It Doesn’t Matter What the GOP Says or Does, the Media Will Not Play Fair

Give-up-590-LA(Courtesy of Legal Insurrection)


There are some post-mortems being written about the recently-ended clusterfuck in Washington DC known by the misnomer of “the shutdown”. The conventional wisdom is that it was a political and public relations disaster for the Republicans and the Tea Party. Even a lot of Republicans are saying that, and they blame Ted Cruz and the Tea Party.

Of course “conventional wisdom” is just another way of saying “what the media thinks.” I honestly don’t think most people really gave a rat’s ass about the shutdown but if you called them up and asked them whose fault it was they would parrot the media and say the GOP. That’s because most people are not political junkies like us who spend their free time obsessing about politics.

It’s kinda like when pro athletes go on strike – most people don’t care about why they are striking or who wins, they just want the strike to be over so they can watch the games.

The vast majority of the media in this country leans towards the left. As for the minority of the media that leans to the right, almost all of those represent the GOP establishment. The Tea Party is represented by some lowly bloggers and other online denizens. Nobody likes the Tea Party except the Tea Partiers themselves.

The shutdown was doomed to “fail” from the start. That is a cold hard fact. Government was gonna re-open eventually and the debt ceiling would be raised and Obamacare would get funded. But no matter when or how it ended, the media would declare that the Democrats won and that the GOP sucks and that the Tea Party is a bunch of loons.

It doesn’t matter what the GOP says or does, the media will not play fair. They will spin things in favor of Obama and the Democrats. If they can’t spin it they’ll ignore it. Meanwhile they will hold the Republicans to an impossible standard and obsess about minutia and irrelevancies. When all else fails, they’ll make shit up.

This is why Ted Cruz and Sarah Palin ignore the media. They know they’ll never be one of the Kewl Kidz so they don’t worry about it.


2013A104


About Myiq2xu - BA, JD, FJB

I was born and raised in a different country - America. I don't know what this place is.
This entry was posted in #Barrycades, #Shutdown, #SpiteHouse, Media, Media Zombies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

107 Responses to It Doesn’t Matter What the GOP Says or Does, the Media Will Not Play Fair

  1. driguana says:

    Found this to be an interesting post from conservative, African-American Kevin Jackson…
    http://theblacksphere.net/2013/10/obama-boehners-slaves/

  2. driguana says:

    big, beautiful full moon tonight, the Hunter’s Moon, and a subtle eclipse…
    celebrate…
    http://earthsky.org/tonight/hunters-moon-to-rise-as-the-sun-sets-on-october-18

  3. and now the update!

    Networks blamed shutdown on GOP in 41 stories — 0 for Dems

    same source

  4. driguana says:

    another interesting take from Kevin Jackson….yep, the media would have had a field day with a Bush Obamacare….
    http://theblacksphere.net/2013/10/obamacare-bushcare/

  5. votermom says:

    Media = Propaganda. On my “enemies of freedom” they actually rank first, because they make all this fascism possible.
    Enemies of Freedom:
    1. Media
    2. Weaponized bureaucracy (IRS, EPA, HHS, DHS, NPS, etc)
    3. Dem Party
    4. GOP

    But they are lying about the Tea Party losing in this.

    On the surface the Tea Party lost this battle. But when millions of Americans start paying their out of control 2014 premiums, try to use their healthcare “benefits” only to find out they have 6,7,8,9,10K deductibles, or try to opt out only to be socked with a 1% tax, and in all other ways get intimately acquainted with the joys of Obamacare, they will remember that the only people who tried to stop this trainwreck was the Tea Party. And Ted Cruz.

  6. Lulu says:

    You can actually fight back if just a little.

    The past two days have been hell. Someone ( in Floriduh) cleaned out my main bank account. This huge bank is going to make good on all of the illegal charges. The problem is that it keeps happening. But it is only my card that is ever illegally accessed. And every couple of months someone tries to charge something tiny and strange on it to see if it will go through, the charges are denied and I get a new card. This time they didn’t do it, it is major fraud and would I please file a police report.

    I tried to. The local police said Floriduh won’t do shit. It is a “victimless” crime and Floriduh doesn’t cooperate too well with Texas. I went into the bank and said I don’t want a card on this account. I will use another bank for my personal stuff since I seem to be a target. No really I don’t want a card on this account and I will use checks and cash. Don’t leave us please! was the response. I’m a depositor not a borrower and have stock accounts too. I’m just going to use a local bank that thieves in Floriduh don’t know about don’t you know. I call my stockbroker. I am not happy.

