Thursday, April 13, 2023

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

136 Responses to Thursday, April 13, 2023

  1. DeniseVB says:

    Yikes, my son just closed on his house in Coral Springs. He did previously survive 2005’s Katrina-Rita-Wilma season when the eyes passed over his Davie house, with Katrina on her way to NOLA 😦 Fingers crossed the flood gates are working on the canal he’s on.

    • Hogg and others like him are what makes Twitter a sewer. Fifty years ago he would have been a community college student enrolled in a program designed to make him employable. If he had wanted to be a “famous activist”, he would have had to take enough risk to make the news. Today, thanks to Twitter, he attends Harvard, takes potshots from the comfort of his dorm at people with legitimate public voices, and he gets his voice with all of its stupidity noticed in national outlets.

      I would be willing to put money down that the vast majority of people don’t know who Hogg is, though. Fewer than 25% of people use Twitter, and 10% of Twitter users post 80-90% of the tweets. Without Twitter Hogg would have been completely “disappeared” long ago. As it is, he only irritates a few people.

    • DeniseVB says:

      C.J. Pearson, that sweet black boy who’s been a conservative activist since he was 12, also had his acceptance to historic Howard University withdrawn because the students didn’t want him there…..I digress, CJ has constantly challenged Hogg to debate about various issues and always refused. That would be fun to watch on pay-per-view 🙂 Hogg is a weak little, baby go bye-bye and I wonder who’s financing him?

      • Locally, in my youth Harvard was known as a school that was hard to get into, but easy to stay in. There were many schools in the Boston/Cambridge area that were much more academically challenging. I’m sure there is a “donor” willing to finance Hogg through school, and the workload for him may only be marginally challenging. How many courses are available at Harvard in bashing conservative politics? His hardest course is probably phys ed.

        CJ’s LinkedIn has him as a junior at the University of Alabama, and while his Wikipedia entry isn’t very flattering, at LinkedIn, he has quite a resume for a young man. There are over 300 David Hoggs at LinkedIn, and THE David Hogg is too far down the list for me to take the time to find his entry. I have to clip Ellie’s toenails. 🙂

        • lateblum says:

          I like your priorities. ❣️

        • DeniseVB says:

          CJ gets lost in the Twitter sewer, so I follow him on Truth. Sweet kid and trying to find his niche among the anti-Rinos. Reminds me of Scott Presler, who’s done more for the RNC without pay than that Ronna gal. I remember the other challengers for her chair seat promised Scott a high visible position with the RNC if they won and we rooted for them 🙂

  2. DeniseVB says:

    HBO Max subscribers here? I always thought if I subscribed to one streaming channel this would be it. Glad I waited, it’s getting pricey and most of their content, that I watch, is available free on basic cable channels (The Big Bang Theory, Young Sheldon, etc)

    • Mothy67 says:

      If there is something I really want to see I wait until the season is over and get it for a month. I have Prime, Netflix (included with T-mobile) Paramout + and Hulu for 6 months at 1.99. Fox Nation and had Apple for a year free. I put on tv for noise. There are way too many options. I rarely find anything worth paying for.

      • I have Prime for free delivery. It pays for the movie/tv show portion. I have Roku TV, which opens up a lot of free stuff or at least free with ads. I pay for the cheapest version of Netflix in the summer when the grandkids are here. I catch up on anything there then. The only two I really have all the time that cost me money are Fox Nation and Acorn. They give me things I can’t get anywhere else free.

        I have been waiting until the whole season of Outlander was out each year and then bingeing it for a month, but I’ve sort of lost interest in it, and there isn’t anything else on STARZ I care about. The last season of Outlander, they were carting Claire off to be tried as a witch again. The last witch trials in Virginia and the Carolinas happened decades before the time where they are in the story, and it’s become trite and boring. I have one of the Paramount stations free, but it doesn’t carry the series everyone is talking about. Maybe I’ll pay for the other one long enough when the whole series is complete. My TV isn’t on but a few hours a day so there’s more than enough there.

        • 1539days says:

          There’s one season of one show I want to watch on Acorn. I’ll probably get a free trial and binge it.

          • I like the last show I watch before I go to bed to give me a smile on my face instead of high blood pressure. A lot of the Australian or New Zealand series on Acorn are mysteries that make you think instead of gun fights and gore. I like a lot of things that can be violent, but not just before I go to bed. My favorite show ever on Acorn is Pie in the Sky. But there are several others that are more edgy.

