say, “Aren’t you afraid of what would happen in a fire?” Everyone in the house, including his 6 year old sister could easily open the screen door of his bedroom. The odds of his bedroom catching on fire were far less than his falling down the stairs in the middle of the night. He’s the reason I was completely gray by 35, but he’s also the kid who knows which kid needs to take of Mom because he OWES. 🙂

      • Mothy67 says:

        EM have you watched The College Scam on Tucker Today. I think of the show like libs do Ted Talk. I get to be inspired by people I admire. Isaac Moorehouse is the guest in the episode. Home schooled who went to a state school and questioned/s the value of formal education. He looks 19 but must be at least 35 as he got married young and has a teen boy. He reminds me of Spencer on Criminal Minds. The episode gave me food for thought beyond education. So often straight white male men are hated today and blamed for everything. I grew up sharing a bedroom with three brothers. I treasure my siblings. I treasure my brat. I found #MeToo disturbing. Anywho watching this articulate, accomplished, attractive young man emote had me wanting to yell YES outloud alone.
        My brat could not wait to work. Did not need the money but wanted her own. She gets her dad’s work death benefit and may or may not continue to get his social security. She is getting 10 an hour working at a pet boutique it might put her over allowable income. I told her. She would rather work. It is such an amazing learning experience. Her first job was at McD’s. The GM was arrested for sex with 14 year olds. I see why he hired da Pup at 14. Absent father raised by widow great grandmother. No father figure. He hired a type and he made them his. I doubt he put any moves on Shay because her dad died shortly after he started. I rode along with my mom after every shift. She was never permitted a ride home. Deal breaker with her working at 14. I was 16 snorting blow and getting drunk at after hour bars. Not healthy. She matters to me. Well she works at a place called Pampered Pet. We live down a hill from the place. She gets up during summer vacation walks the dogs, plays with them, cleans a cage. They accommodate all her extracurricular activities. Female owned and operated. I won on this experience. Brat had a miserable job doing the drive thru during height of covid. She was treated in a demeaning manner. The store was in an affluent neighborhood and she was the recepient of Karen’s bile. I said baby girl you have a luxury of leaving if you make bad decisions you could end up being 40 begging for this job. Make a better way. Pet store is a dream job for a kid. I still pick her up even though it is but a scratch away. Bar next door.
        Anywho watching Moorehouse talk I sincerely question the value of higher ed. I probably spent at least 5 thousand dollars in tuition on French during college. I cannot speak French. I use free duolingo for Spanish. I don’t speak Spanish, but I can watch a film and get the gist. I had to take no proficiency exam at Hunter but had to pay to sit in a class for three semesters. Three semesters and I can ask where is the bathroom? 5,000 dollars in 1980’s. What is it now 15000 for 9 credits over 3 semesters. Free online.
        This guest on Tucker truly asked what are kids learning.

        • elliesmom says:

          The guest grew up in the next town over from where I grew up so I completely understand where his roots are. (Whitman was the home of the Toll House.) When I was in high school, there were only two reasons for going to college. One was because you needed to learn things you couldn’t learn on the job, or the job you wanted required credentials only a college degree could provide. No one went off to college to get a liberal arts degree unless you were pre-med or pre-law. My classmate who wanted to be a bank president took a job as a teller and worked her way up. Today you need a college degree to be the teller. The problem really isn’t with the bank requiring the degree. It’s that even the above average high school graduate isn’t ready to be a teller today. The only cure for the “college scam” is to graduate kids from high school to be more mature and ready for the world of work.

          • 1539days says:

            Trades and union jobs pay more than a lot of “entry level” jobs requiring a degree. The liberalization of college to make everyone able to attend made it almost mandatory to attend. Of course, it was a great way to indoctrinate a huge part of the population, but college for all hasn’t exactly improved the country.

  4. lyn5 says:

  5. swanspirit says:

    I voted in Maryland’s primary today. I am very grateful to the people who do the work to make it so easy. The worst part was walking to the building from the parking lot. I feel for anyone suffering in this heat, and it’s only in the 90s here.