    At 7 PM a dude from headquarters calls to tell me that everything is going to be fine. I tell him I don’t think you understand. The money I use to pay exorbitant taxes was just cleaned out. Someone in Floriduh spent it on garbage, really stupid trashy crap. I have been told by the media for the past week that I am a piece of shit because I live in Texas and have a senator that doesn’t think that jacked up health insurance premiums or penalties are fair therefore I am a terrorist, crazy, and evil, and you PAY to sponsor the media people calling me pejoratives as well as support politicians who do it too. My local law enforcement says the authorities in Floriduh think it is fine and dandy to rip me off and think I am just a stupid piece of shit hick from Texas. Do you see my problem with you. You financially support discrimination against ME because of where I live. And hate speech. You enable this as a sponsor and political contributor. As a major corporation you don’t force Florida law enforcement or the feds to pursue crimes against the hated red states. I refuse to accept it. I refuse your damned card. Replace the money to my account and eat the loss. You pay for media to encourage this discriminatory hateful criminal attitude in our growing underclass in society and do nothing to stop it. I’ll keep the account but only as a conduit for other local banks for the time being.

    He said I made some good points. I said stop paying for a large number of your customers to be bad-mouthed. Just stop it and tell them why. Or do business only in large cities or regions where customers love this hateful stuff. Put a stop to it or kiss us and our money goodbye. You cannot pay for people and politicians to call your customers names and expect us to stick around. It is abusive and I don’t play that game. Thank you for your call.

    My little bank who I talked to yesterday has some ideas on how to catch the thieves. One of the VP’s is an ex-vice cop from Houston. LOL.

    • votermom says:

      Wow, Lulu, that sucks. I hope you get your money back ASAP and they put this thief/thieves in jail.
      Do your Texan LEOs really see FL not cooperating – wow. that’s – just no words. What a sick hellhole FL is turning into. (Which sucks because I love Disney World)

    • DeniseVB says:

      Oh that just sucks Lulu. Sorry you’re going through that. Not to make light of your situation, have you seen the movie Identity Thief ? Poor Jason Bateman can’t get the problem resolved so goes after Melissa McCarthy who stole his identity, here’s the trailer:

      • Lulu says:

        That is what is so weird. They printed out a card with my number and I have the name of the person who put their name on the card which is not even close to mine. How the merchants let it through is what the bank is after. The merchants are on the banks shit-list and they aren’t paying them. It is a real mess and some of the bills are huge. The bank wants the merchants to go after them. The merchants are sending bills to my address with this other name on them. I am sending the unopened mail back to them with a cover letter and a bank fraud phone number and case number. And I do not give them my name except as “name of bank” customer. It is funny as I have an unlisted phone number, still use as legal name my maiden name which is unusual and Welsh and shows up in almost no records. In some ways I don’t have an identity to steal. Public records like deeds I am “et ux”. Oh and my voter address is one number different from my husband since our home has TWO addresses! So with a different name they think I am his neighbor.

    • wmcb says:

      Oh no! Hope it gets sorted. That sucks. But GOOD FOR YOU for standing up!

      I am noticing more and more that as I stand up, some people seem really shocked and nonplussed. Lefties get furious. And a few ordinary people seem thoughtful and grateful that I expressed what they think but have been cowed into not saying out loud.

      I am convinced that the place we need to speak up is not just on blogs and Twitter, but out there in the real world, in daily interactions. Not to give long political rants, but to push back firmly at the prevailing leftist culture and assumptions every time they come up.

      Polls continually show that Americans have fiscally conservative and less-govt-interference views, along with socially libertarian views. I seriously believe too many think they are alone, surrounded by messaging that tells them they are backward, etc. SPEAK UP. They will be encouraged.

    • angienc says:

      That sucks so much! But I’m glad you are giving it to them! (I bet it’s BOA — big time Obama supporters run it. I closed my accounts with them in 2012. I also switched from Time Warner cable to Dish).

      • kanaughty says:

        i wanted so bad to get rid of our boa account but they ended up taking over our mortgage. so i said, might as well wait until we sell our house, to get out of BOA completely. but we do have a local credit union as an alternative for banking to have a more easier way out of boa when it comes time.

        • angienc says:

          It’s hard to change your mortgage — refi’ing with another lender usually costs a couple of thou. If you already have a good interest rate it isn’t worth it. I’d do the same & don’t blame you for waiting it out.

    • Erica says:

      A similar thing happened to me this summer. I’m still sorting it out 3 months later. It was a huge hassle, and to make matters worse, the thief was a cousin of the mom of a kid I saw in the office–ripped me off while I was caring for the child. Even though we knew who did it, the police were not interested and the intake officer never forwarded my case to an investigator. No action by the police. Meanwhile, she’s impersonating me to all the banks and having money and gift cards wired to her from all over the country. What a shambles. I feel for you.

      • The Klown says:

        My psycho ex-girlfriend stole one of my credit cards and tried to go on a shopping spree but it was already maxxed out.

        Ha-ha!

        • Erica says:

          I wish mine had been maxxed. I don’t shop much and this person/network knew how to get money in ways I’d never heard of.

