The wit and wisdom of an Obot


From Buffoon Juice:

Ivan Ivanovich Renko – September 9, 2011 | 9:33 am · Link

For those who say racism isn’t at the core of Confederate- err, “conservative” opposition to Obama—can you please explain why black Americans so overwhelmingly believe that it is?

I mean… wouldn’t African Americans pretty much be experts in detecting racism?


Back when I was working retail security I arrested a black man I had watched via camera stuff two pneumatic tools down the front of his pants and leave the store. As I was handcuffing him (standard practice for all arrestees) he said “It’s because I’m black, right?”

To which I replied “Yeah, we just let white people steal whatever they want.”

BTW – Starting in 2008 Buffoon Juice has been a blog where people see racism everywhere but are blind to sexism and misogyny.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The wit and wisdom of an Obot

  1. Angry Not-Really-Black Troll says:

    I guess if you stop enough black people at random you’re bound to get lucky eventually and find a guilty one.

  2. DeniseVB says:

    Reminds me of this Bill Cosby quote that got him in trouble with the NAACP :

    “Whitey didn’t put you in jail, robbing the 7-11 did”

    • myiq2xu says:

      Periodically we see someone pointing to the statistical imbalance of minorities in the criminal justice system as proof of institutional racism.

      While there is some merit to those claims (especially in regard to drug offenses) the question that is never asked is “Were they guilty?”

      BTW – When I was working retail security they made us audit our cases for the races of the people we arrested.

      Mine were approximately:

      40% White

      30% Hispanic

      20% Asian

      5% Black

      5% Other

      • SHV says:

        About ten years ago, there were some protests over the number of AA arrested, incarcerated, etc. in my area. The police dept was getting a lot of criticism, using the usual rhetoric. They quietly released the “raw” crime data for murder, armed robbery, rape and aggravated battery. Results? +- 87% committed by AAs. I think that the % is higher now, especially gun related violence. I don’t think anyone has a clue how to reverse the curve.

        • myiq2xu says:

          Young black men are far more likely than any other demographic to be murdered. Young black men are far more likely than any other demographic to be their killers.

      • Dario says:

        My friend is black and I happened to be in his car when he was stopped for no reason. When the policeman saw that I was in the car, he made a lame excuse that my black friend looked like someone he was looking for. The photo he showed looked nothing like my friend. I think there’s some truth about blacks being picked on. It’s anecdotal, but my friend who’s never had any trouble with the law says he’s used to being harassed and must be extra careful when the police stops him and there’s nobody with him.

        • myiq2xu says:

          I don’t disagree that racial profiling is a problem.

          But if you hadn’t been there, do you think the police would have arrested him for anything, and if so, what?

        • Dario says:

          Like said, he’s careful with his demeanor. But one shouldn’t be harassed. One wrong move, word, etc, and off to the slammer. My own experience being Hispanic has also influenced my views. I’ve was followed by police, for a good 10 min. I knew that if I made just a little mistake, I would be stopped. It’s more than annoying. It’s scary. I was young, going home to my parents home, in a nice part of the town. I don’t know why the police followed me all the way home, but I guess my old car and being Hispanic was what flagged me.

        • Dario says:

          Btw, we’ve seen from videos, whites are vulnerable of police abuse. I’m not saying that it’s all against minorities. What makes it more difficult for the poor is the litigation process.

  3. myiq2xu says:

    Speaking of black men in the criminal justice system:

    Obama’s uncle quietly released from jail

    Officials released President Obama’s uncle from Plymouth County jail yesterday after holding him for more than two weeks on an immigration detainer for violating an order to return to his native Kenya in 1992.

    US officials refused to disclose any other information about Onyango Obama, who remained in the United States undetected until Framingham police arrested him Aug. 24 on drunken driving and other charges.

    Yesterday, federal immigration officials refused to say whether the 67-year-old Framingham resident posted bond, whether they are keeping track of his whereabouts, or even whether they are still seeking his deportation, raising questions about public accountability in the case.

    The US Immigration and Customs Enforcement website confirmed Obama’s release by listing him as “not in custody.’’

    Although the website confirmed it, Brian P. Hale, an agency spokesman, said he would not comment on the case because privacy laws and the agency’s policies prohibit it. He said the database is accurate, however.

    As a result of the immigration agency’s refusal to discuss the case, it is unclear what happened to Obama after he left the Plymouth County House of Correction – or whether he could be returned to jail.

Comments are closed.