          • 1539days says:

            I started watching an Australian show called “800 Words” but season 3 seems to be exclusively on Acorn.

    • votermom says:

      We had an hbomax free trial for a couple of months last year. I didn’t really find anything worth payung for to watch

      • DeniseVB says:

        Last time I paid for HBO it was for The Sopranos, Sex and the City, Six Feet Under and Curb Your Enthusiasm. Then the series’ ended and Larry David got boring being a cranky billionaire with an annoyed wife. I never re-subscribed. My son just cut the cable cord and says he’s saving tons of money just on streaming subscriptions. When you think top tier cable runs about $200/mo without streaming, a few dollars a month spread out over a few good channels sounds like a bargain.

      • Mothy67 says:

        Everything is woke. Painfully boring.

  3. taw46 says:

  4. taw46 says:

  5. votermom says:

    Good article from feminist perspective on why Mulvaney is doing performance misogyny.

    https://thecritic.co.uk/the-performance-of-a-lifetime/

    • Thank you for finding that. I have the link “lying in wait”. Today I am celebrating over 26,000 days of being a woman. I could post the exact number of days, but that would require doing the math to figure out how many leap years I’ve lived through, and math is racist and too difficult for women. 🙂

  6. Today’s FB “stalker” is “Prince Harry”. He lives in a palace and likes Ina Garten’s recipes, too. No FB friends, but lots of pictures of the real Prince Harry and his kids. None of Sparkles, though. As I said, it’s entertaining.

  7. Dora says:

    This lawsuit includes the whole family!

    • lyn5 says:

  8. Dora says:

    When Hubby and I met Donald Trump at his book signing back in 2015, Michael Cohen was there. He stayed outside and talked to the crowd as they lined up. He was very nice. He had been Trump’s lawyer for many years and he told us how happy he was to be part of the campaign.

    One can only wonder how such a seemingly good friendship could turn into such bitter hatred. I find it sad.

  9. lyn5 says:

  10. lyn5 says:

  11. lyn5 says:

    thread

    • lyn5 says:

      • SHV says:

        Daniel Perry trial is a good example that what you post on the Net can come back and bite you.

        “The prosecution presented the jury with social media messages of Perry’s from which they might reasonably infer that Perry was looking for an opportunity to use deadly force against protestors. One Facebook message stated “I might have to kill a few people on my way to work.” In a Facebook comment about a video showing protestors being shot in San Antonio earlier that year, Perry wrote that he was “glad someone finally did something.” etc., etc.

        Perry was set up for a political conviction, however, there was no evidence of the rifle pointed at him, only his testimony and he refused to testify in his own defense: his right, but maybe a mistake.

      • lyn5 says:

  12. lyn5 says:

    Just do it, Joe.

  13. lyn5 says:

  14. lyn5 says:

  15. helenk3 says:

    https://www.foxnews.com/politics/democrats-dianne-feinstein-resign-senate

    dem tell Diane to hit the road. She replies in my own time, not yours

  16. helenk3 says:

    https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/#inbox/FMfcgzGsmDkVfBFDWgVCmJpKJMMcTmpl

    never underestimate the ability of bid-on to screw things up

  17. helenk3 says:

    for those who missed it

  18. lyn5 says:

  19. lyn5 says:

  20. lyn5 says:

  21. helenk3 says:

    why stores are closing.

    • helenk3 says:

      how dare they close, we need the stuff being stolen

      • lateblum says:

        Just heard on the radio, the group wants to BOYCOTT Walmart. Do they really think a boycott of a store that’s closing because of theft, will change its mind due to a boycott? Maybe they should’ve boycotted – or turned in – the shoplifters.
        Idiots.

    • swanspirit says:

      They found him, and arrested him. It’s some 21 year old Air National Guardsman, who looks like he is 14, and still lives with mom and dad. He wasn’t a whistle blower, or some kind of patriot. He was showing off to his online gaming group, of kids. His name is Jack Teixeira.

  22. Dora says:

    RFK is one brave soul for doing this interview. I also have a new respect for his uncle, President Kennedy.

    • DeniseVB says:

      What do you think of this ? I’ve always liked RFKjr and I think we’re at the we have nothing to lose point of politics to save our country.

      • lyn5 says:

        Trump’s VP pick has to be the bulldog who will clean out federal corruption. I doubt RFK Jr. would accept, but he could if Democrats dump on him.

        • DeniseVB says:

          Who else for Trump, all that’s left in the GOP are Rinos and backstabbers? I thought MTG might be a good choice and a thousand times smarter than Kamala the Hyena. Oh and that other Kennedy from La. is like a one man corruption cleaner upper.