    • swanspirit says:

      Cheez Lulu, so sorry you had to go through that , but kudos for speaking your piece!!! Truly awesome!

  7. votermom says:

  8. votermom says:

    OT. Me & kids skipping again this year, I think. Hubby already got a shot.

    https://twitter.com/votermom/status/391199045198168066

    • driguana says:

      Used to get them but haven’t in several years and have not gotten the flu….never know what they are putting in you these days…hate to be paranoid….but….

      • wmcb says:

        My husband has been practicing medicine for over 25 years. In all that time, he had seen ONE patient with Guillain Barre Syndrome. Because it’s rare as hell.

        Last year, he had three of them in the hospital in a two month span. All three had just gotten flu shots. Other docs told him they were seeing it too. All reported it to the CDC as a potential problem. I don’t know if there was something weird with just last year’s batch, or if it was coincidence. But I do know it freaked even him out, and he’s one to roll eyes at any sort of conspiracy crap.

        • helenk3 says:

          I did get a flu shot this year. My aunt had Guillian Barre Syndrome years ago. Is it one of those sickness that could run in a family?

        • wmcb says:

          I never get flu shots because of my Lupus. Wildly overreactive immune system and immunizations don’t mix well for me. Think the opposite of AIDS. AIDS is “My body doesn’t recognize the enemy.” Lupus is: “OMG ANYTHING COULD BE AN ENEMY! PULL OUT THE FULL ON NUKES FOR EVERY SNEEZE!”

        • wmcb says:

          helen, no evidence of genetic link in GBS.

        • Erica says:

          I had influenza about 10 years ago and wouldn’t wish that on anyone. I always get a flu shot now. Plus it’s mandated by the hospitals I work at.

    • DeniseVB says:

      I’m not a shot person, always thinking I’ll be the 1% who dies from the reaction 😉 Though I did get the shingles vac since a friend suffered dearly and almost went blind ! Yikes!

  9. votermom says:

    A good read:
    Assessing the exchanges
    http://www.nationalreview.com/corner/361577/assessing-exchanges-yuval-levin

    The problems people are now facing with the basic interface have taken up most of the time that CMS and its contractors have devoted to troubleshooting so far, and although things have improved a little on this front quite serious problems remain. But there are very serious problems beyond that, which are more like the sorts of problems people were predicting before the launch: database problems at the nexus of several federal and industry data sources. The federal data hub itself is so far doing reasonably well at its basic tasks, and that has come as a relief to CMS. But some of the site functions that rely on the hub, both in the federal exchanges and a number of the state exchanges, remain highly problematic. The calculation of subsidies continues to fail tests, and it’s pretty clear that some actual consumers have made actual purchases with bad information, which will become apparent to them when they get their first bills. If the interface problems are addressed and the volume of purchases increases, this calculation problem could become a huge concern.

    • votermom says:

      There’s more. In short the back-end is so f-cked up that the non-working user interface is actually saving users from getting screwed.

    • Constance says:

      So the Obama care site is acknowledged as so F’ed up that regardless of the quote it gives you the insurance company can charge you what ever it feels like. Can they hold consumers to a contract that was not accurate? Oh well why worry, print more money and just cover it.

  10. wmcb says:

  11. wmcb says:

  12. angienc says:

    And yet with all the ass kissing, covering up & fluffing the MSM does for Obama — directly or indirectly by bashing his opponents (GOP, Cruz, bloggers, American citizens) — Obama went *down* a point in his approval rating today (42). ALL that constant bashing of the GOP in all those news stories on the shutdown and he’s at 42. Imagine if the MSM actually reported shit fairly & accurately! i

  13. votermom says:

    OT
    Anyone know how to upload a video to youtube but not have it show up on a search?
    I just want to share some school stuff with other parents

  14. Constance says:

    Most of the newspapers and news magazines are barely staying in business and are losing subscribers. FOX news has more viewers than CNN and MSNBC combined. Yeah the corporate media does everything described above but not that many people pay attention to them.

    Another thing, notice all the elected politicians the establishment Republicans fear are not from the east coast…Palin, Cruz and Lee are from out west and Gowdy is from the south. So this threatens the self appointed guardian classe’s illusions and power.

  15. wmcb says:

  16. votermom says:

    I loled even though I’d never jump

  17. helenk3 says:

    http://weaselzippers.us/2013/10/18/heartache-bill-ayers-appearance-in-liberal-madison-wisconsin-canceled-due-to-lack-of-interest/

    this started my day out in a good way

    bomber billy ayers appearance cancelled due to lack of interest

  18. The Klown says:
  19. The Klown says:
  20. helenk3 says:

    stolen from a commenter at rev amy’s place

    http://www.weeklystandard.com/blogs/obamacare-website-violates-licensing-agreement-copyrighted-software_763666.html

    obamacare website violates licensing agreement copyrighting software

    • votermom says:

      If Obama were smart, he’d use that as an excuse to make Holder issue a cease & desist letter to Sebelius prior to shutting down the site for IP rights violation.

