Daily Archives: September 11, 2011

Catch 23

El Cheeto Grande: On my new moderation duties Alternative title: “Introducing the Great Purge of 2011”. So as everyone has long gathered, I have deep patience for dickishness. I don’t mind a bit of rough and tumble. Politics is a … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 22 Comments

Confusion

One thing we all have a decade after 9/11 is historical perspective. We know about Osama bin Laden and his megalomania. We know about 19 hijackers and how less than half of their planned attack succeeded. We know Saddam Hussein … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments

A spoonful of horseshit

Hullabaloney: It’s nice of the traditional media to finally take notice of what’s really going on out there. This revolt from the base, combined with lack of enthusiasm from reliable Democratic voters, has been many months in the making. It … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 70 Comments

It’s still summer

What are you doing today? This is an open thread.

Posted in Uncategorized | 16 Comments

Were we supposed to have a party?

Paul Krugman: The Years of Shame Is it just me, or are the 9/11 commemorations oddly subdued? Actually, I don’t think it’s me, and it’s not really that odd. What happened after 9/11 — and I think even people on … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 99 Comments

Captive audience

The Hill: Obama’s jobs speech draws 31M viewers President Obama’s address to a joint session of Congress was watched by 31 million television viewers, according to Nielsen. Eleven networks carried the president’s Thursday evening jobs speech, which began shortly after … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 13 Comments

Where were you when you heard the news?

I was in limbo – I had just finished law school in May and taken the bar exam in July, but I was unemployed and waiting for the exam results – when my phone rang one morning. A friend of … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 20 Comments