        • Being a Democrat is built into being a Boston Kennedy, but we don’t know where the Democrats would be today if JFK and RFK had not been assassinated. Ted was a buffoon, but his older brothers weren’t. For RFK, jr to decide to run as Republican, with or without Trump, would be a huge indictment for the Democrats, and that would be true no matter which Boston Kennedy did it, and whether people were Kennedy fans or not.

  23. helenk3 says:

    https://freebeacon.com/columns/the-fbi-should-go-back-to-the-basics/

    the FBI needs a good cleaning out, it is full of lice

  24. DeniseVB says:

  25. votermom says:

    Mitch McConnell is resigning, according to ace

    • helenk3 says:

      best news I have heard all day.

    • swanspirit says:

      His injuries must have been worse than reported. Very good news. Go home you heel. Oops I meant go home and heal. 😎

    • Can we have a party? I hope it’s true, but the only things I can find say he’s returning to the Senate on Monday. I hope Ace is right.

    • lyn5 says:

      May he get the rest he deserves after screwing our country.

    • lyn5 says:

      From Ace:

      Senate GOP leader Mitch McConnell has been out of the public eye for weeks, following a serious fall that hospitalized him. Now multiple sources confirm that Senators John Barrasso of Wyoming, John Cornyn of Texas and John Thune of South Dakota are actively reaching out to fellow Republican senators in efforts to prepare for an anticipated leadership vote — a vote that would occur upon announcement that McConnell would be retiring from his duties as leader, and presumably the Senate itself.

      One source says that Cornyn has been particularly active in his preparations, taking fellow senators with whom he has little in common to lunch in attempts to court them.

      I’ll bet he has.

      Great, McConnell retires, and John F’n’ Cornyn replaces him.

  26. I have a friend whose husband raped their daughter and got away with it. He’s dead, and every year my friend posts a happy birthday message to him on FB. Others in her family add their “Heavenly Birthday” messages on the post. I scroll by because my message would be “I hope you’re rotting in hell”. I’m not very good at forgiving. and I absolutely suck at forgetting.

  27. lyn5 says:

    • lateblum says:

      It was dark, and late, and Biden had been flying for hours. He probably didn’t sleep well on the plane, and he was also tired. I can forgive Biden.

      Just kidding. Biden’s a buffoon and an embarrassment and should be in a “rest home”. Instead, he’s galavanting about the planet unethically using public funds for private business. He should be in a cell somewhere and the guard should simply lose the key (or throw it away).

  28. It’s pushing 90 degrees here today. Ellie and I spent a couple of hours down on the beach. She had a long swim. Then we came home, and I set up the grill on the deck and made the two of us a couple of cheeseburgers. Yes, she’s spoiled rotten. I dusted off the deck awning, but I haven’t tried out the air conditioner yet. One more hot day tomorrow, and then back to more seasonal temps for awhile. It was great to wear sandals again and feel the warm sand on my toes. Tomorrow I think I’ll dig out some shorts and go wading with Ellie. I’m OK with it being back in the 60s on Saturday. This little preview of coming attractions was great.

  29. lyn5 says:

    • helenk3 says:

      there was an interesting discussion on The Five about this story. Not sure what to believe. Remember Benghazi and the filmmaker? doesn’t MIQU always say to wait at least 24 hours before believing anything?

  30. helenk3 says:

    https://www.yahoo.com/lifestyle/linkedin-founder-secretly-funding-e-174432763.html

    Trump really scares the hell out of these guys, doesn’t he?

  31. lyn5 says:

  32. lyn5 says:

  33. helenk3 says:

    on Jesse a mother is suing a school because they tried to transition her daughter without her knowledge. Told the kid not to tell her parents, and put chest binders on her. If that was my kid, that school would think Russia landed. You perverts touch my kid and I will blow up your school

  34. lyn5 says:

  35. lyn5 says:

  36. lyn5 says:

  37. lyn5 says:

  38. Mothy67 says:

    This is heartbreaking— a 30 year old detransitioning. People belong in jail for this child abuse. His life will always be filled with regret and pain.
    https://twitchy.com/brettt-3136/2023/04/13/detransitioner-posts-video-to-prove-hes-not-a-fake-public-aggravator-trying-to-erase-trans-people/

  39. lyn5 says:

  40. lyn5 says:

    • lyn5 says:

  41. lyn5 says:

Comments are closed.