  21. helenk3 says:

    http://townhall.com/columnists/michaelbarone/2013/10/18/what-if-obamacare-software-crashes-and-burns-n1726381/page/full

    dandy, you have to read this.
    they did not start writing the software code for obamacare until spring of 2013

    • Constance says:

      Well you have to give it to the rabid Progs that if the Republicans did infiltrate the obama care creators they would have done exactly what the government programmers did to sabotage the program.

    • DandyTIger says:

      That’s much worse than I thought. I found the open source code it’s based on. And I found the open source release of the obamacare website system itself (yes, they published it). It’s a giant pile of crap. And that’s me being nice.

      • The Klown says:

        They should have started writing it years ago, then beta-tested it until the “glitches” were gone.

        The contract should have gone to a major US software firm. There are times when “lowest bidder” is not appropriate and this is one of them.

  22. The Klown says:
    • Constance says:

      All the Republicans need to do is say unemployment is too high, too many are stuck with part time work and many elders have been shoved into early unwanted retirement. People of color are doing worse than whites. This is not a time to import labor. ” now lets get down to cutting waste from the government to get the tax burden lower on our working voters.”

      • Constance says:

        O f course they won’t because that won’t serve their multinational corporation masters. But at least the Tea Party cares about regular folks.

  23. The Klown says:

    Dr. Oz just won $250,000 for charity on WWTBAM

  24. The Klown says:

    FTR – I like it.

    • angienc says:

      That’s because we hit that debt ceiling Obama and the MSM has been yammering about (you know that thing that if we hit it the USA would go into default) weeks ago, so the government kept on spending, they just stopped the clock. Seriously all this “we’re goin to default if the GOP house doesn’t raise the debt ceiling” was total bullshit.

  25. helenk3 says:

    limited tours of whte house to begin Nov 5

  26. wmcb says:

    Love this article. I’m really sick of the “me so oppressed” BS from today’s feminists over things that are not oppression at all – just normal human behavior, albeit rude behavior.

    No, some dudes being conversational blowhards are not “oppressing” you. Buck up and stand up for your goddamned self, ladies. I do it all the time. And no, every compliment, or mention of sex, or joke, is not sexual harrassment. And if it’s making you uncomfortable, speak up and hold your ground. And if someone is talking over you, say EXCUSE ME, I was TALKING.

    You know, real sexual harrassment, and real oppression of women does exist in this world. But it’s getting harder and harder to bring any attention to it because……..

    …WHINING HYPERVENTILATING PSEUDO-VICTORIAN NEW PURITAN FRAGILE FLOWER “FEMINISTS” KEEP TAKING TO THEIR FAINTING COUCHES AND WAILING FOR A GOVERNMENTAL KNIGHT TO SAVE THEM ANYTIME A MAN GAZES AT THEM OR SAYS BOO OR DOESN’T GO OUT OF HIS WAY TO MAKE SPECIAL ALLOWANCES FOR THEIR DELICATE VAGINA-NESS.

    Honestly, when I think of all that women fought for, to have it all now reduced to this……this……. simpering and wailing “Daddyyyyyy! Make the mean boys be NICE to meeeeeeeee!!”, I could just puke.

    http://www.advicegoddess.com/archives/2008/04/14/rebecca_solnit.html

  27. The Klown says:
    • Constance says:

      I thought just last week Bronco was telling us all, in his most condescending voice, that raising the debt limit doesn’t mean raising the debt.

      • The Klown says:

        Just like when you get a new credit card it doesn’t mean you go deeper in debt.

        You gotta get to the store first.

      • swanspirit says:

        You have to speak “Bronconian” , Dead Ambassadors are “speedbumps” ; billion dollar computer program malfunctions are ” little glitches” , I could go on but you get the idea 🙂

  28. votermom says:

    OT if you have a dehumidifier in your home, check that it isnt part of a recent huge recall

    http://www.cpsc.gov/en/Recalls/2013/Gree-Recalls-12-Brands-of-Dehumidifiers/

  29. helenk3 says:

    http://hotair.com/greenroom/archives/2013/10/18/video-atf-fights-cigarette-smuggling-by-smuggling-cigarettes/

    they have been smuggling cigarettes since I was a kid. this went on before drug running.
    people will always find a way to avoid taxes

  30. The Klown says:
  31. wmcb says:

  32. helenk3 says:

    http://www.chicagobusiness.com/article/20131018/NEWS02/131019792/illinois-supreme-court-kills-amazon-tax?r=7666C9052245B7Q

    Illinois court kills amazon tax. If other states go along with this it will make a difference in a lot of internet shopping

Comments are closed.