  6. lyn5 says:

    • lyn5 says:

  7. Mothy67 says:

    I took a look at what classes I had to take in 1984 vis-a-vis my niece who graduates with a specialized RN BS this coming May. She already has a job offer. Her personal debt will be about 50k. My brother borrowed another 60. 110 thousand for a degree. Starting salary with a specialization is around 80. She has been offered a 15,000 signing bonus. She would have had almost no debt if she had commuted. I get that my brother only has one child and sending her/him (wink) off to become a raging liberal who hates everything white including zir’s own parents is a bargain at 60 grand. What price can you really put on teaching your child to hate you? Fortunately my niece is not a leftie lunatic. She laughs. One mandated I guess labeled something like minorities in healthcare? 7,000 dollars (or there about) for a once a week sensitivity class????? For a semester. She said they spent a lot of time trying to tell her what the ghey’s and blacks are like. Lex has never not known I was gay. Her cousin, my pseudo nephew, is black. Age has been black astonishingly since he was born. He goes to same school as Shay. They are in the same grade. He has keys to my house. Holidays are my sister in law cooking up absurd amounts of Italian food. They come here for a half the day and then go to her father’s. Lex is 22. Shay and Age are around 16. Lex has, I repeat, never known I was not gay and she sure as he’ll never didn’t know Age was black.
    Mandatory 7,000 dollar class in order to get a degree. Lex had fun with it. She told them her gay uncle walks around in a MAGA hat. Bwahahaha. I tried to talk Alexis out of going to Pitt. Our community colleges offer the same nursing experience/education as a BS. Pay is significantly lower but Lex wanted to go away to school. She is engaged to a young man with an engineering degree she met there. No job yet. She has spent breaks working with doctor’s without borders in Denver, New Orleans, and two Swedish towns. A community college would not have facilitaded that. I only bought the luggage for Sweden. Getting her degree made/makes sense. Again I looked at what I spent versus what she spends. I got lucky with tuition, but in 1984 I worked in the cafeteria at school. I got paid minimum wage but my labor covered room and board. I believe minimum wage was 3.25 an hour. Then it was called work study. I had to get up on my breakfast shifts at 5 but I had no charge to eat or live on campus plus I was actually getting the minimum wage. I have read elitists opine that work study is racist. They never say it is classist. Always race card. I don’t know how it goes on other campuses. I was at Purdue. A big school, A world in and of itself. It made fiscal sense to hire students to do menial jobs. I worked 15 hours a week 20 max. I understood the trade off. ROTC kids did the same. I get NYU cannot trade off housing for labor. A NYC studio starts at 5 grand. Near NYU likely ten. Somehow working in college with the college to avoid debt is now racist?????????? I get it when you consider everything, but somehow working while in college to defer costs is a new sort of slavery?????? I stood behind a screen and scraped dishes and got paid. I got free room and board. We were all white.

    • elliesmom says:

      I did one semester of “work study” for the ROTC department. I got minimum wage, but then they asked me to stay on for the summer. To do that I needed to take the civil service exam. I did well and got a government rating and decent pay. When school started again, they kept me on for 15 hours a week, but I continued to get civil service pay. Of course, working for the ROTC at that time was unpopular, but they pay was great. I went full time for them the next summer, too.

      The issue with going to a community college first when your goal is a bachelor’s degree is most 4-year degree programs don’t do a 1 for 1 acceptance of credits from community colleges. Most kids end up taking 5 years to get a 4-year degree. If you add in the loss of a year’s salary, saving one year’s tuition at the 4-year school isn’t such a bargain. The Penn State program that offers two years at a state college and then two years at the University is a better deal, but the only real savings comes if you choose a state college close to home so you can commute and carefully mirror the courses you would have taken at Penn State. The courses I took in grad school were all 4 credits each. I had one classmate who had started at another university where the courses were only 3 credits. He found himself with all of the coursework required for a master’s degree completed, but not enough credits. When a student decides to game the system, there are a lot of pitfalls, and the kids don’t always check things out as carefully as they should.

      • Mothy67 says:

        My going away to college was a financed runaway. I could not exist in the abuse and had no way of knowing how to even start. I hated myself, but was tired of lying in the ER. I don’t remember how or when I applied for acceptance to Purdue. The application was free. I was devising suicide at 17. I missed over 100 days my senior year but they graduated me. I had straight A’s. I think back then everyone around me was afraid of my being gay. Kafka’s Metamorphosis has long been a favorite. It stings to grow up being hated. Feared. No one in life you have. Me an engineering scholarship to Purdue. Beans haha I wanted to act. One day we moved because of poverty the Thanksgiving weekend of my Junior year. We could not even afford a phone. I had nothing but an echo in my brain that resonated no matter what you are not dumb. Teacher told me I could not do physics in his class because my previous school had worked from another angle I finished the entire text over Thanksgiving. My area was so different back then. A kid who looked gay, acted gay. I needed to be someone else’s problem. When I went away to school I bought a walk man yellow and would lay in bed and listen to self hypnosis tapes saying I was heterosexual. I hated myself. I had no one to even converse. I got into a decent school and I was suicidal. Anthony for him I respect didn’t have to lie over and over again in the ER with broken bones and with his parents at his side. I was impressed one time my nose was shattered and my dad said he did it. My mom was worse. Broken bones heal. Words inflict far greater damage. My mom hate/s/ed homosexuals. Blahblah.
        I was never leaving Shay with those people. Nearly 16 years and I am still scared but I think I gave some protection. Baby girl will never not know I believe in her.

      • 1539days says:

        It took over a decade to pay off my student loans for my Bachelors. My Masters degree was largely paid for by grants and my employer. Supposedly, college increases lifetime earning potential, but always try to get the best bargain possible.

        • elliesmom says:

          When I went to grad school. I was used to working 60 hours a week and being someone’s mom. I confessed to my adviser I wasn’t being challenged all that much. I had a large time break between classes that wasn’t enough time to be productive to go home and come back. She sent me to the Challenger Center to see if anything there caught my interest. They offered me an internship worth 8 credits, but I told them while I would work for them for free, I wasn’t willing to pay them for the privilege. When they found out I had been in charge of a computer facility in a research group, they paid my tuition and a salary in exchange for 20 hours of work a week, I also got to go to Space Camp. By agreeing to be the one of the first women undergrads at engineering school, I went all the way to an EdD for about $1500. I had to pay for the semester I did my dissertation. I was teaching by then, and the school didn’t reimburse for enough credits to cover it. I think it’s so easy to borrow money for school these days that kids don’t scrounge around looking for money the way we had to if our parents couldn’t write a check.

        • Miranda says:

          I got my undergrad Chemistry degree in 4 years, while living at home. After getting married and working for a few years, I went back part-time (still working) to get my masters in Technical Communication. I worked the whole time until the last year, when Mom offered me a chunk of money, which she called ‘early inheritance’, so I could finish the degree that year. I was grateful, but if she hadn’t offered, I would have continued working and taken a extra couple of years to finish.

  8. lyn5 says:

  9. helenk3 says:

    one sick looking bunch

  10. lyn5 says:

  11. 1539days says:

    So, I decided to watch “Dopesick” on Hulu and I came away with a perspective that the producers probably wouldn’t want to know about. They’re trying to blame one company / family for bribing and marketing to sell a drug that got people addicted to opiates. What I see is government corruption, poorly researched “studies” and a medical profession that doesn’t police itself and gets swayed by whatever authority figure tells them is “the science.”

    Sound familiar? It does to me because it is the playbook for getting people to fear death and pain to the point where drug companies can make billions from something because government officials who are invested in the product say it’s “the science.” The vaxx is the new Oxycontin.

  12. votermom says:

    Ha ha ha
    It really is the STD Capital of the USA

    https://www.wusa9.com/article/news/health/mayor-bowser-to-provide-update-on-monkeypox-outbreak/65-c403c310-025b-4e00-bb46-038f2a5c06ba

    100+ monkeypox cases in DC, highest per capita rate in the country

  13. Mt.Laurel says:

    I have always thought that the list of meds being provided to congress critters and their staff would proved far more instructive names were included. How many need a meds for a cognitive boost, how many want those little blue performance enhancement pills, how many pregnancy tests they go through, how many shots of penicillin in the behind have been given . . . .

    • Mt.Laurel says:

      This should have nested under votermom’s link to monkeypox taking off in DC. Maybe it will finds it way back when little spammy is finished with his dessert.

  14. elliesmom says:

    I have now seen the Godfather twice and read the book. The first thing I noticed is the second time I watched it decades later it didn’t seem as violent as it did the first time. The movie follows the book pretty well. Being almost 3 hours long gave them a lot of time to do it. When I read the book, a lot of the backstories got filled in, which enriched the story, but not being there doesn’t take away from the movie. Likewise, already knowing what was going to happen didn’t spoil the book. I’m not sure it matters which order you do this one.

    To test things out more, I planned to read the Godfather II first and then watch the movie. According to Amazon, “The Godfather II” is a book called “The Sicilian”. So I downloaded that and read it. It was hot here today so I spent several hours reading. I got totally immersed in the story. It’s only peripherally about the Corleone family. Anticipating another hot day tomorrow, I got ready to queue up the movie Godfather II. Looking at the trailer, it bears no resemblance to the book I read. There is a movie based on the book I did read, and I will track it down. But the Godfather II movie seems to be a screenplay suggested by the original Godfather characters and not a book. I do highly recommend “The Sicilian” book. I will read the third book in the series, too, but now I know it will not be about the Corleones, and I need a break from “the families” before I do,

    • 1539days says:

      I read the book “Casino” was based on. The Casino movie had to change a lot of names and events for legal reasons, and it ended up making it a companion to Goodfellas with a lot of the same actors. I never really had an interest in The Godfather.

Comments are closed.